Kirby's Epic Yarn Wii

Kirby's Epic Yarn Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 202 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kirby's wields his yarn through danger in the latest epic adventure.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Mar 11, 2011
    100
    Never before has a game been so uniquely captivating, charming and simultaneously fun for its absolute entirety; truly an epic experience which every self-respecting gamer should own.
  2. Feb 28, 2011
    95
    It goes beyond making you smile to that level of cuteness where your cheek muscles feel sore from the big smile which won't leave your face and you feel a rush of energy like you just had a shot of hard liquor. If you have any interest in platforming games at all, get Kirby's Epic Yarn.
  3. Mar 29, 2011
    90
    More than just a visual masterpiece, Kirby Epic Yarn is a solid and cute platform game that is perfect be experienced in co-op with a casual player. With some great hardcore similar games like Super Mario Bros. Wii and Donkey Kong Country Returns on the Wii, this alternative choice is all but superfluous.
  4. Dec 19, 2010
    88
    Kirby's Epic Yarn is a wonderful surprise. Brilliantly crafted to take the player on a fantastic voyage into a world of patchwork, you will easily fall in love with Kirby's attitude and yarn-inspired aesthetics.
  5. It's rare for a visual direction to have such a profound impact on gameplay, but the two are seamlessly interwoven in Kirby's Epic Yarn. It's certainly not one of the more challenging platformers out there, but it's a breathtaking experience nonetheless.
  6. Mar 7, 2011
    80
    Kirby's Epic Yarn is a well made platforming adventure that delivers exactly what we expected from all the trailers and previews. It's a fun experience for one or two players and is especially suitable for children. The Wii may lack a large amount of quality games, but as long as Nintendo keep providing solid platforming experiences like this one we'll keep the complaints to a minimum.
  7. Oct 27, 2010
    60
    Perfectly sized for young children and the parties with all the family, Kirby's Epic Yarn is undeniably one of the titles that everyone can conclude without real effort, especially with two players, but still keeps some surprises in store for those who want to unlock everything.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 64
  2. Negative: 1 out of 64
  1. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    You do not need difficulty to have a good time. This game removes the idea of rushing and frustration and concentrates on the idea of classicYou do not need difficulty to have a good time. This game removes the idea of rushing and frustration and concentrates on the idea of classic platforming game, and innovative uses of buttons and yarns. It's a masterpiece when you think deeply about it. Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    this game brings back somemany childhood memorys.....and seriously if you're gonna mark points off this game for being to easy all i can saythis game brings back somemany childhood memorys.....and seriously if you're gonna mark points off this game for being to easy all i can say is whats wrong with you......this game is fun and there's no hurry this has a relaxing soothing touch.....and besides people some of the best kirrby games aren't challenging at all.....this game is fun and creative...and you could play with a buddy and play through the levels....this game also has stunning graphics as well....and a whole world of insane creativness.....even the bosses are insanly creative......if your a person who struggles with intense fun video games try this game........trust me even though the game may look like its for a two year old it isn't.......im fourteen and i seem to like this game still and i've had this game for more then a year........... Expand
  3. Jul 8, 2016
    10
    Kirby is turned into Yarn! Well maybe that's a good thing cause this game is awesome! The graphics are cute and they look like wii u graphicsKirby is turned into Yarn! Well maybe that's a good thing cause this game is awesome! The graphics are cute and they look like wii u graphics and the gameplay is amazing so is the controls. The story is something creative and kirby can turn into things like cars and tanks and much more! This game is great and will not be bad at any point. Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    If it were not for the unique, one-of-a-kind art style, this game would be just another 2D platformer on the Wii. Obviously, it'd still be funIf it were not for the unique, one-of-a-kind art style, this game would be just another 2D platformer on the Wii. Obviously, it'd still be fun because that's just what Kirby games are. But there's something about this one. The sense of serenity it carries with it, the little touches here and there that make you smile. There's nothing wrong with sincere happiness inside of a game, not yet seen in this calibur since Yoshi's Island on the SNES. Do NOT read too much into the story, don't expect much of the difficulty. Just pop in the disc, sit back, and smile. Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    It's a really fun platformer, some guys say "it's super easy", but WHY you need something hard when you have something fun? The game has someIt's a really fun platformer, some guys say "it's super easy", but WHY you need something hard when you have something fun? The game has some of the best graphics i ever seen, the yarn...it fits perfectly in the game mechanics, the framerate is not messed up and has really awesome soundtracks, a nice work with a piano. Expand
  6. Feb 12, 2012
    8
    A fun but different type of Kirby game. The different type of Kirby's you can be in this game is what makes it fun to go along with theA fun but different type of Kirby game. The different type of Kirby's you can be in this game is what makes it fun to go along with the levels. The multiplayer is much more fun to complete this game than solo. Although a fun game to play, replay value is some what dull. I suggest playing the first Kirby on the NES over this game.â Collapse
  7. Aug 6, 2013
    3
    I will be the only person that will be negative about this game. I know it looks good and yes I know it is very cute and looks it does soundI will be the only person that will be negative about this game. I know it looks good and yes I know it is very cute and looks it does sound really good but its not Kirby. This is a game that Nintendo wanted to make and had every right to make but why put Kirby in it. The Kirby franchise is one of my favorite series that has ever been made and it kinda makes him look less like a pink badass and more like a pink little jerk. I like been able to turn into a fire breather and a guy that looks likes Link but instead of him been old school Kirby he was turned into something so cute it made me mad and very upset. He is not yarn he is a monster eating alien. I hate this game with all my heart and I want people to hate this game but that is not going to happen anytime soon. Expand

See all 64 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
#8 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010