Metascore
41

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Harry Potter takes a dark turn in this third-person shooter as he battles death eaters and dementors while fleeing for his life across the wilds of England.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 5 out of 8
  1. Nov 28, 2010
    63
    The "movie-2-game-adaptations suck"-cliché strikes again. Frustrating for Potter-fans – confusing for those new to the franchise. You might want to skip this one, but there's still part two coming up – better luck next time.
  2. As movie tie-ins go this is a decent effort - but you'd need to have downed your body weight in butter-beer to claim that it didn't need a little more care, attention and (perhaps) experience in its creation.
  3. Nov 30, 2010
    50
    This game feels like a preliminary build rather than a finished game, and it's unenjoyable as a result.
  4. Dec 10, 2010
    30
    With seven months until the release of Part 2, we can only hope that EA learn from their mistakes here and step things up for Harry's grand finale.
  5. Feb 6, 2011
    30
    This is such a technical and conceptual mess that EA wouldn't send us a copy - we had to go out and buy it. [Christmas 2010, p.53]
  6. Nov 19, 2010
    20
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Nov 23, 2010
    20
    If you're an moldu who's super-fan, be sure that I understand you, but don't be fooled. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 is clearly underwhelming, and doesn't compare in any way to any other TPS in terms of quality. Imprecise, slow, poorly designed, we can't even recommend this Harry Potter game to the most tolerant fans.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 5 out of 7
  1. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    Get a pass for this one. If you haven't been following the franchise, or didn't read the books, you will be lost. It looks like a low budgetGet a pass for this one. If you haven't been following the franchise, or didn't read the books, you will be lost. It looks like a low budget attempt. The characters spend most of their time in the out-of-doors with no scenery required.
    It seems long, well, at 2 1/2 hours, it is. It seemed long in one hour. Half the time, the viewer is wondering what is going on. The other half, why is added. Billed as Part 1 suggests that Part 2 is already in the can. If it is, unless all of the money is invested in â
    Expand
  2. Jan 2, 2011
    8
    This game is kinda confusing. It Made me sick because i was spinning around the whole time. If your REALLY motion sick DO NOT BUY THIS.
  3. Sep 19, 2011
    3
    This is just a terrible game. The graphics look promising and fun but the controls are just plain stupid. It's the B button to do a spell, theThis is just a terrible game. The graphics look promising and fun but the controls are just plain stupid. It's the B button to do a spell, the Z button to do a spell. Every button does a different thing. AUGH! so, frustrating!!! Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2011
    2
    As a fan of the franchise, I really tried hard to like this. It had some nifty new ideas and it worked in a lot of the lore and mythos.
    But it
    As a fan of the franchise, I really tried hard to like this. It had some nifty new ideas and it worked in a lot of the lore and mythos.
    But it failed miserably, both as a game and as an installment in the HP franchise.
    A terrible control scheme, game mechanics and for some reason Hermione is voiced by a woman who would sound more at home telling me iv dialed an incorrect number and to please hang up and try again.
    The character animations are laughably bad. 90% of the characters seem more interested in the space 4-5 inches above Harrys head when conversing with him and at several points, the characters mouth would merge into a giant row of teeth.

    I tried, I honestly did, but if i have to hear that awful voice actor cry out 'THEY'RE AFTER US" or "STUPEFY" one more time, I'll bloody go crucio myself to feel less pain
    Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2012
    2
    This game is even more stupid then the movie. All the action was dull and stupid, and every feature of the game was frustrating and idiotic.This game is even more stupid then the movie. All the action was dull and stupid, and every feature of the game was frustrating and idiotic. And the graphics weren't that good either. Even if you love Harry Potter (like my brother and sister) you will hate this game. This game is not nearly worth the cost, its not even worth the cost of the rental fee for a day or two. If you want a Harry Potter game that is still stupid, but not as stupid, i would go with Lego Harry Potter. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2011
    2
    This the first Harry Potter third person shooter, I could go on on about the shoddy controls and the samey game play, so I will: BadThis the first Harry Potter third person shooter, I could go on on about the shoddy controls and the samey game play, so I will: Bad Things...
    1. The controls just aren't very good, yes pointing the wiimote as the wand was an , admittedly scarce, good idea but pressing the + button whenever you want to change spells is just annoying. 2. The Spells themselves are weird. All of them are wrong. Expelliarmas doesn't disarm you opponent, in fact it does nothing. Impedimenta does not slow down your enemies. And just rub salt into the wound they give the hovering spell but there's just a teeny flaw-it does NOTHING! 3. The stealth levels, under the invisibility cloak are irritating. They switch to a first person view which means, for example, you have no ideas whether your going to get through a gap or past a certain person. 4. The voice acting here is dire. Voldemort sounds like a posh person on helium, Harry sounds like...well not Harry. Ron is the only person in fact, who sounds faintly like himself. or looks like himself which brings me onto my next problem.
    5. The graphics. When the first few games for the Wii came out they weren't good but they weren't awful either but we didn't expect much considering it was a brand new console. Now considering we're five years into it's life span there's no excuses for such crap graphics. 6. The Camera is hateful. Pointing at the edge of the screen is too slow. Surely just holding down the z button and moving the control stick would have worked better but no...
    Good Things...
    1. It can, on occasion be fun, shooting bad wizards does lift your self-esteem let me tell you. sometimes.
    And that's it. That's the end of review. You can make your own decisions on whether or not to get this game but, for the love of god, don't.
    Expand
  7. Nov 27, 2013
    1
    A game so repetitive, so broken, and so poorly executed that it deserves only the lowest possible recommendation. This game should not beA game so repetitive, so broken, and so poorly executed that it deserves only the lowest possible recommendation. This game should not be played. Rather, it should serve as a reminder of how not to turn a movie into a game, and how studios attempt to make a quick profit by copying and pasting a popular character onto a shooter that is neither fun nor satisfying. Pure and utter garbage. Collapse