Kororinpa: Marble Mania Wii

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Mar 20, 2007
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
Buy On
  1. 75
    The game's greatest fault, really, is that it's over too soon. Missed opportunities and some perspective oddities aside, Kororinpa: Marble Mania is a solid, charming puzzler.
  2. Kororinpa: Marble Mania is without a doubt a fun and engaging game that works well on the Wii with its accurate and intuitive motion control.
  3. Kororinpa serves as a quick dose of fun. It just needs some more beef to keep players coming back.
  4. Then - oh, as if Kororinpa hadn't lied to us about how much it has to offer - getting to the first 45 levels unlocks another 45 levels, but they're just the same levels reversed. Not played from back to front, just mirrored. It was about at this point that our heart broke, and we couldn't do anything but weep softly. [JPN Import]
  5. Games Master UK
    79
    A short and simple game, but one you'll enjoy every second of. [May 2007, p.71]
  6. The game was a joy to watch my children play. I enjoyed the 1-player experience for a while, but quickly tired of some of the tedium.
  7. Hardcore Gamer
    90
    Kororinpa, feels like a solid beginning to what could become a beloved franchise. [May 2007, p.59]
  8. Kororinpa wowed us with its lithe 3D flexibility, but it lied about its depth. Now we're stuck: we can't ever go back to "Monkey Ball," but know we've been cheated. Life is so hard. [JPN Import; Mar 2007, p.48]
  9. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    80
    When it comes to party games or something the whole family can enjoy you could do worse than Kororinpa, but experienced gamers may feel annoyed at the lack of real challenge. [Mar 2007, p.70]
  10. 75
    It’s a little rough around the edges and there’s not much in the way of variety here, but what it does do it does well.
  11. Pelit (Finland)
    80
    A fun and reasonably original Marble Madness/Super Monkey Ball clone. The control system is excellent. Too bad the game is much too easy. [Apr 2007]
  12. The game is a lot of fun, but there isn’t a lot to it. You can get through all of the tracks in just a few hours.
  13. The type of game that the Wii needs more of. It's instantly accessible, yet there are times when its genuine challenge and excellent design can cause the player to pull out his or her hair. Hudson needs to make a sequel to this ASAP.

Awards & Rankings

#64 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. SimonG.
    Jan 1, 2008
    7
    I always like it when I grab a budget game that's actually a lot of fun. Again, this is higly inspired my Super Monkey Balls, but I I always like it when I grab a budget game that's actually a lot of fun. Again, this is higly inspired my Super Monkey Balls, but I greatly prefrer Kororinpa over the annoying Monkeys. My only conplains are that it's a little to short and I would've prefer holding the remote in a classic way (works great for mercury meltdown). Full Review »
  2. TonyL.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    I'm not a gamer. Bought a WII this year at age 63. I'm an engineer and found this game quite a challenge in its 3D puzzles. I did I'm not a gamer. Bought a WII this year at age 63. I'm an engineer and found this game quite a challenge in its 3D puzzles. I did get all 45 levels and was a bit disappointed to only unlock the mirror puzzles. But I had many, many enjoyable, and at times frustrating, hours. Looking forward to a sequel. Full Review »
  3. MichaelH.
    Aug 8, 2007
    9
    This is what the Wii was made for. An especially welcomed title early in the Wii's life when the only alternative was mini-games.