Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock Wii

Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Fire up the fretboard, crank up the amp and get ready to rock like never before. Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock drops you into the spotlight of the largest and most legendary rock concert ever. The star-studded soundtrack includes master tracks by such legendary artists as Guns N’ Roses,Fire up the fretboard, crank up the amp and get ready to rock like never before. Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock drops you into the spotlight of the largest and most legendary rock concert ever. The star-studded soundtrack includes master tracks by such legendary artists as Guns N’ Roses, The Rolling Stones, Beastie Boys, Muse and Pearl Jam, with added songs as made legendary by Kiss, Alice Cooper and Heart. Now drop that air guitar, tune your exclusive new Les Paul Guitar Controller and shred the night away with Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock. [Activision] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. The learning curve will be steep for some, but give it a chance. The satisfaction level is even higher, and that's always the best reward a video game can give.
  2. Nintendo Gamer
    91
    An incomparable gaming experience, well worth the expense. And Wi-Fi (co-op and competitive) means no need to splash out on a second guitar. Deserves to be a rocking hit. [Christmas 2007, p.40]
  3. 90
    If you’re looking for the best version of the guitar peripheral, then the Wii version wins out. Not only does it have a more weighty feel to it, but it also rumbles when you kick into star power--pretty cool.
  4. 86
    Online is a huge plus, especially on Wii, as not many games have excelled outside of local multiplayer play, and the massive amount of options, modes, and customization holds up to previous versions of the game, and should definitely impress any first-time Guitar Hero players on Nintendo’s console. What you won’t get, however, is downloadable content, which is a huge shame.
  5. Co-op and competitive multiplayer modes ensure you’ll want to pick up a second guitar controller.
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    81
    The same highly addictive and fun game as on other platforms, but the Wii-only features in the guitar are just mostly irritating. The only new thing that works is the vibration that handily announces the availability of star power. On the other hand, the sound from the controller makes you want to smash the whole thing in true Nirvana style. The visuals are ok on old television, but on never HDTV sets the picture quality so bad that the game becomes almost unplayable at times. Also the sound is only mono, which is a really strange thing for a music game. Worst version of a great game. [Jan 2008]
  7. 75
    Guitar Hero 3 for the Wii rocks. While the Xbox 360 and PS3 versions are easier on the eyes as well as the ears, the Wii version is home to the best guitar controller of the lot, features an engaging online mode, and plays just as nice.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 35
  2. Negative: 6 out of 35
  1. JonS.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    It is amazingly fun. The only problem is that some of the songs are hard and take alot of practice.
  2. Polecat
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    An excellent music game, and the best on the system. I can't say my opinion should be the alpha and the omega of reviews, as I really An excellent music game, and the best on the system. I can't say my opinion should be the alpha and the omega of reviews, as I really can care less if the sound coming out of my 2 speakers is slightly different, it's really a bummer about the lack of DL-able tracks on the system, but I imagine that access to the SD slot is more difficult to institute into games than I can account for. Solid title though, and an excellent addition to any music aficionado's collection. Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    I have to admit, I have never played GH I and II since they werent made to Wii. But that summer when me and my brother picked up this gameI have to admit, I have never played GH I and II since they werent made to Wii. But that summer when me and my brother picked up this game after helping our dad so we could get money was awesome. We did stage performances and perfected our playing. My brother reached nearly to the last song of expert and I started my own expert career. Still today lots of fun with friends due to awesome song list. Expand
  4. ZapB.
    Nov 13, 2007
    9
    This game is really fun, but a little hard to get into if you have never played GH before. It took me a week to get used to medium This game is really fun, but a little hard to get into if you have never played GH before. It took me a week to get used to medium difficulty, but it was just a matter of training the brain and building the manual dexterity. The songs are mostly good, with the exception of the cover of White Zombie's Black Sunshine. That one is just bad, and it's a pity that what could have been such a fun song got emasculated by a crappy cover. Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    For all the losers who have criticized guitar hero because it's not "real guitar", you've got to understand that its a VIDEO GAME. NotFor all the losers who have criticized guitar hero because it's not "real guitar", you've got to understand that its a VIDEO GAME. Not everyone has the capabilities to get a guitar and play until they are talented. Guitar hero is just a chance for anyone to pick up the controller and have some fun. Now on to the game. I think that its got a good song list, if a bit on the short side, and some of the new features are very welcome. However, compared to newer guitar hero games, it seems a bit bare. Still a decent game and worth getting for guitar hero enthusiasts. Expand
  6. ZathainS.
    Mar 12, 2008
    6
    Let me begin with a simple sigh. The 3rd Guitar Hero seems to have lost its touch with the charm and mechanics of the first two since Let me begin with a simple sigh. The 3rd Guitar Hero seems to have lost its touch with the charm and mechanics of the first two since activisions take over. For whatever reason, the Wii version feels slightly broken. Compared to the other versions I've played on PS2 and 360, this one seems much more innaccurate. Comparing it to its previous installments, its also much harder, which at first is a welcomed guest, but the final duel with Lou and Through Fire and Flames are down right rediculous, and belong in the bonus songs and go the way of Jordan... which was a much better song than atleast the DragonForce one. If thats not enough, they haven't even announced extra guitar's for the wii, so co-op and its extra songs (MAJOR OVERSIGHT on activision's part) are as good as untouchable, even if only one or two are decent. Beyond all this, its still guitar hero. And guitar hero is fun, even if activision has tried its hardest to screw it up. I suggest getting it on another system or waiting for rockband. P.S. While Guitar Hero is definately not an actual instrument, thats no reason to pointlessly flame its players. Most, if not all, understand that the actual instrument is much more impressive when played, no matter how arrogant some of them may be at times. Heck, the game may even inspire some to pick up the instrument, such as myself... even though I'm heading for keyboards and synths now. Expand
  7. DanJ.
    Dec 19, 2007
    0
    You want to play guitar, get a REAL guitar. These Guitar Hero games are nothing but crap. You will get more satisfaction from playing songs You want to play guitar, get a REAL guitar. These Guitar Hero games are nothing but crap. You will get more satisfaction from playing songs on a real guitar then you would pressing a bunch of buttons. Guitar Hero is pathetic. Collapse

See all 35 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

5
18
#18 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
24
#24 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007