• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Feb 9, 2009
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45
  1. 80
    This is a game for Wii owners who want something refreshingly different. It's powered by a dark, intelligent storyline, boasts great production values through and through, and features smart, fun controls (that use the Wii remote well), not to mention some unexpectedly engrossing exploration elements.
  2. There is nothing like Deadly Creatures. The stars of this game are completely vile, and there is nothing done to make them the slightest bit endearing. However, despite presenting an unsettling world, this well-made game provides plenty of hair-raising moments and memorable duels.
  3. Deadly Creatures should renew your interest in your Nintendo Wii if you’ve had a falling out recently with the lack of titles to play. It’s fun for all ages and packs a thrilling rollercoaster of a ride till you finally complete the storyline.
  4. The combat and motion controls are less than perfect, but the level design and cinematic storytelling really steal the show. Deadly Creatures offers a rare perspective that's very entertaining, if only for a brief time.
  5. For gamers looking for something different on the Wii, this might be the ticket – provided that you’re willing to cope with the unpolished mechanics.
  6. 90
    Ultimately, the clever level design and variety of traversal techniques (burrowing, web-grappling and wall-crawling) present both a great challenge and a nice diversity in activities that held my interest and kept me playing much longer than I probably expected to. Despite its frightening, creepy-crawly protagonists, I found Deadly Creatures to be both charming and endearing.
  7. Deadly Creatures has an intriguing premise, and makes a strong first impression with its shudder-inducing animation and cute environmental details. That may be enough to curry favour with Wii owners starved of action games, but over the long haul the scariest thing about these critters is how shoddily constructed they are.
  8. As a tech demo, Deadly Creatures is an impressive piece of work, but as a game, it is merely average. For every good idea, there's something that holds back the game and prevents it from really shining.
  9. Deadly Creatures is a good game that could have been great with a better control system and a less conventional gameplay. However, Wii owners should definitely give it a try.
  10. Fighting insects is an interesting if niche concept. But Deadly Creatures doesn't pull it off. [Apr 2009, p.75]
  11. This is a title Wii owners deserve and every other game studio should aspire to match.
  12. Deadly Creatures isn’t quite spectacular, but it is a solid experience that never runs out of ideas and will keep throwing in surprises, satisfying combat, and a decent challenge.
  13. Hands down, Deadly Creatures if one of the most original and entertaining offerings of the console portfolio and, not only that, is one of the most ambitious project regarding immersion, both in gameplay as in the atmosphere achieved.
  14. 60
    For Wii owners looking for something a little more adult, Deadly Creatures satisfies your sadistic cravings for carnage and blood, but lacks the polish to make it a keeper for any collection.
  15. Still, even with the short playing time, it's hard not to recommend Deadly Creatures. The level design is top notch, the animations of the various bugs are downright creepy and the combat is oddly satisfying. The game also hosts some interesting boss battles which take into account the fact that the bosses are usually much, much bigger than you, meaning that the best way to win is to simply survive.
  16. This actual action is not rendered with nearly half the imagination or proficiency as the premise offers – and six hours of Remote-induced carpal tunnel syndrome and grim boss-battling overstay their welcome. [Mar 2009, p.91]
  17. While it may only just escape mediocrity, Deadly Creatures is entertaining enough to keep you playing until the end. [Mar 2009, p.122]
  18. Without anyone noticing, a scorpion and a tarantula burst onto the videogame market with a long and enjoyable title not suitable for claustrophobic gamers but very recommended for people looking for a natural and realistic creatures experience on Wii.
  19. Had Rainbow managed to solve a few of the combat problems and tidied up the presentation (and squeeze in a better story) THQ would have had one of the console's best games on its hands. For that reason it's a shame we've ended up with just an extremely competent and enjoyable one.
  20. Smart, unothordox, creepy as hell. I can’t recommend Deadly Creatures enough. One of the rare few third-party Wii games you should be proud to add to your collection.
  21. If only Deadly Creatures could've been e little bit lengthier and varied, we would recommend it to every Wii owner eager to try a new experience. The experiment is successful, but it lacks any kind of re-playability, and it won't last long. Still, it's nice to see that new ideas do come up even in this next-gen, and they should be rewarded with a good try.
  22. Deadly Creatures is one of those cool, quirky games that you miss the first time around.
  23. I hope that this isn't the last Deadly Creatures game we see. The concept is really great, and a lot of times, this game feels like it's laying the groundwork for a pretty cool franchise.
  24. An action-adventure that's unlike anything else out there. Fortunately, there's more to it than just a good concept; the game is eerie and atmospheric, and its unique tarantula and scorpion protagonists stand out from the usual heroes. [Mar 2009, p.89]
  25. There hasn’t been a game since Mister Mosquito that has played with the idea of an insect-sized protagonist and pulled it off so well.
  26. It's a different style of gameplay with very different protagonists and antagonists than gamers are used to. This is really what we need to see more of on the Wii though, and despite the flaws it's definitely worth checking out if you want to try something new.
  27. Deadly Creatures turned out to be a very good game, because of its originality, scary looks and outstanding gameplay. Getting into the life of a scorpion or a tarantula was a very interesting experience, that no Wii-gamer should miss out on. The few flaws and short duration prevent the game from getting a high rating, but won't stop us from wanting a second part.
  28. Impressively original, and wonderfully grotesque, arachnid sim that's just a little short on gameplay.
  29. It's almost funny how seriously the game takes itself, but if you're looking for something out of the ordinary, this trip through the underground provides just enough of everything to be worth playing.
  30. Rainbow Studios has made an strange game, a particularly bizarre one. It's an intriguing game that suffers from a lack of a deeper storyline. Its graphics are enough to make this game comfortable for any kind of player who is willing to discover a new way of understanding the greatness of Nature.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. LarryL.
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    This is one of the most creative, intelligent, aestheticlly pleasing and captivating video games I've ever seen. It's one of the This is one of the most creative, intelligent, aestheticlly pleasing and captivating video games I've ever seen. It's one of the best video games to have ever been released! Full Review »
  2. Sep 2, 2011
    6
    Deadly Creatures, is certainly trying to be different, making youm play as a spider and a scorpion is a novel enough twist, and the world isDeadly Creatures, is certainly trying to be different, making youm play as a spider and a scorpion is a novel enough twist, and the world is well realised. But, underneath this, DC is just an average beat 'em up with clunky-ish platofrming, just one that does something different, which allows it to stand out against samey movie tie-ins. And, for the lower price since it's fairly old now, it's worth picking up for a game-starved Wii-owner. Full Review »
  3. Dec 1, 2010
    9
    Well I'll be damned. I've been eyeballing this one for a long time and finally picked it up on sale. Who knew that it was good enough toWell I'll be damned. I've been eyeballing this one for a long time and finally picked it up on sale. Who knew that it was good enough to warrant full price. If I had known that the game was this creative and looked this good I would have picked it up back when it first came out. Still, it's good to save a buck and I'm glad it went on sale, otherwise I might not have tried this surprisingly good game. Full Review »