Cursed Mountain Wii

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Ryan
    Dec 20, 2009
    9
    Criminally underrated adventure game that challenges players to take a real hike up a beautiful and mysterious mountainside. Moody, atmospheric and superb graphics make this game a stand-out. It's certainly it's own genre on the Wii at the moment.
  2. MoritzBibendorf
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    great Wii game, first real gamers game for Wii, amazing atmosphere. Graphics are OK, but sound is a new dimension when it comes to Wii titles. Controls are a bit dull and the pace is way to slow to make anything scary per-se but through the sound and atmosphere it really does deliver!
  3. HarvS
    Sep 12, 2009
    9
    I can't believe that so many reviewers haven't been able to get the hang of the controls. The thrusting motions that they've all messed up are easily done: Move the remote or nunchuck from the horizontal to the vertical position and jab forward keeping the remote or nunchuck in the vertical position. It works 100% of the time once you get the timing right unless you panic I can't believe that so many reviewers haven't been able to get the hang of the controls. The thrusting motions that they've all messed up are easily done: Move the remote or nunchuck from the horizontal to the vertical position and jab forward keeping the remote or nunchuck in the vertical position. It works 100% of the time once you get the timing right unless you panic lol. Back to the game itself, in places the views are breathtaking and overall the graphics are top-notch. The music and sound effects combined with the pacing of the game create a great deal of tension and there will certainly be a few moments where you'll be made to jump by some well placed stingers. The storyline is excellent and the Buddhist elements are a nice addition, making the game very different from alternative survival horro titles. The only complaint I have is that the game is a little too easy, although replay value is certainly there for completists as you're likely to miss a few documents on the first playthrough. I'd highly recommend this game, with around 20 hours playthrough time and a few scares on the way you'll certainly get your money's worth. Expand
  4. Ech0ez
    Oct 18, 2009
    9
    Cursed Mountain is a great game, with a few annoying but minor faults. The presentation is simply astounding, the fantastic art direction and graphical engine mix with the amazing audio to create a fantastic world for you to explore, and the sense of immense isolation and thick atmosphere the game has are practically unmatched. The story is amazingly well written and genuinelly Cursed Mountain is a great game, with a few annoying but minor faults. The presentation is simply astounding, the fantastic art direction and graphical engine mix with the amazing audio to create a fantastic world for you to explore, and the sense of immense isolation and thick atmosphere the game has are practically unmatched. The story is amazingly well written and genuinelly interesting, although it flaters slightly near the end, it's one of the best stories a Horror game has had in a long time. The gameplay mixes slow paced exploration, tense action sections and an amazing atmosphere really well, this game is truly a unique experience. Very few games can genuinely make me sit back and go "wow" but Cursed Mountain's simply astounding blend of fantastic atmosphere and effective gameplay really create one of the best games on the Wii. However the extremely slow pacing will put off gamers who want an Action-filled title, and the Quick-Time-Events become plain frustrating as the game goes on. Despite this though, Cursed Mountain's biggest fault is the lack of direction regarding the motion controls. The controls themselves work perfectly, but the game never really explains how you're meant to perform them, and it's the 'trial and error' that this forces upon you that is off-putting for a lot of people. Even so, the faults barely hinder what is easily among the best titles on the Wii, and one of the best Horror games released in this whole generation of video games. If you're a fan of Survival Horror and own a Wii, there's no excuse to not pick this up. Expand
  5. Justin
    Sep 26, 2009
    10
    This is the best survival-horror game on the Wii. A must buy for any survival-horror fan.
  6. Sea
    Sep 16, 2009
    8
    I have waited for a while for some gloomy games on the wii, so i had expectations about this. I must say that it's good. It's visually stunning, with a very good dark atmosphere, and nicely directed. Sounds are very good and in-the-right-place, and I must admit the thrilling is very well rendered. Many people say it's slow paced, and it's true, but again, it's a I have waited for a while for some gloomy games on the wii, so i had expectations about this. I must say that it's good. It's visually stunning, with a very good dark atmosphere, and nicely directed. Sounds are very good and in-the-right-place, and I must admit the thrilling is very well rendered. Many people say it's slow paced, and it's true, but again, it's a survival horror, not a shooter. I found it refreshing, and a nice way to show what the wii is capable of doing. Expand
  7. Echolocating
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    I'm one of those grumpy, aging gamers who is slowly becoming disenchanted with video games. Why? Because the medium doesn't seem to be evolving and maturing with me. I'm tired of playing childish games that pretend to be mature. Cursed Mountain is exactly what I needed. The game is thoughtful, has an amazing atmosphere, and a story that doesn't cater to an adolescent I'm one of those grumpy, aging gamers who is slowly becoming disenchanted with video games. Why? Because the medium doesn't seem to be evolving and maturing with me. I'm tired of playing childish games that pretend to be mature. Cursed Mountain is exactly what I needed. The game is thoughtful, has an amazing atmosphere, and a story that doesn't cater to an adolescent intellect. It has a slower pace that actually supports the immersion of climbing a mountain alone. The game isn't perfect (the motion controls could have been a bit more forgiving), but it's been one of the most enjoyable games I've played in a very long time. Hopefully, Deep Silver opened a few developers' eyes to the concept that there's a whole other level of "mature" that has yet to be truly explored in video games. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#40 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
#10 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51
  1. The problems that can't really be forgiven, however, come from the slow pacing. True, slow pacing on its own doesn't necessarily mean bad pacing, but Cursed Mountain's molasses speed doesn't work in the game's favor.
  2. Eric has to find his brother. There's nothing more for him, just the fearless phantom figures that follow him all his way up to the Himalaya's mountain. Deep Silver had made one of their greatest games so far, with a very interesting storyline mixed with an even more interesting graphic engine. There's nothing to lose in here; it's a must-have for all terror-lovers that are looking forward to buy a good adventure for their favourite console.
  3. A great setting and lots of top shocks - Cursed Mountain is chilling in every sense. [Oct 2009, p.78]