User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 81
  2. Negative: 8 out of 81

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BradleyG.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    For all of you out there who have some sort of technological flaw in the game you felt like exploiting in your reviews like long load times or the inability to finish certain songs I have the answer right here. Sell your crappy PS2 and buy yourself a Wii. I have had absolutely nothing but fun with the game and NO i don't think they did better in the other two games. I bought the game For all of you out there who have some sort of technological flaw in the game you felt like exploiting in your reviews like long load times or the inability to finish certain songs I have the answer right here. Sell your crappy PS2 and buy yourself a Wii. I have had absolutely nothing but fun with the game and NO i don't think they did better in the other two games. I bought the game for the Wii and it works, feels, sounds, and plays better than the previous installments (which has alot to do with the beefed up hammer on and pull off system). I have however had a multitude of problems with my friends PS2 version of the game being is that i can't even finish my favorite song "Cliffs of Dover" because the sound cuts out in the middle. Don't blame Activision for the flaws in your copy, blame Sony's late console. Expand
  2. JackT.
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    Despite its one flaw--not being able to download like the 360/PS3 versions--Guitar Hero III is fast-paced, fun, challenging, and has great online play. A definite must if you're into music games. One more note... to the people saying we should stop "wasting time" and learn a real guitar... that sounds great, we should all just spend hundreds of dollars and years of our life in Despite its one flaw--not being able to download like the 360/PS3 versions--Guitar Hero III is fast-paced, fun, challenging, and has great online play. A definite must if you're into music games. One more note... to the people saying we should stop "wasting time" and learn a real guitar... that sounds great, we should all just spend hundreds of dollars and years of our life in practice... no thanks, I'll enjoy my video game. So anyways... enjoy. Expand
  3. ZombieW.
    Nov 25, 2007
    9
    Simply amazing! While the controls can often be counter-intuitive and the sound is only in mono, the set-list is great, the guitar is far nicer than the 360's or PS3's, and the replay value is extremely high in my opinion. Not to mention the game is $10 cheaper than other systems. Certainly a must-have!
  4. HannahA.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    BEST! BEST BEST! Guitar Hero 3 is the most wonderful game ever! Aside from fun its fun to battle against friends and against Former Guitar Hero record holders as well as horses and animals playing the guitar. Easy to learn buttons and directions (theres not really any) make this the most outstanding game! You can play (as I did) for 8 hours in one period and not be boredwith it. The track BEST! BEST BEST! Guitar Hero 3 is the most wonderful game ever! Aside from fun its fun to battle against friends and against Former Guitar Hero record holders as well as horses and animals playing the guitar. Easy to learn buttons and directions (theres not really any) make this the most outstanding game! You can play (as I did) for 8 hours in one period and not be boredwith it. The track list is one of the best. Paint it Black, Welcome to the Jungle, Schools Out, Baracuda and much more make this the absolutly most bestest game ever! Expand
  5. MikeG.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    Best of all GH games, i wish they'd left out the boss battles (lou on expert is cheap).And Dan, instead of playing ANY video game, go do IT in real life: sports, racing, gutiar, etc. For the rest of us who aren't good at these things, there's video games.
  6. JonS.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    It is amazingly fun. The only problem is that some of the songs are hard and take alot of practice.
  7. RyanO.
    Oct 28, 2007
    9
    An excellent sequel to the highly regarded series. its abit harder but at the same time it gives you a better feel. overal this game is excellent. also online play as ive tried it so far is pretty awesome.
  8. Polecat
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    An excellent music game, and the best on the system. I can't say my opinion should be the alpha and the omega of reviews, as I really can care less if the sound coming out of my 2 speakers is slightly different, it's really a bummer about the lack of DL-able tracks on the system, but I imagine that access to the SD slot is more difficult to institute into games than I can An excellent music game, and the best on the system. I can't say my opinion should be the alpha and the omega of reviews, as I really can care less if the sound coming out of my 2 speakers is slightly different, it's really a bummer about the lack of DL-able tracks on the system, but I imagine that access to the SD slot is more difficult to institute into games than I can account for. Solid title though, and an excellent addition to any music aficionado's collection. Expand
  9. Jonasincognito
    Oct 18, 2008
    9
    A great game. The songs are wonderful, and it offers the great gameplay you know from GH1 and GH2. You'll have to play a looong time before asking yourself about *re*play value, simply because there's a lot to do: beat the game on all difficulty levels; 5-star all songs, gold-star all songs, full-combo all songs; now add precision mode and hyperspeed or performance mode and do A great game. The songs are wonderful, and it offers the great gameplay you know from GH1 and GH2. You'll have to play a looong time before asking yourself about *re*play value, simply because there's a lot to do: beat the game on all difficulty levels; 5-star all songs, gold-star all songs, full-combo all songs; now add precision mode and hyperspeed or performance mode and do it all again. On hard and expert, you will run into wickedly difficult songs that will take you a lot of practice to beat. Play all four difficulties in parallel and you won't run out of ways to progress. The high difficulty also gives you a greater sense of accomplishment, and the easier difficulties will allow most people to succeed. The cut-scene videos try to add an element of narrative to the game. They're cute and fun to watch. You won't feel particularly more attached to your character, but the gameplay is so much fun it doesn't need a story [back in the day, did you bicker about tetris not having a story? No, you played it and you loved it]. A few UI bits are annoying: quitting a song always asks "are you sure? You will lose unsaved progress"; I'm not sure what progress there is to save unless you finish the song. It seems like it could be done away with. Also, to switch between difficulties you have to walk a lot of the menu tree which gets boring after a while. The menus would be faster to operate if you could put one or two fret keys to pick a menu item instead of going down-down-down-down-green. For this reason and this reason alone, I can't give GH3 the 10 it almost deserves. Expand
  10. MysenShearer
    Feb 12, 2008
    10
    Ok first and foremost, if you're a Wii owner and a pure lover of music (preferebly Rock) then BUY THIS GAME! Now, let me explain. Many consoles have survived not being able to enjoy the brilliance of Guitar Hero, but when I managed to get my first taste of it for the Wii, I just could not stop playing. I never owned a PS2 or an Xbox 360 but at least having GH3 on the Wii is a pure joyOk first and foremost, if you're a Wii owner and a pure lover of music (preferebly Rock) then BUY THIS GAME! Now, let me explain. Many consoles have survived not being able to enjoy the brilliance of Guitar Hero, but when I managed to get my first taste of it for the Wii, I just could not stop playing. I never owned a PS2 or an Xbox 360 but at least having GH3 on the Wii is a pure joy to rock lovers and purists who desperately wanted to play Guitar Hero in all its glory. I definately recommend this to just about any game lover, Wii owner and music lover out there. Please get this game, its' time for you to rock out! Expand
  11. MattM.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    Yah, best game ive ever played. Thats why its a ten from me. Also, I thought id agree with Mike just to piss off Dan. Dan, next time you pick up a controller to play madden, why not go play real professional football. Get outta your moms basement and get a life
  12. misterhaan
    Jan 9, 2009
    9
    playing a plastic guitar is a lot of fun for those without the ability to play an actual guitar. as for the song choices most songs are excellent with only one song i didn't care for. playing songs in solo career or multiplayer career earns you some cash which you can use to purchase characters, outfits, guitars, basses, and songs. i personally recommend purchasing the song mauvaisplaying a plastic guitar is a lot of fun for those without the ability to play an actual guitar. as for the song choices most songs are excellent with only one song i didn't care for. playing songs in solo career or multiplayer career earns you some cash which you can use to purchase characters, outfits, guitars, basses, and songs. i personally recommend purchasing the song mauvais garcon -- it's in french and i don't know what it's saying but it sure is fun to say! Expand
  13. FrankiRusso
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    when i first played this on my friends ps2 i fell in love. i played for 5 hours straight until one in the morning and they had to literally drag me away from the game to get me to eat. when my grandfather bought this for me i was so happy, and played for hours at a time. The songs are great, and i loved the battle songs, and my only complaint is no character creation...oh, and the onlinewhen i first played this on my friends ps2 i fell in love. i played for 5 hours straight until one in the morning and they had to literally drag me away from the game to get me to eat. when my grandfather bought this for me i was so happy, and played for hours at a time. The songs are great, and i loved the battle songs, and my only complaint is no character creation...oh, and the online play could have been better, but other than that i absolutely loved it. I totally recomend it. Collapse
  14. ZapB.
    Nov 13, 2007
    9
    This game is really fun, but a little hard to get into if you have never played GH before. It took me a week to get used to medium difficulty, but it was just a matter of training the brain and building the manual dexterity. The songs are mostly good, with the exception of the cover of White Zombie's Black Sunshine. That one is just bad, and it's a pity that what could have been This game is really fun, but a little hard to get into if you have never played GH before. It took me a week to get used to medium difficulty, but it was just a matter of training the brain and building the manual dexterity. The songs are mostly good, with the exception of the cover of White Zombie's Black Sunshine. That one is just bad, and it's a pity that what could have been such a fun song got emasculated by a crappy cover. Expand
  15. Cooldude
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    Honestly... this the best Guitar Hero of them all, and to add to that it has its exclusive wii features including a rumbler and speaker on the wiimote... Activision has done a good job even better than Harmonix... Despite the Guitar and Songs im giving it a 9 for lack of sterio and surround capabilities but still im saying dont tel that be in the way of getting this game!
  16. Ray
    Dec 29, 2007
    9
    Good game, Solid mechanics. Sometimes expert mode looks unbeatable, however many songs are possible once you discover a technique that works for you. Being a bassist myself I was slightly amused at how the notes correlated with the drum beats most of the time at the higher difficulties. While it is more difficult then Guitar hero 1 or 2, Guitar Hero 3 is overall more challenging and at Good game, Solid mechanics. Sometimes expert mode looks unbeatable, however many songs are possible once you discover a technique that works for you. Being a bassist myself I was slightly amused at how the notes correlated with the drum beats most of the time at the higher difficulties. While it is more difficult then Guitar hero 1 or 2, Guitar Hero 3 is overall more challenging and at the same time a bit more fulfilling when you finally nail that song you thought was impossible. Expand
  17. BrockJ.
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    A definite improvement over its predecessors (at least the 360 version). A more responsive guitar, harder songs and better songs (in my humble opinion at least). A focus on the classic rock. Still not sure how you can have a classic rock album with Disturbed, AFI and Queens of the Stone Age without have beatles and the such. The other downside would have to be the lack of an extra guitar A definite improvement over its predecessors (at least the 360 version). A more responsive guitar, harder songs and better songs (in my humble opinion at least). A focus on the classic rock. Still not sure how you can have a classic rock album with Disturbed, AFI and Queens of the Stone Age without have beatles and the such. The other downside would have to be the lack of an extra guitar available on release day. Other than that... AMAZING game! Expand
  18. MichaelS.
    Dec 28, 2007
    9
    Don't be confused this isn't anything like a real guitar, a real guitar has too steep of a learning curve to be fun for a pickup game where all ages can play and have some sense of satisfaction from beginning to end....people shouldn't give this a zero because of this but should give it a good rating. Sadness...It improves on a tried and tested platform for a game and thats Don't be confused this isn't anything like a real guitar, a real guitar has too steep of a learning curve to be fun for a pickup game where all ages can play and have some sense of satisfaction from beginning to end....people shouldn't give this a zero because of this but should give it a good rating. Sadness...It improves on a tried and tested platform for a game and thats all we want from it. Expand
  19. Oct 29, 2010
    9
    This is an excellent video game in the Guitar Hero series. I'm pretty much good at Hard and Expert as well as Easy and Medium. I'll always love this game.
  20. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    I have to admit, I have never played GH I and II since they werent made to Wii. But that summer when me and my brother picked up this game after helping our dad so we could get money was awesome. We did stage performances and perfected our playing. My brother reached nearly to the last song of expert and I started my own expert career. Still today lots of fun with friends due to awesome song list.
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. You're in for one hell of a good time. [Oct 2007, p.108]
  2. I got a gang of friends together to test it out and we spent hours unlocking songs and fooling around, but, because some of us are guitar heroes and some are guitar zeroes, having a truly quality time is a tougher than it should be. It's still well worth a look. [Nov 2007, p.63]
  3. For my money, though, thanks to its strong song lineup and wireless rock capabilities--it's the perfect progression for the series. [Dec 2007, p.84]