User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 164

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    You do not need difficulty to have a good time. This game removes the idea of rushing and frustration and concentrates on the idea of classic platforming game, and innovative uses of buttons and yarns. It's a masterpiece when you think deeply about it.
  2. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    I haven't had so much fun and excitement in a VERY long time for a videogame. Kirby Epic Yarn in your first five minutes may look like a simple platformer for the kids, but the minute Kirby suddenly transforms into a tank in the first or second stage, the experience changes forever. It features some really awesome platforming that gives me memories to Kirby 64 but also gives an even more unique and varied touch with it's graphical point of view and different transformations that all of them are effective and exciting. Kirby is definitely back in awesomeness on consoles, with this brand new game, and like the title suggests, it's epic! Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Kirby's Epic Yarn is a breath of fresh air in a time filled with generic FPS's that in some cases are unplayable(MW2), It's like smelling horse manure in an enclosed and small area that you are locked into but you find a crowbar to break the lock keeping you in. Kirby's Epic Yarn is the crowbar of justice against horse **** filled barns. It's also a very good and deep game for EVERYONE and it is not easy if you want to get a good bead streak, Anyone who says they are too mature for this are insecure idiots who cant grow up and see that this game is damn adorable and for all ages. Expand
  4. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    I love pretty much everything about this game.

    Some of the most beautiful graphics I have ever seen, on any platform, with stunning attention to detail, brilliant animation with loads of character given to all the enemies, a vibrant colourful and wonderful look and feel to everything. It makes me happy just watching this game.

    Awesome sound with some really catch tunes. Just listening to
    the tunes makes me feel good.

    Great old school gameplay with some cool and unique use of the main mechanics. The Yarn theme isn't just a tacked on gimmick. The game really gets some great use of yarn based puzzles and mechanics and every little area of the presentation and design fully utilizes the yarn theme to the max.

    Overall Kirby's Epic Yarn is a really fun game and just a great experience. It's one of my very favourite games this gen and one of the most enjoyable and uplifting games I have played in a long long time. It reminds me of all the things I loved about gaming in the first place.

    I would recommend everyone give this game a try because I'm sure if you do you too will love it.
    Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    What the developers have achieved is nothing short of epic! Who knew yarn could be this fun? If you need difficulty, there are many other games on Wii for that. This is about sheer fun and exploration. Collection is where most of challenge is. Any level gamer should enjoy this.
  6. Apr 26, 2011
    8
    8.5/10 = Great!! = A flawed, but fun platformer.
  7. Jun 1, 2011
    6
    Kirby's Epic Yarn, or Price Fluff's Epic Yarn With A Coat of Kirby, is not a 'Kirby' game. While it does feature the pink puff ball, all of his powers and uniqueness of his games are exchanged for this game. The Kirby characters feel tacted on, forcefully.
    Epic Yarn feels a lot like Good Feel's previous work, Wario Land: Shake It, You enter the level, get through it, find all the (beads)
    money you can, find hidden objects, and finish the level and graded. Rather rinse repeat, then boss battle. Unlike Wario Land, where the hidden stages are found inside levels, hidden stages are opened by racking up big money in boss fights.
    In this game Kirby can not die. He just loses his money when he gets hit or falls off the map. In a way this makes the game easy to beat and no challenge. The real goal is to collect all the hidden objects and get more money, if you feel like it. There's also useless apartment decorating and minigames as well.
    Expand
  8. Aug 7, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. kirby's epic yarn a game that will one day become on of the wii's classics and here is why
    like most sidescrollers the plot is simple kirby finds a wizard called yin yarn and he proceeds to swallow him. kirby gets yin yarns metamato which turns kirby into yarn. then yin yarns sock captures kirby and put him in a new place and with his new friend prince fluff they go to stop yin yarn
    this game is a sidescroller where you use the d-pad to move 2 to jump and 1 is your attack in this case the yarn whip. by doing certain button combos kirby can transform into a variety of things such as a car. one problem with this game however is that you can't die.if you fall into a pit it brings you furthur in the level and this is very abusable. kirby's epic yarn is one of the best games the wii has to offer not the best but it comes close.
    Expand
  9. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Perhaps it is cliche to use a cloth-related pun (as so many others are sure to do), but there is no denying it: Kirby's Epic Yarn is sure to make you feel fuzzy inside. The perfect game with which to relax in a blanket and drink cocoa on a cold winter's night, it deftly combines fun and intuitive gameplay, a piano-driven and lovely soundtrack, and of course, the timeless yarn-inspired art style. Most shocking (and pleasant) is its classy and completely non-gimmicky use of motion controls in certain sections. This is one game that deserves to be in any gamer's collection, regardless of age or attitude. Expand
  10. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    The scenarios of the game were all built in a very creative and the end result was excellent. The mechanics is very different from other games in the series but that does not become a negative factor because it is still possible to use several new skills. Its downside is that it is extremely easy.
  11. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    The last thing any of us expected from a Kirby game was something involving yarn, cloth and absolutely no inhaling and cloning. What kind of Kirby adventure is that? Answer one of the best Kirby games we've played, and one of the best games on Wii.

    What Kirby's Epic Yarn lacks in difficulty it makes up for in sheer charm and ingenuity. The game's commitment to its bold visual design is
    what sets it apart from most games, allowing players to tear, zip and generally unravel the world around them. We're all more than excited to see Kirby's next Wii adventure, but Epic Yarn was a breath of fresh air for a franchise that often does very similar things time and time again though that's not necessarily a bad thing. Expand
  12. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    This game is not for everyone, but I personally enjoyed this game. It may be quite childish, but who cares. This game is great fun and very relaxing to play at night.
  13. Feb 25, 2011
    6
    This game has too high a score. The game was fun, but WAY too easy. If you could actually die, then there would be some challenge. I know the game is very, very pretty, but graphics don't make the game. Don't get me wrong, the controls, and gameplay are great, It's just too easy. If it was more challenging, then I would give a higher score. If you have kids, then I recommend it for them.
    They'll have a blast. You will too if you suck at games (No offense).
    Expand
  14. Nov 29, 2010
    9
    I've bought quite a few Wii games lately so I'll review a few today starting with this one. I honestly had no idea that this was going to be as fun as it was! I thought it was going to be good but it really exceeds my expectations. The platforming feels more pure than a lot of other games that make things artificially tough to extend the experience. This relies more on clever platforming, it really has some inventive stuff going on. Bravo! Expand
  15. Nov 2, 2010
    9
    This is a really fun game, with great visuals. It's a game that made me want to keep playing much Mario than Mario did. I removed 1 point because of the difficulty. Not because you can't die, because I liked that part, but because it wasn't challenging enough. (You can get gold medals on 80% of them on the 1st try)
  16. Oct 21, 2010
    9
    The game is pure FUN! it looks really good, and it may not be challenging, but it still has depth and hours of fun! PURE CLASSIC PLATFORMING OLD SCHOOL FUN! the design of the levels is awesome, and some of the boss battles are epic, but the music is rather meh, every song with a piano and kinda boring, but sometimes, the songs get epic. ONE OF THE MUST HAVES ON THE WII
  17. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    Absolutely delightful! Anyone who doesn't like this game doesn't have a HEART and shouldn't be playing video games, period. Screw brown and gray first-person shooters, Kirby is for real men.
  18. Dec 1, 2010
    9
    The creativity in this game is refreshing and very unique. My son and I both had a blast playing this game. Granted, it is a little easier than most platform games, there are plenty of world's that you can go back and unlock. So even though it is easy, there are plenty of more things to do after you beat the main game.
  19. Oct 17, 2010
    8
    This is indeed a good game. However, I would not say that this one as one of the best. It lacks difficulty. The main part of the game is to collect everything, that is right, but it would have been better if the difficulty was raised a little bit more from time to time. Everyone can have fun in this game and with 2 players, it is very nice. This game is the perfect game for beginners and little kids from the age 4-8 or so. It is very colorful, has good music and the controls are great. Overall, it is a nice game - the perfect game for beginners. Older ones might not enjoy it as much as the kids, but that doesn't mean it's not fun.
    (BTW: Don't think "epic" stands for "super" and "awesome". Think about that first before anyone complains)
    Expand
  20. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    If it were not for the unique, one-of-a-kind art style, this game would be just another 2D platformer on the Wii. Obviously, it'd still be fun because that's just what Kirby games are. But there's something about this one. The sense of serenity it carries with it, the little touches here and there that make you smile. There's nothing wrong with sincere happiness inside of a game, not yet seen in this calibur since Yoshi's Island on the SNES. Do NOT read too much into the story, don't expect much of the difficulty. Just pop in the disc, sit back, and smile. Expand
  21. Oct 21, 2010
    7
    Kirby's Epic Yarn - Fun mechanics, great art style; not very "Kirby-ish" besides being pretty easy if you're only focused on getting to the end of the game (Getting Gold medals on every stage is where the challenge and, for me, the real fun kicks in). I got about 10 hours of play out of it with only some side quests left to finish. At least worth a rental to experience it, but I would have a hard time recommending someone to purchase it.â Expand
  22. Jan 12, 2011
    8
    i think this is the best game in the worls it made me so happy that i actually came,seriously an absolutley awsome game that will actually change who you are and how you live your life forever
  23. Nov 21, 2010
    7
    I didnt enjoy this game as much as others did, but it is top quality. The visuals are amazing and the gameplay variety is staggering. My problem? Its WAY to easy. You cant die and there isnt much satisfaction in mastering levels. Buy it for your kids, or yourself if you want a great game but you find other games too challenging.
  24. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    I really wanted this to be perfect.
    When my friend showed me this game, I was excited. However, when I tried it, it seemed like a New Super Mario Bros. Wii, but with some tacky gimmicks glued on. As all Kirby games are, it was quite easy, with a childish storyline, as usual. It is very fun, but short, as Kirby games are easy. I suggest buying this game used from GameStop, beating it
    in less than a week, and returning it. Expand
  25. Nov 29, 2010
    8
    Good Game but too easy. I like the yarn power but beat oone world in 20 minutes with my friend. I love it and think it should be rented before bought. Needs some work! ;D
  26. Nov 25, 2010
    9
    The art direction is simply astounding and rivals Little Big Planet on the PS3 for sheer mind-blowing creativity. Boasting a central mechanic built around the idea that Kirby is composed of yarn, Epic Yarn is a refreshing platformer whose only flaw is its admittedly forgiving difficulty curve.
  27. Dec 6, 2010
    9
    This is game is very fun. My 9 year old daughter and I had a great time playing this game together. The concept was fantastic. Art style incredible. Lot's of replay value-- especially for young children. While you can't technically die in this game, it sure felt like it at times. Watching all my coins disappear time after time or having to be spirited back up to a platform oodles of times qualifies as a death in my view. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  28. Dec 17, 2010
    6
    I hate this game, you look this game and think "Woa! It's extreme cool game! I gotta have it!". You buy, and you see... this games is very easy and boring! Too easy, no difficult and NO cool! Really guys don't buy this game...
  29. Apr 9, 2012
    8
    Kirby's Epic Yarn is a delightfully charming platformer. It's graphical design and general sense of childlike imagination is a joy to behold. You can't die in the game, so it can be played easily by younger gamers without fear of frustration. There is also an unobtrusive co-op feature, which works well and is great fun. For the hardcore gamer, Kirby's Epic Yarn won't offer a challenge, but it will offer a lot of stress-free, relaxing fun. Expand
  30. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    Yes. this game is terribly easy and probably suits kindergartners more than your average teenager or adult but guess what? Some of us have three and five year olds and it is great to have a game like this that is not only easy enough for the wee ones to play (without having to hold their hands through the whole thing) but it is at its foundation an excellent platforming experience for those of us who want to relax. If I want to throw my controller or feel my heart race, I'll go pick up Super Meat Boy or something. Hard games are great, but that doesn't mean easy games can't be just as good. This game looks fantastic and I constantly find myself tickled at little animations and the like. It does what it does very well and if you're looking for a bit of a challenge, look elsewhere. My only issues are that you can't suck up your enemies and you can't fly like Kirby is used to. If it had those things, I'd have given it a perfect ten. I love it and my kids love it. It's relaxing. Expand
  31. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    Creative and Fun!
    GRAPHICS: Pure imaginative joy. 9/10
    ADVENTURE: The story is weird but the fun is top shelf. 9/10
    MECHANICS: This game is very easy to pick up and play. 9/10
    EXTRAS: Having Epic Yarn in my game library provides two excellent functions. First, it is a great children's/'terrible at video games spouse' game. Second, anyone who can experience this game and not smile has some
    serious problems, it's like hating Mr. Rogers or puppies... watch out for these people. Expand
  32. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    It is just the opposite to all the modern games; it is good, simple, old fashioned fun. The way that the art style is woven (pun not intended) into the fabric of the game play is wonderful. The music is typically cheerful, and the game has innovation written all over it. It may be easy, but truth be told, the game is not about its difficulty, its about the fun had along the way, and Kirby's Epic Yarn delivers emphatically. Expand
  33. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    I agree with KlassicKritic's statement in which you do not need difficulty to have a good time. Never before has a game ever made me feel so warm and fuzzy before. The calming music, hypercute (and textile) graphics are bursting with joy, even if it is impossible to die.
  34. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. good but too easy to be truly great, although the twist ending involving the fact that the main villain (spioler alert!) was actually a creation of his wands does make it worth playing, but i bet after i give in to the next game (kirby wii), i'm going to be giving this one a 6. Expand
  35. Feb 12, 2012
    8
    A fun but different type of Kirby game. The different type of Kirby's you can be in this game is what makes it fun to go along with the levels. The multiplayer is much more fun to complete this game than solo. Although a fun game to play, replay value is some what dull. I suggest playing the first Kirby on the NES over this game.â
  36. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    It's a really fun platformer, some guys say "it's super easy", but WHY you need something hard when you have something fun? The game has some of the best graphics i ever seen, the yarn...it fits perfectly in the game mechanics, the framerate is not messed up and has really awesome soundtracks, a nice work with a piano.
  37. May 15, 2012
    9
    Who said easy was bad? whoever it was, they were wrong. This is possibly my favorite 2D platformer on the Wii, it looks fantastic, it plays perfectly and is just so great! Seriously, I love Kirby games, this is possibly my favorite one. Only complaints I have are small: It's a little too short (due to how fun it is) and the co-op mode isn't amazing, but that just might be down to the fact that I like playing most games alone. Now stop reading this (if anyone is) and buy this bright, cheery game that is sure to put a big grin on your face. Expand
  38. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    No need to speedrun this game. Just enjoy the beautiful graphics and level design. This is the kind of platformer that takes things slow. It is pure art. One of the most underrated wii games around. Tons of fun.
  39. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    Game: Kirby's Epic Yarn Genre: Adventure Developer: Nintendo/HAL/Good Feel System: Nintendo Wii Total Score: 86/100 Value Score: 8.6/10 • Story: 8/10 • Characters: 8/10 • GamePlay: 9/10 • Graphics: 10/10 • Sound: 10/10 • Music: 10/10 • Length: 4/10 • Replay Value: 8/10 • Player Value: 9/10 Pros +Unique art style and design makes this game a rare gem +Gameplay quite innovative
    +Has the Kirby charm seen in past games but amplified numerous times
    +Music consists of few new tracks and remixes of classics which is great
    +Sound effects are nicely done and brings a new depth to the atmosphere
    +A lot of customizable options let you decorate your "house" to however you want it to look like.

    Cons
    -Too Short
    -Too easy
    -Impossible to die even if you fall down into a pit
    -Challenge is in keeping beads and not on survival makes this game too simple
    Expand
  40. Jan 15, 2012
    9
    This game is good. When I first started it, felt like it was for a preschool child but once I played it for a bit I found out how fun this game was. It is a cross between little big planet and super mario bros. If you like those titles or are into platformers you will like this game alot. Worth every penny you will like this game if you give it a chance.
  41. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    A very easy game, mostly cuz you can't die, but the side challenges are pretty hard at times, the story is adorable, as are all the characters, possibly my favorite kirby game to date. The graphics are amazing for the wii, the gameplay is very fun, and is enjoyable for all ages, and the bosses are fun and easy for younger kids, a must have for all wii owners! If you like this game, check out Kirby: Return to Dreamland, you won't be disappointed! Expand
  42. Dec 12, 2011
    8
    Kirby's Epic Yarn is bubbling with youthful vibes and bubbly motifs and even though it felt a bit awkward playing a game with such childish themes, once I began to play through the excellent platforming levels, it was easy to see that Kirby's Epic Yarn may be youthful, but the game play is mature.

    Game play is unique due to the yarn-based theme with Kirby able to use clothing accessories,
    such as zippers and buttons, to advance his goal to save Patch Land. Difficulty is where the game suffers and depending on how you play the game will depend on how difficult it will be. But even if you played for 100% completion the game is never extremely challenging. Just make sure that when you decide to play it, don't let the childish themes turn you off. You will miss out on an excellent platformer.

    .
    Expand
  43. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    this game brings back somemany childhood memorys.....and seriously if you're gonna mark points off this game for being to easy all i can say is whats wrong with you......this game is fun and there's no hurry this has a relaxing soothing touch.....and besides people some of the best kirrby games aren't challenging at all.....this game is fun and creative...and you could play with a buddy and play through the levels....this game also has stunning graphics as well....and a whole world of insane creativness.....even the bosses are insanly creative......if your a person who struggles with intense fun video games try this game........trust me even though the game may look like its for a two year old it isn't.......im fourteen and i seem to like this game still and i've had this game for more then a year........... Expand
  44. May 5, 2012
    8
    I've never played a easier kirby game than this, you should at least be able to die in this game. graphics are amazing, though, and you can have sooo much fun while playing this, however, you won't be playing this game for very long. About 10 hours and you will put down this game for a week, but if you want a game extremely creative and fun, this is it for you. And despite being so easy, there is an aftergame and playing 2 player than greatly enhance the gameplay. Expand
  45. Jun 4, 2012
    5
    This game is so easy I could pass it with my feet. It's not just easy, it's BEYOND easy. it takes serious effort to find this a challenge. There IS no game, because there is no way to lose...so just do anything, or hold down the right button and close your eyes, you can probably make it through that way. Buy it if it's for a 3 year old, because at 5 I was already passing Mario World and this would have been boring to me. But if you're three years old, go play it. Now, the good. The art is good, without being exceptional, the polish is good, it's a very polished baby toy. There are probably more good things in this game but I am not in the mood to discuss them, this game is everything wrong in this world, because it,s not even a game, I don't see how you can call this a game. Expand
  46. Jul 1, 2012
    8
    I'm not a big fan of Wii games, not as a general hatred towards the system or Nintendo, I love Nintendo, but too many games force utilization of movement with the wiimote and then have extremely poor response causing poor gameplay.

    Whether it's a product of the WiiMotion Plus, which I admit has fixed a lot of motion problems with the Wii, or just really good development behind this
    game, Kirby's Epic Yarn has no motion mechanic issues and provides a really fun and creative change to the Kirby series.

    The levels are clever and you can change the environment to your advantage sometimes using your yarn whip thing, attacking enemies is a bit different and neat as you lasso them and whip them around. It's a fun little game that you can spend a good several hours on while going through a decent story. It's not the best game in the world, but it's one of the best games on the Wii and a good addition to the Kirby franchise. It's a solid 8.
    Expand
  47. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    This game just couldn't be better !! Gameplay is amazing, two-player co-op is incredibly funny ! At the end quite difficult !

    Thanks Nintendo and the other important developer !
  48. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    This game was as easy as the other Kirby games but the thing that I really enjoyed about it is the cute graphics, the relaxing music, and the sound effects this game is mostly about the graphics and the music.
  49. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    Wow, I played this game beginning-to-end when it came out, and played a ton of the Co-Op with my friend. The visuals are fantastic, the gameplay is original (which is impressive for Nintendo), the bosses are wonderful, and the difficulty, while easy, really suited the gameplay. There were some slight issues, of course, but this is a damn good game, and your really missing out if you haven't played it yet. Expand
  50. May 26, 2013
    7
    I like the Kirby games. the gameplay is fun and simple, while also keeping things challenging, not to mention how awesome characters like Kirby and Meta Knight are. Epic Yarn, however, I found to be way too simple and cute. the story, like most Kirby games, is pretty simple. it is a pretty enjoyable story, and manages to be pretty funny at times. The gameplay, shortened to the point, has been butchered to be way too easy. Kirby can do things in the environment, like become a car, or use an ability meant for a certain area, like a tank. this is a pretty cool concept, but the problem with it s that you can't die in the game. beads, which determine your score at the end of the stage, are lost every time you fall into a it or get hit by an enemy, making it impossible to lose this game. I can see Nintendo making Kirby a bit easier, but here, it's way too easy. the graphics for the game are pretty nice. the environments and colors for this game shine, making it one of the nicest looking games on the Wii. the soundtrack for the game is very lighthearted. all the tracks in the game sound very cute, almost a bit too cute. tunes in Kirby could give a great beat and rhythm while also sounding cute, but here, being cute is all it sounds like. if there's one thing I cannot stand in this game, it's Prince Fluff. he's such an unneeded character in the game, and is seriously bland in general. In the End, Kirby's Epic Yarn is a good game, just probably not for Kirby fans. while it can be enjoyable with its story and dialogue, it can be a shut off for some by being too cute or too easy. if you're trying to get into the Kirby series, start with this one. just be prepared for the challenge other Kirby games will have. Expand
  51. Aug 6, 2013
    3
    I will be the only person that will be negative about this game. I know it looks good and yes I know it is very cute and looks it does sound really good but its not Kirby. This is a game that Nintendo wanted to make and had every right to make but why put Kirby in it. The Kirby franchise is one of my favorite series that has ever been made and it kinda makes him look less like a pink badass and more like a pink little jerk. I like been able to turn into a fire breather and a guy that looks likes Link but instead of him been old school Kirby he was turned into something so cute it made me mad and very upset. He is not yarn he is a monster eating alien. I hate this game with all my heart and I want people to hate this game but that is not going to happen anytime soon. Expand
  52. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    I play this game with my 4 year old. He loves it and laughs a lot. He likes to pick my kirby character up and throw him across the screen. Very like Super Mario Bros but without the difficulty spike (at least for me)..

    Perfect for young kids- with a nicely narrated story- and it`s sheer platforming goodness for us old folks too.
  53. Mar 30, 2014
    7
    You have two teams when it comes to Kirby's Epic Yarn, you either have the people who adore the game and accept it for what it is or you are part of the people who didn't like the changes and think that it should have just used the controls of traditional Kirby platformers; I would probably say I am kind of in between these teams, I liked the whole yarn concepts used in this game and I thought they were cool and had some fun and simplistic graphics but on the other hand I would have liked traditional controls, it was kind of weird playing a Kirby game where you couldn't "suck" anything up, not to mention this game is very easy due to the fact that you cannot die, but hey it's a Kirby game, typically Kirby games are not supposed to be hard due to them kind of being geared a little more toward kids. Besides, it doesn't need to be challenging, it was fun anyway, there were some bland parts, but it was enjoyable, I guess it's worth picking up unless it's still $50 New. Expand
  54. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    (Pt-Br)

    ótimo, como de costume da Nintendo...

    plataforma 2d bem feito e trabalhado , o wii teve um dos melhores jogos do kirby.

    é só isso que tenho a dizer nota 10
  55. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    This is a great game. I'm probably the only one here still doing reviews for Wii games, but if you happen to know anyone who still play Wii games recommend this to anyone.
  56. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    This is one of the most beautiful game I have ever played. While you could argue that it's too easy, although a few of the timed bonus levels are tricky, that would be missing the point. The game, just like say an animation film like Miyazaki's Totoro, is primarily conceived for children. However the creativity and level design on display here are simply breathtakingly inspired and delightful.
  57. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    I may have given this game a ten, but there's not a selection for 9.99. Anyways, this game is AWESOME!! I got this one the year it came out (2010) and played it to my heart's content (which is 2 years, until I stopped playing it and started playing Dream Collection. Sometimes, I still go back to it and wonder, is this game actually as good as I think it is? Well, I play it and I know is is as good as I think it is. I know this seems like a overrating review (I am a HUGE fan of Kirby), but believe me, it is a special treasure to cherish for a long time. It surely is memorable to play, especially with a friend! One tiny, tiny, tiny problem was that you cannot die. Oh, wait! That's not a problem! The games already hard enough to complete! Expand
  58. Aug 22, 2014
    9
    This game is fantastic it's so cute, sounds great and is fun to play the level design is good and the controls are tight This is my favourite kirby game

    (PRINCE FLUFF FOR SMASH BROS. 4)
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. May 24, 2011
    86
    The game is offering a unique style and a new concept. But Kirby's Epic Yarn is too easy to get a 90+ rating.
  2. May 11, 2011
    75
    While you wouldn't call it epic, Kirby's Epic Yarn is a welcome addition in the current, and possibly continuing, dearth of quality Wii titles.
  3. Apr 7, 2011
    80
    Who knew a stroll into Arts and Crafts land could be this much fun? Kirby's latest adventure is a pure joy, and although it's a bit on the easy side, it'll keep you very entertained from start to finish without even flinching.