Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    88
    There's quite a bit of platforming. All together, the levels could take over fifteen hours, which is about normal for a game of its type. More importantly, the experience is top notch all the way.
  2. May 24, 2011
    87
    There are only a few improvements compared to the first de Blob. The soundtrack is groovy, the gameplay is fun and altogether it is a wonderful and charming Jump&Run.
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    87
    There's no doubt that de Blob 2 is a great game, missing only the spark of inspiration that could've made it classic. A broad and singular experience.
  4. Fans of the cult classic and newcomers alike are going to want to splash out on this one.
  5. 85
    The improvements made in de Blob 2 make it a much stronger game than the first, but likely won't be enough to convince players who were jaded after the first game.
  6. Apr 6, 2011
    80
    I was surprised by how much fun I had with De Blob 2, considering I had never played the first. It's catchy, easy to pick up, and pleasing enough to the eyes and ears to continue playing for hours at a time. It's not without flaws, however, including some niggling camera complaints and the checkpoint system that gets worse the further you play. Still, while these do affect the end result, it's hard not to recommend the game to someone who enjoys a light, color-filled platformer to spend time on.
  7. Apr 1, 2011
    80
    Finally as fun to play as it is to watch. [May 2011, p.94]
  8. Feb 26, 2011
    80
    de Blob 2 is a wonderful game that's actually pretty beefy. [March 2011, p.84]
  9. Feb 25, 2011
    80
    To a certain extent, de Blob 2 isn't really for me, but I can appreciate its appeal. It gets a little repetitive after the fourth level or so, and for somebody like me who cut his teeth on Mario games, it's very easy.
  10. Feb 22, 2011
    80
    Fun, innovative, and surprisingly deep, de Blob 2 is bright spot in a sea of gray games and iterative sequels.
  11. Feb 18, 2011
    80
    It's just a charming and fairly straightforward platformer that wears its all-ages appeal on its kaleidoscopic sleeve.
  12. Feb 15, 2011
    80
    de Blob 2 for Nintendo Wii is a game that does not really support the motion features the Wii console offers. Apart from that, de Blob 2 contains hilarious scenes, great effects and is short and sweet.
  13. Jun 5, 2011
    79
    deblob 2 reuses the concept of its predecessor and adds the most characteristic elements of a platformer, becoming surprisingly good.
  14. Mar 4, 2011
    78
    de Blob 2 is a fun game with a great style. A game that will surely appeal to both core and casual gamers.
  15. Apr 24, 2011
    75
    The few design decisions that take de Blob 2 towards skillful play don't produce a robust experience of this kind, and undermine the game's better qualities.
  16. Feb 23, 2011
    70
    De Blob 2 has an infectious feel-good vibe, but some frustrations cramp this platformer's funky style.
  17. Feb 22, 2011
    70
    De Blob 2, like its predecessor, is an undeniably cheerful, whimsical, and infectiously amusing venture that's impossible to dislike unless you're Ebenezer Scrooge (pre-spiritual epiphany, that is). It has some creative gameplay and it satisfies that primitive need to finish a page in a coloring book once you've started it. It's not as deep as it wants to be, but it has enough substance to pick up and play after buying it for your kids (or younger siblings).
  18. Feb 22, 2011
    70
    While the game insists on holding your hand a little too tightly and the time limits can cause a lot of unnecessary stress, de Blob 2 remains a solid platform game with an interesting mechanic at its core.
  19. Mar 10, 2011
    65
    de Blob 2 fails in delivering a solid gameplay experience, due to its plain level design, and gets tedious in the long run. More an experience than a game, but that's not necessarily a good thing.
  20. Feb 23, 2011
    58
    Gameplay concepts this imaginative deserve more thorough exploration than the handful of basic, regurgitated puzzles that populate de Blob 2. Instead, we're stuck with a mediocre platformer that's too easy for adults and too repetitive for most anyone, kids in particular.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    This game is absolutely fantastic.The graphics are amazing the music is fantastic the vibe is gives off is happy and exuberant. The only fault I could find with the game is it's repetition otherwise hooray for a good third party wii title. (Now I know the person from game spot says it's too hard but that's absolutely ridiculous in my opinion.) Full Review »
  2. Feb 24, 2011
    9
    A grooving good time! Blob 2 builds on all the great stuff in the first game beautifully. The music and art style are just as awesome. The gameplay is more varied and engaging. They fixed that annoying flick jump and added autosaves. It feels to me like they really listened to the criticisms of Blob 1. I have such fond memories of playing the original with my kids that putting this disc in was like coming home. And the kids like the new one too, when I let them pry the controller from my hands :) Welcome back Blob! Viva la Colour Revolution! Full Review »
  3. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    Awesome game so much fun, so beautiful, so original!
    The music is amazing and the world is so fun to explore, the most fun you oculd ever had
    pressing buttons :) Full Review »