Guitar Hero World Tour Wii

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 70
  2. Negative: 11 out of 70
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    9
    Okay, so GUITAR HERO: WORLD TOUR--the fourth entry in the GUITAR HERO series and the second entry for the Wii, which is the platform it is definitely most easy to use on--is quite obviously a copy off of the similar ROCK BAND, which was released nine months before. I mean, come on now, if you don't believe me. The title is GUITAR HERO, not BAND HERO (though they did, in their defense,Okay, so GUITAR HERO: WORLD TOUR--the fourth entry in the GUITAR HERO series and the second entry for the Wii, which is the platform it is definitely most easy to use on--is quite obviously a copy off of the similar ROCK BAND, which was released nine months before. I mean, come on now, if you don't believe me. The title is GUITAR HERO, not BAND HERO (though they did, in their defense, release a crappier spin-off of the series called BAND HERO), so adding drums and a microphone in with the lead guitar and the bass guitar demolishes the title. But if you've played the game, isn't it fun? GUITAR HERO: WORLD TOUR has a total of 86 songs, plus 250+ downloadable songs, PLUS you can create your own songs in the Music Studio. It pretty much endless. Collapse
  2. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    Guitar Hero World Tour was the second Guitar Hero I played (After Guitar Hero 3) and is a game, for me, which has songs that are fun to play and has a long playability.
    Bravo Activision, bravo on a great game which is fun for all fans of the series and new alike.
  3. Ewan
    Aug 18, 2009
    1
    No. Just, no. This absolutely sucks. Let me start with the controllers. The Guitar is OK, but the whammy bar is too big and gets in the way at times. The drums are abysmal. you have to abolutely whack them to get any response, and the symbols are simply broken. The mic isnt much better. It only picks up the pitch, so you can sing whatever the hell you want but only hum the tune. The songNo. Just, no. This absolutely sucks. Let me start with the controllers. The Guitar is OK, but the whammy bar is too big and gets in the way at times. The drums are abysmal. you have to abolutely whack them to get any response, and the symbols are simply broken. The mic isnt much better. It only picks up the pitch, so you can sing whatever the hell you want but only hum the tune. The song selection is terrible. Ramblin Man? On the Road Again? BON JOVI?!?!? Ughhh, these songs alone put me at a despair, and make me think what they were thinking when they put them in. The guitar also feels a lot looaser than GH3's when comes to the notes. The Rock Star Creator is OK, but it simply wasnt varied enough. In three words: Don't, buy, this. Buy Guitar Hero 3 instead. Expand
  4. FrankiRusso
    Aug 15, 2009
    8
    OK, so long story short, the drums sucked, i had to literally bang on the drums set. Also, the song list dissapointed me, but they grew on me after a while.
    but, i like that you can create songs and characters, theres downloadabve content, the online play is terrific in my opinion, and i have fun with the mii freestyle option. i think the singing is fun and the mic works fine, also the
    OK, so long story short, the drums sucked, i had to literally bang on the drums set. Also, the song list dissapointed me, but they grew on me after a while.
    but, i like that you can create songs and characters, theres downloadabve content, the online play is terrific in my opinion, and i have fun with the mii freestyle option. i think the singing is fun and the mic works fine, also the guitar is good to, but its ssensitive and sometimes makes the screeching noise it does when you miss a note even when you dont, so i use the GH3 controler.
    I am still debating on wether to sell Guitar Hero world tour and buy Rock Band 2, but ill probably end up keeping GHWT and buying RB2.
    Overall, i would recomend getting the game and guitar, and just forget about the whole band set.
    Expand
  5. TonyaT.
    Mar 25, 2009
    2
    I have had nothing but problems with the drum set (cymbals not working). We have sent the main drum pad into the warranty claim twice to be fixed. Both times, after being returned from Activision, the cymbals quit working within less than a minute of play. I then contacted the support to get a refund on the whole product and was told I had to return it to the store where I purchased the I have had nothing but problems with the drum set (cymbals not working). We have sent the main drum pad into the warranty claim twice to be fixed. Both times, after being returned from Activision, the cymbals quit working within less than a minute of play. I then contacted the support to get a refund on the whole product and was told I had to return it to the store where I purchased the item. However, the return policy is 90 days and since I have wasted that time sending it to be fixed, they no longer will refund the item. I am now in the process of being rerouted for the third time to a supervisor, whom I have to contact via e-mail. The product and the customer service are disappointments. Expand
  6. Jumper
    Feb 24, 2009
    6
    We enjoyed playing Guitar Hero World Tour for the most part. We liked the drums better than Rock Band, and liked that there was a better selection of songs without the need to buy expansion packs, though that is also its weakness as well. But, the main problem we had with Guitar Hero World Tour is, when singing, we all had a hard time reading the words. Has anyone else had a hard time We enjoyed playing Guitar Hero World Tour for the most part. We liked the drums better than Rock Band, and liked that there was a better selection of songs without the need to buy expansion packs, though that is also its weakness as well. But, the main problem we had with Guitar Hero World Tour is, when singing, we all had a hard time reading the words. Has anyone else had a hard time with this? We've played a few times now, on several different fairly large tv screens, and we can never read the words as well as we'd like. About 6 or 7 of us have played both games many times, and we all agree that the singing part on Rock Band is easier to use and more fun than on Guitar Hero WT. Expand
  7. PeterG.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    Favorite Game Ever! I enjoy the entire game except the downloadible stuff is kinda weak. The inclusion of one drummer is OK cause its Travis Barker. But One Drummer? Come on! I really liked that Sting was included.
  8. SimoneA
    Jan 5, 2009
    10
    A fantastic game that mathces a lot of customization and a lot of improvements from GH3, like the slider on the guitar and the battery and the microphone. Also appreciated open notes for bass and a good tracklist. The idea of the studio is really good and can be definetly powered to a superior level of customization. So,better than Rock Band 2 ! XD
  9. KenS
    Dec 28, 2008
    8
    Greater than GT3 by far! The song selection is fantastic and the game is fun no matter how many players or instruments you have. The only downside to this game is the Wii with it's lack of internal storage and maximum readable SD card at 2GB.
  10. AlexH.
    Dec 28, 2008
    7
    I believe that though this isn't the best Guitar Hero game ever, it was still very good. Most of the songs, though, wern't very fun to play and the trailers of the game made the custom songs seem more interesting than they actually were. I found the Wii Freestyle Mode to be enjoyable but with a few minor let downs, this game is still good.
  11. billn.
    Dec 26, 2008
    5
    If each controller didn't need another controller it would be nice system. The instruments shouldn't need additional Wiimotes to operate other controllers. This is the dumbest thing I ever saw. Think about it Lets buy a controller that needs another controller !!!!!!! Great jog on scewing us for more dough.
  12. KinokoK.
    Dec 23, 2008
    6
    I think I only gave it a 6 because of the songs. The game took about 45 min for us to set up, and we gave up on connecting the microphone. And as I changed from begginer to easy on the drums, I was surprised to find that I would be using all of the colours. And I don't see how you can add drums and a mic and still call it Guitar Hero.
  13. ChrisC.
    Dec 16, 2008
    10
    Definitely the best Guitar Hero game on the market, nay, the best rhythm based game on the market. Truly worth buying if you can afford it, lasts for hours on end, and a great party game, provided you have enough remotes and friends.
  14. MattD
    Oct 29, 2008
    4
    Whilst probably the best music-based offering on the Wii, it still feels quite superfluous in comparison to the Rock Band counterparts on the 360 or PS3. The higher level of difficulty is appreciated, but the song choices, the disappointing level of 'customization', the awkward drum fills and new method of deploying Star Power with both cymbals, and the music creator program Whilst probably the best music-based offering on the Wii, it still feels quite superfluous in comparison to the Rock Band counterparts on the 360 or PS3. The higher level of difficulty is appreciated, but the song choices, the disappointing level of 'customization', the awkward drum fills and new method of deploying Star Power with both cymbals, and the music creator program feeling clunky and of MIDI quality put me down. Call me spoiled with RockBand, but the promises made for the Wii version seemed to let me down. Plus, after playing Evermore on Expert on the third day, my Hi Hat cymbal (yellow) failed to work. At all. I'm a real drummer, and the 'quality' of these pads is appalling. I don't kill my drums when I hit them, I know my control. Expand
  15. JackT.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    This is based on the Guitar Kit package. It's an incredible leap beyond its Wii predecessors. The new guitar is more full-bodied than the Les Paul. The addition of a dedicated star power button, along with a sensor bar that can allow you to mimic 'tapping', makes for the one guitar controller we've been asking for. Now, onto the software. There's over 80 tracks on This is based on the Guitar Kit package. It's an incredible leap beyond its Wii predecessors. The new guitar is more full-bodied than the Les Paul. The addition of a dedicated star power button, along with a sensor bar that can allow you to mimic 'tapping', makes for the one guitar controller we've been asking for. Now, onto the software. There's over 80 tracks on the disc, all consisting of the original master tracks, rather than bland covers. Now you can download to your heart's content with the Wii, with each premium song costing an average of 200 points, with some free ones scattered about. The addition of a new Mii Freestyle is very nice. Exclusive to the Wii, jam out with the guitar or drums, or use your Wii Remote and Nunchuck to imitate drumming in a seamless freestyle improvisation. At the time of writing this, I did not fully examine the music studio, but when I took a quick spin through, I noticed the creation tools were extremely elaborate and precise. Different fret button combinations make for different chords and keys, so upon figuring out what keys are which you can make just about any composition of your liking. Then, upload up to 5 of your original tunes to GHTunes for others to try out. In summary, Guitar Hero World Tour is a feast of a video game. Newcomers and veterans alike will enjoy the many options and choices offered to them. You'll get all your rock on for your buck. Expand
  16. Aug 2, 2011
    0
    Okay, so GUITAR HERO: WORLD TOUR--the fourth entry in the GUITAR HERO series and the second entry for the Wii, which is the platform it is definitely most easy to use on--is quite obviously a copy off of the similar ROCK BAND, which was released nine months before. I mean, come on now, if you don't believe me. The title is GUITAR HERO, not BAND HERO (though they did, in their defense,Okay, so GUITAR HERO: WORLD TOUR--the fourth entry in the GUITAR HERO series and the second entry for the Wii, which is the platform it is definitely most easy to use on--is quite obviously a copy off of the similar ROCK BAND, which was released nine months before. I mean, come on now, if you don't believe me. The title is GUITAR HERO, not BAND HERO (though they did, in their defense, release a crappier spin-off of the series called BAND HERO), so adding drums and a microphone in with the lead guitar and the bass guitar demolishes the title. But if you've played the game, isn't it fun? GUITAR HERO: WORLD TOUR has a total of 86 songs, plus 250+ downloadable songs, PLUS you can create your own songs in the Music Studio. It pretty much endless. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#22 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008
#37 Most Shared Wii Game of 2008
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 88
    On 360 and PS3, Guitar Hero just doesn't hang in there with "Rock Band 2" like we thought it would, but when it comes to the Wii battlefield, Activision's offering is not only the strongest music game on the system, but also the biggest technical achievement we've seen on Nintendo's system software-wise since launch.
  2. People who love music video games won't get tired of this one. Not only does it include standard modes of play, but there's also co-op, face-off, battles, several online modes, and a very compelling music studio that allows you to create and share songs with the world.
  3. The concept is a very good one and the instruments are terrific, but might be problematic for families that want to play all four parts but only have one or two Wii-motes. The issue with the font used on a standard television is also a problem.