GoldenEye 007 Wii

GoldenEye 007 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 188 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed exclusively for Wii and based on the GoldenEye film, GoldenEye 007 gives players the chance to use the lethal, gritty style of Daniel Craig's James Bond to outwit, outmaneuver and overtake an arms syndicate that threatens the world in an innovative, modern take on the legendaryDeveloped exclusively for Wii and based on the GoldenEye film, GoldenEye 007 gives players the chance to use the lethal, gritty style of Daniel Craig's James Bond to outwit, outmaneuver and overtake an arms syndicate that threatens the world in an innovative, modern take on the legendary GoldenEye movie. GoldenEye 007 features an unprecedented lineup of four-player split-screen multiplayer options that encourage social gaming, with over 50 total characters, including eight classic Bond characters, ten maps, three standard modes and 17 special modifiers that allow gamers to create hundreds of game combinations. GoldenEye 007 also features online multiplayer for up to eight players designed for seasoned FPS online gamers with unique modes and a robust XP system for unlockables and achievements. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. Dec 18, 2010
    100
    More than just a remake, GoldenEye 007 lives up to its predecessor and then some by not only modernizing the story but the multiplayer as well.
  2. Dec 11, 2010
    91
    If you love first person shooters or you're a huge James Bond fan, than this game has definitely been made for you. Best first person shooter to have ever graced the Wii? Probably So!
  3. Dec 11, 2010
    90
    Yet GoldenEye 007 could have gotten away without using that namesake as, against all perceptions upon initial reveal, this re-imaging is strong enough to stand on its own and, aside from a few online limitations and control niggles, it is easily one of Wii's best shooters.
  4. Dec 18, 2010
    83
    Overall I'd say that Goldeneye is more than worth your time, in fact, it's probably one of the best FPS titles on the Wii at this point.
  5. Dec 18, 2010
    80
    It was an impossible task to match the original and surprisingly, by changing almost everything, Eurocom came close to doing it. What they have managed to do is create the second best Bond game to-date, and given Wii owners a great shooter.
  6. Dec 12, 2010
    80
    GoldenEye 007 is a restoration of a classic.
  7. Dec 12, 2010
    58
    This is not your older brother's GoldenEye. It's been updated, re-skinned, had some control adjustments, and instead of reclaiming the crown of top four-player shooter, it's just another face in the crowd.

See all 79 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 72
  2. Negative: 4 out of 72
  1. Oct 12, 2015
    10
    This is the best fps game ever created. It has memorable levels and weapons. Single player is very fun and doesn't get boring. OnlineThis is the best fps game ever created. It has memorable levels and weapons. Single player is very fun and doesn't get boring. Online multiplayer is super fun. I have played it a lot, I mean a lot. Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    Amazing game in every right IMO. Puts many FPS' in their place even on more powerful consoles. 4 player split screen EPIC, just what IAmazing game in every right IMO. Puts many FPS' in their place even on more powerful consoles. 4 player split screen EPIC, just what I wanted, goldeneye drinking games FTW. The massive support to multiple control types is testiment to the guys working on this, love for the game. Whoever gave it a 0 out of 10 should be deleted, sounds like a competitior review lol!
    People need to get out of the mindset that this was going to be an exact clone of the original, no matter what if that happened it would be weak in this day and age. 1 thing Im yet to know, is if it will support the N64 adapter if it does, then Eurocom and Activision staff need a bloody medal! Totally satisified! Note: I actually signed up just to review this, in digust of that dudes pathetic 0/10 score!
    Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Don't listen to Game Informer, they are the worst and most biased reviewers out there. They're like the Armond White of the video gameDon't listen to Game Informer, they are the worst and most biased reviewers out there. They're like the Armond White of the video game industry and their reviews are short and irrelevant to what matters: is the game fun? And the answer in this case is yes.

    Stop comparing it to the dated N64 game - this is a RE-IMAGINING. Not a remake. And it's better than the original as long as you aren't wearing nostalgia goggles. Buy the game, play it for a couple hours and you'll agree.

    Best FPS on Wii (I don't count Metroid Prime as an FPS).
    Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    An engaging storyline, multiple difficulties, and several different control options give this game an incredible replay value. The option toAn engaging storyline, multiple difficulties, and several different control options give this game an incredible replay value. The option to play the game with the GameCube controller is what really sealed the deal for me, though. The multiplayer mode allows you to play as characters from the game as well as previous Bond villains, like Oddjob and Mr. Scaramanga. All in all, a great game. Collapse
  5. Nov 3, 2010
    8
    Do not listen to reggie. Isn't every magazine biased? and of all of them game informer is the least. If you cant support your accusations withDo not listen to reggie. Isn't every magazine biased? and of all of them game informer is the least. If you cant support your accusations with facts then don't say anything at all. Expand
  6. Dec 17, 2013
    8
    Finally,Activision made a descent first person shooter
    yeah,maybe its not like goldeneye 64
    but hey its a good game. with a good music and
    Finally,Activision made a descent first person shooter
    yeah,maybe its not like goldeneye 64
    but hey its a good game.
    with a good music and a fun gameplay
    i like that
    Expand
  7. Apr 23, 2013
    1
    Having bought this game for only £10 I thought it would be a great addition to my new nintendo wii collection, even if it was a poor game itHaving bought this game for only £10 I thought it would be a great addition to my new nintendo wii collection, even if it was a poor game it would still be worth £10... Right? Well I have to say sadly I am wrong, don't get me wrong the campaign seems alright and follows the movie script pretty close, however if like me you want a good online shooter then this game is just awful!

    One thing that gets me is that the game can't decide what it wants to be, either CoD or N64 Goldeneye, then tries to be a mix of both and ends up feeling all wrong! It uses the CoD health system (in which your health regenerates) and yet tries to give it self more of a gun and run feel, I can't help but think this game should have brought back the old health pack and body armor way of FPShooters.

    The thing that most annoys me about this game is the stupid connection or lag the seems to plague my system... and by the look of some of the reviews I'd think it was only mine, till i reliese its purely down to host connection. I can't tell you how many times I have emptied an entire clip on someone only to hit them once or twice (With burst fire BTW) then have them turn around and waste me! All the guns other then shotgun are junk, meaning that the people who pick the shotgun with more often then not prosper, to be fair thou there is such a lack of guns in this game its unreal, its like the makers of the game wanted to keep true to the 64 game that this game mocks just by being one minute and then be modern the next with weapon scoping... What with like 5 guns!

    I hate the way that when you scope the game locks on to someone, however because no one in there right mind would stay still... especially after taking a few hits it really ends up doing more harm then good, Very frustrating.

    No Wii speak, No way of keeping in touch with people you meet on like, no fun to be had. Only saving grace is that there is still always a game to be had, but for the price you would be silly to not get CoD Black Ops if you want a Wii FPS
    Expand

See all 72 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
#7 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010