Ju-on: The Grudge Wii

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 34
  2. Negative: 14 out of 34
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 26, 2016
    0
    Some of the positive reviews for this game are clearly suspect. The only thing more pathetic than professional game sites being paid for positive reviews of crappy AAA titles would be individual collectors and online resellers making false positive reviews of equally crappy lesser budget titles. The reason they do this is because the games are somewhat rare and they are trying to keepSome of the positive reviews for this game are clearly suspect. The only thing more pathetic than professional game sites being paid for positive reviews of crappy AAA titles would be individual collectors and online resellers making false positive reviews of equally crappy lesser budget titles. The reason they do this is because the games are somewhat rare and they are trying to keep the value inflated to lure in the sucker collectors who just have to have every rare game collecting dust on their shelves, no matter whether the game is actually any good. These suspect positive reviews seem to be happening a lot lately with some of the "rare gem" type games on Metacritic. Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2015
    3
    I was bizarrely compelled to own this game, knowing nothing of it beyond the mediocrity that is the film franchise. What I got was one of the most tedious, lazily designed, content lacking games I've ever played. The only fun you can get out of this game is through how humorously poor the story and logic is. The controls are frustratingly unresponsive - you don't use an analog stick - youI was bizarrely compelled to own this game, knowing nothing of it beyond the mediocrity that is the film franchise. What I got was one of the most tedious, lazily designed, content lacking games I've ever played. The only fun you can get out of this game is through how humorously poor the story and logic is. The controls are frustratingly unresponsive - you don't use an analog stick - you just look wherever you aim your Wii-mote and walk by pressing "B." Furthermore, the pace your character walks is agonizingly slow - perhaps to make up for small size of each of the episodes; there are only five - the fifth of which is only accessible if you get all the collectibles from each map. Not a difficult process, but it's retreading tedious ground over and over - each level constituting a significant amount of retracing steps to get key items in order to progress. It's a terrible game that's honestly worth the experience simply for the unintentional hilarity. It's obviously not worth the money - unless you can find it for a few bucks (which is probably not the case - I found my copy for about $30 - which is painfully overpriced), but if you come across it and find yourself able to play it, gather some friends and enjoy the frustration together. Expand
  3. May 31, 2015
    9
    Controls are awful, but it makes up for it was exceptional atmosphere and horror.
    Shamefully underrated game, be nice if it'd get more attention, but its rareness makes that hard.
  4. Jan 30, 2015
    9
    This is one of the best horror games on the Wii. The graphics are high end for the Wii, and the sound effects are cool. This title defiantly brings the scares. The only downside is that the story is almost non-existent and there are only 5 levels. I recommend this highly however. :)
  5. Dec 4, 2014
    0
    The worst controls i have ever seen in a game... jump scares that wouldn't even scare a baby, I don't know why people are giving this game 4 and over score because it is just horrible. i would avoid this game for the sake of your life.
  6. Feb 24, 2014
    4
    Good Haunted house simulator. I play this on halloween since I think I'm too old to trick-or-treat. The walk control slow and is bad for people who are impatient. The scare meter you see for the end of the game seems not to work very well.
  7. Nov 4, 2013
    8
    The game provides a creepy atmosphere and definitely makes you jump when it's many jumpscares appear. Ju-on: The Grudge is a very good game for the genre it's in and it's worth the $30 to play. The only downside is the gameplay sometimes distracting the player from the scary factor that the game has.
  8. Jun 24, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. good horror game, the problem is the longevity, only five levels. Faithful at style of the movie. Searching all objects lengthens the game experience, but is equally too short Expand
  9. May 12, 2012
    8
    I actually think that this game it's a good game for wii, the graphics are not that good but it's good enough for wii, I actually like the storyline, in some situations there's some errors that need to be fixed. The only thing that is really annoying in the game is the controls, the main character moves soooooo slow and if you play this in computer it's really hard to rotate.
  10. Dec 11, 2011
    2
    I'll give the game some credit for having a couple of jump scares (only works when you have your lights off), however the EXTREMELY slow pacing, frustrating controls and predictable moments really ruins the experience with Ju-on: The Grudge. If you like haunted house simulation gameplay, this might be your kind of game, though it seems less scary if you're retrying a level again. II'll give the game some credit for having a couple of jump scares (only works when you have your lights off), however the EXTREMELY slow pacing, frustrating controls and predictable moments really ruins the experience with Ju-on: The Grudge. If you like haunted house simulation gameplay, this might be your kind of game, though it seems less scary if you're retrying a level again. I recommend renting Ju-on: the Grudge and playing it with friends first. Hardcore single playing gamers will definitely get bored from this game right away. Expand
  11. GiovanniCo
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    great!innovative and good atmosphere, is like playing a horror game,is the evolution of old realistic fm games...terrifing
  12. StevenE
    Nov 8, 2009
    8
    Considering that this is the only real horror game on the Wii, thus far, I say it's better than nothing. I love The Grudge movies, but mainly the first one. I hoped that some kind of game would spawn from it. Either way, I was going to make it. Still am. Yes, I agree that it could have been better, but at least it brought the memorable movie moments to the game world. I give it a 6 Considering that this is the only real horror game on the Wii, thus far, I say it's better than nothing. I love The Grudge movies, but mainly the first one. I hoped that some kind of game would spawn from it. Either way, I was going to make it. Still am. Yes, I agree that it could have been better, but at least it brought the memorable movie moments to the game world. I give it a 6 for, at least, trying. I give it an 8 for existing in the first place and having a creepy atmospheric tone. I give it a 10 has a Wii game. If it were on PS3 or Xbox 360, if wouldn't be has fun, but I would still love it. This game has now become my game choice for a traditional Halloween scare. Expand
  13. MarvinD
    Nov 5, 2009
    8
    The game does a decent job of getting a scare out of the gamer as long as they're not trying to bro themselves up around every corner of the game. Given that it's claiming to be a haunted house simulator and not RE5 or Silent Hill I'd say it does a decent job at delivering a fun experience. Unfortunately people that use Silent Hill and Resident Evil as benchmarks often rip The game does a decent job of getting a scare out of the gamer as long as they're not trying to bro themselves up around every corner of the game. Given that it's claiming to be a haunted house simulator and not RE5 or Silent Hill I'd say it does a decent job at delivering a fun experience. Unfortunately people that use Silent Hill and Resident Evil as benchmarks often rip on both franchises for a lack of innovation and growth in the genre. So I guess the question is, do they want something different in the marketplace or do they want more mediocre horror games they can complain about being stagnant? Expand
  14. KendrickS.
    Oct 16, 2009
    8
    Ju-On:The Grudge is a very unique game for the Wii. It will scare you the first time through, no doubt. The Graphics are great. The sounds are fantastic. The controls are a little strange and non responsive sometimes, but of course, when in fear, you lose train of thought and may even become non responsive to your own body. In the end the controls fit the game in a good way. For 30 bucks, Ju-On:The Grudge is a very unique game for the Wii. It will scare you the first time through, no doubt. The Graphics are great. The sounds are fantastic. The controls are a little strange and non responsive sometimes, but of course, when in fear, you lose train of thought and may even become non responsive to your own body. In the end the controls fit the game in a good way. For 30 bucks, you get around five trips. most likely one way because theres hardly any replay value. People who love to be frightened will of course love this game. People who are afraid of the dark but wont admit will give this game a poor review. 8.5/10. Expand
  15. Axel
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    This is the best horror game I have played on the Nintendo Wii. :) Although the gameplay and controls are a bit dull, the scares and the graphics is what makes up for it. The 2nd player interactivity is awesome and so much fun to play with friends. I love the movies a lot and the game is so good and worth the price. Go reserve your copy now!

Awards & Rankings

#19 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
#8 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 32
  2. Negative: 20 out of 32
  1. The corpse of survival horror gets another beating with gameplay as intangible as its ghostly antagonists.
  2. For these reasons, like a horror film, you’ll play it once then never play it again because you know what is coming and it is not scary the second time round. Therefore, I’d recommend you rent it rather than buy it.
  3. For those of you that care, I've gone through an eighth of a liter of scotch since starting this review. And I'm certain that the number of brain cells I've killed is only a small fraction of the number that committed suicide from being exposed to Ju-On. They were lucky.