Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on the last three Harry Potter books and final four films, LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7 takes players through Harry Potter’s heroic adventures in the Muggle and wizarding worlds. From Privet Drive in Little Whinging to Diagon Alley, Hogsmeade and Hogwarts – plus new locations includingBased on the last three Harry Potter books and final four films, LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7 takes players through Harry Potter’s heroic adventures in the Muggle and wizarding worlds. From Privet Drive in Little Whinging to Diagon Alley, Hogsmeade and Hogwarts – plus new locations including Grimmauld Place, the Ministry of Magic, and Godric’s Hollow – players will encounter new faces, new challenges and new magic, preparing them for the ultimate face-off against Lord Voldemort. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jan 14, 2012
    84
    In essence this is identical to the game you destroyed and rebuilt last year. But whe it's this much fun it would be riddikulus to complain. [Christmas 2011, p.70]
  2. Nov 18, 2011
    80
    Lego Harry Potter is a light and breezy way for fans of all ages to experience the world of Harry Potter in a new way.
  3. Jan 16, 2012
    80
    LEGO Harry Potter: Year 5-7 is – mainly due to the great coop experience – one of the top Wii releases within the genre in 2011.
  4. Dec 19, 2011
    70
    LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7 continues the theme of wonderfully crafted adventures from TT Games, bringing together a solid adventuring foundation and the fantastical world of Harry Potter to deliver yet another fine experience for those who enjoyed previous LEGO games, as well as ones related to J.K. Rowling's work. An ageing formula it may be, but it is still one that works well enough.
  5. Jan 4, 2012
    70
    Although the gameplay is predictable and repetitive at times, it's easy to overlook once you get sucked into this magical LEGO realm. [Dec 2011, p.86]
  6. 70
    Overall, LEGO Harry Potter is a cute and fun game, but the self-imposed limitations of the block-building franchise take away any sense of freedom or adventure. What's left is a very simple hack-and-smash puzzle-action game, perfect to play with younger family members, but not one for people looking for an epic, all-out Harry Potter experience. LEGO veterans may see past issues I have with those restrictions, but as a first-timer they definitely stood out to me.
  7. Jan 13, 2012
    70
    A lot has changed since Harry's first year at Hogwart's, but we can't say the same for the LEGO series, which employs the same tricks as it has for years with few innovations.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This new LEGO Harry Potter game is fantastic. After heavy disappointment from the official film tie-in's, Traveller's Tales has really nailedThis new LEGO Harry Potter game is fantastic. After heavy disappointment from the official film tie-in's, Traveller's Tales has really nailed it! I'm a big fan of the original Years 1-4 and 5-7 builds upon the charm and freedom of the first one to give a really comprehensive Potter experience. I especially love being able to roam around London and get on a train to Hogsmeade and walk around the castle, meet new characters and experience all the extra bonus content that the dev's have managed to get in there. I have been following this game eagerly since it was announced and I read that it was one "by Potter fans, for Potter fans" and there is some lovely subtle references of the books (but left of out the films). This game did not disappoint and it's exactly as I imaged it would be. Anyone who claims to be a Potter fan needs this game in their lives.â Expand
  2. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    This game was terrific, and maybe even better than 1-4. It was really fun playing as Harry through all the battles and intense moments he goesThis game was terrific, and maybe even better than 1-4. It was really fun playing as Harry through all the battles and intense moments he goes through during his older years. Another job well done. Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    This is exactly as I imagined it to be. Years 1-4 was great fun, and 5-7 builds on this with new spells, characters, abilities, locations. TheThis is exactly as I imagined it to be. Years 1-4 was great fun, and 5-7 builds on this with new spells, characters, abilities, locations. The developers have done a great job of cramming everything from the Potter-verse into the game. It also looks great. The best Potter game EVER!â Expand
  4. Jun 7, 2012
    2
    Even worse then the first game. Although this is better then a lot of Harry Potter video games, this one still lacks everything you could wantEven worse then the first game. Although this is better then a lot of Harry Potter video games, this one still lacks everything you could want from a video game. there is no action, bad graphics, no point. It is just one endless Harry Potter quest that most will quit before they're even close to completing the game. Unless you or someone you know is a hardcore harry potter fan, don't get this game. Expand
  5. Nov 29, 2011
    1
    This game is very very buggy, just do a google search to find out. In most cases people cannot even complete the game. From what I did manageThis game is very very buggy, just do a google search to find out. In most cases people cannot even complete the game. From what I did manage to play before getting sick of resetting the wii there is actually a decent game in there, its a shame but really quite typical of telltale's lego games but saying that this is by far the worst, do do not buy it! (my experiences and googling were with the wii version only so do some research if your thinking of buying for another system.). I would also like to point out that telltale has been caught reviewing their own games here on metacritic (caught with jurassic park but I suspect this game as well). So take any glowing reviews (about any game for that matter) with a grain of salt and always do a little research yourself. Collapse