User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeffL
    Dec 1, 2009
    4
    I love racing games, but only have a Wii - was really looking forward to both this and the new Need For Speed game (Nitro) - I have to say, while i'm a F1 fan, NFS Nitro is a much better Wii game, better graphics, better sense of speed, love the cops and customization, but best of all is the multi player career mode is really fun, I play with my 7 year old son (i'm still able to I love racing games, but only have a Wii - was really looking forward to both this and the new Need For Speed game (Nitro) - I have to say, while i'm a F1 fan, NFS Nitro is a much better Wii game, better graphics, better sense of speed, love the cops and customization, but best of all is the multi player career mode is really fun, I play with my 7 year old son (i'm still able to beat him!) Expand
  2. MicheálB
    Nov 20, 2009
    8
    It's been a long time coming but its been worth the wait. In F1 09 Codemasters have finally given Wii owners a decent racer that doesn't involve Mushroom Power Ups and Turtle Shells. The graphics may not rival Forza or Gran Turismo but they are much better than the preview material over the summer led us to believe. The handling is somewhere between arcade racer and racing It's been a long time coming but its been worth the wait. In F1 09 Codemasters have finally given Wii owners a decent racer that doesn't involve Mushroom Power Ups and Turtle Shells. The graphics may not rival Forza or Gran Turismo but they are much better than the preview material over the summer led us to believe. The handling is somewhere between arcade racer and racing simulator and appeals to casual gamers and hard core F1 fans alike. All drivers, teams and circuits from the season just gone are present and correct and the Career mode and Challenge events add some longevity. + Finally a decent racer for the Wii + Handling is a happy arcade/sim compromise + Great depth for those who seek it + A host of optional driver aids mean this appeals to seasoned F1 gamers and newcomers - Graphics are on a par with the last PS2 F1 game - No TV commentary - Opponent AI leaves a lot to be desired - No online options Expand
  3. OlegS
    Nov 20, 2009
    8
    The game is very good. I have been playing Formula 1 games on PC for a very long time, GP2, GP4, rFactor (FSONE is the best). So I had very high expectations for the game and it generally did not disappoint. The graphics are good given that it's Wii. Frame rate is mostly fine, with occasional freezes (-1 for that). Unlike rFactor the game corectly implements 3 stage qualifying. The The game is very good. I have been playing Formula 1 games on PC for a very long time, GP2, GP4, rFactor (FSONE is the best). So I had very high expectations for the game and it generally did not disappoint. The graphics are good given that it's Wii. Frame rate is mostly fine, with occasional freezes (-1 for that). Unlike rFactor the game corectly implements 3 stage qualifying. The second "-1"the game gets for really stupid AI. Computer drivers follow the ideal line and do not slow down if you are in front of them. They will just hit you in the back. This happens even if you post better (than AI) lap times; still they catch you before the turn and hit you. This makes the game unplayable with damage ON. Still I am happy with my purchase, despite occasional frame rate freezes (e.g., end of the lap in Melburn) and reckless AI. One word of caution/advice: you MUST play the game with analog controller such as Classic Controller. Using Wiimote for accelarating will not be fun, the car will skid all the time (so you will have to tap the "2" buttom which is aweful). I had to buy Classic Controller and now the car handles great. Expand
  4. MattB
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    Finally a proper racing game for the Wii!! I've playing Mario Kart for over 2 years now and although it's still good fun, I've been waiting a very long time for a decent racing game for the Wii. Whereas serious Wii racing games normally are rip-offs from their big next gen brothers and sisters, F1 2009 had a proper stand-alone treatment and you can feel and see that Finally a proper racing game for the Wii!! I've playing Mario Kart for over 2 years now and although it's still good fun, I've been waiting a very long time for a decent racing game for the Wii. Whereas serious Wii racing games normally are rip-offs from their big next gen brothers and sisters, F1 2009 had a proper stand-alone treatment and you can feel and see that throughout this exciting game! The handling is amazing and for Wii the graphics are not too bad, or should I say the best I've seen so far? If you want to go hardcore and do some car tweaking that's possible, but I just enjoy the (coop!) career. The racing wheel feels much better than the Mario Kart one BTW. Best Wii product for this years' holidays! Expand
  5. PhilipP
    Nov 20, 2009
    8
    This is really good for a Wii 'sim' racer. I played with anti-lock brakes and anti-skid control... mainly because of the limitations of a digital gas/brake button. Graphics are of good quality for a Wii game going for a realistic look, in car view is really nice. Full race weekend available, good career mode progression, lots of fun to play as a fan of F1. But I am waiting for This is really good for a Wii 'sim' racer. I played with anti-lock brakes and anti-skid control... mainly because of the limitations of a digital gas/brake button. Graphics are of good quality for a Wii game going for a realistic look, in car view is really nice. Full race weekend available, good career mode progression, lots of fun to play as a fan of F1. But I am waiting for the 'full simulation' xbox 360 version coming as F1 2010 in spring to play with my xbox 360 force feedback wheel. Expand
  6. anonymous
    Nov 25, 2009
    9
    The game itself is very well done, and becomes fantastic when used with the Logitech Speed Force wheel for the Wii. The wheel has analog gas and brake (which isn't really advertised), and improves the driving experience with better control and less fatigue.
  7. LiamK
    Dec 29, 2009
    9
    This is really good for a serious F1 fan, but not so much for a casual racer. I, for example, love how all the tracks and the drivers are present, as well as the tuning opportunities on the cars. The gameplay is not too easy, and can be progressively made to be more challenging with stiffer AI competition. The graphics are good, nothing like Forza 3 or anything, but easily believed. All This is really good for a serious F1 fan, but not so much for a casual racer. I, for example, love how all the tracks and the drivers are present, as well as the tuning opportunities on the cars. The gameplay is not too easy, and can be progressively made to be more challenging with stiffer AI competition. The graphics are good, nothing like Forza 3 or anything, but easily believed. All in all, F1 2009 is a great game for any F1 fan. Expand
  8. PedroTavares
    Nov 21, 2009
    9
    As hard as it should be. Very rewarding gameplay. Only drawback is the framerate drop which happens once in a while. Other than that, it is awesome.
  9. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    this game is fun because its license but its too arcade for an f1 game, still, you will like it as is the only f1 effort on wii.........visually decent(slowdowns hurt) you will enjoy it if you are an f1 whore, the rest maybe not
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. 74
    Delicious handling and a palpable sense of speed combine to make a game that's unique on the Wii, and while there's a feeling of an opportunity missed with the licence, for fans of the sport deprived of an F1 game for so many years this does just enough to satiate the thirst.
  2. Once on-track, few F1 games have managed to be as encouraging when it comes to pushing yourself to attack corners and better your lap time, and fewer still have proved as much fun. This may not be the revolution the Formula 1 sub-genre has been waiting for, but you're not likely to find many Wii owners complaining.
  3. F1 2009 reaches the finish, but it's still very far from being a winner. Not a simulator, not an arcade, but yes a reasonable option for gamers looking for F1's speed.