• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Sep 25, 2007
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndreasR.
    Apr 5, 2008
    5
    The single player campaign feels very unpolished. It is very easy to get to about 50% (EV Boss Battle in the first round), however, the difficulty level doubles from one moment from another. Also, the difference between "Standard" and "Difficult" is ridiculously high. Great party game, but you should go somewhere else for a single player DDR experience.
  2. JordanL.
    Jun 20, 2008
    6
    A lot of the music doesn't match up to the arrows, hard to keep up i that way, but i love the exercise program!
  3. [Anonmyous]
    Nov 19, 2007
    5
    You can't change the speed, and that is unforfgivable.
  4. Mikau
    Oct 16, 2007
    8
    The game is really good despite is a "DDR Mario Mix" without Mario. The gimmicks are the same that in the game cube game, for example, the confusion arrows was the cheep cheep, the blocking arrows was the big boo in the screen, the hands missiles was the podobos and the frozen arrows was the koopa troopas. The good point is now you can choose your favourite character to dance, The game is really good despite is a "DDR Mario Mix" without Mario. The gimmicks are the same that in the game cube game, for example, the confusion arrows was the cheep cheep, the blocking arrows was the big boo in the screen, the hands missiles was the podobos and the frozen arrows was the koopa troopas. The good point is now you can choose your favourite character to dance, there's lots of colorful venues to choose from and definitely the track list is soooo much better than DDR Mario Mix. Here you won't listen any nintendo mix, but you'll dance at the beat of hot cool mixes of oldies-but-goodies songs! The use of wiimote and nunchuck are really funny but at first this can be really confused. The other good new is that if you own a DDR Mario Mix you can use the Dance Pad in the Wii and won't need to buy an extra mat for a two players game. If you're a big fan of DDR this title must be part of your collection. Expand
  5. LessaB.
    Jan 24, 2008
    1
    Absolutely horrendous song list. They've replaced catchy techno with distasteful remixes of songs from the 80's and 90's I'd rather forget. Must have been picked out by a lonely man whose dog just died. I love DDR and have bought every incarnation for the PS2. I couldn't wait to get my hands on it for the Wii. I'm sorely disapointed. I'll probably switch Absolutely horrendous song list. They've replaced catchy techno with distasteful remixes of songs from the 80's and 90's I'd rather forget. Must have been picked out by a lonely man whose dog just died. I love DDR and have bought every incarnation for the PS2. I couldn't wait to get my hands on it for the Wii. I'm sorely disapointed. I'll probably switch to stepmania permanently after this. Expand
  6. HL
    Mar 15, 2008
    9
    lots of fun. the wii-mote and nunchuck add an interesting dimension to the game, although it is mostly unnecessary. DDR continues to be a fun game to play however, no matter what platform
  7. BenihanaB.
    Apr 5, 2008
    8
    Much improved. The gamecube version had a horrible song list. The fact that they have 4 decades of music makes it fun for young kids to grandparents....(whose don't love disco). The hand controls are a little inaccurate and clumsy. Still a fun option if I could ever master the game... Exercise mode is nice, but does not keep your heart beat up for long periods of time...more like a Much improved. The gamecube version had a horrible song list. The fact that they have 4 decades of music makes it fun for young kids to grandparents....(whose don't love disco). The hand controls are a little inaccurate and clumsy. Still a fun option if I could ever master the game... Exercise mode is nice, but does not keep your heart beat up for long periods of time...more like a sprint than a 20 minute race I love the fact that I now have 2 pads that work for both game systems...Smart move Konami/Nintendo. Expand
  8. anonmyous
    Aug 20, 2008
    3
    You can't change the speed? what is that?i thought it was supposed to be enhanced. very disappointed... but some of the songs are good, coldplay is on there
  9. UrsulaR.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    Very entertaining and good exercise. This is exercise made fun. My four year old loves this game as well as me and my friends.
  10. WiNGSPAN
    Sep 28, 2007
    9
    Fun, nice interface. Great song selection. Hand controls are fun, but optional if you don't like them. Don't believe the previews: there IS STILL workout mode.
  11. TurtleT.
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    LOVE IT! It gives me something to do other than sit and read/play my ds/ go to water polo practice, lol. I think we need more active games like this for the wii!
  12. Sep 22, 2010
    7
    I play this game with my half-sister which is quite fun but we dont have dance pads which makes it quite bad. Theres this one song which i like but i dont know it. I tried to find it online but just kept getting errors. Anyone know where it is? I find the menus a bit too pretentious at times but some of the loading screens give a glorious visual distraction from the colour explosions inI play this game with my half-sister which is quite fun but we dont have dance pads which makes it quite bad. Theres this one song which i like but i dont know it. I tried to find it online but just kept getting errors. Anyone know where it is? I find the menus a bit too pretentious at times but some of the loading screens give a glorious visual distraction from the colour explosions in game. The characters are lifeless and yelping which at first i found annoying but later grew to appreciate. (After all the designers were trying to give a gritty commentary on the current rich-poor divide in east china). The wii console is an impressive bit of kit but they really need to change the name if they really want to make a dent in the electronic game market. After all with Sony's Move and the Sega Dreamcast coming out soon how will they cope? The song choice is admirable at best with some songs relying too heavily on the verse-chorus-verse dynamic which has worked well in the past. I cant dance but I feel like I can. (Am I just dancing inside?) I think come christmas time this will be in peoples end of year lists and hopefully some stockings too.

    Sorry for my bad spelign but this is my first time on MegaCritik
    Collapse
  13. Sep 22, 2010
    0
    I play this game with my half-sister which is quite fun but we dont have dance pads which makes it quite bad. Theres this one song which i like but i dont know it. I tried to find it online but just kept getting errors. Anyone know where it is? I find the menus a bit too pretentious at times but some of the loading screens give a glorious visual distraction from the colour explosions inI play this game with my half-sister which is quite fun but we dont have dance pads which makes it quite bad. Theres this one song which i like but i dont know it. I tried to find it online but just kept getting errors. Anyone know where it is? I find the menus a bit too pretentious at times but some of the loading screens give a glorious visual distraction from the colour explosions in game. The characters are lifeless and yelping which at first i found annoying but later grew to appreciate. (After all the designers were trying to give a gritty commentary on the current rich-poor divide in east china). The wii console is an impressive bit of kit but they really need to change the name if they really want to make a dent in the electronic game market. After all with Sony's Move and the Sega Dreamcast coming out soon how will they cope? The song choice is admirable at best with some songs relying too heavily on the verse-chorus-verse dynamic which has worked well in the past. I cant dance but I feel like I can. (Am I just dancing inside?) I think come christmas time this will be in peoples end of year lists and hopefully some stockings too.

    Sorry for my bad spelign but this is my first time on MegaCritik
    Collapse
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Dance Dance Revolution has been luring gamers off their sofas for years, making the franchise a perfect hit for Wii fans. [Nov 2007, p.105]
  2. While the game keeps its proverbial foot-tapping format, players must also wave their arms using the remote and nunchuk. New gimmick icons also enhance the gameplay, particularly the frozen arrows (which require two successful foot stomps) and confusion blocks.
  3. DDR Hottest Party is the quintessential game in the series. . It gives you quite a workout, and the new features are truly new and make it worth a purchase. Don’t miss this one.