Guilty Gear XX Accent Core Wii

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 1 out of 17

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulD.
    Jan 9, 2008
    9
    Who in their right mind would give this game a 1? I guess super sweet 2D fighting goodness is not your thing. I know I already said that Naruto: CON Rev was the best fighting game of '07, then I played this underrated gem. If you love fighting games, you owe it to yourself to get this. Thank you Aksys for making my day, I'll be playing this one for a long time.
  2. JeremyJ.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    2D fighting at it's purest form! The Wiimote controls might be trash, but if you've got a Classic Controller, think nothing of it. Even better is Hori's Wii arcade stick. The arcade mode is...notably harder than some other GGs, but not unconquerable. All the changes made to characters' movesets work and rock, the new animations are splendid, and the added SFX and BGMs 2D fighting at it's purest form! The Wiimote controls might be trash, but if you've got a Classic Controller, think nothing of it. Even better is Hori's Wii arcade stick. The arcade mode is...notably harder than some other GGs, but not unconquerable. All the changes made to characters' movesets work and rock, the new animations are splendid, and the added SFX and BGMs are a blast. An already perfect fighting game just got it's second wind. Expand
  3. GaryM.
    Dec 28, 2007
    1
    Nothing redeeming about this game at all. Worst game I've played on the Wii so far. Couldn't stand the controls or the graphics.
  4. AdamB.
    Oct 18, 2007
    8
    The controls are strange at first, but then you will "get" it. When you get it, you get it!! A great game, and a true guilty gear.
  5. J.J.
    Dec 28, 2007
    9
    Like fighters? Buy this game! This is the best fighting game for the Wii. The game is incredibly fun, the graphics are beautiful (looks completely like a good anime cartoon), the music is cool. Some downsides, the default font used for the menus is too small and dark on my tiny TV, and there are so many options that I felt overwhelmed at first. As for the magazine reviews, they are all Like fighters? Buy this game! This is the best fighting game for the Wii. The game is incredibly fun, the graphics are beautiful (looks completely like a good anime cartoon), the music is cool. Some downsides, the default font used for the menus is too small and dark on my tiny TV, and there are so many options that I felt overwhelmed at first. As for the magazine reviews, they are all misleading. IGN rated it low because they used a Wii controller (the game encourages you to use a GCN or classic controller), but everything else in their review was rated high. Others say it's the best, most polished of the Guilty Gear series, but then rate it lower than the previous ones (on the PS2) because it isn't completely different from them. It's the first time this series has been ported to a Nintendo console though. I live in Tokyo, and there are many fun 2D fighting game series in the arcades here. I'd be awesome to have them ported to the Wii, not just the PS2/PS3. So, buy this game because it's the best fighting game on the Wii, one of the best fighting games on any console, and it'll encourage more cool Japanese arcade ports to the Wii. Expand
  6. Jan 14, 2011
    10
    This is possibly the best fighter ever made. The characters are quirky, the music is awesome, the gameplay is exceedingly deep and well-thought-out. Get the classic controller pro for this one. Plays identically to the PS2 version. It is a faithful port.
  7. Apr 19, 2012
    9
    Pros: The music rocks. Controls are tight, characters are fun to use, Arcade mode is very, very hard - and that's just on Normal. You can use the Classic Controller, or even a Gamecube one.

    Cons: No story mode, almost nothing to do once you beat arcade mode, Arcade mode is VERY, VERY HARD. Now I am aware I've put the same thing on both lists; you see, it's a bit of a double-edged
    Pros: The music rocks. Controls are tight, characters are fun to use, Arcade mode is very, very hard - and that's just on Normal. You can use the Classic Controller, or even a Gamecube one.

    Cons: No story mode, almost nothing to do once you beat arcade mode, Arcade mode is VERY, VERY HARD.

    Now I am aware I've put the same thing on both lists; you see, it's a bit of a double-edged sword here. On one hand, you get used to the difficulty and you feel that much better when you beat that **** I-No. On the other hand, if you get through Arcade Mode and you can't beat I-No at ALL (I'm talking about hours fighting the SAME CHARACTER), you're going to get fed up, turn the console off and probably never feel like playing the character you were using for a long, long time. Also, it's possible that this game will ruin other fighters for you, due to the music and the extereme difficulty you end up overcoming. Personally, I love this game. But if you don't want a challenge, or you hate rock music, or even if you dislike anime-styled characters, go play Super Street Fighter 4 again.
    Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 2D fighters aren't so cool now, so GGXXAC was never going to unite the gaming world like "Street Fighter 2" did back in the early nineties, but it might just unite your frienids. [JPN Import; Nov 2007, p.48]
  2. 59
    Accent Core is a great game, if you have the right equipment. If you happen to be the proud owner of a Classic Controller, just consider the Wii version's score to be identical to the PS2 version. Unfortunately, because not everyone has a Classic Controller and it doesn't come with the system, we need to score the game based on the default controls, and that makes this a truly inferior title to its PS2 brethren.
  3. If you're looking for a 2D fighting game that's totally nuts, Guilty Gear XX Accent Core will give you what you want.