Kororinpa: Marble Mania Wii

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Mar 20, 2007
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
Buy On
  1. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    73
    Marble mania ought to be the final test for any aspiring surgeon due to its requirement for a steady hand and a high level of patience. [Apr 2007, p.79]
  2. It's been nicely designed and it uses the Wii-mote's tilt motion-sensors to perfection. Those who need more action and get easily frustrated might not enjoy the game as much.
  3. games(TM)
    70
    With slightly more content and slightly improved visuals, it would have been essential. As it is, if you want a brief and thoroughly entertaining alternative to Banana Blitz, roll with this. [Feb 2007, p.124]
  4. There could have been twice as many puzzles and we'd still want more. Kororinpa: Marble Mania is just plain fun.
  5. Nintendo Power
    70
    Solid production values and a highly polished presentation(including an excellent soundtrack)round out the fun-but-understated package. [May 2007, p.87
  6. 70
    I would imagine that most people will finish and grow bored with Kororinpa in a couple of days. Still, it's one of those games that you really enjoy while it lasts -- it's just a little too simplistic for its own good.
  7. Gentle and frustrating in equal parts, on the whole Kororinpa is a worthy addition to any Wii library, presuming that you bought the console as you weren't interested in a constant supply of macho shooters and driving games.
  8. Its greatest failing is simply that the fun ends too soon.
  9. Few games can boast some of the best controls that the Wii has to offer.
  10. This is a hard sell, but if you like puzzles check it out. The game is rewarding, but bring your own music to the party.
  11. 70
    Kororinpa isn't a massively deep game - we're talking more like swimming pool than Marianas Trench - and as such it certainly won't take most people very long to plough through to the credits, but when compared games of this ilk there's still plenty to come back for.
  12. 65
    Kororinpa is fun, but only in small doses. The lack of more levels, characters, and modes really hurt this otherwise solid game.
  13. It utilizes the Wii nicely. It’s not a game that will last a long time, though, and it doesn’t offer enough game hours to warrant the initial price.
  14. Honestly, anyone interested spending over $40 on a game like this would be better off with Super Monkey Ball.
  15. 62
    A fun game; plain and simple. The design is solid, the gameplay is there for the most part, and the simple, intuitive control is charming and entertaining. Where the game lacks, however, it lacks in a huge way, offering only a handful of levels, a few extra marbles to tinker with, and no longevity to keep players coming back after the first couple hours.
  16. Edge Magazine
    60
    With handsomely designed environments, and a deviously three-dimensional approach to level design, Kororinpa is exactly the kind of simple, sustaining software that the Wii needs to build on. [Feb 2007, p.84]
  17. Controller novelty value can't disguise its one-trick limitations or the vanilla production values, and there's no doubt that it should have been released at a budget price. One to rent, then.
  18. Although the game provides mild amusement, thanks to well-designed stages and different types of marbles, it only takes a few hours to beat.. Its lack of difficulty combined with limited modes keep it from justifying its $39.99 price.
  19. 60
    It is a decent game in its own right and can be quite fun at times, but there is nowhere near enough content to justify its asking price.
  20. 60
    So while the game doesn't go feature crazy like Sega's monkey handlers, it under-delivers, leaving players with a mile-long wish list of mini-games, activities and unlockables they long to see included in the sequel.
  21. Kororinpa: Marble Mania gets challenging too late and doesn't have enough levels to hold your interest for long.
  22. The simple controls and straightforward gameplay make it possible for anyone to play. Unfortunately, the number of levels is too small for the game to have any lasting appeal and issues with the camera can be frustrating.
  23. Once the game reaches a 20-dollar price tag, by all means, it is worth having in your collection, but until then, maybe you should just stick to playing "Monkey Ball" while you wait.
  24. This mania is manic. It’s a bipolar challenge swinging wildly towards the mundane, with only the occasional blip of opposition and aggravation that would be welcomed as liberators.
  25. Just as you are beginning to be entertained by Kororinpa, its all over. Frankly this would have been better placed as a budget release as outside of the main mode you only have a standard two player offering or the option to beat your previous best time.
  26. It feels much more suited to a low-priced download such as Xbox Live Arcade's "Marble Blast Ultra" rather than a $79 [AU] release.

Awards & Rankings

#64 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. SimonG.
    Jan 1, 2008
    7
    I always like it when I grab a budget game that's actually a lot of fun. Again, this is higly inspired my Super Monkey Balls, but I I always like it when I grab a budget game that's actually a lot of fun. Again, this is higly inspired my Super Monkey Balls, but I greatly prefrer Kororinpa over the annoying Monkeys. My only conplains are that it's a little to short and I would've prefer holding the remote in a classic way (works great for mercury meltdown). Full Review »
  2. TonyL.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    I'm not a gamer. Bought a WII this year at age 63. I'm an engineer and found this game quite a challenge in its 3D puzzles. I did I'm not a gamer. Bought a WII this year at age 63. I'm an engineer and found this game quite a challenge in its 3D puzzles. I did get all 45 levels and was a bit disappointed to only unlock the mirror puzzles. But I had many, many enjoyable, and at times frustrating, hours. Looking forward to a sequel. Full Review »
  3. MichaelH.
    Aug 8, 2007
    9
    This is what the Wii was made for. An especially welcomed title early in the Wii's life when the only alternative was mini-games.