Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 126 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Three years have passed since King Ashnard of Daein invaded neighboring Crimea and, in doing so, almost doomed the world by awakening the slumbering goddess of chaos. Now, the fires of war burn bright once again, and a band of freedom fighters unites to break the foreign chains that bind their homeland. As this new war spreads, Ike and the Greil Mercenaries find themselves caught up once again in events that threaten to awaken powers that will judge the world - and find it wanting. A goddess' judgment could threaten once again to bring ruin to all of Tellius. [Nintendo] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. It's the best it its class, and motion-control or not, it's only on Wii. [Dec 2007, p.80]
  2. Just sucks this head-scratcher will probably get lost inside Mario's galaxy this winter. [Holiday 2007, p.67]
  3. Hardcore RPG/strategy gamers should love Fire Emblem Radiant Dawn. Along with some stylized visuals the game has simple and streamlined gameplay including very basic control which really makes the game easy to pick up and play.
  4. It’s one of those cases that could easily pass for an expansion of previous titles, but those similarities are also one of its stronger points. There are some highly challenging battles here, especially if you want to keep all of the party members alive. [Apr 2008]
  5. 75
    Hardcore strategy wrapped up in candy coloured clothing. If you can get past the dreadful storytelling and focus on the tactical battles and RPG aspects, you'll have fun.
  6. Radiant Dawn's core of creamy white strategy nougat does shine through its horribly drab exterior, but only just. We've seen it all before, and this can't help but seem like a wasted Wii opportunity.
  7. If you are looking for a game experience similar to recent Final Fantasy games, you will ultimately be disappointed with Radiant Dawn. However, if you craved focused gameplay and a story without embellished full voice acting or tons of FMV cut scenes, then Radiant Dawn fits the bill.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. XilanoA.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This game pretty much fixed everything that was wrong with PoR, an already fantastic game. For that, and for simply being a finely crafted game, Radiant Dawn gets a 10. Expand
  2. DavidS.
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    I've never played this series before. It's fantastic. It bugs me that all the critics could see is that the graphics weren't jaw dropping. Maybe I'm just too old school, but the game looked great to me. This game delivers in everything it tries to. Most engaging story in a war game I've played, and I think it's the first actually hard strategy game I've played in a very long time. Expand
  3. AlexC.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    When you buy the 10th fire emblem, you will get is a interesting story which asks what is evil, and who is evil, or misguided, or has a difference of opinion. The story will also have you wondering when the ends justify the means. On easy mode this should be a fairly easy game. On normal and hard mode you will be getting a good challenge. On these difficulties, the game will make you plan ahead and think about how you can conquer each battle without losing any of your team. Fire Emblem radiant down is a good game, and will keep you playing and having fun though all ~50 hours of the main story. After it is finished, you will likely want to come back to tackle hard mode. Hard mode will most likely take you even longer due to the fact that it is well, really hard. When push comes to shove, it Expand
  4. KevinR.
    Nov 11, 2007
    9
    Easily the toughest, and yet, one of the most enjoyable Fire Emblem games to date.
  5. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    Unreal game. Gripping story, addicting game-play and an awesome score. While not perfect it is worth your time, as to me it stands as the single greatest turn-based strategy game on the market. Expand
  6. a.ka.sw
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    best in his class by far. and what i don't get. some critics bash this game because of lack of online mode (...) no wii mote elements (like what?) and Bad graphics (maybe). it seems that those things are becoming whaaay more importand than Gameplay, Replay value and story (wich once were the elements on wich critics gave the FE games 8/9's) Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2011
    1
    This game is absolute disaster. Maddening difficulty,poor design choices and with the worst story ever in any game makes this one a complete failure. I wonder, how this one could fail so hard when its a direct sequel to previous Fire Emblem released on gamecube and that was a playable one. I dont know, but i know this...stay away from this game. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews