Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Build the adventure from Privet Drive to the Triwizard Tournament and experience the fun of the first four Harry Potter stories – Lego style. Explore Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, learn spells, brew potions and relive the adventures with tongue-in-cheek humor and creativeBuild the adventure from Privet Drive to the Triwizard Tournament and experience the fun of the first four Harry Potter stories – Lego style. Explore Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, learn spells, brew potions and relive the adventures with tongue-in-cheek humor and creative customization that is unique to LEGO videogames. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. A witty and gloriously fun Lego title, with a huge amount of respect for the source material. [July 2010, p.52]
  2. The concept of LEGO Games blends perfectly with the Harry Potter franchise. Possibly the best LEGO Game to date!
  3. 85
    LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4 is a love letter to fans of the Boy Who Lived. The comedic cutscenes toying with canon, the hundreds of hidden things to find, and the general sense of a great LEGO game paired with a great series really makes this game a standout.
  4. Doesn't offer anything new for LEGO fans, but it's still one of the best Harry Potter games ever.
  5. Harry's adventure into Lego land is exactly what you'd want it to be: charming, fun, and chock-full of secrets.
  6. In the past I've said that I've grown a tad weary of the LEGO formula. Harry Potter, on the other hand, proves to be a great match. [Aug 2010, p.91]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Great fun. Funny animations. Classic for any kids or adult-kids what love harry potter. Very clean and well done, hours upon hours ofGreat fun. Funny animations. Classic for any kids or adult-kids what love harry potter. Very clean and well done, hours upon hours of challenges. My kids love it, they are 7 and 10. Get it! Expand
  2. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    I have loved the wii lego games but Harry Potter is trash - never have I found so many glitches, been forced to start over, etc. At 95+%, dueI have loved the wii lego games but Harry Potter is trash - never have I found so many glitches, been forced to start over, etc. At 95+%, due to a glitch, I can't finish. The achievements are not part of this version so a large part of the game is not even available. I should not have to buy a different system and the game a second time to access the entire game. Don't waste your money - it could be a good game but the glitches have taken the fun out of it. Collapse
  3. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    Lego Harry Potter is a great game for challenging children's minds, much like professor Layton, I would recommend this game for children 10Lego Harry Potter is a great game for challenging children's minds, much like professor Layton, I would recommend this game for children 10 and up. Even adults can enjoy this magical fantasy world where bordom is not tolerated. One of the BEST Lego games ever! Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2010
    8
    This is better than expected. The previous Lego game I bought for the Wii, Lego Indiana Jones 2, was fairly difficult to control, but this farThis is better than expected. The previous Lego game I bought for the Wii, Lego Indiana Jones 2, was fairly difficult to control, but this far surpassed the previous Lego game. Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2015
    7
    Following LEGO Indiana Jones 2 and being a big Harry Potter fan, I have to say that I was quite pleased with this game when it was released.Following LEGO Indiana Jones 2 and being a big Harry Potter fan, I have to say that I was quite pleased with this game when it was released. Unfortunately, my thoughts have changed a bit.

    This game would be receiving an 8 if not for one thing: after completing the main story, I encountered two game-breaking glitches. One that didn't allow me to go inside the Gryffindor common room ever again and one that didn't even allow me to get out of a basement so I was basically stuck in there the entire time. Not being able to go back to get 100% on a game you liked lowers the quality in my opinion. There are also does not appear to be a brightness option in the game. Several times in darkened levels, it took me several minutes to figure out what I was supposed to do due to the low amount of light in the game.

    I'm pretty sure what I'm experiencing (the brightness problem) may be simply related to the Wii. PS3 and Xbox 360 players may have no problems. The bugs, however, can be found on all versions, which is a shame.

    Well now on to the actual game. LEGO Harry Potter Years 1-4 made me so happy when it first came out. Harry Potter and LEGO were two of my favorite things at the time (HP still is) and I loved how they turned the first four movies into something so fun and great. The co-op feature definitely adds to the fun factor of the game. LEGO games are simply nothing without co-op. They also brought back the level creator from LEGO Indiana Jones 2 which was a smart move.

    Unfortunately, there is also something wrong with the level creator. Every single time I am almost done with creating a level with my brother, the game crashes and we have to start all the way over which is really a shame. I don't think this a Wii problem because this never happened on LEGO Indiana Jones 2.

    Overall, I think I am giving LEGO Harry Potter Years 1-4 a bit of slack in terms of the score I'm giving it. The levels are great and I would recommend to it any Harry Potter fan...but on another console. Several game-breaking glitches ruined this game for me.
    Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2011
    7
    Star Wars, Indiana Jones , Pirates of the Caribbean, Rock Band heck even Harry Potter has an Lego adaptation. Lego has grown very well andStar Wars, Indiana Jones , Pirates of the Caribbean, Rock Band heck even Harry Potter has an Lego adaptation. Lego has grown very well and gained a lot of attraction , especially for kid, Harry Potter version is nice and fun. I'm very pleased with the entertainment. Expand
  7. May 29, 2012
    1
    Hands down the worst video game I have ever bought. No action, no thrills, no fun. Every feature of the game is really bad, with about threeHands down the worst video game I have ever bought. No action, no thrills, no fun. Every feature of the game is really bad, with about three levels that are even a little fun. Unless you are an absolute Harry Potter super fan, do not even consider getting this game. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews