• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: May 13, 2008
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 23
  2. Negative: 11 out of 23
  1. The inability to use your Miis as playable characters hurts. However, for $30, it's a fun game to play with friends, even if competitive figure skating sounds somewhat ridiculous.
  2. The price is right, the games are fun, and the whole family being able to get in on the action together has to be a good thing.
  3. Every game was really really pixilated.
  4. 45
    Two games out of the ten within Deca Sports are good – the rest, not so much. That's a 20% success rate for this compilation, so I think I'm being generous with my final score. Or maybe I just liked curling and archery that much.
  5. As tempting as a game with both badminton and curling may be, there's no reason to recommend Deca Sports.
  6. 42
    The most frustrating thing about Deca Sports is that it's not bad -- just bland, uninspired, and of questionable value.
  7. 70
    If you're a Wii Sports fan who is hungry for new challenges, Deca Sports deserves a shot.
  8. Curling and figure skating, as engaging as they are, are not sufficient to rescue this sub-par package from non-league status. [June 2008, p.116]
  9. Sports Island could have been a great addition to the Wii catalogue, but sadly the lack of polish and emphasis put on fine tuning the controls drags it way below its potential.
  10. A shallow affair when played solo, but with seven of the sports providing a good grin in multiplayer, this is a decent addition to the mini-game genre. [July 2008, p.66]
  11. Too basic for single-player gaming and too expensive for multiplayer gaming. [June 2008, p.86]
  12. Deca Sports offers an efficient interface and a couple of high points during gameplay… but only that.
  13. Wii Sports is still the reigning champion when it comes to party sports games. Deca Sports is, if anything, a distraction, and worth renting if friends are coming over.
  14. Not in the same league as "Wii Sports," but the curling and figure skating games here are worth playing. [Issue#22, p.68]
  15. Families seeking their next Wii-Sports fix will have some fun with this $30 budget title, but it hardly has the same polish of Nintendo's groundbreaking title.
  16. Deca Sports tries to capitalize on the accessibility of the Wii, but what we're left with is a mundane product that only has a few average standouts; and paying for three mildly-fun games doesn't fit the bill, especially when there are better alternatives.
  17. This is a game solely for those who want to waggle controllers for an hour and giggle; all other self-respecting gamers should just stay away.
  18. Deca Sports is not even worth your money for a rental. You can play all the sports and grow bored with them within a half hour.
  19. In the end, Deca Sports comes off as a feeble attempt to compete with Wii Sports.
  20. Unless you have a young kid that likes all kind of sports and want a family friendly game then you could try this one, but there's others out there that are far better for the same price. Or you could just stick to Wii sports.
  21. The simplistic flick-your-wrist-and-sometimes-press-a-button interface is probably great for testing the motor skills of chimpanzees, but humans should do themselves a favor and use this same arm motion to fling this Hudson game into the Hudson River.
  22. 50
    The problem is that three bad games plus six ranging from barely adequate to decent plus a final "pretty good" one doesn't add up to anything worthwhile.
  23. 70
    In the end, Deca Sports isn't a great title but it is a fun diversion that's sure to go over well with the casual Wii owner. [June 2008, p.85]
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 3 out of 4
  1. AnonymousMC
    Sep 11, 2008
    7
    the figure skating on here was pretty cool. im an arcade fan, and trying to time the jumps and spins to get excellents instead of goods isthe figure skating on here was pretty cool. im an arcade fan, and trying to time the jumps and spins to get excellents instead of goods is awesome. trying to chain your excellents to achieve the highest score is actually a rush. its not that different than trying to chain combos or kills together in fighting games and shooters. plus, my girlfriend will play it with me.. so its pretty solid. but the othher games on there werent that great.. so i couldnt give it higher than a 7 Full Review »
  2. LB
    Jul 26, 2008
    1
    HATE IT!! I was thoroughly disappointed. I refuse to buy another wii game where you cannot use your miis. To me the whole purpose of theHATE IT!! I was thoroughly disappointed. I refuse to buy another wii game where you cannot use your miis. To me the whole purpose of the nintendo wii system was to get you moving with the realistic moves and all. There are just too many fake, cheesy copy cats games out there that put the wii name on it. It is sickening that these games are purchased and no way of returning them. I feel that the piblic is being conned. If Nintendo is putting their official seal on these games that do not live up to the initial wii sports game quality , then they will surely lose customers. Full Review »
  3. Anonymous
    Jun 24, 2008
    3
    Just another collection of shallow, bland, soulless mini-games with irritating and tiresome remote waggling. Like Wii Sports (the game it isJust another collection of shallow, bland, soulless mini-games with irritating and tiresome remote waggling. Like Wii Sports (the game it is shamelessly ripping off) casual gamers may get some cheap thrills from it in a party environment, but like Wii Sports there's little appeal outside of that and players will get tired of it very quickly. Deca Sports pretty much represents everything that's bad about current Wii game development. Full Review »