Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: To celebrate the 20th anniversary of the cute-but-powerful Kirby character, Nintendo will release a special anniversary software disc for Wii later this year. The disc will contain a variety of previously released, fan-favorite Kirby games.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Aug 30, 2012
    85
    Kirby's Dream Collection: Special Edition is a fantastic celebration of 20 years of the pink protagonist. [Sept 2012, p.88]
  2. 84
    Sure, the included games could have used a visual makeover, but the charm and attraction of the original games is intact, and many will overlook the simple visuals as the gameplay and nostalgia is what is important here. Add to this the music disc, collectible book, and the interactive museum on the game disc, and you have a pretty good anniversary compilation that is well worth the price of admission.
  3. 80
    Kirby's Dream Collection is a fine tribute to Kirby's 20-year history. Anyone who missed a chunk of his old outings, or just has an urge to replay them all, should definitely pick up this package. If you own all the games on Virtual Console on Wii or 3DS, it is a little harder to recommend, but if you don't, Kirby's Dream Collection is totally worth playing to experience Kirby's old games and get a taste of what he's doing now.
  4. Sep 10, 2012
    80
    Not all of the games in this classic collection stand the full test of time, but for die-hard Kirby fans, the entire package is more than worth the price tag.
  5. Sep 24, 2012
    80
    There will inevitably be Kirby fans who will complain that more Kirby games weren't included or that none of the titles got any type of visual makeover, but it's difficult to complain too much given how many amazing Kirby titles have been collected onto one Wii disc, not to mention the fun bonus items and mini games that are also included. No doubt most Nintendo fans will have already played these games many times over, but it's still nice to see Nintendo giving their fluffy protagonist a little fanfare for 20 years of charming gaming magic.
  6. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    The classic games aren't quite the selections I'd have made, but they're all worth checking out, and when combined with the extra content, they become one of the better anniversary packages out there.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    I say the ultimate kirby fans and collectors dream and with some retro hits to get for kids to play with this generation. Also purfect for playing anytime you want. Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    Simply incredible. This is an excellent package that any real gamer should be proud to have in their collection. This is a collection of some of the best and most influential platforming games ever created. Expand
  3. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    Our old classic games come back onto the Wii unchanged from their original versions. I am very happy to have all six games and its extras, it is all fun and exciting. This game further expanded my interest in Kirby and I am still playing it as of today. In fact, when I was asked to take two Wii games along on a long trip, this was one of two that I took with me. Never fear to buy this game, you won't be disappointed. Not to mention that the game comes with a CD and fun little booklet in an official set. Expand
  4. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    Let's cut to the chase. This is so nostalgic! I LOVE IT! Let's review each part separately:

    KIRBY'S DREAMLAND
    When I was small, Kirby was
    white, because Americans had no idea what color Kirby was! Anyways, the game is short, but it is Spring Breeze in Super Star/Super Star Ultra except it has more levels! I've got to tell you this: It's short but it's cute and nostalgic! Final Verdict: 8.3/10

    KIRBY'S ADVENTURE
    This game was the first time Kirby was in pink! The game is pretty awesome and worthwhile to buy for even 40 dollars! Once again, it's NOSTALGIC! Plus, the game puts on a challenge for all ages and a bombardment of new characters (Who's that mysterious guy with bat wings and a mask?). Final Verdict: 9.6/10

    KIRBY'S DREAMLAND 2
    Wonderful game! The concept of helpers was developed here, with your animal friends Rick, Kine, Coo, and Gooey? Nothing much else to say except that it was innovative. Final Verdict: 9.0/10

    KIRBY SUPER STAR
    This is the best Kirby game ever!! Amazing SNES graphics and amazing fast-paced game play gives this game a liking from all humans alike (except for some Nintendo haters), seriously, what's not to like?
    Final Verdict: 10.0/10

    KIRBY'S DREAMLAND 3
    It's sort of creepy sometimes, come to think of it, the chalky drawings, the last boss... etc., but Dreamland 3 was a memorable play and should be on anyone's game shelf. Final Verdict: 8.5/10

    KIRBY 64: THE CRYSTAL SHARDS
    I love this game, it's AMAZING!! But it doesn't add up to games I love the most from Kirby like Canvas Curse, Super Star, and the Amazing Mirror. The game play is amazing and the Kirby model is the cutest I've ever seen. Two problems: Shiver Star creeps me out due to an outline of the former earth on the planet, and the views they choose for you are sometimes pretty bad. It makes up in so many other things though! Final Verdict: 9.8/10

    MUSIC CD
    Listen to it while working. Seriously! It's like a chill pill to your eardrums. I usually skip the chamber music though. Final Verdict: 9.9/10

    CHALLENGE STAGES
    I don't really care about these, so I don't have a final verdict for it.

    MUSEUM
    3 episodes of Kirby: Right Back at Ya!, in game music, and many things to know about Kirby are in here. Sometimes, I imagine I'm Kirby looking back on myself, and eating whatever games I want to look back on. Final Verdict: 10/10

    CELEBRATION BOOK
    Wonderful, wonderful bonus book! Evolution of the waddle dee, concept art, and even a game to play when you're bored! Final Verdict: 10/10

    COVER ARTS
    the box (the paper box with all the stuff) art it super cool! And I love the grainy old style art for the box (plastic). Final Verdict: 10/10

    OVERALL
    10/10. It's amazing. Buy it. NOW!
    Expand
  5. Sep 22, 2012
    9
    A must have for Kirby fanatics like myself. The additional booklet contains some awesome facts and great unseen production artwork. The cd contains 45 of the most memorable songs from the Kirby franchise and 3 new tracks. The game CD itself is has a fantastic interactive time line with gameplay videos, boxart, 3 episodes of the show, a music video, and interesting fun facts. The classic games chosen for the collection are some of Kirby's most beloved core platforming titles. I'm glad to see under-appreciated titles like KDL2 featured here (a fairly challenging classic title from the original gameboy), as well as the games like DL3 with it's beautiful art style, and the amazing and OF COURSE essential Kirby Super Star game which in itself contains various games. It wasn't enough for HAL to just include these but to also include wonderful challenge levels to the discs! Very much like the extra levels in Return to Dreamland these challenge stages will test your mastery of Kirby's powers, your time rushing skills, and smashing skills. It's great fun and a real challenge. I enjoyed these levels in Return to Dreamland and I'm glad to get more of this content. It's a real challenge to score the platinum coin in these levels so be prepared to put in some effort in time on just this feature as well. The packaging is beautiful, the extras are wonderful, the challenge is there, and the classic titles are all neatly included together for revisiting and enjoying.. This Kirby fan is PLEASED. As much as I can ask for more and I always could when it comes to Kirby, I am for the most part satisfied. I'm glad it wasn't just a mere few ports and nothing more (Much like the Mario collection released earlier). Highly recommended to fans and newcomers who want to try more Kirby games. Especially if you're new to gaming. There's no better place to start. Expand
  6. Sep 16, 2012
    8
    Great collection of Kirby's finest games. A must have if you are a Kirby fan! Great introduction to Kirby for all younger gamers. Really not a bad game in this collection and the bonus content is top notch. Expand