Grand Slam Tennis Wii

Grand Slam Tennis Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Specifically designed for the Wii, EA SPORTS Grand Slam Tennis puts the racket in the palm of your hand and delivers the deepest tennis experience. Users feel like they are actually playing tennis, performing real forehands and backhands in their living rooms. The game is one of the firstSpecifically designed for the Wii, EA SPORTS Grand Slam Tennis puts the racket in the palm of your hand and delivers the deepest tennis experience. Users feel like they are actually playing tennis, performing real forehands and backhands in their living rooms. The game is one of the first to be compatible with Wii MotionPlus, which enhances the one-to-one motion with added shot depth and precise ball placement. [EA Sports] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. With a few tennis games out this summer there is plenty of choice but Grand Slam Tennis is THE choice for Nintendo Wii owners.
  2. To sum it up, EA Sport’s Grand Slam Tennis is definitely one of the best sport games that we have played on the console, thanks to Wii MotionPlus.
  3. Grand Slam Tennis is not perfect, but it is the best tennis outing to date on the Wii.
  4. Grand Slam Tennis is one of the most impressive sports games packages that I've seen in a while. EA deserves to be commended for getting on the ball with MotionPlus and offering up a game that provides a compelling reason to purchase the accessory.
  5. Luckily though Grand Slam Tennis is a refreshing take on a sport that has been otherwise overlooked in past years and comes through with what I think is a rather solid first showing.
  6. Good graphics, game modes and longevity. A solid first effort for the franchise that offers one of the most well-rounded tennis experience on the Wii.
  7. games(TM)
    60
    MotionPlus adds a welcome layer of immersion, but it never does enough to completely mend the game's flaws. Matches are often frustrating, shots will still bounce past your player and the AI will sometimes second-guess you, placing you in a poor position to return a serve. [Sept 2009, p.126]

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    The hardest thing about this game is by far and large adapting to the controls. I'm a very avid tennis player and fan of professional tennis,The hardest thing about this game is by far and large adapting to the controls. I'm a very avid tennis player and fan of professional tennis, and I have to say from life experience that this is the most accurate tennis game I've ever played. The game advises to use slow and easy full swings (using the Wiimote Plus), and that takes some getting used to, but once you start to do it consistently you'll be able to plan your shots with remarkable precision. It is very important to return to a ready stance (as if holding the racket up in front of you) and keep the direction of your hit aimed at the sensor bar for the game to accurately pickup your movements. You can't play as if you're on a full size court. Instead, I played as if the length of my TV was the size of the singles court (22-inch) with the length of the TV case it stands on as the net length and baseline. At that point it became very simple to hit early when aiming left or hit later when aiming right. Every slice, topspin, flat shot, and degree of speed started registering completely naturally as I am used to hitting on the real court. However, even with that accuracy nailed down, you can definitely expect the game AI to make you work for every point, making every match very rewarding. I highly recommend any tennis fan to give this a try, and commit to the practice and experimentation required to get comfortable with the controls. It's well worth the effort! Expand
  2. TomC
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    The people that're having problems with the controls are quite simply not doing things correctly. When the match starts hold the remote The people that're having problems with the controls are quite simply not doing things correctly. When the match starts hold the remote in a center position for a couple of seconds. Then serve. At the break between points hold the remote in the same or similar position to recalibrate the MotionPlus. After a while you won't even notice you're doing it. It'll take you 2-3 hours to get used to the controls but once nailed down you'll be able to put the ball where you want. This game is better by far than Virtua Tennis. Just be patient. And learn how to play the game before judging it. Expand
  3. JoshF
    Jul 17, 2009
    9
    Fantastic tennis game. easily the most realistic one out there, from the controls to the motions of the characters to the courts, everything. Fantastic tennis game. easily the most realistic one out there, from the controls to the motions of the characters to the courts, everything. anyone complaining about the motionplus clearly doesn't understand how to use it, cuz it works great for me. i'd assume that they get it off center and don't know how to reset it (hold it still for 2 seconds, then it will be back to the right position). the only reason i gave it a 9 rather than a 10 is because there are some glitches online (i love online play btw, its great), but there is a serve glitch, a double bounce glitch, and serve and volley players have it way too easy (learn how to play the game, seriously). Expand
  4. JamesR
    Jul 29, 2009
    8
    I absolutely love this game. I would like to see more players (especially current ones) and more events besides the Grand Slams next year. I absolutely love this game. I would like to see more players (especially current ones) and more events besides the Grand Slams next year. The controls also aren't perfect. They are, however, better than anything else on the system. If you take the time to let the controller center between points, which you are given ample opportunity to do, then it works great. It has great online and challenging AI. Bear in mind that this is the first game in a new series and it uses an attachment that Nintendo hasn't even showcased yet. With that in mind, this game is a huge success. I can't wait until next year's. Forget the negative reviews. If you take the time, it works great. Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2013
    6
    Grand Slam Tennis is a very great sports tennis game though some of the design of the players do not seem like you're really in the tennisGrand Slam Tennis is a very great sports tennis game though some of the design of the players do not seem like you're really in the tennis opens. The game has great controls but the other background characters are basically stick people and they stay there forever Collapse
  6. TreyH
    Jun 22, 2009
    5
    Lots of modes and features and more adult than wii sports, but the motionplus controller just isn't solid. 3/10 times its fantastic, but Lots of modes and features and more adult than wii sports, but the motionplus controller just isn't solid. 3/10 times its fantastic, but then 2/10 its entirely lost. It seems to work better in practice mode, but in real games where unpredictable response is required, its just too inconsistent. Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2016
    0
    Gimmicky beyond belief. I had high hopes for this game, especially given it is supposed to take advantage of the motion plus accessory. AndGimmicky beyond belief. I had high hopes for this game, especially given it is supposed to take advantage of the motion plus accessory. And what purpose does it serve (no pun intended)? If someone will tell me please what the difference is between the gameplay with and without the motion plus? The tech demo that Wii Sports was is still better by leaps and bounds than this abomination. Seriously, you are better off playing the good old Wii Sports tennis than the Grand Slam Tennis, whose controls are far from intuitive and for the most part, they simply don't work like they're supposed to. You would think that three years in the Wii life span (the GST came out in 2009) other developers than Nintendo itself would have learnt how to use motion controls. But no, they are as inept at harnessing the Wii mote as a monkey driving a car.

    Three years after the premiere of Wii Sports you expect devs to have mastered the motion controls. To your dismay, the situation is not that simple. The original Nintendo product, which was only to blaze some trails and show devs the proper way, turns out to be so timeless that no EA, let alone Rockstar with their Table Tennis, won't beat it. In Wii Sports, the gameplay feels natural. Everything is it its place. With the GST the motion controls are exposed for the gimmick they really are. It's either a testament to the lack of communication between Nintendo and third party devs or EA simply churned out another half-assed product that is barely playable.

    I expected it to be everything that the Wii Sports tennis was plus more, given the three-year learning curve to learn the ins and outs of the motion controls implemented by Nintendo in their **** best-selling system. I expected it to be physically as demanding, at least equally accurate and fun. Instead you barely work a sweat. You are more concerned with twisting your wrist right so you execute the moves described in the controls help. But you get frustrated because for the most part the game registers a different move than you initially intended. The vast majority of your strikes end up beyond the court. You have less control over what area of the court the ball will fall in. Yes, even less control than in Wii Sports. Sometimes the game doesn't register your move so you inevitably lose points. You want to hit the ball with your backhand but the game automatically switches to forehand and the other way around. I assume then that the controls are broken or at least not implemented as well as in Wii Sports, needless to say, three years earlier.

    Since this is a motion-controls-based game I expect it to make me sweat, lose some calories. I want to use it as a means for exercise, to help me stay at least a little bit fitter. Even so, I'm disappointed once more as the game does not involve any strength whatsoever.

    The bottom line is stick to Wii sports instead of wasting your time with this broken product.
    Expand

See all 26 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#10 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
#31 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009