Cooking Mama: World Kitchen Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mama is still cookin'! In her Wii sequel, Mama brings a lot more to the table, including all new 3D graphics, new recipes, comedic kitchen minigames, new gameplay modes and much more. The Wii Remote is your universal cooking utensil, putting you in total control of the cooking action as you chop, grate, slice, stir, roll and much more! Hold and point it in many different ways depending on the task to get the real sensation of cooking in a kitchen. Mama and friends look glorious in all new 3D graphics. More than 50 all new recipes including: parfait, French fries/Onion Rings, Nestle Toll House Chocolate Chip Cookies, Ratatouille, pancakes, boiled flounder and many more. New gameplay mechanic integrates Wii Remote utensil play with additional rhythm and motion that makes cooking easier and more enjoyable. [Majesco] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Good family fun that will keep you entertained for ages.
  2. It still needs some improvements in the controls, and it doesn't offer a deeper single-player experience like its counterpart, Order Up. Still, fans of the original and those curious to try the series will find that this version of the game does not disappoint.
  3. 70
    So what we have here is a good casual game; what last year's Cooking Mama should have been. World Kitchen is easy enough for anyone to pick up and play (despite the lack of tutorial), and Mama's charisma may even keep cynical hardcore gamers playing longer than they expected.
  4. It's great trying to perfect all of the recipes, but the terrible utilisation of the Wii-mote is tougher to swallow than a week old pork pie. [Apr 2009, p.79]
  5. Cooking Mama 2: World Kitchen will be loved by users that want to have simple entertainment, but "hardcore gamers" will not feel any interest for this game. Anyway, the title is quite good ad fans will appreciate that first version issues have been resolved.
  6. Even serious fans should rent before buying this half-baked cash in. [Jan 2009, p.77]
  7. A lazy addition to a series that belongs on DS anyway. [Apr 2009, p.70]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is an amazing game and is very enjoyable! The Cooking Mama series is a joy to play! Also, lots of fun for a Wii game and there are very funny voice overs as well which make the game even more fun! Expand
  2. SteveW.
    Nov 5, 2008
    9
    Very fun game.
  3. Sep 9, 2011
    7
    I know it's not the craziest of games but I love the game for its character. It's pretty addictive. I've given Wii games a lot of slack because, if I want a truly engaging motion capture game, I'll hit up Kinect or Move. Simply put it's a fun time killer and a good exercise in timing.

    Fav quote: "You learnt a new lecipe!!"
    Expand
  4. Aug 24, 2010
    6
    Cooking Mama: World Kitchen is the sequel to the tedious Cooking Mama: Cook Off and fourth instalment to the popular series. Unlike its predecessors, Cooking Mama: World Kitchen has a new graphical style, using 3D cel-shaded graphics which also gives the game a different vibe to the others. There are also a few game-play changes including the new comedic mini-games and cuts-scenes in place of failing such as Mama racing to catch a hamburger patty before her dog, Max, eats it. The controls have been dramatically improved from Cooking Mama: Cook Off, there are a lot more recipes and this feels like the first decent Cooking Mama game since the original. Another new feature in the game is the ability to create your own character. However, the good bits are balance out by the bad bits and there are a few flaws including the mini-games compiled within the games. They can get tediously annoying sometimes and the controls during the mini-games aren't great. Co-op mode is also pretty average and it isn't as good as playing solo. However, if overlook the flaws, this is a pretty decent cooking game, however I would suggest getting the game Order Up! or Food Network: Cook or Be Cooked as an alternative. Expand
  5. Jan 28, 2012
    3
    I bought this game as me and my family really enjoyed Cooking Mama 1 but number two was a big disappointment. True, there are more recipes, but the methods that you have to use are very annoying! Cooking Mama is as irritating as ever and the graphics are awful! I detest this game now as I get fed up and the whole game gets on my nerves! I strongly dislike this game! Collapse
  6. DaraS
    Oct 14, 2009
    2
    While the premise is fun for kids, the controls are not. I bought this for my 5 year old, who is new to gaming, upon the reccommendation of a game store employee. He loves cooking on Webkinz World so I thought he'd enjoy it. I played it first to show him how it's done and I knew right away there would be problems. The controls are not intuitive as one would imagine. The timer for each "event" is way too short to allow for a chance to get used to the controls. After scoring a 0 on his first recipe my son never wants to play again. Even the mini-games, which I thought he'd enjoy, are too difficult for a young child. I should have stuck with Wii Sports! Finally, Mama's austrian/asian accented voice and the flames that come from her eyes when you do poorly (even though she says "it's okay, Mama will help") are waaaaaay too creepy. This game is too hard for young players and too boring for anyone old enough to play it properly. I'm sure there's a niche market of cooking interested 8 year olds who enjoy it greatly, but for everyone else it's a huge waste of money. Expand
  7. Jan 1, 2011
    2
    Oh, where to begin. If you are considering buying this game for more than two bucks at a garage sale or bargain bin, put it back and step away. The cheesy Asian engrish voice-overs (and this one will reinforce every lame stereotype out there) are worth the laugh, but the game gets frustrating fast. Controls are totally anti-intuitive and frustrating, instructions (written and on-screen) can charitably be described as "poor", and the complete-epic-fail-ishness of it stops being amusing pretty quickly. Too bad - could have been an pretty entertaining family game. Expand