Guitar Hero World Tour Wii

Guitar Hero World Tour Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Guitar Hero World Tour marries Guitar Hero's guitar gameplay, with a cooperative band experience that combines the most advanced wireless instruments with revolutionary new online and offline gameplay modes. The game features a slick newly redesigned guitar, a genuine electronic drum kit andGuitar Hero World Tour marries Guitar Hero's guitar gameplay, with a cooperative band experience that combines the most advanced wireless instruments with revolutionary new online and offline gameplay modes. The game features a slick newly redesigned guitar, a genuine electronic drum kit and a microphone, as well as an innovative Music Studio music creator that lets players compose, record, edit and share their own rock and roll anthems, along with online Band Career and 8-player "Battle of the Bands." Guitar Hero World Tour is comprised entirely of master recordings from some of the greatest classic and modern rock bands of all-time including Ozzy Osbourne, Van Halen, Linkin Park, The Eagles, Sublime and many more. Additionally, the game offers significantly more localized downloadable music than ever before on all of the next-generation consoles. Budding rock stars are also given creative license to fully customize everything from their characters’ appearance and instruments to their band’s logo and album covers. Featuring three drum pads, two raised cymbals and a bass kick pedal, the drum controller combines larger and quieter, velocity-sensitive drum heads with soft rubber construction to deliver authentic bounce back and is easy to set up, move, break down and store. Virtual musicians can live out their rock and roll fantasies by playing either a single instrument, or any combination of instruments, in addition to the full band experience. Guitar Hero World Tour introduces Battle of the Bands mode which allows eight players to join online and challenge each other band-to-band to determine who is the best of the best. In the Band modes, up to four players can jam together, online or off, as they progress through the game, and in single-player Career Mode, players can jam on any of the instruments in branching venue progression enabling them to rock out in the order of their choice. The game's Music Studio lets players express their musical creativity by giving them access to a full compliment of tools to create digital music from scratch, utilizing all of the instruments, and then play their compositions in the game. Music creators can share their recordings with their friends online through GHTunes where other gamers can download their unique compositions and play them. [Activision] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Providing you can afford the full kit, this is the ultimate rhythm action title. If you can't, it's merely 'brilliant.'
  2. This is officially a must-have product.
  3. People who love music video games won't get tired of this one. Not only does it include standard modes of play, but there's also co-op, face-off, battles, several online modes, and a very compelling music studio that allows you to create and share songs with the world.
  4. Nintendo Gamer
    83
    If only the MIDI tech were better, and the song list tighter, this would be utterly essential. [Jan 2009, p.52]
  5. The gameplay is satisfying, the Music Studio and Mii Freestyle mode are wondrous addition, the song list is sweet and the presentation isn't bad.
  6. While the new instruments are wonderfully crafted, the actual gameplay can be too in-depth for its own good.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. PeterG.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    Favorite Game Ever! I enjoy the entire game except the downloadible stuff is kinda weak. The inclusion of one drummer is OK cause its Travis Favorite Game Ever! I enjoy the entire game except the downloadible stuff is kinda weak. The inclusion of one drummer is OK cause its Travis Barker. But One Drummer? Come on! I really liked that Sting was included. Expand
  2. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    Guitar Hero World Tour was the second Guitar Hero I played (After Guitar Hero 3) and is a game, for me, which has songs that are fun to playGuitar Hero World Tour was the second Guitar Hero I played (After Guitar Hero 3) and is a game, for me, which has songs that are fun to play and has a long playability.
    Bravo Activision, bravo on a great game which is fun for all fans of the series and new alike.
    Expand
  3. JackT.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    This is based on the Guitar Kit package. It's an incredible leap beyond its Wii predecessors. The new guitar is more full-bodied than This is based on the Guitar Kit package. It's an incredible leap beyond its Wii predecessors. The new guitar is more full-bodied than the Les Paul. The addition of a dedicated star power button, along with a sensor bar that can allow you to mimic 'tapping', makes for the one guitar controller we've been asking for. Now, onto the software. There's over 80 tracks on the disc, all consisting of the original master tracks, rather than bland covers. Now you can download to your heart's content with the Wii, with each premium song costing an average of 200 points, with some free ones scattered about. The addition of a new Mii Freestyle is very nice. Exclusive to the Wii, jam out with the guitar or drums, or use your Wii Remote and Nunchuck to imitate drumming in a seamless freestyle improvisation. At the time of writing this, I did not fully examine the music studio, but when I took a quick spin through, I noticed the creation tools were extremely elaborate and precise. Different fret button combinations make for different chords and keys, so upon figuring out what keys are which you can make just about any composition of your liking. Then, upload up to 5 of your original tunes to GHTunes for others to try out. In summary, Guitar Hero World Tour is a feast of a video game. Newcomers and veterans alike will enjoy the many options and choices offered to them. You'll get all your rock on for your buck. Expand
  4. FrankiRusso
    Aug 15, 2009
    8
    OK, so long story short, the drums sucked, i had to literally bang on the drums set. Also, the song list dissapointed me, but they grew on meOK, so long story short, the drums sucked, i had to literally bang on the drums set. Also, the song list dissapointed me, but they grew on me after a while.
    but, i like that you can create songs and characters, theres downloadabve content, the online play is terrific in my opinion, and i have fun with the mii freestyle option. i think the singing is fun and the mic works fine, also the guitar is good to, but its ssensitive and sometimes makes the screeching noise it does when you miss a note even when you dont, so i use the GH3 controler.
    I am still debating on wether to sell Guitar Hero world tour and buy Rock Band 2, but ill probably end up keeping GHWT and buying RB2.
    Overall, i would recomend getting the game and guitar, and just forget about the whole band set.
    Expand
  5. AlexH.
    Dec 28, 2008
    7
    I believe that though this isn't the best Guitar Hero game ever, it was still very good. Most of the songs, though, wern't very fun I believe that though this isn't the best Guitar Hero game ever, it was still very good. Most of the songs, though, wern't very fun to play and the trailers of the game made the custom songs seem more interesting than they actually were. I found the Wii Freestyle Mode to be enjoyable but with a few minor let downs, this game is still good. Expand
  6. KinokoK.
    Dec 23, 2008
    6
    I think I only gave it a 6 because of the songs. The game took about 45 min for us to set up, and we gave up on connecting the microphone. I think I only gave it a 6 because of the songs. The game took about 45 min for us to set up, and we gave up on connecting the microphone. And as I changed from begginer to easy on the drums, I was surprised to find that I would be using all of the colours. And I don't see how you can add drums and a mic and still call it Guitar Hero. Expand
  7. Ewan
    Aug 18, 2009
    1
    No. Just, no. This absolutely sucks. Let me start with the controllers. The Guitar is OK, but the whammy bar is too big and gets in the way atNo. Just, no. This absolutely sucks. Let me start with the controllers. The Guitar is OK, but the whammy bar is too big and gets in the way at times. The drums are abysmal. you have to abolutely whack them to get any response, and the symbols are simply broken. The mic isnt much better. It only picks up the pitch, so you can sing whatever the hell you want but only hum the tune. The song selection is terrible. Ramblin Man? On the Road Again? BON JOVI?!?!? Ughhh, these songs alone put me at a despair, and make me think what they were thinking when they put them in. The guitar also feels a lot looaser than GH3's when comes to the notes. The Rock Star Creator is OK, but it simply wasnt varied enough. In three words: Don't, buy, this. Buy Guitar Hero 3 instead. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

6
22
#22 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008
36
#36 Most Shared Wii Game of 2008