Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: My Life as a King Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [WiiWare] You are a young king who must rebuild his kingdom, beginning with the castle town. When the king first reaches the borders of his realm, he finds that the crystal in the center of town has given him special powers to be a "master builder," a unique ability he uses to construct[WiiWare] You are a young king who must rebuild his kingdom, beginning with the castle town. When the king first reaches the borders of his realm, he finds that the crystal in the center of town has given him special powers to be a "master builder," a unique ability he uses to construct houses, shops and the like to rebuild and revitalize his kingdom. [Nintendo] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Massively enjoyable, tantalisingly addictive and packed with possibilities. [Aug 2008, p.73]
  2. The scope of the game is enormous and there's never a lack of things to do as you live out each day of the adventure.
  3. The further you delve into the game's intricacies, the richer the experience. [July 2008, p.70]
  4. Despite its flaws, My Life as a King serves as a wonderful bridge title to bring Final Fantasy fans into the sim genre (and gamers at large, for that matter), blending strategy into the mix to add ample amounts of depth to the proceedings.
  5. The games constant rewards and simple gameplay make it extremely fun, and the price may be the highest on WiiWare, but that doesn’t mean it isn't more than worth the money.
  6. Enjoyed in short delicious bursts, My Life as a King is one of the most impressive downloads offered on a current-generation console.
  7. This light "strategy" game is charming enough, but its gameplay is wildly unbalanced.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. StevenB.
    May 20, 2008
    10
    This game is easily one of the best god-simulation games out there. By combining Final Fantasy and a sim-city/sims type game; the end product This game is easily one of the best god-simulation games out there. By combining Final Fantasy and a sim-city/sims type game; the end product is easily worth the $15-$25 price. If you own a Wii, this is a great game to try. Expand
  2. SebastianG.
    May 15, 2008
    9
    Man, this sure is addicting! As soon as you get past the 10 first min of info and tuts, you'll be amazed by the fun and addicting Man, this sure is addicting! As soon as you get past the 10 first min of info and tuts, you'll be amazed by the fun and addicting gameplay. A brilliant strategy game! Although I was a little let down that it didn't have the classic turn-based gameplay of the past titles, but a tremendous kick off for WiiWare! Expand
  3. ManoelQ.
    Jun 11, 2008
    9
    "Final Fantasy: My Life as a King" is a great beginning for the WiiWare, together with "LostWinds". The entertainment is amazing and the "Final Fantasy: My Life as a King" is a great beginning for the WiiWare, together with "LostWinds". The entertainment is amazing and the happiness of seeing your kingdom progress make this a great game. The additional downloads are good, some replaceable and some useless, and the interaction with your citizens are from good to regular: it could be better. Expand
  4. AsterW.
    May 28, 2008
    8
    I really enjoy playing this game, its almost mysteriously addicting. But I showed it to a friend of mine who helped me realize this is one of I really enjoy playing this game, its almost mysteriously addicting. But I showed it to a friend of mine who helped me realize this is one of the most boring games to watch someone play. Oh well, his loss. Collapse
  5. Aug 24, 2010
    8
    Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: My Life as a King is another instalment of the Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles (often abbreviated FFCC)Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: My Life as a King is another instalment of the Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles (often abbreviated FFCC) series. The FFCC series has taken a turn for the worst and many of the games have received a countless number of bad reviews. However, My Life as a King breaks away from all the awful reviews and this seems like a decent God-Simulation game. The game-play is totally different from the original game. Where in the original it was an RPG, you fought monsters, travelled a world map... etc; in this game, you control a small settlement, eventually trying to build it up and help it grow to a massive kingdom. To do this, you use crystals that can be found in dungeons full of monsters. Obviously, because you are king you cannot afford to lose your life by setting out so you commission adventurers to do the job. The game is very time-consuming so you need to be very patient and the price tag isn't pretty especially with all the downloadable content. This game isn't essential and its too pricey to recommend but it is surely a game you can enjoy. The sequel, FFCC: My Life as a Darklord isn't too bad either. Expand
  6. JustinZ.
    Jun 1, 2008
    8
    Excellent story, fun gameplay, and beautiful graphics. Controls were not the best, but, other than that, a must buy.
  7. JillK
    Feb 25, 2009
    2
    I was so excited based on all the reviews to play this game. What a disappointment. The game plays itself. Your character is stuck at the I was so excited based on all the reviews to play this game. What a disappointment. The game plays itself. Your character is stuck at the castle while everyone else is sent off to do the exciting stuff which you only hear about in daily reports. Equally annoying is when your character is told it's his bedtime. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?