Endless Ocean Wii

Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 42
  2. Negative: 2 out of 42
Buy On
  1. 80
    Arika has created a very good, albeit different title that centers on the process of exploring the ocean and both seeing and cataloging its inhabitants. There is almost no way to lose (and the aquatic life is all safe, sharks included), but you will have fun all the same simply discovering new things, whether that encapsulates a humpback whale or a long-lost underwater civilization.
  2. Endless Ocean is a unique game that will strike a chord with some and fall flat with others.
  3. A charming and unique experience. Gamers with an open mind toward design will find a lot to admire here. It may even make you question what makes a game a game.
  4. With an excellent soundtrack and a simple concept, Endless Ocean succeeds in its goal of being a relaxing, educational experience. However, it fails miserably when it comes to feeling like a game. [Jan 2008, p.95]
  5. Endless Ocean is definitely an interesting experience. Whether you will enjoy it or not really depends on the kind of gamer you are. If you really enjoy action, plot, intense gameplay or objectives, you will most likely not want to even attempt to try this title.
  6. Endless Ocean is simple to the point of being quite dull, and certainly no masterpiece. But sometimes all a game needs to do is offer you something different, and it's an honest relief to play something that doesn't shout in your ear, set any time limits, or feature a single explosion; a game whose raison d'être is just beauty and peace.
  7. 25
    Endless Ocean's underwater atmosphere is soothing and relaxing but it lacks a crucial element: fun. [Feb 2008, p.84]
  8. 80
    Endless Ocean isn't like most games. While others drive tension and excitement to a fever pitch, Endless Ocean's deep-sea visuals and bubbling sound effects slowly dissolve your cares and stresses -- while occasionally eliciting gasps of awestruck disbelief.
  9. Games Master UK
    84
    If you fancy a radical change of pace, this is for you. Action fans need not apply. [Jan 2007, p.74]
  10. Edge Magazine
    70
    Arika reminds us that so little of our gaming relaxation time is actually spent relaxing, making this a healthy diversion that deserves recognition. [Jan 2008, p.88]
  11. 80
    There’s something pretty telling about a game that can suck away hours of your time before you know it. That’s just what Endless Ocean did to me. Despite not being a game in the classical sense, Endless Ocean is a solid and fascinating diversion.
  12. Endless Ocean is an interesting experiment that could lay the groundwork for something deeper and more fleshed out in the future (I kept imagining how cool a multi-layered RPG would be set in a similarly vast ocean). As is, though, I really can’t see the average gamer (translation: everyone that isn’t me) being entertained for more than an hour of two. Not to use a bad water pun, but the experience ultimately feels shallow.
  13. Endless Ocean is a unique experience that showcases the Wii in a whole new way, and at $29.99, the game represents a good value. You’ll never have the same dive twice, and it’s nice to have a game the kids can play where a shark won’t accidentally eat them.
  14. AceGamez
    80
    It may not have the splendid story of BioShock or the incredible environmental detail of BioShock, or indeed the cool name of BioShock, but it's a real breath of fresh air in a gaming environment that has become stale with relentless shooting and violence.
  15. VideoGamer
    70
    Endless Ocean is a game that goes out of its way to ease the player into its world. It's so calm and relaxing that at times you'll wonder if you have a pulse, only to suddenly spring back to life when something catches your eye - be it a massive shark or some sunken treasure.
  16. Play Magazine
    85
    Endless Ocean is a perfect non-game, whatever that means. [Jan 2008, p.60]
  17. Pelit (Finland)
    63
    Although there are lots of areas to explore, there is too little to do. You can just swim, feed the fishes, pat your dolphin and stare at the ocean. Though the soundtrack is nice and game has a nice atmosphere, I would call my feeling of the game “bored” rather than “relaxed”. [Jan 2008]
  18. Nintendo Power
    75
    The game's absence of goals won't please everyone. If you want drama, suspense, and action, you'll have to look elsewhere. [Feb 2008, p.87]
  19. It’s a no-brainer for open-minded gamers looking to diversify their collection. Dive in.
  20. 75
    If you’re looking for something that’s different and is completely about exploration, then you’ll enjoy what Endless Ocean has to offer.
  21. Despite the uncomfortable number of missed opportunities and graphics that fall short of current-generation standards, tooling around underwater and leisurely unfolding the central events in Endless Ocean remained unexpectedly delightful and engaging until the end—and even a few hours after.
  22. 49
    Purchase for your grandmother rather than yourself.
  23. Endless Ocean is a specific type of game for a specific kind of player. Leisurely swimming and looking for wildlife may be a bit slow paced for some, but if you find yourself glued to Animal Planet on Friday nights, it gives you a chance to live out your dreams of undersea discovery.
  24. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    84
    As freeform a game as you're likely to get, offering depth beyond measure. [Jan 2008, p.80]
  25. Okay, so it doesn't win the award for most action-packed adventure on Wii, but it is a beautiful, innovative and very different kettle of fish. A breathtaking experience. [Christmas 2007, p.46]
  26. If you’re into adrenaline-pumping thrills and any game slower than F-Zero,, don’t expect to get much, if anything, out of this game. If, however, you enjoy paced simulations and the thought of collecting stuff, you may want to put Endless Ocean on your sonar, at least for a rental.
  27. It's strictly a deep-sea diving simulator with heavy emphasis on exploration, treasure finding and aquatic discovery. With that said, it's a mesmerizing experience. Nintendo produces a vivid, wondrous underwater abyss to explore, complete with plenty of missions to fulfill.
  28. This isn't a game for everyone, but for those who get the appeal, it's a success. Over-acheivers need not apply; you'll either quit within minutes or go insane and break the disc. Endless Ocean is a break, not a conquest.
  29. If you ever played Ecco The Dolphin on the Mega Drive, or its conversion on the DreamCast, and you spent some time just happily swimming around on that first level doing flips and jumps while enjoying the simple delights of the whole virtual-swimming experience, there’s a good chance that Endless Ocean is going to be right up your watery boulevard.
  30. It’s something worth experiencing even if you end up coming to the conclusion that it isn’t for you, your gaming perspective will have been broadened.
  31. 80
    It's going to last you as long as you want to keep on exploring. There's a lot of sea to explore before you can say you've seen it all.
  32. 60
    Strangely enough, Endless Ocean is a very well made game. The problem lies in something else: as a game, Endless Ocean isn't very entertaining.
  33. This game defines what Nintendo meant when they first used the word 'new-gen.'
  34. A chill-out session better suited to gamers than grannies.
  35. More a learning tool than a game, Endless Ocean will appeal best to anyone interested in marine wildlife or gamers who cannot resist "collecting them all."
  36. It comes across as more of a toy then a real game, and with a budget price of $29.99 it is well worth the purchase for anyone seeking a way to wind down that won’t numb the brain.
  37. 80
    Once all areas of the map have been fully explored, the replay value is threatened by repetition, but amongst the violence and destruction found elsewhere in videogames, it will always be refreshing to sit back – cup of tea in one hand, a remote in the other – and simply just relax in the deep blue.
  38. What we have here is a different and interesting “game”, and time feels well spent, as long as the players are into the subject matter. if not, you may as well pick up your BFG and go waste some more zombie/soldier/alien scum.
  39. 60
    If you’re looking for a game for the kids, or you’re really into marine life, then Endless Ocean is worth checking out, but adrenaline junkies and HD fanatics will likely find themselves disappointed.
  40. A great value with a surprising amount of modes and depth. While there is no overriding goal to the game, you still will have plenty of things to do and tours to give during your stay in the ocean.
  41. It's neither a good depiction of the real thing, or fun.
  42. Of course, a game about diving will probably never have mass appeal of Mario, but it is surely fun - a welcome change against the rash of speed and violence often found in today's games.

Awards & Rankings

#7 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008
#28 Most Shared Wii Game of 2008
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. BobbyMeeks
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    I must be old... I love this title. With all the rage and hectic schedules in my life - from ex-wives and stupid people I work with toI must be old... I love this title. With all the rage and hectic schedules in my life - from ex-wives and stupid people I work with to managing the ball games and homework of five children - it is such a welcome release to just scuba dive in my living room. I have had several of my children pile on top of me as we explore the depths. The music is pretty but kookie - but the slow-paced exploration is fantastic. I love this game! Full Review »
  2. Cardoso
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Absolutely amazing. The best relaxing gaming of all times.
  3. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    I know this game isn't for everybody, but it's a guilty pleasure for me. It's weird that I like it so much since it's barely even a game. It'sI know this game isn't for everybody, but it's a guilty pleasure for me. It's weird that I like it so much since it's barely even a game. It's missing two key game components: a challenge and a way to lose. It's just a fun and relaxing experience that captures the wonder of scuba diving without the tension of "I'm gonna die down here!" I'd say I don't recommend it if you're a hardcore gamer, but then again I consider myself to be a hardcore gamer. It's strange how many hardcore gamers like this game. So I'll say this. What's your favorite part of Skyrim? If you'd say the exploration like I would, this game is for you. (copied from my Blue World review) Full Review »