Dead Space: Extraction Wii

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 74
  2. Negative: 8 out of 74

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanielS.
    Jan 31, 2010
    9
    Dead space extraction is an incredible overall experience. You'll never see the plot twists coming and they'll actually make sense unlike the end of Modern Warfare 2. The shooting mechanics are very good for a light-gun game, but putting the game on rails makes it much less scary than the original dead space. If it weren't for the game being so short it would be a sure 10, Dead space extraction is an incredible overall experience. You'll never see the plot twists coming and they'll actually make sense unlike the end of Modern Warfare 2. The shooting mechanics are very good for a light-gun game, but putting the game on rails makes it much less scary than the original dead space. If it weren't for the game being so short it would be a sure 10, but the lack of scares and short campaign make it only a near perfect experience. Expand
  2. RayV.
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    I had never played the original Dead Space before renting Extraction. Therefore, having nothing to compare it to, I have to say Extraction is one of the best Wii games I've ever seen. I'm sure there are plenty of people who can't stand not choosing where to move in a shooter game, but I can and will appreciate a cinematic experience, and Dead Space: Extraction sure is one I had never played the original Dead Space before renting Extraction. Therefore, having nothing to compare it to, I have to say Extraction is one of the best Wii games I've ever seen. I'm sure there are plenty of people who can't stand not choosing where to move in a shooter game, but I can and will appreciate a cinematic experience, and Dead Space: Extraction sure is one heck of an experience. I would go as far as to say it is a better overall first-person shooter than free-moving games like The Conduit or the Wii Medal of Honor titles. A sidenote to those people who have trouble getting into the game: Extraction is not, by any means, flawless. There are a few cringe-worthy lines of dialogue, sometimes an enemy is hidden from view for an extended period of time, etc. However, if you stick with the game, you will see that what Extraction does well, it does INCREDIBLY well. And that's precisely the point: when you allow yourself to be drawn into the game, it will surprise you with its depth and level of Visceral emotion. Expand
  3. SamR.
    Oct 4, 2009
    9
    After playing through the first few missions, I can say without a doubt that this is one of the best games available on the Wii in the past 3 years. Although not quite as scary as the previous title, the developers really meant it when they said that this wasn't a traditional 'on the rails' experience. The game pulls you in right from the start with a view of the back of an After playing through the first few missions, I can say without a doubt that this is one of the best games available on the Wii in the past 3 years. Although not quite as scary as the previous title, the developers really meant it when they said that this wasn't a traditional 'on the rails' experience. The game pulls you in right from the start with a view of the back of an engineer in a RIG suit, an homage to the camera and style of the previous Dead Space. From that point on it never stops feeling like Dead Space on the Wii. It has all of the atmosphere and superb graphics of its predecessor. My only real complaint is that the targeting reticule is just a bit too big, sometimes making it difficult to see what part of a necromorph you will shoot off. All in all, a bloody, violent, and profane example of exactly what Wii gaming should have been like since launch. Expand
  4. yannickm
    Sep 29, 2009
    9
    Great game, good atmosphere, impressive weapons, stunning visuals. What u want more? best rail shooter ever !
  5. RayW
    Jan 24, 2010
    9
    If you don't mind the On-Rails layout to the game, this is one of the most atmospheric games on the Wii. The story is compelling and the graphics are pretty good compared to other Wii games.
  6. JamesD
    Jan 22, 2010
    8
    Despite the constant scare factor to the original and some questionable voice acting, this on rails shooter remains strictly Dead Space because of the challenge and the elegant level design. The only drawback is the repetition gameplay wise.
  7. GiancarloG
    Oct 17, 2009
    9
    great game don't let the morons who gave this a 4 and a 5 fool you the graphics are some of the best on the wii and the gameplay is great fun.
  8. Ech0ez
    Oct 18, 2009
    8
    Dead Space: Extraction is truly incredible for a Light-Gun game. It starts off incredibly slow at first, but really picks up once you reach the fourth chapter, unfortunately the overall length of the game is pretty short. Thankfully the use of Challenge Modes, alternative difficulties, branching paths within chapters and the player's own ability to limit themselves to specific Dead Space: Extraction is truly incredible for a Light-Gun game. It starts off incredibly slow at first, but really picks up once you reach the fourth chapter, unfortunately the overall length of the game is pretty short. Thankfully the use of Challenge Modes, alternative difficulties, branching paths within chapters and the player's own ability to limit themselves to specific weapons, Extraction has a lot of replay value. The story and overall presentation are simply astounding, I was skeptical of the use of an on-rails presentation for a Dead Space game at first, but my opinion has completely changed since playign Extraction. The amazing use of the camera truly creates an near un-matched sense of immersion, especially when compare to other games within the genre. It's truly a wonder that no one has attempted this before. The graphics are fantastic for a Wii game, heck it's among the only Wii titles that actually looks like an HD console game with up-scaled using Dolphin, something even Nintendo's titles don't achieve. As far as the gameplay goes, Extraction incorporates many concepts from the original Dead Space into the tried-and-tested Light-Gun game and it works really well as a whole. The only faults I have with Extraction are; 1. The camera feels like it's there for the atmosphere, not for the game. It works really well for the most part, but at times the movements of the camera at inconvenient times makes fighting enemies and trying to attain items incredibly difficult. 2. The boss battles are really repetitive and dull. Aside from those Extraction alos suffers from frame rate issues, with slowdown popping up 2-5 times per chapter. Thankfully it's not significant, but it's worth mentioning. As a whole though, Extraction is an amazing game and truly one of the best Light-Gun games ever produced. Whether or not it's a worthy prequel to Dead Space is in the eye of the beholder, but I myself think it more than fits the bill. Expand
  9. michaelmendiola
    Oct 3, 2009
    9
    Although I agree It wasn't the best of Dead Space, This was the greatest rail shooter ever. The game ansered some of my questions about the game, but it makes you want to play more and want more questions answered. If you are a Dead Space fan, go to a game stor and get the game, it's worth your time.
  10. BryanS
    Oct 5, 2009
    7
    As far as backstory goes, i'd definately recomend this. It fills in a lot and has some really cool intersections with the first one. as far as the gameplay goes... meh. its really short and not very fun. but if you think of this as a slightly interactive dead space movie, then you'll like it. i bought it just to have the whole collection when dead space 2 comes out.
  11. Ener
    Sep 29, 2009
    9
    Want to play a quality third party game on Wii? Than this is it. Cool an believable narrative, great gameplay and brimming with atmosphere. Visceral Games has a lot of talent, support that talent.
  12. MichaelA.
    Sep 29, 2009
    9
    One of the best rail shooters I have ever played. The "strategic dismemberment" carries over from the other versions and fits in perfectly with the genre. The presentation is also fantastic. At the price of freedom of movement you get one of the most cinematic experiences on the Wii.
  13. Matt
    Sep 29, 2009
    9
    Technological shortcomings aside, this is a perfect example of what to do trying to move a franchise from the 360/PS3 to the Wii; the developers at Visceral have created a game that captures the essence and atmosphere of the original title and feels and plays like its own game . The graphics are impressive for a Wii title, and the gameplay mechanics feel more refined than even the best Technological shortcomings aside, this is a perfect example of what to do trying to move a franchise from the 360/PS3 to the Wii; the developers at Visceral have created a game that captures the essence and atmosphere of the original title and feels and plays like its own game . The graphics are impressive for a Wii title, and the gameplay mechanics feel more refined than even the best "light gun" games. My main qualm is that the pace of the action is set for you, effectively removing the scare-factor that set Dead Space apart from other horror titles. Other complaints include some occasionally wonky voice acting (some actors seem to rifle between accents at random), and a lack of prompting for use of the glow-worm. Otherwise I rank this among the best third-party Wii games, and an example to be followed by Nintendo if they ever hope to recapture the hearts of us adult gamers who remain wary of Nintendos recent efforts (I'm looking at you Wii Fit). Expand
  14. CarlosL
    Dec 21, 2009
    8
    I've player a lot on rail games on Wii, but this one I trully liked! It may be a little short, and a little repetitive, but it's a lot of fun. One little issue, the multiplayer could be a little more improved.
  15. Dec 27, 2011
    6
    This game isin't the best railshooter, but it's still good enough. The game focuses more on story and cinematic experience than any other same genre game I have played. The graphics are good for Wii game, but the immersion of being one of the characters is broken all the time, which is a shame. For example, there are numerous times, where as small thing as seeing your hands when you'reThis game isin't the best railshooter, but it's still good enough. The game focuses more on story and cinematic experience than any other same genre game I have played. The graphics are good for Wii game, but the immersion of being one of the characters is broken all the time, which is a shame. For example, there are numerous times, where as small thing as seeing your hands when you're climbing something, could have helped with keeping the immersion. Weapons don't also feel powerful like when using arcade pistols, though Wiimote could be blamed about it. This game is pretty long for a railway shooter, but it's still pretty short compared to other games (4-5 hours). If you can find this game very cheap, buy and play it with your friend. There isin't anything scary in this game anyway. Expand
  16. Nov 3, 2011
    8
    To be honest, Dead Space: Extraction is actually a pretty good game, and definitely one of the best games on the Wii. You sadly can't find many great games on the Wii for hard core gamers. But for those hard core gamers that just happen to own a Wii, and especially fans of the series, Dead Space: Extraction is a game you really should check out. The graphics are also actually pretty goodTo be honest, Dead Space: Extraction is actually a pretty good game, and definitely one of the best games on the Wii. You sadly can't find many great games on the Wii for hard core gamers. But for those hard core gamers that just happen to own a Wii, and especially fans of the series, Dead Space: Extraction is a game you really should check out. The graphics are also actually pretty good (for a Wii game anyways.) This game is also a very important addition to the Dead Space story line, and fans will really enjoy it, along with the scares it brings. Expand
  17. ChrisH
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    My comment will probably be removed as it should, but just a quick and rather obvious point, that has been made so many times before: Game Informer: Dead Space fans should check it out for the fiction... bla bla bla. Dead Space fans, as in the people who played the original which just happened to be on the other consoles. Is it that in this gaming world of today, we are now expected to My comment will probably be removed as it should, but just a quick and rather obvious point, that has been made so many times before: Game Informer: Dead Space fans should check it out for the fiction... bla bla bla. Dead Space fans, as in the people who played the original which just happened to be on the other consoles. Is it that in this gaming world of today, we are now expected to not only own the latest consoles, but own every since one of them? Nothing wrong with exclusives, but why, when they already made a game on the other consoles, did they decide to make an exclusive for the one computer they didn't do the original for. Rant ends. Expand
  18. Justin
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    The best first person guided experience ever. Its one of the best looking Wii game to date, so any real horror fan should play this game..
  19. JeremyW
    Oct 1, 2009
    5
    I think I'm being generous giving this game a 5 out of 10. I hated the on rail experience. I felt like all I was doing was pressing buttons at random. Not fun for me at all and definitely not scary like the 1st dead space. I will be selling this game back tomorrow! I played it for maybe 20 minutes and just could not get into it.
  20. joh.
    Oct 5, 2009
    4
    Once again we see that any title for the wii can't hold a candle to the same game for any other platform. The only reason to own a wii at this point is if you are 6 years old or if you stick loyaly to nintendo because you have since the NES. The graphics were shameful, the dialouge was ridiculous and the fact that nintendo was so cheap they made this a rail shooter instead of an FPS Once again we see that any title for the wii can't hold a candle to the same game for any other platform. The only reason to own a wii at this point is if you are 6 years old or if you stick loyaly to nintendo because you have since the NES. The graphics were shameful, the dialouge was ridiculous and the fact that nintendo was so cheap they made this a rail shooter instead of an FPS (yes they are different) just makes me embarrassed to have that square white piece of garbage sitting on the shelf in my bedroom. If I have to waste another $50 on one more crapy game that promises me a hardcore or scary experience but can only make me laugh i will sell my wii and all of the games for it. Expand
  21. toms
    Oct 9, 2009
    1
    Hated the on rail style. Hard to enjoy the sceens when I cant stop and look around. graphics are not bad.... for the Wii but I wish this was released on the 360 or ps3. I expect this game will show up on the clearance rack shortly but I wouldnt buy it even then.
  22. Mar 23, 2011
    8
    one of the very few good things the wii has going for it besides its nintendo lisenced games are some real good rail shooters and dead space extraction joins that list. the game feels alot like a movie as there is alot of chatter between you and your commrades as you make your way through the alien infested ship trying to find away out. its a sequel just before the events of the firstone of the very few good things the wii has going for it besides its nintendo lisenced games are some real good rail shooters and dead space extraction joins that list. the game feels alot like a movie as there is alot of chatter between you and your commrades as you make your way through the alien infested ship trying to find away out. its a sequel just before the events of the first dead space . you have pretty much all the guns from the first dead space along with a few more . the graphics are very well done (for the wii atleast) . there are a few boss fights but are typically the same thing for all rail shooters just shoot the weak spot until it dies. the voice acting is pretty solid and it does like i said have a movie feel to it . you can upgrade your guns by finding upgrade nodes and there are 10 chapters in the game . the total is about 4 hours long so its on the short side but most rail shooters are . my few gripes with this game is it is just to dark and even though you get this green glow stick it only lets you use it at certain times which i was not a fan of . you should have been able to use it when ever you want . also the camera swings around so erradicaly when you are trying to grab some thing it can be a ubber pain . there should have been a button you can press that would just freeze the camera for atleast 3 seconds so you can grab some stuff . i didnt find this game as near as intense as what dead space 1 or 2 is but still a enjoyable games that if you like rail shooters is well worth picking up. Expand
  23. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    This game is great! I'm way behind because I didn't know about this game until a month ago, but I'm way into it. I have a 360 and a Wii. I originally got Dead space 1 on the 360 and was in love. Then I had Dead Space 2 pre ordered when I discovered there was a Wii addition rail type shooter that was the prequel. I was kinda sceptical because I played a Shooter "on-rails" before on WiiThis game is great! I'm way behind because I didn't know about this game until a month ago, but I'm way into it. I have a 360 and a Wii. I originally got Dead space 1 on the 360 and was in love. Then I had Dead Space 2 pre ordered when I discovered there was a Wii addition rail type shooter that was the prequel. I was kinda sceptical because I played a Shooter "on-rails" before on Wii and didn't think it was very fun. I used to love those types of games in arcades, but never appealed to me very much on consoles. But, this game pushes new boundaries. For being on the Wii the graphics are top notch. And the way they went with the game being "on-rails" is awesome. It's more like watching a movie and you are the main character. There is a lot of cut scenes, but they are well done and the acting is awesome for a video game. Then in the middle of watching this "movie" you get to shoot a bunch of things. It is the best game on Wii I have ever played and I love how it fills in the story more about how things got so bad before Dead Space 1. Expand
  24. Oct 31, 2011
    8
    i liked this game although i found it a bit boring, still, has a good plot great visuals and variety of paths and weapons throughout the game is the best on rails game ive ever played
  25. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    Dead space extraction is a great game period. I own all three systems and have played both dead space 1 and 2 and this dead space on rails for the wii or for ps3 is a awsome experience. Great story great graphics. The will remote I like a little better than the move because I feel the speaker in the wii mote adds a little to the game play. It is a shame the wii is dissed so much by the dieDead space extraction is a great game period. I own all three systems and have played both dead space 1 and 2 and this dead space on rails for the wii or for ps3 is a awsome experience. Great story great graphics. The will remote I like a little better than the move because I feel the speaker in the wii mote adds a little to the game play. It is a shame the wii is dissed so much by the die hard xbxers out there because honestly they are missing out on a great title. If you don't pick this one up then you are the one missing out. Worth every penny and one of the best games ever on rails. Love it. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. More horror movie simulator than game, but a brilliant, tense and exciting experience still. [Dec 2009, p.62]
  2. 60
    Drop-in local multiplayer, though a decent laugh on higher difficulty settings, can’t quite save Dead Space: Extraction from solid rental status.
  3. Like Dead Space before it, this one’s a class act, through and through. Heed the censor's warning though... this is no kiddies' title.