User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 108
  2. Negative: 11 out of 108

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    This is Kirby at his best. Everything in the game has the same feeling of those classic Kirby games we all love so much. The level design, the enemies[new and old], the powers, the mini games, the difficulty, everything takes me back to the good old Kirby Super Star. It's just that good. Kirby fans will appreciate it a lot. If you're not a Kirby fan, just give the game a chance. Kirby games always start cute and easy and end awesome and challenging. Give it a try. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Is He back? YES HE IS BACK! Kirby finally brings a true sequel to its 3d classic Kirby 64, even much more enhanced than ever before. This is the finest Kirby game you can ever find at least on his formula, on his spin off games is of course Epic Yarn. But really, visually great, the amount of powers is endless, and no power feels useless except the sleepy trap one of course. Boss fights are engaging, and it gets difficult by the minute, and just when things seem to be over, the game brings you even more levels to play! Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    Its a fun, simple platforming game just like in the 90s. If you didn't like Kirby games back then, you probably wont like this one as well. It isn't a game that is suppose to frustrate you or test your skills as a gamer, it is a game that is just pure fun to play, especially if you can get a couple of friends to come over and play multiplayer
  4. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Are you people on some kind of drug? This is the best Kirby game ever made and it IS hard if you actually go and play past world 4, which I doubt any critic even did. Plus there's a 'Hard Mode' you unlock after beating the extremely difficult final boss. The complaints make no sense whatsoever and just lead me to believe there's a serious bias against ANY Wii game no matter the quality. Critics say "it's more of the same" but then go and award the tenth Call of Duty expansion pack a perfect 10. Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    If you ask me, which you are if you are reading my review, I think this game, like Scott said, isn't really meant to be a "24-hour hard-core" challenger. It's more like a "spend a weekend with your friends and have a nice, relaxing gaming experience" kind of game. I think the multiplayer is nice ( I've always wanted to play as Dedede) and the story and minigames are interesting enough to keep your attention. Expand
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    9
    What kind of person gives a superb game a offensively negative score? Metacritic should not even register the top/bottom 10% of reviews, because the haters and mindless fanboys are making a mockery of the system.
  7. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    This game is an absolute masterpiece. Brilliant! A true homage to the SNES classics, but even better. Definitely a must buy for the Wii.
    If you're looking for fun and something worth your time and money, look no further.
  8. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    the best local 4 players game that i have played, a great kirby game similar to the old one but with its own unique charm, a cute and sweet game, that is fun from begining to end :)
  9. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    EXCELLENT game. Kirby's Return To Dream Land has beautiful visuals, exhilarating gameplay, and the classic charm of Kirby. I'd seriously recommend this to everyone.
  10. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    I strongly disagree with IGN's review of Kirby's Return to Dream Land. Sure, the game may be easy (fortunately, the difficulty ramps up during later levels) and the plot may be somewhat unoriginal, but that's not the point; the point is that you are playing a gorgeous, finely-polished Kirby game that has been in development since Kirby 64 was released.
  11. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    It's **** Kirby, what do you expect? Tanks and helicopters flying through the air? It's brilliant, and bringing it back to the original ways. I just love it.
  12. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    I've only played up into Level 2 and I can already tell that this game is a masterpiece. Far better than the overhyped and overblown Skyward Sword. This is a game that rivals NSMBW as the best platformer on the console. It may not be incredibly difficult, but the gameplay is so varied, refined and distilled, and the effect is pure bliss. This was the best Wii game of 2011, period. I had more fun playing Kirby Link than I did playing real Link in SS. I can't wait to get some friends and play as King Dedede! Expand
  13. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    This game was great! I enjoyed playing it with my friend alot, and it doesn't seem repetitive to me.
    The only reason I wouldn't give it a 10 cause its not completely flawless.
  14. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    BEST KIRBY GAME MADE HANDS DOWN.

    A superbly polished and refined culmination of design and trademark elements from Kirby's oldest title to his newest.

    The platforming is beautifully designed, the powers are enjoyable thanks to the fact they're influenced by KSS, multiplayer is a fun addition, and the game itself sounds and looks great. The new super moves are a blast. The challenge picks
    up as the game goes on and even though it never gets masochistically hard, it remains really engaging and thanks to extras there are more challenges and fun to be had. There's an extra mode you can unlock where you have less health and have to deal with many more enemies. The boss fights are also more challenging. The game manages to be incredibly engaging regardless. OVERALL this is a game for Kirby fans, by Kirby creators, with ALL THE LOVE IN THE WORLD.

    If you're a Kirby fan and you don't have this game yet, GET IT. If you're new to the series, than Kirby's Return To Dreamland is the definitive traditional Kirby title to try and own.
    Expand
  15. Oct 31, 2011
    9
    Very good game. A perfect edition to the Kirby series and a great way to make up for Epic Yarn (It wasn't bad, just too different and you can't die). HAL did a great job converting the classic copy abilities to a new game and adding new moves to them. Paired with the new copy abilities and the super copy abilities, it really adds to the game's dynamics. To make this game absolutely perfect HAL should have integrated the copy ability mix system like in Crystal Shards and added a bit more worlds. Yes the game is extremely easy, with most enemies dying in 1 hit, but Kirby has always been really easy. The music is great, the art is great, the graphics are very good for a Wii game. Also there's no Wii-mote gimmicks to hinder game play just simply holding the controller sideways, no nunchuck to get in the way which is perfect because the game doesn't need it. The edition of multiplayer and the ability for another player to jump in/out at any time is great. The ability to unlock extras by collecting energy spheres gives you more stuff to do whilst playing through the game. The challenges (which you unlock by collecting a certain amount of energy spheres) are fun and are challenging at first but after a few runs though them they become easy, but still fun. The mini-games are very fun playing with someone or by yourself. I love how they added the copy ability rooms (once again, unlocked via energy spheres) so there's no need to scour levels for a certain copy ability. The game itself is relatively short (~8 hours) even if you collect all the energy spheres. The challenges will add an hour or two of gameplay but not a massive amount.That being said, once you beat the game you can unlock a hard mode option which makes the game harder (obviously). There's no need to speed through the game though. Take your time and admire the work put into the landscapes and music. In short, RTD is a great addition to the Kirby series and should be taken light-heartedly. Expand
  16. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Absolutely Amazing, the game is just a nice recreations of Kirby's best gameplay, with multiple habilities by power and fun bosses, co-op gameplay and that nice soundtrack! If you find this game, BUY it.
  17. Aug 22, 2012
    9
    Another awesome game for Kirby! It is very fun, bright and well made. This is the first traditional Kirby game release since Mouse Attack on the DS (another great game) but is a step up. The graphics are very cheerful and bright (although sometimes they are a little too simplistic to the point of looking a little bland), as is the music and story. It is a great game, but not up to the standards of Epic Yarn or Mass Attack which both offer different styles of gameplay. It's very much a joyous experience, but not quite at the top of the Kirby games, 89/100. Expand
  18. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    If you like classic platformer games, this game is for you!. Maybe it is not as Dificult as other wii platformers, but, Kirby has never been dificult. What makes Kirby special is its amount of fun and charm!. With its colorfull environments, optional (but fun) multiplayer, and the lot of things to do, this is definetly a worthy purchase!... P.S: if you are searching for some kind of challenge, better go with DKCReturns! Expand
  19. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Kirby's Return to Dreamland is the most success game ever after previews Kirby..
    such great ideas with great new moves and style ..COOP is Epic why should we think about this game soo much??? its FUUUUUUUUUUN
    play and never feel boaring about it
  20. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Great game all kirby fans can enjoy. I love this game! it packs lots of content, new abilities, and the best multi-player a kirby game has ever had. What is stopping you from getting it if you like kirby? You must own this, NOW!!!!!
  21. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Perfect Kirby Game. Has everything you could want. Lots of content, best graphics ever, good enough storyline for a Kirby game. Best multiplayer i've played. BUY. THIS. GAMEEEEE..
  22. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Awesome. I've had been waiting for this game since they first announced it back in 2005. When I first started playing I started to worry the entire game was going to be easy and monotonous as well as short, but after continuing to play I realized how great a game this was. The plot twists and imaginatively creepy, amazing, and challenge boss battle, and the extra hard post-game mode made this game extremely enjoyable and rewarding. The music was original along with nostalgic. All these components made for a fun game to play! I would recommend it! Expand
  23. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Kirby returns to his roots in this fantastic game that made me realize how much I missed traditional Kirby games. Sure games like Mass Attack and Epic Yarn are great and all, but when it comes to Kirby, there's nothing better than sucking.
  24. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    It's **** Kirby, what do you expect? Tanks and helicopters flying through the air? It's brilliant, and bringing it back to the original ways. I just love it. This game is an absolute masterpiece. Brilliant! A true homage to the SNES classics, but even better. Definitely a must buy for the Wii. If you're looking for fun and something worth your time and money, look no further. Its a fun, simple platforming game just like in the 90s. If you didn't like Kirby games back then, you probably wont like this one as well. It isn't a game that is suppose to frustrate you or test your skills as a gamer, it is a game that is just pure fun to play, especially if you can get a couple of friends to come over and play multiplayer. BEST KIRBY GAME MADE HANDS DOWN. A superbly polished and refined culmination of design and trademark elements from Kirby's oldest title to his newest. The platforming is beautifully designed, the powers are enjoyable thanks to the fact they're influenced by KSS, multiplayer is a fun addition, and the game itself sounds and looks great. The new super moves are a blast. Expand
  25. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    When playing this game I remembered tiny myself playing Kirby on SNES. That moment a man's nostalgic tear dropped down my face. Ten of a ten, guys, ten of a ten.
  26. Jul 31, 2013
    9
    An awesome game, the long awaited wii installment for Kirby, it doesn't disappoint! The option to play as Kirby, Meta Knight, King Dedede, and his right hand Waddle Dee, all 4 players will have fun for days! The music is amazing as well! It was a little easy at times, and the extra mode is kinda boring. The graphics are great and the story and characters are so cute! Go get it now if you don't have it! Expand
  27. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    This is the best kirby game ever! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  28. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    I honestly don't know what other reviewers are saying when they claim that this game is "too easy". Because if they think that then either they're a master at Kirby games or simply didn't play it all the way through. This game is by no means "too easy", sure it starts off easy but like all platformers, the difficulty increases, like if Kirby's Epic Yarn (which I loved) was a 3/10 in terms of difficulty, Kirby's Return to Dreamland is at least a 7 or 8/10, especially when trying to collect all the energy spheres and getting platinum medals in all the challenges (which I've yet to accomplish > Expand
  29. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kirby back in Dream Land? Heck yeah! It's been a while since we had traditional enemy sucking and ability stealing action and it's good to be back on that road. Plus, the game's villain Magolor is awesome! :D Expand
  30. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    This Is the best wii/Kirby game ever!There's new abilities and mini games and more!For my opinan I think that leave and spark are the best.The two mini games Ninja dojo and the other one that I forgot what it's called are both so fun!This game is the clasic kirby game mixed with the awsomeness (never ending awsomeness)!So if you whant a good or even awsome game better get this one because you will play it nonestop! Expand
  31. May 6, 2012
    9
    Amazing, thats the one word that describes this game, if you are a hardcore Kirby fan and was kinda burned by Epic Yarn and Mass attack. I promise that won't happen here. With new abilites, many unlockables, and great sub-games, by the end of the game, this could be among you favorite titles in the series.
  32. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wonderful, truly wonderful! A fantastic mix of Kirby 64, Kirby's Adventure and Kirby's epic yarn.

    Graphics It's a Kirby game, everything is bright and kawaii, characters are well animated, so are abilities. The anti-aliasing is very good, and the anisotropic filtering is better than some Xbox one and PS4 games. Graphically it's charming with very few issues, if any.

    Gameplay Standard Kirby platforming that remains loyal (*cough* Kirby mass attack *cough*) to games like Kirby's adventure for the NES, and has elements of Kirby 64. It is fun, yet has occasional difficulty spikes with no difficulty curve. Still excellent fun, and good for all the family, with no real violence and 4-player co-op.

    Story Much like other Kirby games, this has a very easy-to-understand story that is family friendly. A star cutter has crash landed and Kirby needs to help the Star warrior inside the ship rebuild it. Easy. A good, enjoyable story that doesn't even try to be over-complicated.

    Verdict A fun, family-friendly platformer, that is good for core and casual gamers alike. Unresponsive controls and difficulty spikes instead of a difficulty curve are all that harms this game, yet any difficulty is real *glares at Hitman Absolution* and what you are getting is fully worth the money. 8.5/10 (rounded up)
    Expand
  33. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    a masterpiece rivaled only by earlier kirby titles like superstar.

    truly an amazing game worthy of being called a HAL title. one may only weep at what they have in store for us in the future.
  34. Dec 12, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is perfect for most great Kirby game standards just passing the squeak squad game but not the super star ultra game. The reason because only most Kirby games this game has repetitive level design for the super abiltys which is kinda annoying no major moveset for this ability ever all you do is push one button to do one move. However alot of other thing outclassed that. So here comes the good part. The music and graphics are truly amazing. The boss battles are well designed such as the grand doomer and mogolor soul. Also the mini boss are quite easy but well made. One thing I'm proud of this game is the fact they tried something different. All of the new abiltys and bosses are what really make this game a work of art. The multi player part is not bad ether but a little boring when you have super ability since the game is constanly pausing show the same move over and over again. All the enemies gone nothing for the others to do. However thankfully these little super abilities only make a appearance in 50% of the levels. Other than than this game is well made and fun. Heesh it was at least fun enough to keep me occupied until I beat the game 100% buy it it worth it. Expand
  35. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    Kirby's long awaited return to console gaming was a complete success. HAL Laboratories have definitely out done themselves. This game is faithful to the series as it does re-use a lot of the same game mechanics, all the while adding in new characters and a much improved co-op mode. Plus, the game itself can be awe inspiring at times, and the music is some of the best in the Kirby series. A definite must for any Wii or Wii U owner. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. 60
    Trashy and naïve platformer comes in a traditional style. The best way to enjoy the new Kirby is co-op multiplayer – preferably an adult together with a kid. [Jan 2012]
  2. Feb 6, 2012
    80
    Kirby's twelfth adventure is, as expected, an old-fashioned platformgame. Split in two worlds we're offered several, entertaining levels,and all the classic platform elements are present, as they should be. The various abilities Kirby can absorb from his enemies, makes surethat this game never gets boring.
  3. 70
    It seems that by not having to come up with an original idea, the developers have been able to make the game more cohesive. This is a fun and accessible platformer with plenty of charm, fun superpowers, and a somewhat odd multiplayer mode that takes a little getting used to.