Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: The Crystal Bearers Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: The Crystal Bearers provides a fresh take on the FINAL FANTASY CRYSTAL CHRONICLES series as it combines the storytelling depth, expansive world and graphical quality of FINAL FANTASY with motion-driven, real-time action gameplay. In this world, realisticFinal Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: The Crystal Bearers provides a fresh take on the FINAL FANTASY CRYSTAL CHRONICLES series as it combines the storytelling depth, expansive world and graphical quality of FINAL FANTASY with motion-driven, real-time action gameplay. In this world, realistic gameplay and fantastical art direction are brought together for a truly unique experience for Wii users around the globe. [Square Enix] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 53
  2. Negative: 5 out of 53
  1. 88
    In the end, The Crystal Bearers manages to be a somewhat simple but entertaining adventure, but one that is polished and put together with care, for the sole purpose of entertaining the player.
  2. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    81
    Traditional RPG fans might be put off but everyone else will find lots to enjoy. [Feb 2010, p.76]
  3. The Crystal Bearers gives me something the likes of which I've never played before, and in the end, I think it can stand proudly along side other risky, underappreciated Squaresoft classics like Brave Fencer Musashi and Tobal 2. Ask someone to buy it for you for Christmas/Hannukah/whatever, or pick it up used down the line. Just don't write it off as nothing special.
  4. There are a lot of beautiful environments to enjoy in Crystal Bearers, and overall the entire world is nicely designed with even some interesting architecture. The repetitive battles and constant lasso-fiddling is a bit of a downer, though.
  5. The Crystal Bearers is a game full of interesting ideas, but only a bunch of them got crafted into solid game mechanics: the result is an half-baked action-rpg, which probably won't appeal neither to hardcore Final Fantasy fans nor casual gamers.
  6. There's an infectious insanity to the combat and mini-games that almost forgives the many flaws.
  7. 20
    This game is a mini-game collection masquerading as an epic adventure, and it doesn't even pull that off well.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    this game is a WII Gem, the reason that its getting bad reviews is because people are looking at it like it should be a tratitional rpg game,this game is a WII Gem, the reason that its getting bad reviews is because people are looking at it like it should be a tratitional rpg game, there are interesting characters and an interesting story.

    the game is not meant to be fast paced, in my opinion the best way to play this game is by exploring the different zones and towns, finding secrets and Medal hunting (Acheivments)

    i think this game never got the attention it deserved, i certainly enjoyed it.
    Expand
  2. ShaneJ
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    This game is extremely varied, and despite not having completed it yet, it has thrown many curve balls and plot twists to make this my This game is extremely varied, and despite not having completed it yet, it has thrown many curve balls and plot twists to make this my favorite Final Fantasy title yet--and I've played them all. Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved the game. I think it is the epitimy of an rpg. It has awesome graphics and the characters look amazing. I was a bit surprised at the end though. I mean when they leave you hanging like that.
    I was and still am expecting and hoping that they will make another
    game exactly where it stopped on the boat. Cause you cant end it like that.
    There is potential for another game.
    Expand
  4. ShannonS
    Dec 29, 2009
    9
    The game is certainly not exactly what you would expect from a classic Final Fantasy, but is a fresh leap in a new direction with the quality The game is certainly not exactly what you would expect from a classic Final Fantasy, but is a fresh leap in a new direction with the quality in story you would expect from Square. The game play does stumble sometimes and the camera can be frustrating in some battles, but these are common problems on the wii and when you use motion controls a lot. Though it has it's bugs, they are generally annoying, not crippling to the gameplay. Regardless the game is fun, the story is engrossing and entertaining, and the combat is at least innovative if a bit repetitive at times, and the graphics are spectacular for the limitations of the wii. To sum it up, this game is not for everyone, but for those craving something new and fresh in a game with the classic quality of old school story telling, you likely will enjoy the ride. But since it is a jump in a new direction I'd advice those not hardcore Square fans to rent before buying. Expand
  5. FernandoH
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    What's the matter? Hello? This is not a classic RPG, is an adventure. It's not flawless but it's beautiful and fun.
  6. Jan 26, 2012
    6
    The game is fun. Yeah, the combat is quite bad, you throw things, that's it, but the rest is ok. The history is quite nice, the cutscenes areThe game is fun. Yeah, the combat is quite bad, you throw things, that's it, but the rest is ok. The history is quite nice, the cutscenes are nice, the final boss is NICE, and some parts of the game that requires more strategy are fun. But again, the combat isn't that nice, it's not like the final fantasy games, and it's easy...but i had a good time playing it :) Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2012
    2
    This game is awful. The controls are unresponsive and combat was bland and confusing. Every character's voice was grating and theirThis game is awful. The controls are unresponsive and combat was bland and confusing. Every character's voice was grating and their personality even more so. Even the music contrasted horribly with the game.
    Really, the only high point in it was the graphics, but it's not enough to save this trainwreck.
    Collapse

See all 16 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?

Awards & Rankings

#17 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
#12 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009