User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 73
  2. Negative: 8 out of 73

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 27, 2011
    6
    This game isin't the best railshooter, but it's still good enough. The game focuses more on story and cinematic experience than any other same genre game I have played. The graphics are good for Wii game, but the immersion of being one of the characters is broken all the time, which is a shame. For example, there are numerous times, where as small thing as seeing your hands when you'reThis game isin't the best railshooter, but it's still good enough. The game focuses more on story and cinematic experience than any other same genre game I have played. The graphics are good for Wii game, but the immersion of being one of the characters is broken all the time, which is a shame. For example, there are numerous times, where as small thing as seeing your hands when you're climbing something, could have helped with keeping the immersion. Weapons don't also feel powerful like when using arcade pistols, though Wiimote could be blamed about it. This game is pretty long for a railway shooter, but it's still pretty short compared to other games (4-5 hours). If you can find this game very cheap, buy and play it with your friend. There isin't anything scary in this game anyway. Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2011
    8
    one of the very few good things the wii has going for it besides its nintendo lisenced games are some real good rail shooters and dead space extraction joins that list. the game feels alot like a movie as there is alot of chatter between you and your commrades as you make your way through the alien infested ship trying to find away out. its a sequel just before the events of the firstone of the very few good things the wii has going for it besides its nintendo lisenced games are some real good rail shooters and dead space extraction joins that list. the game feels alot like a movie as there is alot of chatter between you and your commrades as you make your way through the alien infested ship trying to find away out. its a sequel just before the events of the first dead space . you have pretty much all the guns from the first dead space along with a few more . the graphics are very well done (for the wii atleast) . there are a few boss fights but are typically the same thing for all rail shooters just shoot the weak spot until it dies. the voice acting is pretty solid and it does like i said have a movie feel to it . you can upgrade your guns by finding upgrade nodes and there are 10 chapters in the game . the total is about 4 hours long so its on the short side but most rail shooters are . my few gripes with this game is it is just to dark and even though you get this green glow stick it only lets you use it at certain times which i was not a fan of . you should have been able to use it when ever you want . also the camera swings around so erradicaly when you are trying to grab some thing it can be a ubber pain . there should have been a button you can press that would just freeze the camera for atleast 3 seconds so you can grab some stuff . i didnt find this game as near as intense as what dead space 1 or 2 is but still a enjoyable games that if you like rail shooters is well worth picking up. Expand
  3. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    This game is great! I'm way behind because I didn't know about this game until a month ago, but I'm way into it. I have a 360 and a Wii. I originally got Dead space 1 on the 360 and was in love. Then I had Dead Space 2 pre ordered when I discovered there was a Wii addition rail type shooter that was the prequel. I was kinda sceptical because I played a Shooter "on-rails" before on WiiThis game is great! I'm way behind because I didn't know about this game until a month ago, but I'm way into it. I have a 360 and a Wii. I originally got Dead space 1 on the 360 and was in love. Then I had Dead Space 2 pre ordered when I discovered there was a Wii addition rail type shooter that was the prequel. I was kinda sceptical because I played a Shooter "on-rails" before on Wii and didn't think it was very fun. I used to love those types of games in arcades, but never appealed to me very much on consoles. But, this game pushes new boundaries. For being on the Wii the graphics are top notch. And the way they went with the game being "on-rails" is awesome. It's more like watching a movie and you are the main character. There is a lot of cut scenes, but they are well done and the acting is awesome for a video game. Then in the middle of watching this "movie" you get to shoot a bunch of things. It is the best game on Wii I have ever played and I love how it fills in the story more about how things got so bad before Dead Space 1. Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2011
    8
    To be honest, Dead Space: Extraction is actually a pretty good game, and definitely one of the best games on the Wii. You sadly can't find many great games on the Wii for hard core gamers. But for those hard core gamers that just happen to own a Wii, and especially fans of the series, Dead Space: Extraction is a game you really should check out. The graphics are also actually pretty goodTo be honest, Dead Space: Extraction is actually a pretty good game, and definitely one of the best games on the Wii. You sadly can't find many great games on the Wii for hard core gamers. But for those hard core gamers that just happen to own a Wii, and especially fans of the series, Dead Space: Extraction is a game you really should check out. The graphics are also actually pretty good (for a Wii game anyways.) This game is also a very important addition to the Dead Space story line, and fans will really enjoy it, along with the scares it brings. Expand
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    8
    i liked this game although i found it a bit boring, still, has a good plot great visuals and variety of paths and weapons throughout the game is the best on rails game ive ever played
  6. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    Dead space extraction is a great game period. I own all three systems and have played both dead space 1 and 2 and this dead space on rails for the wii or for ps3 is a awsome experience. Great story great graphics. The will remote I like a little better than the move because I feel the speaker in the wii mote adds a little to the game play. It is a shame the wii is dissed so much by the dieDead space extraction is a great game period. I own all three systems and have played both dead space 1 and 2 and this dead space on rails for the wii or for ps3 is a awsome experience. Great story great graphics. The will remote I like a little better than the move because I feel the speaker in the wii mote adds a little to the game play. It is a shame the wii is dissed so much by the die hard xbxers out there because honestly they are missing out on a great title. If you don't pick this one up then you are the one missing out. Worth every penny and one of the best games ever on rails. Love it. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. More horror movie simulator than game, but a brilliant, tense and exciting experience still. [Dec 2009, p.62]
  2. 60
    Drop-in local multiplayer, though a decent laugh on higher difficulty settings, can’t quite save Dead Space: Extraction from solid rental status.
  3. Like Dead Space before it, this one’s a class act, through and through. Heed the censor's warning though... this is no kiddies' title.