Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players are free to fish wherever there is water, and a variety of locales are available, from tropical ocean fishing on the high sea to ice fishing atop the island�s mountains. With over 20 fish-related mini games and over 200 varieties of fish available � not to mention four-player competitive modes and online leaderboards, which show players how they stack up against other anglers around the world � there�s plenty of content for both casual players and completionists alike.



    Players start out in Fishing Resort by customizing their own unique character, and can choose to make a cartoon-style character of themselves, or someone entirely different. Add in over 200 items such as shoes, clothes, sunglasses, backpacks, hats and much more, and each player is given the tools to create an entirely unique character with which to explore the island. Fishing is accomplished by mimicking real-life fishing motions using the Wii Remote� to cast and moving the Nunchuk� in a circular motion to reel in fish, which range from pond guppies to massive marlins over 10-feet in length!
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Dec 15, 2011
    83
    In spite of its slow pace, Fishing Resort has an awful lot going for it. It's beautiful, it's charming, and it's got a ton of content to explore. Most importantly though is that the game is simply a relaxing a good time.
  2. 80
    Fishing Resort is a very good package. There are a lot of things to do, and the world they're done in is attractive and inviting.
  3. Dec 28, 2011
    75
    Even if you aren't particularly fond of the genre, you will likely find some enjoyment in its engaging controls and large variety of fish to catch, which is enough to recommend the title to those curious about it. It's not like you have much else to play until Xenoblade comes out.
  4. Dec 7, 2011
    70
    We wish it had gone farther with its extracurricular activities, as its core enterprise requires nearly the same patience and stamina as does real fishing – but of course those who don't like the idea of fishing won't be barking up this tree anyway, right?
  5. Dec 12, 2011
    70
    Despite the developer's best efforts to provide some side activities and an open world to explore, there isn't much in Fishing Resort that will inspire any but the most hardcore fishing fans to plunk the time in.
  6. Dec 8, 2011
    60
    Easy controls and various activities don't mask the waiting needed to get that big catch.
  7. Jan 4, 2012
    50
    In the end, this on-paper depth doesn't translate well to the fishing experience, and the game's smiling aesthetic isn't enough to save it.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Jun 24, 2012
    10
    I'm new to Wii and bought 3 games. This is the only one I've finished and have started all over again. I'm a 56 year old grandmother and I LOVE THIS GAME! I saw the screenshots of the game and was afraid it was going to be cartoonish or childish. I couldn't be more wrong. The only cartoonish thing are the characters and they're so cute. You can customize them 100's of ways throughout the game. I'd like more clothes but that's the woman in me. I loved being able to shop in their Fishing Store. The game play is great mini quests you can do. Now, I cant say enough about the graphics. I felt like I was fishing in high dollar fishing resorts from around the world. The scenes are breathtaking. ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! I've never played a game that made me actually feel like I was inside the scenery. This game deserves so many awards. If you love fishing or want to learn to fish buy this game and save your money on the gas it would take to really fish in destinations like this game has. Relax at home and feel the vibration of a fish biting from your favorite chair. No more worries about your fishing line getting tangled with someone elses. This game is better than the real thing except that you cant eat what you catch. Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    So much fun! And so beautiful! Makes me understand what people see in actual fishing. The landscapes change with the time of day and the water reflections are gorgeous. Each of the many areas has a different flavor. The only odd thing is, it never rains!

    At first it caused me a few pangs to catch such beautiful fish, but after all, they are imaginary fish and I got over it :-)

    Choose your hairstyle carefully as it may be a LOOOONG time or never till you can change it in the game.

    This game is sort of the other side of Endless Ocean.
    Collapse
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    My score will be a little high for many people. As a father of 2 under 8 this game is great. The next door kids were over and that made 4 kids under 12. The 5 of us spent hours on a rainy day, just playing, laughing and having fun. Let's be honest here people... If you want a serious gaming machine, the Wii is not going to be you first choice! So don't expect mind blowing games from a machine that simply cannot deliver them... As a family machine, the Wii is excellent. Unfortunately, most of the games are utter garbage. There are even fewer that are capable of grabbing a child's attention without being too complicated in the controls. This game is excellent for kids and fun for adults too.

    Okay, Wii Fishing Resort. 4 players can go head to head in some fishing situations. Graphics are bold, vibrant and well put together. Action is alright and was more than enough to hold the attention of the youngest in our little group at 5 years old. Controls were easily handled be even the 5 year old. Casting does seem a little glitchy but not bad.

    You are given a large selection of bait, lures, rods, reels, clothing to purchase. The aquarium you become the manager of is very neat in that all your catches go into here for viewing pleasure and you get to reap the rewards of visitors paying to view the aquariums. Boat trips, bicycles, kayaks, etc. Are all little things that add to the adventure.

    If you are expecting Zelda like quests and adventure, you will be disappointed. If you want a game you can easily play with the kids or just while some time away, pick this game up. You will enjoy it. I also have the Fishing Master World Tour... I really hate that game. Wii Fishing Resort is miles ahead of that game in graphics, game play and all around fun.

    I really hope they make a sequel with better side activities and the addition of fishing lines in the store would be excellent.
    Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2012
    1
    For the love of god and all things holy, WHEN is somebody going to make a half-decent fishing game? The optional fishing games in Ocarina of Time and Twilight Princess were TEN TIMES better than this ridiculous, half-baked, rushed crap. It is appalling that someone would actually release a game this broken and aggressively un-fun. Expand