GoldenEye 007 Wii

Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
Buy On
  1. Jan 31, 2011
    70
    GoldenEye doesn't tarnish the original and doesn't try to be a carbon copy either, but it is hindered by problems which were always going to be hard to surmount. If you're panging for a bit of Bond and something to play with friends round, you could do a lot worse than what is a fine revival of a classic.
  2. Jan 18, 2011
    70
    With its great single player campaign and friendly multiplayer, we could even say that GoldenEye 007 is the best game adaptation of James Bond's adventures, if we expect, of course, the first GoldenEye 007, untouchable.
  3. games(TM)
    Jan 11, 2011
    70
    It does a superb job of replicating the sensation of playing your memory of a decade-old shooter, even if it does so by basically being a decade-old shooter. [Christmas 2010, p.126]
  4. 70
    You have to wonder whether being based on an old classic has held GoldenEye 007 back more than serving as a welcome inspiration. Reliving sections of the old game is fun, but in the grand scheme of things, new levels play better are look more interesting. Fans of the Nintendo 64 classic don't get much reason to switch, and Bond-fanatics are better off sticking with the movies and books. But if you do all your shooting on the Wii, GoldenEye 007 is a safe bet.
  5. Dec 18, 2010
    70
    It's a bit ropey in places, especially during multiplayer games, but the single-player campaign is simple fun and the online play is surprisingly entertaining and thorough.
  6. Dec 18, 2010
    70
    Given the changes, the finicky controls at the beginning, and hit and miss online multiplayer sessions, GoldenEye 007 is a title that plays it hot and cold far too much.
  7. Dec 18, 2010
    70
    Does it live up to the original? Heck no – we said it was impossible, remember? It is a damn fine, "serious" shooter on the Wii, and that's saying something.
  8. Dec 12, 2010
    70
    This is a robust FPS, comfortably the strongest on its platform and, while derivative of its strongest rivals, it's still able to compete in key areas.
  9. Game Informer
    Dec 11, 2010
    65
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  10. Jan 12, 2011
    60
    Activisions retelling of Goldeneye is no where near the high standards of Rares original game. Still, it's one of the better shooers for Wii and the online multiplayer experience is good fun.
  11. Dec 18, 2010
    60
    If you're absolutely desperate for a Wii shooter, especially a multiplayer title, then Goldeneye is worth a look.
  12. Dec 12, 2010
    60
    If this new GoldenEye will not replace the original in the heart of the players, if it is unlikely to be remembered in ten years, this new adventure of 007 still performs brilliantly. The graphics are quite good, the staging is dynamic and offers some nice moments of adrenaline, the multiplayer modes are fun... without reaching the excitement we get the original in 1997, of course, a matter of historical context. Anyway that's solid shooter we have here, and that's good news for the Wii!
  13. Dec 12, 2010
    58
    This is not your older brother's GoldenEye. It's been updated, re-skinned, had some control adjustments, and instead of reclaiming the crown of top four-player shooter, it's just another face in the crowd.

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
#6 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 187 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 72
  2. Negative: 4 out of 72
  1. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Don't listen to Game Informer, they are the worst and most biased reviewers out there. They're like the Armond White of the video gameDon't listen to Game Informer, they are the worst and most biased reviewers out there. They're like the Armond White of the video game industry and their reviews are short and irrelevant to what matters: is the game fun? And the answer in this case is yes.

    Stop comparing it to the dated N64 game - this is a RE-IMAGINING. Not a remake. And it's better than the original as long as you aren't wearing nostalgia goggles. Buy the game, play it for a couple hours and you'll agree.

    Best FPS on Wii (I don't count Metroid Prime as an FPS).
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    I just bought this game and I have to say this is one of the best games on the Wii. Having to not complete this yet, while noting that I haveI just bought this game and I have to say this is one of the best games on the Wii. Having to not complete this yet, while noting that I have never played the N64 so I do not behold the nostalgic values over this, with amazing gameplay aside the not-so-great graphics, it still has a lot to live up to. Some may complain over the character, but my response would be ask why when not the characters, but the thrill and the intensity of the game is what truly builds this. Although it isn't as good as other platforming games that excel over the Wii (and other 7th generation consoles), this game is a blast, and just as exciting as MW2 (more so even more). Full Review »
  3. Nov 2, 2010
    9
    Golden Eye 007 is a great game. the only hit i can give it is the frame rate drops sometimes. The story mode is fun and fresh. Remakes areGolden Eye 007 is a great game. the only hit i can give it is the frame rate drops sometimes. The story mode is fun and fresh. Remakes are rarely as good as the original which is why i think the changes they made to the story are welcome. But.... its not really about that is it... with the original most people remember the multiplayer and the countless hours spent with friends and family. The multiplayer runs very smooth is a blast. Also the online works very well with 8 player modes that have tons of options. I personally think that this is a Wii must have especially if you enjoyed the original. Full Review »