Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock Wii

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 87
  2. Negative: 8 out of 87
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ZathainS.
    Mar 12, 2008
    6
    Let me begin with a simple sigh. The 3rd Guitar Hero seems to have lost its touch with the charm and mechanics of the first two since activisions take over. For whatever reason, the Wii version feels slightly broken. Compared to the other versions I've played on PS2 and 360, this one seems much more innaccurate. Comparing it to its previous installments, its also much harder, which Let me begin with a simple sigh. The 3rd Guitar Hero seems to have lost its touch with the charm and mechanics of the first two since activisions take over. For whatever reason, the Wii version feels slightly broken. Compared to the other versions I've played on PS2 and 360, this one seems much more innaccurate. Comparing it to its previous installments, its also much harder, which at first is a welcomed guest, but the final duel with Lou and Through Fire and Flames are down right rediculous, and belong in the bonus songs and go the way of Jordan... which was a much better song than atleast the DragonForce one. If thats not enough, they haven't even announced extra guitar's for the wii, so co-op and its extra songs (MAJOR OVERSIGHT on activision's part) are as good as untouchable, even if only one or two are decent. Beyond all this, its still guitar hero. And guitar hero is fun, even if activision has tried its hardest to screw it up. I suggest getting it on another system or waiting for rockband. P.S. While Guitar Hero is definately not an actual instrument, thats no reason to pointlessly flame its players. Most, if not all, understand that the actual instrument is much more impressive when played, no matter how arrogant some of them may be at times. Heck, the game may even inspire some to pick up the instrument, such as myself... even though I'm heading for keyboards and synths now. Expand
  2. AimeeB.
    Jun 21, 2008
    3
    If you like Guitar Hero then I am sure you would like this, however I just cannot understand the hype of this game. I mean if I want to play a computer game, thats what I want it to be. This is not only repetative and dull but your wasting good time as you could go and learn the guitar for real and maybe pick up a useful skill along the way, much more rewarding.
  3. DanJ.
    Dec 19, 2007
    0
    You want to play guitar, get a REAL guitar. These Guitar Hero games are nothing but crap. You will get more satisfaction from playing songs on a real guitar then you would pressing a bunch of buttons. Guitar Hero is pathetic.
  4. SteveC
    Feb 8, 2008
    8
    Good, but too easy to complete on easy and medium levels. The songs don't change with the difficultly levels and many of them aren't that good to start with so there's little motivation to slog through on hard and above. Played it lots for the first couple of weeks, now the les paul just sits in the corner.
  5. Hibtone
    Nov 25, 2007
    3
    Playing this game gives you an appreciation for the consistent art direction and song scoring in Guitar Hero 1 & 2. The list of songs is great, but for some reason they all sound like CRAP compared to songs in the previous games. Why did they change all the graphics just enough to be annoying? Why, when you play a note, is there no audio response at all sometimes? Why is the bass part Playing this game gives you an appreciation for the consistent art direction and song scoring in Guitar Hero 1 & 2. The list of songs is great, but for some reason they all sound like CRAP compared to songs in the previous games. Why did they change all the graphics just enough to be annoying? Why, when you play a note, is there no audio response at all sometimes? Why is the bass part completely inaudible on some songs? The Easy level is boring but Medium is WAY more difficult compared to the previous versions. There's no consistency at all in difficulty from one song to another. There are huge swaths of songs where you get to hold a note interminably, play the same note repeatedly, or alternate between two notes incessantly. In all fairness I've only played two venues so far. I could end up eating my words and loving this game, but I doubt it. And what the hell is up with the neon stripper pole and the go-go dancer?? Sometimes the song selection makes the game fun despite all these negatives. Collaborative career mode is a nice addition. But overall it feels like the game has nowhere near the heart of its predecessors. I'm just hoping Rock Band will succeed where this game fails. Expand
  6. BradleyG.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    For all of you out there who have some sort of technological flaw in the game you felt like exploiting in your reviews like long load times or the inability to finish certain songs I have the answer right here. Sell your crappy PS2 and buy yourself a Wii. I have had absolutely nothing but fun with the game and NO i don't think they did better in the other two games. I bought the game For all of you out there who have some sort of technological flaw in the game you felt like exploiting in your reviews like long load times or the inability to finish certain songs I have the answer right here. Sell your crappy PS2 and buy yourself a Wii. I have had absolutely nothing but fun with the game and NO i don't think they did better in the other two games. I bought the game for the Wii and it works, feels, sounds, and plays better than the previous installments (which has alot to do with the beefed up hammer on and pull off system). I have however had a multitude of problems with my friends PS2 version of the game being is that i can't even finish my favorite song "Cliffs of Dover" because the sound cuts out in the middle. Don't blame Activision for the flaws in your copy, blame Sony's late console. Expand
  7. JackT.
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    Despite its one flaw--not being able to download like the 360/PS3 versions--Guitar Hero III is fast-paced, fun, challenging, and has great online play. A definite must if you're into music games. One more note... to the people saying we should stop "wasting time" and learn a real guitar... that sounds great, we should all just spend hundreds of dollars and years of our life in Despite its one flaw--not being able to download like the 360/PS3 versions--Guitar Hero III is fast-paced, fun, challenging, and has great online play. A definite must if you're into music games. One more note... to the people saying we should stop "wasting time" and learn a real guitar... that sounds great, we should all just spend hundreds of dollars and years of our life in practice... no thanks, I'll enjoy my video game. So anyways... enjoy. Expand
  8. JasenJ.
    Nov 11, 2007
    6
    While the game is great fun. It is seriously flawed due to the issue of the sound not being in stereo or surround. In a game where the focus is on music and sound, this is inexcusable - it'd be like having a first person shooter with great graphics but a flawed aiming system. If you just have a normal TV, you'll probably never notice, but if you have your Wii in a home theater While the game is great fun. It is seriously flawed due to the issue of the sound not being in stereo or surround. In a game where the focus is on music and sound, this is inexcusable - it'd be like having a first person shooter with great graphics but a flawed aiming system. If you just have a normal TV, you'll probably never notice, but if you have your Wii in a home theater setup, you'll likely be frustrated by the sound ALL coming from the center channel. Expand
  9. ZombieW.
    Nov 25, 2007
    9
    Simply amazing! While the controls can often be counter-intuitive and the sound is only in mono, the set-list is great, the guitar is far nicer than the 360's or PS3's, and the replay value is extremely high in my opinion. Not to mention the game is $10 cheaper than other systems. Certainly a must-have!
  10. MarkL.
    Nov 5, 2007
    8
    My hand hurts from playing too much. Great setlist. Little disappointing that there is no downloadable content for Wii.
  11. A.D.O.
    Nov 9, 2007
    2
    I am selling my copy because they screwed up - the sound is in MONO only, and Activision support has been beating around the bush for 10 days with me, and refuse to rectify the problem. This is unacceptable, and I am surprised that none of the reviews above mentioned this issue. Too bad that it's so fun to play, but I can't remember the last time I played a mono game. I think it I am selling my copy because they screwed up - the sound is in MONO only, and Activision support has been beating around the bush for 10 days with me, and refuse to rectify the problem. This is unacceptable, and I am surprised that none of the reviews above mentioned this issue. Too bad that it's so fun to play, but I can't remember the last time I played a mono game. I think it was in the late 80s. Expand
  12. HannahA.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    BEST! BEST BEST! Guitar Hero 3 is the most wonderful game ever! Aside from fun its fun to battle against friends and against Former Guitar Hero record holders as well as horses and animals playing the guitar. Easy to learn buttons and directions (theres not really any) make this the most outstanding game! You can play (as I did) for 8 hours in one period and not be boredwith it. The track BEST! BEST BEST! Guitar Hero 3 is the most wonderful game ever! Aside from fun its fun to battle against friends and against Former Guitar Hero record holders as well as horses and animals playing the guitar. Easy to learn buttons and directions (theres not really any) make this the most outstanding game! You can play (as I did) for 8 hours in one period and not be boredwith it. The track list is one of the best. Paint it Black, Welcome to the Jungle, Schools Out, Baracuda and much more make this the absolutly most bestest game ever! Expand
  13. MikeG.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    Best of all GH games, i wish they'd left out the boss battles (lou on expert is cheap).And Dan, instead of playing ANY video game, go do IT in real life: sports, racing, gutiar, etc. For the rest of us who aren't good at these things, there's video games.
  14. JonS.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    It is amazingly fun. The only problem is that some of the songs are hard and take alot of practice.
  15. RyanO.
    Oct 28, 2007
    9
    An excellent sequel to the highly regarded series. its abit harder but at the same time it gives you a better feel. overal this game is excellent. also online play as ive tried it so far is pretty awesome.
  16. Polecat
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    An excellent music game, and the best on the system. I can't say my opinion should be the alpha and the omega of reviews, as I really can care less if the sound coming out of my 2 speakers is slightly different, it's really a bummer about the lack of DL-able tracks on the system, but I imagine that access to the SD slot is more difficult to institute into games than I can An excellent music game, and the best on the system. I can't say my opinion should be the alpha and the omega of reviews, as I really can care less if the sound coming out of my 2 speakers is slightly different, it's really a bummer about the lack of DL-able tracks on the system, but I imagine that access to the SD slot is more difficult to institute into games than I can account for. Solid title though, and an excellent addition to any music aficionado's collection. Expand
  17. Jonasincognito
    Oct 18, 2008
    9
    A great game. The songs are wonderful, and it offers the great gameplay you know from GH1 and GH2. You'll have to play a looong time before asking yourself about *re*play value, simply because there's a lot to do: beat the game on all difficulty levels; 5-star all songs, gold-star all songs, full-combo all songs; now add precision mode and hyperspeed or performance mode and do A great game. The songs are wonderful, and it offers the great gameplay you know from GH1 and GH2. You'll have to play a looong time before asking yourself about *re*play value, simply because there's a lot to do: beat the game on all difficulty levels; 5-star all songs, gold-star all songs, full-combo all songs; now add precision mode and hyperspeed or performance mode and do it all again. On hard and expert, you will run into wickedly difficult songs that will take you a lot of practice to beat. Play all four difficulties in parallel and you won't run out of ways to progress. The high difficulty also gives you a greater sense of accomplishment, and the easier difficulties will allow most people to succeed. The cut-scene videos try to add an element of narrative to the game. They're cute and fun to watch. You won't feel particularly more attached to your character, but the gameplay is so much fun it doesn't need a story [back in the day, did you bicker about tetris not having a story? No, you played it and you loved it]. A few UI bits are annoying: quitting a song always asks "are you sure? You will lose unsaved progress"; I'm not sure what progress there is to save unless you finish the song. It seems like it could be done away with. Also, to switch between difficulties you have to walk a lot of the menu tree which gets boring after a while. The menus would be faster to operate if you could put one or two fret keys to pick a menu item instead of going down-down-down-down-green. For this reason and this reason alone, I can't give GH3 the 10 it almost deserves. Expand
  18. MysenShearer
    Feb 12, 2008
    10
    Ok first and foremost, if you're a Wii owner and a pure lover of music (preferebly Rock) then BUY THIS GAME! Now, let me explain. Many consoles have survived not being able to enjoy the brilliance of Guitar Hero, but when I managed to get my first taste of it for the Wii, I just could not stop playing. I never owned a PS2 or an Xbox 360 but at least having GH3 on the Wii is a pure joyOk first and foremost, if you're a Wii owner and a pure lover of music (preferebly Rock) then BUY THIS GAME! Now, let me explain. Many consoles have survived not being able to enjoy the brilliance of Guitar Hero, but when I managed to get my first taste of it for the Wii, I just could not stop playing. I never owned a PS2 or an Xbox 360 but at least having GH3 on the Wii is a pure joy to rock lovers and purists who desperately wanted to play Guitar Hero in all its glory. I definately recommend this to just about any game lover, Wii owner and music lover out there. Please get this game, its' time for you to rock out! Expand
  19. MattM.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    Yah, best game ive ever played. Thats why its a ten from me. Also, I thought id agree with Mike just to piss off Dan. Dan, next time you pick up a controller to play madden, why not go play real professional football. Get outta your moms basement and get a life
  20. misterhaan
    Jan 9, 2009
    9
    playing a plastic guitar is a lot of fun for those without the ability to play an actual guitar. as for the song choices most songs are excellent with only one song i didn't care for. playing songs in solo career or multiplayer career earns you some cash which you can use to purchase characters, outfits, guitars, basses, and songs. i personally recommend purchasing the song mauvaisplaying a plastic guitar is a lot of fun for those without the ability to play an actual guitar. as for the song choices most songs are excellent with only one song i didn't care for. playing songs in solo career or multiplayer career earns you some cash which you can use to purchase characters, outfits, guitars, basses, and songs. i personally recommend purchasing the song mauvais garcon -- it's in french and i don't know what it's saying but it sure is fun to say! Expand
  21. FrankiRusso
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    when i first played this on my friends ps2 i fell in love. i played for 5 hours straight until one in the morning and they had to literally drag me away from the game to get me to eat. when my grandfather bought this for me i was so happy, and played for hours at a time. The songs are great, and i loved the battle songs, and my only complaint is no character creation...oh, and the onlinewhen i first played this on my friends ps2 i fell in love. i played for 5 hours straight until one in the morning and they had to literally drag me away from the game to get me to eat. when my grandfather bought this for me i was so happy, and played for hours at a time. The songs are great, and i loved the battle songs, and my only complaint is no character creation...oh, and the online play could have been better, but other than that i absolutely loved it. I totally recomend it. Expand
  22. CouchPotato
    Nov 12, 2007
    7
    Fun game, but lack of true stereo is a big flaw. Instead, you simply have two identical mono channels coming out of each speaker. Lame!
  23. ZapB.
    Nov 13, 2007
    9
    This game is really fun, but a little hard to get into if you have never played GH before. It took me a week to get used to medium difficulty, but it was just a matter of training the brain and building the manual dexterity. The songs are mostly good, with the exception of the cover of White Zombie's Black Sunshine. That one is just bad, and it's a pity that what could have been This game is really fun, but a little hard to get into if you have never played GH before. It took me a week to get used to medium difficulty, but it was just a matter of training the brain and building the manual dexterity. The songs are mostly good, with the exception of the cover of White Zombie's Black Sunshine. That one is just bad, and it's a pity that what could have been such a fun song got emasculated by a crappy cover. Expand
  24. Cooldude
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    Honestly... this the best Guitar Hero of them all, and to add to that it has its exclusive wii features including a rumbler and speaker on the wiimote... Activision has done a good job even better than Harmonix... Despite the Guitar and Songs im giving it a 9 for lack of sterio and surround capabilities but still im saying dont tel that be in the way of getting this game!
  25. Ray
    Dec 29, 2007
    9
    Good game, Solid mechanics. Sometimes expert mode looks unbeatable, however many songs are possible once you discover a technique that works for you. Being a bassist myself I was slightly amused at how the notes correlated with the drum beats most of the time at the higher difficulties. While it is more difficult then Guitar hero 1 or 2, Guitar Hero 3 is overall more challenging and at Good game, Solid mechanics. Sometimes expert mode looks unbeatable, however many songs are possible once you discover a technique that works for you. Being a bassist myself I was slightly amused at how the notes correlated with the drum beats most of the time at the higher difficulties. While it is more difficult then Guitar hero 1 or 2, Guitar Hero 3 is overall more challenging and at the same time a bit more fulfilling when you finally nail that song you thought was impossible. Expand
  26. BrockJ.
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    A definite improvement over its predecessors (at least the 360 version). A more responsive guitar, harder songs and better songs (in my humble opinion at least). A focus on the classic rock. Still not sure how you can have a classic rock album with Disturbed, AFI and Queens of the Stone Age without have beatles and the such. The other downside would have to be the lack of an extra guitar A definite improvement over its predecessors (at least the 360 version). A more responsive guitar, harder songs and better songs (in my humble opinion at least). A focus on the classic rock. Still not sure how you can have a classic rock album with Disturbed, AFI and Queens of the Stone Age without have beatles and the such. The other downside would have to be the lack of an extra guitar available on release day. Other than that... AMAZING game! Expand
  27. danchristenson
    Feb 12, 2008
    0
    This game goes nowhere, its just pressing 5 coloured buttons to get a note to beat a level, and whatever that means. This game provokes on unrealistic fun, it bores you out by a sense of enjoyment, then a falling remenense of dissapointment, due to nothing new or refreshing, or brilliant for that matter.
  28. ChrisW.
    Jun 23, 2008
    5
    Guitar hero is fun.... at first. It got boring very quick and there's no real video game talent involved in this game. It's just a one way game and no point. the Wi-Fi is the only good thing about it.
  29. MichaelS.
    Dec 28, 2007
    9
    Don't be confused this isn't anything like a real guitar, a real guitar has too steep of a learning curve to be fun for a pickup game where all ages can play and have some sense of satisfaction from beginning to end....people shouldn't give this a zero because of this but should give it a good rating. Sadness...It improves on a tried and tested platform for a game and thats Don't be confused this isn't anything like a real guitar, a real guitar has too steep of a learning curve to be fun for a pickup game where all ages can play and have some sense of satisfaction from beginning to end....people shouldn't give this a zero because of this but should give it a good rating. Sadness...It improves on a tried and tested platform for a game and thats all we want from it. Expand
  30. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    For all the losers who have criticized guitar hero because it's not "real guitar", you've got to understand that its a VIDEO GAME. Not everyone has the capabilities to get a guitar and play until they are talented. Guitar hero is just a chance for anyone to pick up the controller and have some fun. Now on to the game. I think that its got a good song list, if a bit on the short side, andFor all the losers who have criticized guitar hero because it's not "real guitar", you've got to understand that its a VIDEO GAME. Not everyone has the capabilities to get a guitar and play until they are talented. Guitar hero is just a chance for anyone to pick up the controller and have some fun. Now on to the game. I think that its got a good song list, if a bit on the short side, and some of the new features are very welcome. However, compared to newer guitar hero games, it seems a bit bare. Still a decent game and worth getting for guitar hero enthusiasts. Expand
  31. Oct 29, 2010
    9
    This is an excellent video game in the Guitar Hero series. I'm pretty much good at Hard and Expert as well as Easy and Medium. I'll always love this game.
  32. Nov 24, 2011
    6
    Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock provides a slew wildly over-charted chords and general inconsistency in its charting of its decent set of songs. The only new feature of consequence is the guitar battle system which is more a luck-based affair than anything else due to the random attacks doled out to players. Still, it remains an entertaining challenge and good practice forGuitar Hero III: Legends of Rock provides a slew wildly over-charted chords and general inconsistency in its charting of its decent set of songs. The only new feature of consequence is the guitar battle system which is more a luck-based affair than anything else due to the random attacks doled out to players. Still, it remains an entertaining challenge and good practice for plastic-guitarists, but others need not apply. Collapse
  33. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    I have to admit, I have never played GH I and II since they werent made to Wii. But that summer when me and my brother picked up this game after helping our dad so we could get money was awesome. We did stage performances and perfected our playing. My brother reached nearly to the last song of expert and I started my own expert career. Still today lots of fun with friends due to awesome song list.
  34. Jul 23, 2014
    4
    I've been playing Guitar Hero for a loooong time, and this one is not very fun, overall. The features and songs are nothing compared to Guitar Hero: World Tour. If you're thinking of getting this, get World Tour instead. You'll be glad you did.
  35. Nov 24, 2011
    0
    Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock provides a slew wildly over-charted chords and general inconsistency in its charting of its decent set of songs. The only new feature of consequence is the guitar battle system which is more a luck-based affair than anything else due to the random attacks doled out to players. Still, it remains an entertaining challenge and good practice forGuitar Hero III: Legends of Rock provides a slew wildly over-charted chords and general inconsistency in its charting of its decent set of songs. The only new feature of consequence is the guitar battle system which is more a luck-based affair than anything else due to the random attacks doled out to players. Still, it remains an entertaining challenge and good practice for plastic-guitarists, but others need not apply. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#18 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Game Informer
    88
    You're in for one hell of a good time. [Oct 2007, p.108]
  2. Hardcore Gamer
    75
    I got a gang of friends together to test it out and we spent hours unlocking songs and fooling around, but, because some of us are guitar heroes and some are guitar zeroes, having a truly quality time is a tougher than it should be. It's still well worth a look. [Nov 2007, p.63]
  3. Nintendo Power
    90
    For my money, though, thanks to its strong song lineup and wireless rock capabilities--it's the perfect progression for the series. [Dec 2007, p.84]