User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 73
  2. Negative: 8 out of 73

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanielS.
    Jan 31, 2010
    9
    Dead space extraction is an incredible overall experience. You'll never see the plot twists coming and they'll actually make sense unlike the end of Modern Warfare 2. The shooting mechanics are very good for a light-gun game, but putting the game on rails makes it much less scary than the original dead space. If it weren't for the game being so short it would be a sure 10, Dead space extraction is an incredible overall experience. You'll never see the plot twists coming and they'll actually make sense unlike the end of Modern Warfare 2. The shooting mechanics are very good for a light-gun game, but putting the game on rails makes it much less scary than the original dead space. If it weren't for the game being so short it would be a sure 10, but the lack of scares and short campaign make it only a near perfect experience. Expand
  2. RayV.
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    I had never played the original Dead Space before renting Extraction. Therefore, having nothing to compare it to, I have to say Extraction is one of the best Wii games I've ever seen. I'm sure there are plenty of people who can't stand not choosing where to move in a shooter game, but I can and will appreciate a cinematic experience, and Dead Space: Extraction sure is one I had never played the original Dead Space before renting Extraction. Therefore, having nothing to compare it to, I have to say Extraction is one of the best Wii games I've ever seen. I'm sure there are plenty of people who can't stand not choosing where to move in a shooter game, but I can and will appreciate a cinematic experience, and Dead Space: Extraction sure is one heck of an experience. I would go as far as to say it is a better overall first-person shooter than free-moving games like The Conduit or the Wii Medal of Honor titles. A sidenote to those people who have trouble getting into the game: Extraction is not, by any means, flawless. There are a few cringe-worthy lines of dialogue, sometimes an enemy is hidden from view for an extended period of time, etc. However, if you stick with the game, you will see that what Extraction does well, it does INCREDIBLY well. And that's precisely the point: when you allow yourself to be drawn into the game, it will surprise you with its depth and level of Visceral emotion. Collapse
  3. SamR.
    Oct 4, 2009
    9
    After playing through the first few missions, I can say without a doubt that this is one of the best games available on the Wii in the past 3 years. Although not quite as scary as the previous title, the developers really meant it when they said that this wasn't a traditional 'on the rails' experience. The game pulls you in right from the start with a view of the back of an After playing through the first few missions, I can say without a doubt that this is one of the best games available on the Wii in the past 3 years. Although not quite as scary as the previous title, the developers really meant it when they said that this wasn't a traditional 'on the rails' experience. The game pulls you in right from the start with a view of the back of an engineer in a RIG suit, an homage to the camera and style of the previous Dead Space. From that point on it never stops feeling like Dead Space on the Wii. It has all of the atmosphere and superb graphics of its predecessor. My only real complaint is that the targeting reticule is just a bit too big, sometimes making it difficult to see what part of a necromorph you will shoot off. All in all, a bloody, violent, and profane example of exactly what Wii gaming should have been like since launch. Expand
  4. yannickm
    Sep 29, 2009
    9
    Great game, good atmosphere, impressive weapons, stunning visuals. What u want more? best rail shooter ever !
  5. RayW
    Jan 24, 2010
    9
    If you don't mind the On-Rails layout to the game, this is one of the most atmospheric games on the Wii. The story is compelling and the graphics are pretty good compared to other Wii games.
  6. GiancarloG
    Oct 17, 2009
    9
    great game don't let the morons who gave this a 4 and a 5 fool you the graphics are some of the best on the wii and the gameplay is great fun.
  7. michaelmendiola
    Oct 3, 2009
    9
    Although I agree It wasn't the best of Dead Space, This was the greatest rail shooter ever. The game ansered some of my questions about the game, but it makes you want to play more and want more questions answered. If you are a Dead Space fan, go to a game stor and get the game, it's worth your time.
  8. Ener
    Sep 29, 2009
    9
    Want to play a quality third party game on Wii? Than this is it. Cool an believable narrative, great gameplay and brimming with atmosphere. Visceral Games has a lot of talent, support that talent.
  9. MichaelA.
    Sep 29, 2009
    9
    One of the best rail shooters I have ever played. The "strategic dismemberment" carries over from the other versions and fits in perfectly with the genre. The presentation is also fantastic. At the price of freedom of movement you get one of the most cinematic experiences on the Wii.
  10. Matt
    Sep 29, 2009
    9
    Technological shortcomings aside, this is a perfect example of what to do trying to move a franchise from the 360/PS3 to the Wii; the developers at Visceral have created a game that captures the essence and atmosphere of the original title and feels and plays like its own game . The graphics are impressive for a Wii title, and the gameplay mechanics feel more refined than even the best Technological shortcomings aside, this is a perfect example of what to do trying to move a franchise from the 360/PS3 to the Wii; the developers at Visceral have created a game that captures the essence and atmosphere of the original title and feels and plays like its own game . The graphics are impressive for a Wii title, and the gameplay mechanics feel more refined than even the best "light gun" games. My main qualm is that the pace of the action is set for you, effectively removing the scare-factor that set Dead Space apart from other horror titles. Other complaints include some occasionally wonky voice acting (some actors seem to rifle between accents at random), and a lack of prompting for use of the glow-worm. Otherwise I rank this among the best third-party Wii games, and an example to be followed by Nintendo if they ever hope to recapture the hearts of us adult gamers who remain wary of Nintendos recent efforts (I'm looking at you Wii Fit). Expand
  11. ChrisH
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    My comment will probably be removed as it should, but just a quick and rather obvious point, that has been made so many times before: Game Informer: Dead Space fans should check it out for the fiction... bla bla bla. Dead Space fans, as in the people who played the original which just happened to be on the other consoles. Is it that in this gaming world of today, we are now expected to My comment will probably be removed as it should, but just a quick and rather obvious point, that has been made so many times before: Game Informer: Dead Space fans should check it out for the fiction... bla bla bla. Dead Space fans, as in the people who played the original which just happened to be on the other consoles. Is it that in this gaming world of today, we are now expected to not only own the latest consoles, but own every since one of them? Nothing wrong with exclusives, but why, when they already made a game on the other consoles, did they decide to make an exclusive for the one computer they didn't do the original for. Rant ends. Expand
  12. Justin
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    The best first person guided experience ever. Its one of the best looking Wii game to date, so any real horror fan should play this game..
  13. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    This game is great! I'm way behind because I didn't know about this game until a month ago, but I'm way into it. I have a 360 and a Wii. I originally got Dead space 1 on the 360 and was in love. Then I had Dead Space 2 pre ordered when I discovered there was a Wii addition rail type shooter that was the prequel. I was kinda sceptical because I played a Shooter "on-rails" before on WiiThis game is great! I'm way behind because I didn't know about this game until a month ago, but I'm way into it. I have a 360 and a Wii. I originally got Dead space 1 on the 360 and was in love. Then I had Dead Space 2 pre ordered when I discovered there was a Wii addition rail type shooter that was the prequel. I was kinda sceptical because I played a Shooter "on-rails" before on Wii and didn't think it was very fun. I used to love those types of games in arcades, but never appealed to me very much on consoles. But, this game pushes new boundaries. For being on the Wii the graphics are top notch. And the way they went with the game being "on-rails" is awesome. It's more like watching a movie and you are the main character. There is a lot of cut scenes, but they are well done and the acting is awesome for a video game. Then in the middle of watching this "movie" you get to shoot a bunch of things. It is the best game on Wii I have ever played and I love how it fills in the story more about how things got so bad before Dead Space 1. Expand
  14. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    Dead space extraction is a great game period. I own all three systems and have played both dead space 1 and 2 and this dead space on rails for the wii or for ps3 is a awsome experience. Great story great graphics. The will remote I like a little better than the move because I feel the speaker in the wii mote adds a little to the game play. It is a shame the wii is dissed so much by the dieDead space extraction is a great game period. I own all three systems and have played both dead space 1 and 2 and this dead space on rails for the wii or for ps3 is a awsome experience. Great story great graphics. The will remote I like a little better than the move because I feel the speaker in the wii mote adds a little to the game play. It is a shame the wii is dissed so much by the die hard xbxers out there because honestly they are missing out on a great title. If you don't pick this one up then you are the one missing out. Worth every penny and one of the best games ever on rails. Love it. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. More horror movie simulator than game, but a brilliant, tense and exciting experience still. [Dec 2009, p.62]
  2. 60
    Drop-in local multiplayer, though a decent laugh on higher difficulty settings, can’t quite save Dead Space: Extraction from solid rental status.
  3. Like Dead Space before it, this one’s a class act, through and through. Heed the censor's warning though... this is no kiddies' title.