Disney Epic Mickey Wii

Disney Epic Mickey Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 78 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 128 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Deus Ex and Thief cocreator Warren Spector is developing a dark, Wii-exclusive adventure featuring Disney's rodent mascot.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 78
  2. Negative: 4 out of 78
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    90
    Epic Mickey is pure magic and makes you realise what we're missing from today's society and why Walt Disney's cartoons were just so good.
  2. Dec 8, 2010
    88
    The developers have done a great job in making this universe quite epic as you attempt to colourise this dull and dark universe. Sent there by a bad scientist, it's once again up to Mickey to save the universe and the game gives the player some power in how this will be done.
  3. Dec 13, 2010
    83
    There are enough side missions to keep the main game feeling fresh, and enough darkness for Mickey to overcome, once again showcasing his badass side.
  4. Dec 8, 2010
    78
    If you are willing to put up with an incredibly frustrating camera and problematic combat in order to experience a rich world and entertaining story then give Epic Mickey a try.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 15, 2011
    70
    Marvelous game, stunning animations, RPG motives, multiple solutions to puzzles, stylish visuals, great hero with potential to compete with iconic Mario – all buried six feet under because of crappy camera and controls. [Issue#199]
  6. 65
    Epic Mickey is a game that falls short in the part that counts: the gameplay.
  7. Dec 13, 2010
    40
    Nevermind these heightened expectations, though: even on its own merits, Epic Mickey is a platformer that feels about a generation behind, though one with just enough flashes of inspiration to keep you constantly aware of its wasted potential.

See all 78 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 51
  2. Negative: 7 out of 51
  1. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    I don't understand why all the hardcore "gamerz" out there believe this title should have been made only for them. My kids love the game andI don't understand why all the hardcore "gamerz" out there believe this title should have been made only for them. My kids love the game and have enjoyed it tremendously. Maybe they aren't trying to be journalists and sound important on the internet for all the other nerds. I'm very happy with my children's enjoyment of this game and I trust Disney. The end. Expand
  2. HPA
    Dec 2, 2010
    9
    Overall, a fantastic game! Through every minute of playtime I loved the story and all of the Disney history involved. While some of theOverall, a fantastic game! Through every minute of playtime I loved the story and all of the Disney history involved. While some of the reviews from critics have bemoaned the fact that Junction Point chose to give a darker tone to the game, I find it to be quite beautiful. Graphically (for a Wii game) it is in that top tier of games. I find myself wanting to play through the game at least 2-3 more times to further explore wasteland and see how my decisions impact the overall story. First time through, I tried to use the paint mechanic almost exclusively, so I am very intrigued to find out what happens when I do the exact opposite. I manually controlled the camera at all times with the remote's D pad, so I didn't find the camera to be the same problem that some other critics have claimed it to be. Not perfect, but not bad either... I would have preferred that Junction Point allow for classic controller pro set up, but I understand the desire to utilize motion controls on a system such as the Wii. This is a must buy for anyone who loves great characters, great story, beautiful setting and environment, as well as exploration and gameplay choices that impact the way the story unfolds. Expand
  3. Dec 30, 2010
    9
    i am half way though the game. wow! Hard work! But it is so fun! lots of paint! green and blue! there is even a world of forgotten charachtersi am half way though the game. wow! Hard work! But it is so fun! lots of paint! green and blue! there is even a world of forgotten charachters . mickey is brave. There is even an ink monster . Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    Epic Mickey is not a perfect game. The camera is atrocious and the sidequests are mundane fetch quests for the most part, but the mainEpic Mickey is not a perfect game. The camera is atrocious and the sidequests are mundane fetch quests for the most part, but the main gameplay mechanics are well worth the buy, or at least a rent. The paint-and-thinner mechanic works wonders and makes platforming very interesting. It also makes looking for secrets very interesting. Worth your time and money for anyone who is looking for something different or anyone who loves classic Disney. Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2010
    7
    I had interest in this game since E3 when Warren gave his demostration, and a best word to describe it; Disappointing. Maybe it was partly dueI had interest in this game since E3 when Warren gave his demostration, and a best word to describe it; Disappointing. Maybe it was partly due to Warren Spector and Junction Point hyping it up every waking moment. But still, the camera is a dodgy can be a right bugger, controls feel really, um, 'tight' and irresponsive, well, in my experience anyway. I also found the actual platforming to be "average". The paint/thinner mechanic saved it from being a complete disaster. It's stuff you've seen before, very basic and not anything on the level it was hyped to be. But, the characters have good personalities, and Wasteland is really intriguing place to explore. The paint/thinner mechanic is genius and makes for some interesting gameplay. The game has massive depth, with Warren's manifesto "Playstyle matters" couldn't be more true. But, despite this, and offering you plenty of gametime, I felt that you'll only feel good when you make a decision which isn't signposted. If you're a Disney fan then you should give this a try. But approach with caution. Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2011
    6
    Epic Mickey takes one of the world's most beloved mascots and places him in a strange decayed and ruined world he help destroy and create.Epic Mickey takes one of the world's most beloved mascots and places him in a strange decayed and ruined world he help destroy and create. Mickey travels around a magical kingdom of forgotten and lost characters and hopes to right his wrongs and escape the ruined world. With the magical paint brush Mickey is able to create and destroy with paint and thinner. All of that sounds wonderful on paper.. but the final product is far from wonderful.
    The game is directed by Warren Spector, the man behind Deus Ex, and a few Ultima games. While I have yet to experience them I don't know much about his previous works, but it one can see that this is his first platformer he's worked on. While the world of the Wasteland is quite interesting with places like Mickeyjunk Mountain standing out, you feel that the team didn't know how to approach the platforming sections of the game. There's 2D and 3D sections to the game. The short 2D sections prove to be tedious, repetitive and uninspired platforming while the 3D sections get screwed by a horrible camera which fails to follow you properly and won't shift. I fell plenty of times because of the faulty camera. The music feels full and orchestral but there's no stand out tracks ,besides the warped 2D section music.
    The game promises a moral choice system, you can be evil and erase the baddies and not help people or help people and convert the baddies to goodies. Overall.. it doesn't matter the main ending is still the same. I was kind of expecting Mickey to merge with the big bad of the game and become the evil menace to the Wastleland and rule it with an iron fist., or something a bit darker then the same happy ending that happens.
    Overall, Epic Mickey is an interesting adventure full of neat little tidbits from Disney's past. But .. it is held back by a poor camera and poor level design.
    Expand
  7. Mar 25, 2011
    0
    it is stupid with dumb controls and uninspired story. Platformers are usually fun but not this one. You can expect graphics to suck and gameit is stupid with dumb controls and uninspired story. Platformers are usually fun but not this one. You can expect graphics to suck and game to be lam. Big waste of time.DO NOT BUY IT SUCKS. Expand

See all 51 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.

Awards & Rankings

#7 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
#2 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010