Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 168 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kirby's wields his yarn through danger in the latest epic adventure.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Mar 11, 2011
    100
    Never before has a game been so uniquely captivating, charming and simultaneously fun for its absolute entirety; truly an epic experience which every self-respecting gamer should own.
  2. Feb 28, 2011
    95
    It goes beyond making you smile to that level of cuteness where your cheek muscles feel sore from the big smile which won't leave your face and you feel a rush of energy like you just had a shot of hard liquor. If you have any interest in platforming games at all, get Kirby's Epic Yarn.
  3. Mar 29, 2011
    90
    More than just a visual masterpiece, Kirby Epic Yarn is a solid and cute platform game that is perfect be experienced in co-op with a casual player. With some great hardcore similar games like Super Mario Bros. Wii and Donkey Kong Country Returns on the Wii, this alternative choice is all but superfluous.
  4. Dec 19, 2010
    88
    Kirby's Epic Yarn is a wonderful surprise. Brilliantly crafted to take the player on a fantastic voyage into a world of patchwork, you will easily fall in love with Kirby's attitude and yarn-inspired aesthetics.
  5. It's rare for a visual direction to have such a profound impact on gameplay, but the two are seamlessly interwoven in Kirby's Epic Yarn. It's certainly not one of the more challenging platformers out there, but it's a breathtaking experience nonetheless.
  6. Mar 7, 2011
    80
    Kirby's Epic Yarn is a well made platforming adventure that delivers exactly what we expected from all the trailers and previews. It's a fun experience for one or two players and is especially suitable for children. The Wii may lack a large amount of quality games, but as long as Nintendo keep providing solid platforming experiences like this one we'll keep the complaints to a minimum.
  7. Oct 27, 2010
    60
    Perfectly sized for young children and the parties with all the family, Kirby's Epic Yarn is undeniably one of the titles that everyone can conclude without real effort, especially with two players, but still keeps some surprises in store for those who want to unlock everything.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 59
  2. Negative: 1 out of 59
  1. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    You do not need difficulty to have a good time. This game removes the idea of rushing and frustration and concentrates on the idea of classicYou do not need difficulty to have a good time. This game removes the idea of rushing and frustration and concentrates on the idea of classic platforming game, and innovative uses of buttons and yarns. It's a masterpiece when you think deeply about it. Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    This game just couldn't be better !! Gameplay is amazing, two-player co-op is incredibly funny ! At the end quite difficult !

    Thanks
    This game just couldn't be better !! Gameplay is amazing, two-player co-op is incredibly funny ! At the end quite difficult !

    Thanks Nintendo and the other important developer !
    Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    What the developers have achieved is nothing short of epic! Who knew yarn could be this fun? If you need difficulty, there are many otherWhat the developers have achieved is nothing short of epic! Who knew yarn could be this fun? If you need difficulty, there are many other games on Wii for that. This is about sheer fun and exploration. Collection is where most of challenge is. Any level gamer should enjoy this. Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    9
    The game is pure FUN! it looks really good, and it may not be challenging, but it still has depth and hours of fun! PURE CLASSIC PLATFORMINGThe game is pure FUN! it looks really good, and it may not be challenging, but it still has depth and hours of fun! PURE CLASSIC PLATFORMING OLD SCHOOL FUN! the design of the levels is awesome, and some of the boss battles are epic, but the music is rather meh, every song with a piano and kinda boring, but sometimes, the songs get epic. ONE OF THE MUST HAVES ON THE WII Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    Creative and Fun!
    GRAPHICS: Pure imaginative joy. 9/10
    ADVENTURE: The story is weird but the fun is top shelf. 9/10 MECHANICS: This game is
    Creative and Fun!
    GRAPHICS: Pure imaginative joy. 9/10
    ADVENTURE: The story is weird but the fun is top shelf. 9/10
    MECHANICS: This game is very easy to pick up and play. 9/10
    EXTRAS: Having Epic Yarn in my game library provides two excellent functions. First, it is a great children's/'terrible at video games spouse' game. Second, anyone who can experience this game and not smile has some serious problems, it's like hating Mr. Rogers or puppies... watch out for these people.
    Expand
  6. Apr 9, 2012
    8
    Kirby's Epic Yarn is a delightfully charming platformer. It's graphical design and general sense of childlike imagination is a joy to behold.Kirby's Epic Yarn is a delightfully charming platformer. It's graphical design and general sense of childlike imagination is a joy to behold. You can't die in the game, so it can be played easily by younger gamers without fear of frustration. There is also an unobtrusive co-op feature, which works well and is great fun. For the hardcore gamer, Kirby's Epic Yarn won't offer a challenge, but it will offer a lot of stress-free, relaxing fun. Expand
  7. Aug 6, 2013
    3
    I will be the only person that will be negative about this game. I know it looks good and yes I know it is very cute and looks it does soundI will be the only person that will be negative about this game. I know it looks good and yes I know it is very cute and looks it does sound really good but its not Kirby. This is a game that Nintendo wanted to make and had every right to make but why put Kirby in it. The Kirby franchise is one of my favorite series that has ever been made and it kinda makes him look less like a pink badass and more like a pink little jerk. I like been able to turn into a fire breather and a guy that looks likes Link but instead of him been old school Kirby he was turned into something so cute it made me mad and very upset. He is not yarn he is a monster eating alien. I hate this game with all my heart and I want people to hate this game but that is not going to happen anytime soon. Expand

See all 59 User Reviews