Heatseeker Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Coming to the US market on May 1) Designed to be an incredible lock-on/shake-off experience, Heatseeker reinvents missile combat to give gamers a massive rush of destruction. Featuring collection of current and near-future military fighter jets, Heatseeker's arsenal includes the stealthy(Coming to the US market on May 1) Designed to be an incredible lock-on/shake-off experience, Heatseeker reinvents missile combat to give gamers a massive rush of destruction. Featuring collection of current and near-future military fighter jets, Heatseeker's arsenal includes the stealthy F-22 Raptor, the classic F-15 Eagle, the cutting-edge F35 Lightening II, and the aerodynamically advanced Russian SU-47 Berkut. Heatseeker straps players into the pilot's seat and deliver a white-knuckle ride that'll have them clutching the joypad as they engage in face-melting 6G turns and fight against a seemingly-impossible amount of airborne enemies. And when gamers launch a strike, they follow their missiles as they ruthlessly hone in on their targets via the Impact Cam. Delivering cinematic 3rd-person camera cutaway scenes, the Impact Cam reveals the results of attacks in all their devastating glory from all kinds of dynamic angles, complete with jaw-dropping explosions and smoke trails. With missions across the U.S., down to the Caribbean, across Antarctica and into the Far East, it's high-velocity combat all the way that'll see players constantly switching from predator to prey as an enemy missiles lock on. [Codemasters] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Exactly the sort of game that should ensure the Wii continues to thrive. It's easy to get used to, has a perfect difficulty curve and is pure fun throughout. An explosive success. [Apr 2007, p.64]
  2. Gripes aside, this game can be balls-out fun when it wants to. Tearing through the sky at Mach 3 to sink a battleship and a couple of subs, then doing a 180 to shoot down a sky full of bogeys gets the heart going every time.
  3. Heatseeker is one of the more substantial playing experiences currently available on the Wii, and perhaps the first multi-platform release that feels superior rather than compromised. [May 2007, p.120]
  4. 60
    Combining last-generation visuals with next-generation control is never going to result in a satisfactory outcome.
  5. 55
    The majority of the game is a low-res, basic flight experience with very little to justify its "next generation" title. You’ll have just as much fun playing "Afterburner" for SEGA Genesis when it releases on VC, or reliving the “all range mode” battles in "Star Fox 64."
  6. Combine this ruthless beating with the ugly stick with the essential lack of variety inherent in these arcade air combat games and you have a title only really worth considering once it's in the bargain bins.
  7. 40
    Heatseeker manages to nail the whole "pointing the Wii Remote at the screen" thing, rather than introducing flight-combat gameplay, and as such fails to grasp the idea that you're in a damn fighter jet.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. RobertH.
    Apr 14, 2007
    9
    I like the diverse missions and weapons. Much thought is needed sometimes to choose the optimum weapons kit and plane factoring in types of I like the diverse missions and weapons. Much thought is needed sometimes to choose the optimum weapons kit and plane factoring in types of enemies and playing style. Some reviews say the scenery looks horrible but I think the terrain looks awesome as you race over it and the buildings are mostly good. The cinematic "Impact Cam" is pretty cool and is not overused (but I wouldn't want it more) It does a good job of immersing you in the world and contrary to some reviews I find the ship attacks fun. There is nothing like racing over a SAM installation or bunker and destroying it in one hit with a guided bomb. I find the controls good (use the professional controls) but would like to see a bit more axis/button customization. The planes are really well detailed and have diverse flight characteristics. Their are many planes to choose from and it is very rewarding to unlock the extra planes and weapons kits. The bonus objectives for unlocking are well labeled and make the game more interesting. I was surprised that replaying a level was actually quite fun! The story is developed though briefings news reports and (to a lesser extent) cut scenes. I only wish that the story and characters were developed more. As the second game I brought for my Wii I recommend it to anyone who likes planes or ridiculous amounts of action. I like the controls but sometimes I wish the planes (reproduced and licensed by Boeing and Lockheed Martin) were a bit more responsive, but thats only because flight characteristic trade offs (like speed, stealth or defense). Game Play:9 Story:7 Graphics:9 Action:9 (it hardly ever stops) Controls:9.5 Sound:7 (music is repetitive) Final:9 Collapse
  2. SteveM.
    Mar 31, 2007
    8
    This game is really good. Lots of controller options to suit all people, unlockable content, great graphics, it's Top Gun the movie This game is really good. Lots of controller options to suit all people, unlockable content, great graphics, it's Top Gun the movie meets that old classic Afterburner. The missions can be repetitive, and the story a little cheesy, but for me, the lack of co-op or multiplayer was a blow! Even so, id say this is an excellent buy! Expand
  3. RR.
    Apr 30, 2007
    8
    Pretty good game, good adrenaline rush and the controls are bloody immersive. Well done Codemasters!
  4. HerbertG.
    Jun 14, 2007
    8
    This game is fun. very nice action. grafics are good (in air). controls are great. perhaps to less missions.
  5. KeithN.
    Jul 22, 2007
    8
    With the extra weapons pack, and plane packs that you get when you register the planes, Heatseeker becomes a fairly entertaining game that With the extra weapons pack, and plane packs that you get when you register the planes, Heatseeker becomes a fairly entertaining game that offers a very intuitive (albeit unrealistic)control over the aircraft. The only negative is not being able to fly enemy aircraft in campaign mode, but hey, when you're in a Raptor...who's complaining ? Expand
  6. SimonG.
    Aug 30, 2007
    6
    I usually don't mind the quality of the graphics. Otherwise I would've bought the PS3 instead of the Wii. But in Heatseeker's I usually don't mind the quality of the graphics. Otherwise I would've bought the PS3 instead of the Wii. But in Heatseeker's case, it's hard to forgive. It's a PS2 port, but even for the PS2 it's poor. The sense of speed is great however and you get a lot of satisfactions from blowing away other fighters. Some of the missions are a little boring, others are a little too hard, but most of them are fun. The controls take a bit to get use too, but once you got the basics, you're good to go. Some of the controls are somehow not intuitive; it's almost impossible to give orders to other pilots (press A + left on the d-pad). It's not a bad game. I was building a lot of expectation from it and I'm not quite disappointed, neither I'm overwhelmed with it. Expand
  7. Mario1962
    Apr 19, 2007
    3
    Got the game on Thursday, and returned on the Friday week after. The controls are broken for the most part (I have tried all 3 settings) they Got the game on Thursday, and returned on the Friday week after. The controls are broken for the most part (I have tried all 3 settings) they are completely unresponsive, no matter if you are in 'arcade' or 'professional' mode. Also there are too many functions allocated on the D-Pad which it is hard to get to. But worst of all is the fact that you can't view around your plane (only your back side with the hard to get D-Pad buttons). Graphics are very average. Don Expand

See all 12 User Reviews