Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 26
  2. Negative: 12 out of 26
  1. Dec 19, 2010
    70
    The lack of content, despite some clever ideas, makes it feel like it would have been better suited for a WiiWare title at a downloadable game price.
  2. Jan 3, 2011
    65
    FlingSmash is a fun game which will keep us entertained, specially if we play in company or if we love to surpass our own high scores, although it won't be liked by everyone.
  3. Jan 3, 2011
    65
    The hero is a lot of fun, the setting is interesting and gameplay is somehow original. A shame for all the repetitiviness and the annoying controls.
  4. Jan 4, 2011
    60
    It's just a shame that its later stages don't make good on the genuinely entertaining gameplay that it initially promises. [Issue#104, p.119]
  5. Dec 25, 2010
    60
    A really bad showcase for MotionPlus, inexplicably packaged with a technology it doesn't understand. [Issue#56, p.48]
  6. Dec 19, 2010
    60
    If you find you have a knack for the basic gameplay of FlingSmash, beyond willing yourself through the levels as I did, there's plenty of replayability.
  7. Dec 19, 2010
    60
    FlingSmash is a refreshing game, but its innovating gameplay isn't really deep enough. It still works quite well though, but here's the second flaw : it's really short (4 hours) and repetitive (especially when playing coop). You can always come back to it for scoring purposes, or enjoy some not-so-inspired mini-games.
  8. Dec 19, 2010
    60
    As it is, it's the core of a good game that pops in and out of the consciousness without leaving a lasting impression.
  9. Feb 9, 2011
    55
    The fun delivered by FlingSmash lasts only for a few minutes. It's a poor product, lacking in a solid and satisfying gameplay and getting tedious on the long run. But as a bundle with Wiimote Plus, it has some meaning.
  10. Jan 4, 2011
    55
    Interesting gameplay ideas with poor controls and repetitive gameplay.
  11. Dec 28, 2010
    55
    If you meant to buy a Wii RemotePlus, then FlingSmash is a reasonable purchase, since the bundle is sold basically at the same price of the controller. The idea of using Arkanoid-like mechanics in a colourful adventure was certainly original at first, but in FlingSmash it has been transposed in a flimsy gameplay and in a very dull experience. The game suffers the lack of extra modes, interesting minigames or ideas that truly take advantages of the Wii RemotePlus' capability.
  12. Dec 25, 2010
    52
    Levels are too long, too sedate and too tedious. It's the gaming equivalent of a Chinese Finger Trap. [Issue#232, p.95]
  13. 50
    FlingSmash is full of interesting gameplay ideas that would've been a lot more fun if the game controlled well, or at the very least, compensated for the poor controls by being a little more forgiving.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Feb 16, 2015
    8
    I honestly don't know why FlingSmash has gotten so much hate on the site. So I've decided the review into a few parts to show you why I loveI honestly don't know why FlingSmash has gotten so much hate on the site. So I've decided the review into a few parts to show you why I love FlingSmash.

    Graphics- The game looks simply great! The style stands out and the colors are hyper-vibrant. Just puts you in a good mood.

    Music- It's nice-ish kind of. Not my style but definitely doesn't make me cringe of anything.

    Story- Damsel is distress. Save her. Done. If you're playing this for the story, their isn't much to offer here.

    Content- Short, yes. Worth it for the low price. YES! Level design is superb, if you were wondering.

    Controls and Gameplay- It works. The controls, contrary to popular belief, are decent. I also enjoy the numerous power-ups.

    Special Round (BOSSES) - The boss fights are so fun. Especially the last one, I love it.

    So yeah. Sounds fun? You decide.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 2, 2014
    2
    As nintendo world report put it: FlingSmash is full of interesting gameplay ideas that would've been a lot more fun if the game controlledAs nintendo world report put it: FlingSmash is full of interesting gameplay ideas that would've been a lot more fun if the game controlled well, or at the very least, compensated for the poor controls by being a little more forgiving.

    The game is mediocre and not worth your time. Artoon is horrible.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 21, 2011
    5
    This game's only problem is the fact that is on CD. It should be damned WiiWare. Controls are okay and main villain is kind of cool, but mostThis game's only problem is the fact that is on CD. It should be damned WiiWare. Controls are okay and main villain is kind of cool, but most of time you just have to mindlessly swing Wii remote to every possible direction. Stages with metal characters shouldn't be in game (game's normal mindlessness times three) The best thing about game is fact that it comes with Wii Motion Plus and it's cheaper than controller alone! Full Review »