Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn Wii

Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 191 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Three years have passed since King Ashnard of Daein invaded neighboring Crimea and, in doing so, almost doomed the world by awakening the slumbering goddess of chaos. Now, the fires of war burn bright once again, and a band of freedom fighters unites to break the foreign chains that bindThree years have passed since King Ashnard of Daein invaded neighboring Crimea and, in doing so, almost doomed the world by awakening the slumbering goddess of chaos. Now, the fires of war burn bright once again, and a band of freedom fighters unites to break the foreign chains that bind their homeland. As this new war spreads, Ike and the Greil Mercenaries find themselves caught up once again in events that threaten to awaken powers that will judge the world - and find it wanting. A goddess' judgment could threaten once again to bring ruin to all of Tellius. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Nintendo Power
    95
    It's the best it its class, and motion-control or not, it's only on Wii. [Dec 2007, p.80]
  2. 88
    Even though this is not the definitive strategy RPG of our time, like some have labeled games such as Shining Force, Final Fantasy Tactics, or Disgaea, it's pretty damn close.
  3. Hardcore RPG/strategy gamers should love Fire Emblem Radiant Dawn. Along with some stylized visuals the game has simple and streamlined gameplay including very basic control which really makes the game easy to pick up and play.
  4. 80
    If you’re looking for an entertaining, challenging, traditional strategy game, look no further, as Fire Emblem is as good as it gets. Just don’t expect anything more than GameCube presentation, visuals, and control for $50.
  5. 75
    Hardcore strategy wrapped up in candy coloured clothing. If you can get past the dreadful storytelling and focus on the tactical battles and RPG aspects, you'll have fun.
  6. 70
    It's a Fire Emblem game, which means, yes, while it's diabolically hard, the gameplay is solid. More than solid – it's worthwhile.
  7. If you are looking for a game experience similar to recent Final Fantasy games, you will ultimately be disappointed with Radiant Dawn. However, if you craved focused gameplay and a story without embellished full voice acting or tons of FMV cut scenes, then Radiant Dawn fits the bill.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 49
  2. Negative: 2 out of 49
  1. XilanoA.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This game pretty much fixed everything that was wrong with PoR, an already fantastic game. For that, and for simply being a finely crafted This game pretty much fixed everything that was wrong with PoR, an already fantastic game. For that, and for simply being a finely crafted game, Radiant Dawn gets a 10. Expand
  2. DavidS.
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    I've never played this series before. It's fantastic. It bugs me that all the critics could see is that the graphics weren't I've never played this series before. It's fantastic. It bugs me that all the critics could see is that the graphics weren't jaw dropping. Maybe I'm just too old school, but the game looked great to me. This game delivers in everything it tries to. Most engaging story in a war game I've played, and I think it's the first actually hard strategy game I've played in a very long time. Expand
  3. Aug 11, 2011
    10
    The greatest strategy RPG of all time, bar none. The only problems are subpar graphics (there are quite a few stunning battle animations,The greatest strategy RPG of all time, bar none. The only problems are subpar graphics (there are quite a few stunning battle animations, however) and some of the story can be a bit difficult to understand if you didn`t play Path of Radiance. If you didn`t play this game yet though, you are not a real strategy RPG fan. Play it now and bask in its wonderful story and gameplay. :-) Expand
  4. Joe
    Nov 8, 2007
    9
    A very solid game. Much needed difficulty was added to this game, because POR was simply too easy. Much variety in choices of characters, 67 A very solid game. Much needed difficulty was added to this game, because POR was simply too easy. Much variety in choices of characters, 67 playable IIRC, also a very gripping story line. Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2013
    9
    This is easily one of the greatest Wii games of all time IMHO, although that is a title that is not hard to aim for. Even having not playedThis is easily one of the greatest Wii games of all time IMHO, although that is a title that is not hard to aim for. Even having not played all of Path of Radiance, I found the difficulty to be engaging, the story to be compelling, most of the major characters to be rather fleshed out, and the RPG elements to be on par.

    The FMV cuts are gorgeous, even if a bit sparse, and the lack of voice acting in the major dialogue scenes can get rather tiring, but this is a minor complaint.

    The only reason why this doesn't deserve a ten is a few gameplay gripes. The graphics clearly could have been better, especially when you're on the map playing. The battle music has little variation and gets old quickly. The inability to repair forged weapons easily makes the game even more difficult beyond the actual strategy. Ranged units rarely are ranged enough (would it have been hard to make damage fall with distance and let the archers actually be archers!?), there are too many Condition: Rout battles, and the difficulties in distributing EXP and making certain units as useful as they should be just make the game hair-rippingly difficult in the second half of the third chapter and all of the fourth.

    However, the relatively deep strategy for a console game, simple controls, wide variation in unit types, functions, and strengths, the great story, and the slightly-more-than-passing-thought RPG elements easily makes this one of the best games on this console.
    Expand
  6. a.ka.sw
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    best in his class by far. and what i don't get. some critics bash this game because of lack of online mode (...) no wii mote elementsbest in his class by far. and what i don't get. some critics bash this game because of lack of online mode (...) no wii mote elements (like what?) and Bad graphics (maybe). it seems that those things are becoming whaaay more importand than Gameplay, Replay value and story (wich once were the elements on wich critics gave the FE games 8/9's) Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2011
    1
    This game is absolute disaster. Maddening difficulty,poor design choices and with the worst story ever in any game makes this one a completeThis game is absolute disaster. Maddening difficulty,poor design choices and with the worst story ever in any game makes this one a complete failure. I wonder, how this one could fail so hard when its a direct sequel to previous Fire Emblem released on gamecube and that was a playable one. I dont know, but i know this...stay away from this game. Expand

See all 49 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#11 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
#5 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007