Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A stampede of notorious criminals have busted out of Arkham Asylum, where Gotham City houses only the shadiest of characters. It's up to the famed Caped Crusader to sweep Gotham clean of criminal activity using everything at his disposal, including crime-fighting vehicles as well as severalA stampede of notorious criminals have busted out of Arkham Asylum, where Gotham City houses only the shadiest of characters. It's up to the famed Caped Crusader to sweep Gotham clean of criminal activity using everything at his disposal, including crime-fighting vehicles as well as several baddie-bashing bat gadgets. [Warner Bros.] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. A few resurfacing niggles don't spoil the most freeform and fun Lego game to date. [Dec 2008, p.75]
  2. Batman hasn't changed his act in 70 years, so don't be surprised to find a game that's stuck in its ways. But what ludicrously fun ways they are. [Nov 2008, p.44]
  3. The storyline follows the exploits of the pantheon of Batman villains after their escape from Arkham Asylum and the subsequent mayhem that ensues, but you don't need to be familiar with any of that to sit down and play along with your kids.
  4. 75
    Although there isn’t a lot that’s new in LEGO Batman, fans will not be disappointed. The title retains the standard LEGO gameplay, has a wonderful cast of characters, and offers players tons of replay value.
  5. Anyone searching for the ultimate co-op experience on the Wii should look no further than LEGO Batman.
  6. After the releases of LEGO Star Wars and LEGO Indiana Jones, you should know what to expect from LEGO Batman: The Videogame--it's like those games, only with Batman. [Dec 2008, p.98]
  7. Too brainless for adults, and increasingly too frustrating and needlessly obtuse for children, Lego Batman makes the simplest mistake any franchise title can: it serves the licence, and nobody else. [Dec 2008, p.89]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. SB.
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    My 9 year old and 4 year old boys love this game!! They are already familiar with the features from previous Lego video games and love seeing My 9 year old and 4 year old boys love this game!! They are already familiar with the features from previous Lego video games and love seeing all the Batman characters from movies they've watched for years! Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    This is so far my favorite LEGO game so far, while the core gameplay hasn't changed much it has some significant changes for the characters toThis is so far my favorite LEGO game so far, while the core gameplay hasn't changed much it has some significant changes for the characters to feel more like them, my only complaint is that there aren't as many characters as other LEGO games, but this is still a highly enjoyable and re-playable experience. Expand
  3. FlorianLutz
    Sep 22, 2008
    8
    Who likes the other Lego games will like this too. It`s the same. Still simple and fun.
  4. Oct 16, 2010
    8
    Well, where do I start. The graphics are pretty good. But the cutscenes are pretty cheesy. I can see how each character having his/her ownWell, where do I start. The graphics are pretty good. But the cutscenes are pretty cheesy. I can see how each character having his/her own special ability is cool, but it ends up leaving you rapidly changing charactors in free play mode. I was, however, excited that they incorperated some of the wii's motion ability in the game. Overall, it's fun and it's neat to see all those villians running around in LEGO form. Expand
  5. Klay
    Oct 4, 2008
    8
    This game is pretty fun, don't expect anything too different than the other Lego games, but, that's not necessarily a bad thing. This game is pretty fun, don't expect anything too different than the other Lego games, but, that's not necessarily a bad thing. Batman fans, and Lego fans, will have a fun time playing this. Luckily I'm both. Also, don't look at Gamer 2.0's review, they spelt the word 'than' wrong. Shows how trustworthy they are. Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2011
    6
    of all the lego games this is probably my second least favorite. Batman is one of my favorite superheroes and playing as all of his finestof all the lego games this is probably my second least favorite. Batman is one of my favorite superheroes and playing as all of his finest rogue gallery villains it would've been awesome but it just seemed flat Collapse

See all 7 User Reviews