User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 120

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    I strongly disagree with IGN's review of Kirby's Return to Dream Land. Sure, the game may be easy (fortunately, the difficulty ramps up during later levels) and the plot may be somewhat unoriginal, but that's not the point; the point is that you are playing a gorgeous, finely-polished Kirby game that has been in development since Kirby 64 was released.
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    9
    Another awesome game for Kirby! It is very fun, bright and well made. This is the first traditional Kirby game release since Mouse Attack on the DS (another great game) but is a step up. The graphics are very cheerful and bright (although sometimes they are a little too simplistic to the point of looking a little bland), as is the music and story. It is a great game, but not up to the standards of Epic Yarn or Mass Attack which both offer different styles of gameplay. It's very much a joyous experience, but not quite at the top of the Kirby games, 89/100. Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wonderful, truly wonderful! A fantastic mix of Kirby 64, Kirby's Adventure and Kirby's epic yarn.

    Graphics It's a Kirby game, everything is bright and kawaii, characters are well animated, so are abilities. The anti-aliasing is very good, and the anisotropic filtering is better than some Xbox one and PS4 games. Graphically it's charming with very few issues, if any.

    Gameplay Standard Kirby platforming that remains loyal (*cough* Kirby mass attack *cough*) to games like Kirby's adventure for the NES, and has elements of Kirby 64. It is fun, yet has occasional difficulty spikes with no difficulty curve. Still excellent fun, and good for all the family, with no real violence and 4-player co-op.

    Story Much like other Kirby games, this has a very easy-to-understand story that is family friendly. A star cutter has crash landed and Kirby needs to help the Star warrior inside the ship rebuild it. Easy. A good, enjoyable story that doesn't even try to be over-complicated.

    Verdict A fun, family-friendly platformer, that is good for core and casual gamers alike. Unresponsive controls and difficulty spikes instead of a difficulty curve are all that harms this game, yet any difficulty is real *glares at Hitman Absolution* and what you are getting is fully worth the money. 8.5/10 (rounded up)
    Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2013
    9
    An awesome game, the long awaited wii installment for Kirby, it doesn't disappoint! The option to play as Kirby, Meta Knight, King Dedede, and his right hand Waddle Dee, all 4 players will have fun for days! The music is amazing as well! It was a little easy at times, and the extra mode is kinda boring. The graphics are great and the story and characters are so cute! Go get it now if you don't have it! Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2011
    9
    What kind of person gives a superb game a offensively negative score? Metacritic should not even register the top/bottom 10% of reviews, because the haters and mindless fanboys are making a mockery of the system.
  6. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    This game is an absolute masterpiece. Brilliant! A true homage to the SNES classics, but even better. Definitely a must buy for the Wii.
    If you're looking for fun and something worth your time and money, look no further.
  7. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    If you ask me, which you are if you are reading my review, I think this game, like Scott said, isn't really meant to be a "24-hour hard-core" challenger. It's more like a "spend a weekend with your friends and have a nice, relaxing gaming experience" kind of game. I think the multiplayer is nice ( I've always wanted to play as Dedede) and the story and minigames are interesting enough to keep your attention. Expand
  8. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Is He back? YES HE IS BACK! Kirby finally brings a true sequel to its 3d classic Kirby 64, even much more enhanced than ever before. This is the finest Kirby game you can ever find at least on his formula, on his spin off games is of course Epic Yarn. But really, visually great, the amount of powers is endless, and no power feels useless except the sleepy trap one of course. Boss fights are engaging, and it gets difficult by the minute, and just when things seem to be over, the game brings you even more levels to play! Expand
  9. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    This is the best kirby game ever! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  10. Aug 18, 2014
    10
    Really fun game! The graphics are wonderful, the story is clear and is a true hail to the SNES classics and even the N64 Kirby but better. It's fun not only as a single player but as a multiplayer game where in addition to having the choice to be a different colored Kirby, you can also be DeDeDe, a Waddledee, or Metaknight. They even brought back the parasol and you can get "Super" powers (regular ones but bigger/better) in addition to new ones and all in all.... it's **** Kirby. It plays like a classic Kirby game, feels like one, and is a great adventure. Must have for the Wii Expand
  11. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    a masterpiece rivaled only by earlier kirby titles like superstar.

    truly an amazing game worthy of being called a HAL title. one may only weep at what they have in store for us in the future.
  12. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    EXCELLENT game. Kirby's Return To Dream Land has beautiful visuals, exhilarating gameplay, and the classic charm of Kirby. I'd seriously recommend this to everyone.
  13. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    If you like classic platformer games, this game is for you!. Maybe it is not as Dificult as other wii platformers, but, Kirby has never been dificult. What makes Kirby special is its amount of fun and charm!. With its colorfull environments, optional (but fun) multiplayer, and the lot of things to do, this is definetly a worthy purchase!... P.S: if you are searching for some kind of challenge, better go with DKCReturns! Expand
  14. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Kirby's Return to Dreamland is the most success game ever after previews Kirby..
    such great ideas with great new moves and style ..COOP is Epic why should we think about this game soo much??? its FUUUUUUUUUUN
    play and never feel boaring about it
  15. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Are you people on some kind of drug? This is the best Kirby game ever made and it IS hard if you actually go and play past world 4, which I doubt any critic even did. Plus there's a 'Hard Mode' you unlock after beating the extremely difficult final boss. The complaints make no sense whatsoever and just lead me to believe there's a serious bias against ANY Wii game no matter the quality. Critics say "it's more of the same" but then go and award the tenth Call of Duty expansion pack a perfect 10. Expand
  16. May 6, 2012
    9
    Amazing, thats the one word that describes this game, if you are a hardcore Kirby fan and was kinda burned by Epic Yarn and Mass attack. I promise that won't happen here. With new abilites, many unlockables, and great sub-games, by the end of the game, this could be among you favorite titles in the series.
  17. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    the best local 4 players game that i have played, a great kirby game similar to the old one but with its own unique charm, a cute and sweet game, that is fun from begining to end :)
  18. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    I honestly don't know what other reviewers are saying when they claim that this game is "too easy". Because if they think that then either they're a master at Kirby games or simply didn't play it all the way through. This game is by no means "too easy", sure it starts off easy but like all platformers, the difficulty increases, like if Kirby's Epic Yarn (which I loved) was a 3/10 in terms of difficulty, Kirby's Return to Dreamland is at least a 7 or 8/10, especially when trying to collect all the energy spheres and getting platinum medals in all the challenges (which I've yet to accomplish > Expand
  19. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    This Is the best wii/Kirby game ever!There's new abilities and mini games and more!For my opinan I think that leave and spark are the best.The two mini games Ninja dojo and the other one that I forgot what it's called are both so fun!This game is the clasic kirby game mixed with the awsomeness (never ending awsomeness)!So if you whant a good or even awsome game better get this one because you will play it nonestop! Expand
  20. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    It's **** Kirby, what do you expect? Tanks and helicopters flying through the air? It's brilliant, and bringing it back to the original ways. I just love it.
  21. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    Kirby's long awaited return to console gaming was a complete success. HAL Laboratories have definitely out done themselves. This game is faithful to the series as it does re-use a lot of the same game mechanics, all the while adding in new characters and a much improved co-op mode. Plus, the game itself can be awe inspiring at times, and the music is some of the best in the Kirby series. A definite must for any Wii or Wii U owner. Expand
  22. Jun 29, 2014
    10
    in the entire franchises this game has the best music, game play, bosses, multi player, extras and graphics. the super ability is the best change of all. there is nothing wrong whit this game, even tho it game is on the easy side. i have spend probably 70 hours into this game and it still isn't boring. this game is worth your time and money.
  23. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    When playing this game I remembered tiny myself playing Kirby on SNES. That moment a man's nostalgic tear dropped down my face. Ten of a ten, guys, ten of a ten.
  24. Dec 12, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is perfect for most great Kirby game standards just passing the squeak squad game but not the super star ultra game. The reason because only most Kirby games this game has repetitive level design for the super abiltys which is kinda annoying no major moveset for this ability ever all you do is push one button to do one move. However alot of other thing outclassed that. So here comes the good part. The music and graphics are truly amazing. The boss battles are well designed such as the grand doomer and mogolor soul. Also the mini boss are quite easy but well made. One thing I'm proud of this game is the fact they tried something different. All of the new abiltys and bosses are what really make this game a work of art. The multi player part is not bad ether but a little boring when you have super ability since the game is constanly pausing show the same move over and over again. All the enemies gone nothing for the others to do. However thankfully these little super abilities only make a appearance in 50% of the levels. Other than than this game is well made and fun. Heesh it was at least fun enough to keep me occupied until I beat the game 100% buy it it worth it. Expand
  25. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Absolutely Amazing, the game is just a nice recreations of Kirby's best gameplay, with multiple habilities by power and fun bosses, co-op gameplay and that nice soundtrack! If you find this game, BUY it.
  26. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    Its a fun, simple platforming game just like in the 90s. If you didn't like Kirby games back then, you probably wont like this one as well. It isn't a game that is suppose to frustrate you or test your skills as a gamer, it is a game that is just pure fun to play, especially if you can get a couple of friends to come over and play multiplayer
  27. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    I've only played up into Level 2 and I can already tell that this game is a masterpiece. Far better than the overhyped and overblown Skyward Sword. This is a game that rivals NSMBW as the best platformer on the console. It may not be incredibly difficult, but the gameplay is so varied, refined and distilled, and the effect is pure bliss. This was the best Wii game of 2011, period. I had more fun playing Kirby Link than I did playing real Link in SS. I can't wait to get some friends and play as King Dedede! Expand
  28. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    It's **** Kirby, what do you expect? Tanks and helicopters flying through the air? It's brilliant, and bringing it back to the original ways. I just love it. This game is an absolute masterpiece. Brilliant! A true homage to the SNES classics, but even better. Definitely a must buy for the Wii. If you're looking for fun and something worth your time and money, look no further. Its a fun, simple platforming game just like in the 90s. If you didn't like Kirby games back then, you probably wont like this one as well. It isn't a game that is suppose to frustrate you or test your skills as a gamer, it is a game that is just pure fun to play, especially if you can get a couple of friends to come over and play multiplayer. BEST KIRBY GAME MADE HANDS DOWN. A superbly polished and refined culmination of design and trademark elements from Kirby's oldest title to his newest. The platforming is beautifully designed, the powers are enjoyable thanks to the fact they're influenced by KSS, multiplayer is a fun addition, and the game itself sounds and looks great. The new super moves are a blast. Expand
  29. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kirby back in Dream Land? Heck yeah! It's been a while since we had traditional enemy sucking and ability stealing action and it's good to be back on that road. Plus, the game's villain Magolor is awesome! :D Expand
  30. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    This game was great! I enjoyed playing it with my friend alot, and it doesn't seem repetitive to me.
    The only reason I wouldn't give it a 10 cause its not completely flawless.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. 60
    Trashy and naïve platformer comes in a traditional style. The best way to enjoy the new Kirby is co-op multiplayer – preferably an adult together with a kid. [Jan 2012]
  2. Feb 6, 2012
    80
    Kirby's twelfth adventure is, as expected, an old-fashioned platformgame. Split in two worlds we're offered several, entertaining levels,and all the classic platform elements are present, as they should be. The various abilities Kirby can absorb from his enemies, makes surethat this game never gets boring.
  3. 70
    It seems that by not having to come up with an original idea, the developers have been able to make the game more cohesive. This is a fun and accessible platformer with plenty of charm, fun superpowers, and a somewhat odd multiplayer mode that takes a little getting used to.