Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Nov 5, 2011
    85
    A really enjoyable game, with direct, simple yet universal fun for everyone, which increases with the number of players. There have been a lot of games like this on the Wii, but this Namco Bandai one is one of the best.
  2. Jan 3, 2012
    80
    For families looking to have a good time with their Wii's this winter, I highly recommend taking a trip to Kawawii Island with Go Vacation. It may is not the best sounding or the prettiest game out there but Go Vacation packs in a wealth of fun for every member of the family.
  3. Nov 6, 2011
    80
    I'm always on the lookout for family-oriented games I can recommend to my sister and her husband and son, and I would recommend Go Vacation in a heartbeat-it's a title that utilizes every first-party peripheral a family might have gathered, the games are easy enough for younger children (with assistance) while still being entertaining for adults, and each Resort is vibrant and colorful, with lots of nooks, crannies and genuinely beautiful spots that made me wish I had a "take a screenshot option" for anywhere in the game.
  4. A quality collection of mini-games that should appeal more to single-player fans.
  5. 80
    If you're looking for a great multiplayer game to play with friends and family, Go Vacation is an extremely solid choice. The developer made a few strange choices that hurt the experience, but overall Go Vacation is a trip worth taking.
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    79
    Loads of solid mini-games. [Christmas 2011, p.94]
  7. Oct 21, 2011
    75
    The collection of games are all pretty varied, and tie in well with each resort.
  8. Oct 19, 2011
    72
    If you're the sort of person for whom playing games on the Wii usually involves more than one person sitting or standing in front of your TV, you should give Go Vacation a look.
  9. Nov 30, 2011
    70
    Go Vacation with its numerous activities and beautiful environment offers more than many of its competitors. Not all the mini games are equally fun, which is often due to controls. While there's some appeal specifically for singleplayer, it's obviously the multiplayer aspect that promises good entertainment.
  10. Nov 29, 2011
    70
    Go Vacation is a good alternative to Wii Sports Resort.
  11. Nov 23, 2011
    70
    Go Vacation is no doubt one of the best family games for Wii, thanks to its open world gameplay and the fifty minigames included. You can reach the place of your next activity by riding an ATV or a waterbike, and play with up to three friends via split-screen, and that's cool. What's not-so-cool is the overall quality of the minigames themselves, since some of them are boring.
  12. Nov 8, 2011
    70
    Its outward appearance may seem kiddy, but Go Vacation is surprisingly deep for a minigame collection. [Nov 2011, p.77]
  13. Oct 13, 2011
    70
    Although Go Vacation certainly has its moments of intense fun, I found the lack of polish disappointing. All in all, it makes for a nod-worthy effort that boasts numerous triumphs, but ultimately never turns out quite as good as it could have.
  14. Nov 29, 2011
    65
    It's accessible to everyone and sometimes quite funny, sadly not all the minigames have the same verve.
  15. Oct 18, 2011
    65
    Go Vacation is a shallow, kid-friendly minigame collection with nice open spaces and overly simplistic games.
  16. 60
    Go Vacation is yet another Wii Sports wannabe, but one with plenty of content. The mission structure means the game is actually playable on your own, even if it obviously works best with friends.
  17. Oct 27, 2011
    60
    I commend Namco for trying to make Go Vacation more than a minigame collection. It's a shame that they seem to have lost site of why people buy minigame collections. Additionally, the frustrating open-world system that exists without any sort of way to directly access the game you want is a serious misstep.
  18. Nov 12, 2011
    58
    As a mini-game compilation, Go Vacation falls short of the standard set by Wii Sports Resort due to its middling selection of activities and its frustrating motion controls; as a sandbox game, however, it fares significantly better, offering up four expansive resorts to explore and a myriad of collectibles to find. While its extensive use of gesture commands nearly ruins the entire experience, there is still quite a bit of fun to be had with the title, particularly if you have a companion to share it with.
  19. Nov 2, 2011
    56
    Looks like it should be fun but the minigames are mostly sub-Monkey Ball rubbish and the controls leave us as cold as Kawawii's frosty peaks. [Nov 2011, p.60]
  20. Nov 22, 2011
    55
    Go Vacation has a lot of different mini-games but frankly we've seen it all before. The exploration aspect really is the only original thing in this game. The multiplayer can be a lot of fun, but the controls aren't as good as other games, like Wii Sports Resort.
  21. Dec 9, 2011
    50
    Another mini-game collection designed for young children and families. With Go Vacation, Namco Bandai tried to make something different, but they forgot one main ingredient in the recipe: the fun.
  22. Nov 19, 2011
    50
    Go Vacation is perhaps the 20th party game I've tried on the Wii system. You would think that these games would have to evolve to give us new experiences, but the truth is that very few titles actually do. Go Vacation is not bad if you're a bunch of people who want to have fun – but you played it all before.
  23. Nov 8, 2011
    50
    It's simply been done before and done better -- and will probably be revisited again in the future via Kinect or Move.
  24. Nov 7, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.
  25. Oct 13, 2011
    50
    Perhaps this would have been a cute little game half a decade ago, but so close to the end of the Wii's life cycle, it smacks of Namco desperately trying to milk the minigame cow one last time. As an ironic celebration of the Wii's most compelling and infamous problem, Go Vacation's selection of tepid and shallow activities might serve some amusing merit, but I don't think even the "family demographic" this is aimed at could find much to enjoy here.
  26. Nov 11, 2011
    40
    Go Vacation's main problem is that its controls are, nine times out of ten, too unresponsive to make it any fun.
  27. Oct 30, 2011
    40
    Had Namco Bandai polished the controls in Go Vacation and slapped a $29 price tag on the box, I'd recommend a used copy. Unfortunately, the game is not something worth playing.
  28. Nov 17, 2011
    20
    When I played Go Vacation I heard the ticking clock of my life, eating up the hours as I struggled with the pointless mini-games. You can avoid this. For me it's too late.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    A perfectly enjoyable games for small kids - my daugher (8) and son (5) love exploring the resorts, riding horses, driving cars, skate- and snowboarding with the simple controls and enjoyable and varied scenery. While some of the mini-games are less than perfect, that does not matter: if you have (medium) small children they will love this, and they can quickly play without any need for supervision. My kids have played this more than all our other Wii games put together. Full Review »