• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Nov 14, 2006
Metascore
41

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 15
  2. Negative: 11 out of 15
  1. The quick races, time trails, and drift challenges aren't much incentive to pull your nose out of the career mode. And the multiplayer is hardly worth booting up. You can only play splitscreen, and without AI cars.
  2. A poor excuse for a racing game. The only good thing is the wheel that comes with the game. Using it is actually quite fun. [Jan 2007]
  3. It doesn't take long to get over the novelty of the included steering wheel, and beyond that this is a very unremarkable racing game that isn't much fun.
  4. Unfortunately, the game itself isn't very good. [Jan. 2007, p.106]
  5. The handling is awful, with cars skidding all over the shop as it's easy to oversteer. [Feb 2007, p.84]
  6. The soundtrack is a shocking state of affairs, the cars sounding how you think mud would sound if it could talk and in the background is a Europop house soundtrack.
  7. 40
    In the end, GT Pro Series feels like a quick cash-out title, and Wii players deserve better.
  8. How can a game this bland and uninteresting compete with the likes of "Excite Truck" and "Need for Speed: Carbon," let alone the scores of racers available on other consoles? Simply put, it can’t; and it should be avoided at all costs.
  9. GT Pro Series has got decent cars and passable handling, but the below average physics and utterly shameful visuals give this a cheap, unfinished feel. [Feb 2007, p.84]
  10. 40
    GT Pro Series simply fails to deliver any sort of substantial racing experience. No matter how many cars you have or how many ways you can tweak them out, the fact is, if it's no fun to actually drive around, then it fails as a racing game.
  11. GT Pro Series is not at all worthy of being called “next-gen” – its boring gameplay and bad steering mechanics should be left behind and forgotten quickly.
  12. I find it appalling that publishers can get away with charging $50 on a game that might be worth $10 on a good day. The only thing you can do to let publishers know that we're not going to put up with this kind of crap is to not buy GT Pro Series, a task that should be easy considering the quality of the product.
  13. 30
    The worst part of the game has to be the audio. The incessant buzzing that is meant to represent the vehicles engines brought to mind the tinny whine of our time with Outrun on the Sega Master System. There's literally no variance or change in pitch in the engine's hum for, oh say, air flow, proximity or speed. There's just straight up honey-powered bee-mobiles.
  14. Aside from championship you get standard quick race, split-screen and time trial options, and Drift Combo, an incongruous, aggressively arcadey and frankly unplayable mode that challenges you to string long sequences of slides together.
  15. It's bewildering as to why this is even a launch game, let alone how anyone thought it would be fun to not drive a car round a crappy looking track with a broken plastic steering wheel. [January 2007, p.54]
User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 9 out of 10
  1. ah
    Mar 30, 2008
    0
    If I could give negatives, I would.

    Someone I know has this game. I was going to buy it, but after seeing how HORRIBLE it was in every
    If I could give negatives, I would.

    Someone I know has this game. I was going to buy it, but after seeing how HORRIBLE it was in every respect, I decided I wouldn't buy it even if they paid me.

    I started playing.
    Whoops, I 'm in the grass again!
    For the hundredth time!

    It's virtually impossible to control the car, it's like the tires had lost their treads and they're skidding all over the road. I don't see as anyone can call this fun.

    I'm a fan of racing games, but this one is a piece of crap on a stich for 30-something dollars. If you but this game after reading this, then I officially hate you. And I hold no responsibility for any long-term scarring or death caused by the hour you end up stabbing yourself to get rid of the pain in your eyes (god-awful graphics).
    Full Review »
  2. NoddyR.
    Dec 31, 2007
    9
    Graphics wernt good but gameplay was splendid loved every minite of it.
  3. John
    Aug 27, 2007
    0
    Horrible, graphics sucks, sound is terrible. it's the worst car game ever not even n64 driving games were that bad and trust me they were BAD.