User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 55
  2. Negative: 8 out of 55

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    0
    This game is broken. I don't understand why reviewers disagree with my opinion. The controls make the game impossible to play. You have to have the Wii Remote at precisely the right angle, as the game makes it difficult to switch to your forehand. When you swing the Wii Remote, the game is cruel and unforgiving. I wish I hadn't wasted my money on this game.
  2. CharlesK
    Jun 12, 2009
    4
    VERY FRUSTRATING, I had been looking forward to this game ever since I read about it, and when I finally got to play it......FRUSTRATION - mind you I had been playing on EASY! If your looking to frustrate yourself this is a must buy, with the new Wii MotionPlus at times I wanted to throw the controller out the window - I played all the way through the entire series twice and practiced VERY FRUSTRATING, I had been looking forward to this game ever since I read about it, and when I finally got to play it......FRUSTRATION - mind you I had been playing on EASY! If your looking to frustrate yourself this is a must buy, with the new Wii MotionPlus at times I wanted to throw the controller out the window - I played all the way through the entire series twice and practiced before that so I gave it a chance. I must reiterate if you want a frustrating experience with a new controller that in my experience is not ready for prime time you must buy this game, otherwise stay away and save yourself some dough. Expand
  3. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    The hardest thing about this game is by far and large adapting to the controls. I'm a very avid tennis player and fan of professional tennis, and I have to say from life experience that this is the most accurate tennis game I've ever played. The game advises to use slow and easy full swings (using the Wiimote Plus), and that takes some getting used to, but once you start to do itThe hardest thing about this game is by far and large adapting to the controls. I'm a very avid tennis player and fan of professional tennis, and I have to say from life experience that this is the most accurate tennis game I've ever played. The game advises to use slow and easy full swings (using the Wiimote Plus), and that takes some getting used to, but once you start to do it consistently you'll be able to plan your shots with remarkable precision. It is very important to return to a ready stance (as if holding the racket up in front of you) and keep the direction of your hit aimed at the sensor bar for the game to accurately pickup your movements. You can't play as if you're on a full size court. Instead, I played as if the length of my TV was the size of the singles court (22-inch) with the length of the TV case it stands on as the net length and baseline. At that point it became very simple to hit early when aiming left or hit later when aiming right. Every slice, topspin, flat shot, and degree of speed started registering completely naturally as I am used to hitting on the real court. However, even with that accuracy nailed down, you can definitely expect the game AI to make you work for every point, making every match very rewarding. I highly recommend any tennis fan to give this a try, and commit to the practice and experimentation required to get comfortable with the controls. It's well worth the effort! Expand
  4. MarcB
    Jun 10, 2009
    9
    Best tennis game I've ever played. Modes galore and rewards system keep the single player experience fresh. Online multi works perfectly, no framerate loss. Serious gamers, myself included, should only play with Motion Plus and the nunchuck...this gives you control over every aspect of your shot. Even with Motion Plus there will be a hiccup once in awhile...but it is BY FAR the most Best tennis game I've ever played. Modes galore and rewards system keep the single player experience fresh. Online multi works perfectly, no framerate loss. Serious gamers, myself included, should only play with Motion Plus and the nunchuck...this gives you control over every aspect of your shot. Even with Motion Plus there will be a hiccup once in awhile...but it is BY FAR the most accurate motion tennis experience available. Enjoy. Expand
  5. RobertH
    Jun 20, 2009
    6
    Since there isn't that much Wii tennis games, this is pretty good except for recalibration. I agree that it struggles with forehand and backhand shots that it gets to be very frustrating.
  6. LukeD
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    What a great game, this is the type of game thats gets you lazy people off the couch and into the action(with the use of the wii-motion plus). If you try to sit down or play lazyly, you will be punished. Hard practice and effort goes a long way with this game. As I did stuggle at first but realised I wasnt playing like a tennis player(still trying to play like you do with wii sportsWhat a great game, this is the type of game thats gets you lazy people off the couch and into the action(with the use of the wii-motion plus). If you try to sit down or play lazyly, you will be punished. Hard practice and effort goes a long way with this game. As I did stuggle at first but realised I wasnt playing like a tennis player(still trying to play like you do with wii sports tennis). The single player career mode is fun, but could have been more involved. The online is where most of the fun will be had, with player and nation rankings being recorded. Every now and then you may be affected by some lag online, however across the board online is relativley smooth. I definately recommend this game, just stick with it and train, train, train. Expand
  7. GeEkN
    Jun 10, 2009
    8
    I really dig this game! I have to agree with IGN on this one. With motion plus this is the best tennis game I have ever played. (and I've played them all) At last I can control the shots precisely, while being active. Button pressing on the hand-controller, ala Xbox360, is old school now! I had a hilarious time playing this with the wife. The character models are funny, and they have I really dig this game! I have to agree with IGN on this one. With motion plus this is the best tennis game I have ever played. (and I've played them all) At last I can control the shots precisely, while being active. Button pressing on the hand-controller, ala Xbox360, is old school now! I had a hilarious time playing this with the wife. The character models are funny, and they have captured Rafa Nadal's body language perfectly. Even the 'create-a-character' models are good. (Take note VT2009, this is how you do it) I highly recommend this game, along with the Wii motion plus, for all Wii owners. A must buy! Expand
  8. paulj
    Jun 13, 2009
    9
    This is an excellent, atmospheric, good lookign game which is highly addictive. The controls encourage ou to use exaggerated swings....flick the remote like you would in other games and it will be unresponsive, as some of the lower reviews state. actually attempt to use the remote like a real racket, however, and they are spot on. certainly better than the alternatives by a long way. This This is an excellent, atmospheric, good lookign game which is highly addictive. The controls encourage ou to use exaggerated swings....flick the remote like you would in other games and it will be unresponsive, as some of the lower reviews state. actually attempt to use the remote like a real racket, however, and they are spot on. certainly better than the alternatives by a long way. This is a game to play tennis on...not a waggle-fest. Expand
  9. TomC
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    The people that're having problems with the controls are quite simply not doing things correctly. When the match starts hold the remote in a center position for a couple of seconds. Then serve. At the break between points hold the remote in the same or similar position to recalibrate the MotionPlus. After a while you won't even notice you're doing it. It'll take you The people that're having problems with the controls are quite simply not doing things correctly. When the match starts hold the remote in a center position for a couple of seconds. Then serve. At the break between points hold the remote in the same or similar position to recalibrate the MotionPlus. After a while you won't even notice you're doing it. It'll take you 2-3 hours to get used to the controls but once nailed down you'll be able to put the ball where you want. This game is better by far than Virtua Tennis. Just be patient. And learn how to play the game before judging it. Expand
  10. NathalieBayeu
    Aug 17, 2009
    9
    The game is realistic, once you get the hang of it you will stop blaming the software if anything goes wrong. Although on-line may be frustrating, sometimes you will encounter a 'crazy' referee who counts double bounces as a single one, or your player might suddenly run away in one direction if you're on nunchuk. On average some flaw or another will occur a couple of timesThe game is realistic, once you get the hang of it you will stop blaming the software if anything goes wrong. Although on-line may be frustrating, sometimes you will encounter a 'crazy' referee who counts double bounces as a single one, or your player might suddenly run away in one direction if you're on nunchuk. On average some flaw or another will occur a couple of times in a set.
    Nevertheless I play it only with nunchuk as it is much more precise, and despite all those occasional flaws, it's extremely addictive. And in my case it burns some 190 Kcal in 1 hour of play!!!!!
    Expand
  11. SimonW
    Jun 21, 2009
    9
    I'm sick of people saying its broke and wii motion don't work. you need to spend some time getting used to how to swing and time the ball, just like in real tennis. once you get used to it it really is like a game of tennis. it has good AI and a very rewarding game when you have spent the hours getting comfortable with control. highly recommended.
  12. AlexA
    Jun 20, 2009
    10
    Very COOL and FUN! This game is a great way to let tennis fans blow their tennis skills. In a day I already won a title. I recommend this game to everyone who love tennis. I LOVE IT!
  13. TreyH
    Jun 22, 2009
    5
    Lots of modes and features and more adult than wii sports, but the motionplus controller just isn't solid. 3/10 times its fantastic, but then 2/10 its entirely lost. It seems to work better in practice mode, but in real games where unpredictable response is required, its just too inconsistent.
  14. JoelC
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    I don't understand the problems people are having with the M+. For me, as in a real game of tennis, before every serve my Wiimote is centered and ready to go, because you never know which way the serve will come. And it's worked flawlessly for me. The critics are morons, buy this game. The best tennis game I have ever played. Don't like tennis? Then rent it first. I love I don't understand the problems people are having with the M+. For me, as in a real game of tennis, before every serve my Wiimote is centered and ready to go, because you never know which way the serve will come. And it's worked flawlessly for me. The critics are morons, buy this game. The best tennis game I have ever played. Don't like tennis? Then rent it first. I love tennis however, and I love this game. For realz yo. Expand
  15. AlexS.
    Jun 29, 2009
    9
    This is by far the most authentic tennis game ever made. Once you get a grip on the controls ( I recommend checking out the EA Forums) the game is perfect. In future I hope EA includes an in-game tutorial so people don't have to watch Youtube video on how to play the game.
  16. JoshF
    Jul 17, 2009
    9
    Fantastic tennis game. easily the most realistic one out there, from the controls to the motions of the characters to the courts, everything. anyone complaining about the motionplus clearly doesn't understand how to use it, cuz it works great for me. i'd assume that they get it off center and don't know how to reset it (hold it still for 2 seconds, then it will be back to Fantastic tennis game. easily the most realistic one out there, from the controls to the motions of the characters to the courts, everything. anyone complaining about the motionplus clearly doesn't understand how to use it, cuz it works great for me. i'd assume that they get it off center and don't know how to reset it (hold it still for 2 seconds, then it will be back to the right position). the only reason i gave it a 9 rather than a 10 is because there are some glitches online (i love online play btw, its great), but there is a serve glitch, a double bounce glitch, and serve and volley players have it way too easy (learn how to play the game, seriously). Expand
  17. BobA
    Jul 22, 2009
    3
    If you are only to read one of these reviews -- Read This One! Do not purchase this game as you will be wasting your money on a game that has some of the most frustrating controls of any Wii game. The game will force you to swing back swings when you are obviously pointing front, it doesn't know where the controller so positions the player to make a back swing even though you are If you are only to read one of these reviews -- Read This One! Do not purchase this game as you will be wasting your money on a game that has some of the most frustrating controls of any Wii game. The game will force you to swing back swings when you are obviously pointing front, it doesn't know where the controller so positions the player to make a back swing even though you are facing completely forward. Just don't buy this game, its not worth it, even with MotionPlus its just not good. Expand
  18. JamesR
    Jul 29, 2009
    8
    I absolutely love this game. I would like to see more players (especially current ones) and more events besides the Grand Slams next year. The controls also aren't perfect. They are, however, better than anything else on the system. If you take the time to let the controller center between points, which you are given ample opportunity to do, then it works great. It has great online I absolutely love this game. I would like to see more players (especially current ones) and more events besides the Grand Slams next year. The controls also aren't perfect. They are, however, better than anything else on the system. If you take the time to let the controller center between points, which you are given ample opportunity to do, then it works great. It has great online and challenging AI. Bear in mind that this is the first game in a new series and it uses an attachment that Nintendo hasn't even showcased yet. With that in mind, this game is a huge success. I can't wait until next year's. Forget the negative reviews. If you take the time, it works great. Expand
  19. FreddeX
    Jun 12, 2009
    6
    I (and others) probably expected too much from motion plus aided controls in this game. Sadly, this feels disappointing. The main problem is that the controls fails too many times. Training with the ball machine for 3 hours, helped figure some things out. 60% of the time it works perfectly fine, but then you have 20% of the time when motion tracking is totally lost and another 20% of the I (and others) probably expected too much from motion plus aided controls in this game. Sadly, this feels disappointing. The main problem is that the controls fails too many times. Training with the ball machine for 3 hours, helped figure some things out. 60% of the time it works perfectly fine, but then you have 20% of the time when motion tracking is totally lost and another 20% of the time when ball placement/spin/etc seems wrong. Briefly trying to play without motion plus, it seemed it would be easier to play that way (and win), which is very unfortunate. My rating reflects only the controls in this game (with motion plus), 6 for working 60% of the time. Expand
  20. MG
    Jun 12, 2009
    5
    I can't understand how this game is getting high ratings. This game is Broken. It does not work at all on any level. The controls are not responsive, its difficult to control, and the graphics are just plain bad (its Wii so i didn't expect much). Not much better than Wii Sports Tennis. Wait for Sports Resort in July or buy Tiger Woods (which comes Wii motion bundled). Its a much I can't understand how this game is getting high ratings. This game is Broken. It does not work at all on any level. The controls are not responsive, its difficult to control, and the graphics are just plain bad (its Wii so i didn't expect much). Not much better than Wii Sports Tennis. Wait for Sports Resort in July or buy Tiger Woods (which comes Wii motion bundled). Its a much better game that demonstrates the Wii Motion's capabilities. Expand
  21. KeithL
    Jun 14, 2009
    5
    It's actually quite a good game but the MotionPlus needs recalibrating all the time!! The game really struggles interpreting forehand or backhands signals and ending up playing backhand shots for clearly forehand situations etc. When that happens, apart from being really annoying, I have to hold the Wiimote still for a few seconds to recalibrate it. I can live with this in Easy mode It's actually quite a good game but the MotionPlus needs recalibrating all the time!! The game really struggles interpreting forehand or backhands signals and ending up playing backhand shots for clearly forehand situations etc. When that happens, apart from being really annoying, I have to hold the Wiimote still for a few seconds to recalibrate it. I can live with this in Easy mode because it's very easy indeed but in Medium mode, losing points because of the Motion Plus flaws is just plain frustrating. My aim is to finish the game without breaking the damn motion plus thing....good luck gamers!!! Expand
  22. AndyP
    Jun 14, 2009
    9
    Whilst itis not perfect, and lacks some depth in single player, the controls work well once you've got used to them - and that can take time especially as it registers your backswing.
  23. Wiirdo
    Jun 21, 2009
    7
    Having played both Virtua Tennis 2009 and Grand Slam Tennis, I thought I'd weigh in with my take on which game to get. The answer? Grand Slam Tennis. Even though GST interrupts motion control with button presses for drop shots and lobs, the end result is superior to VT2009's scheme, which is plagued by dodgy swing recognition. In VT, if you swing just a *bit* too quickly, you Having played both Virtua Tennis 2009 and Grand Slam Tennis, I thought I'd weigh in with my take on which game to get. The answer? Grand Slam Tennis. Even though GST interrupts motion control with button presses for drop shots and lobs, the end result is superior to VT2009's scheme, which is plagued by dodgy swing recognition. In VT, if you swing just a *bit* too quickly, you hit a normal slice instead of a drop. Swing just a *bit* too slowly, and your motion doesn't register at all. The ball sails harmlessly by, and you lose the point. Maddening. While buttons aren't optimal, they're a better solution. GST's graphics are also *much* more polished than VT2009. The players look better, animations are smoother, the frame rate is more stable. Created characters look significantly better in GST, also. Skill development may not be as good in GST as it is in VT2009, but then not every skill minigame in VT works. Some (blockbreaker) are waaay too easy. Some (pirate ship) are insanely difficult with WM+. I kind of like the pre-tournament challenges in GST - winning abilities of defeated opponents. In either game, there's going to be a *ton* of grinding to get your created character to where you want him/her to be. It's tough to compare online play between the two games because, after a week of VT2009, I was only able to play two matches. There just aren't that many people online. This may change after the game is released in Europe, but it's still frustrating. GST fares *much* better in this regard. Both games play smoothly, with little to no lag. There are two things that VT2009 does better than GST, and I'd be remiss not to mention them. I find VT2009 to be much more fun when playing without a WM+. As another user review mentioned, without WM+, VT2009 is like a really, really good version of Top Spin 3. The second thing that VT2009 does better than GST is keep the wm+ calibrated. After a week of VT2009, I can count on one hand the number of times that points were ruined by poor wm+ calibration. It happens much more frequently in GST, unfortunately. 3-5 times per match is not uncommon. And that's ultimately what keeps GST from being a first-rate title. If we could combine EA's control scheme and Sega's ability to keep wm+ from fritzing out, we'd have one heck of a game on our hands. But we can't, which leaves us with a choice. Arcade tennis (VT 2009) that's just as good (if not better) without wm+. Or a deeper, more "sim"-type game (GST) that will have you fighting back urges to fling your wm+ across the room, a la John McEnroe. Final score: GST with the narrow victory. Grand Slam Tennis: 7.5 Virtua Tennis 7.2 Collapse
  24. Dec 1, 2011
    8
    The motion plus controls work about 90% of time, provided you return your Wii remote(ie: your racket) to the center position after each swing. There a few times where the games thinks you're performing a backhand instead a forehard and occassionally your player will stand still even after you've swung. But overall, aiming and spinning the ball is generally accurate and mostly importantly,The motion plus controls work about 90% of time, provided you return your Wii remote(ie: your racket) to the center position after each swing. There a few times where the games thinks you're performing a backhand instead a forehard and occassionally your player will stand still even after you've swung. But overall, aiming and spinning the ball is generally accurate and mostly importantly, enjoyable with the motion plus. The game can be played without the motion plus but control over the racket is drastically decreased. The online and offline options are fairly good. Being able to have 2 players go online together (such as in Mario Kart) is also a nice bonus. It's not a great sports game but it is the fairly good one that justifies the purchase of a Wii. With the Wiimotion plus, gameplay wise, no other sports games can compare. Expand
  25. Aug 15, 2013
    6
    Grand Slam Tennis is a very great sports tennis game though some of the design of the players do not seem like you're really in the tennis opens. The game has great controls but the other background characters are basically stick people and they stay there forever
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. To sum it up, EA Sport’s Grand Slam Tennis is definitely one of the best sport games that we have played on the console, thanks to Wii MotionPlus.
  2. Grand Slam Tennis is fun, but it’s hard to master for beginners. Wii MotionPlus works very good and gives the game an extra touch.
  3. Grand Slam Tennis is a great tennis simulation. Probably the Wii Motion plus does not shows its real potential, but this product is perfect for tennis lovers, thanks to the big variety of shots, the large number of game modes and a perfect online support.