Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
Buy On
  1. May 10, 2011
    65
    Too many basic flaws hinder the block-bashing fun of Lego Pirates of the Caribbean.
  2. Game Informer
    Jun 16, 2011
    70
    A few months ago, I reviewed LEGO Star Wars III: The Clone Wars. That game introduced some light RTS elements to the series, along with loads of vehicle-based missions, and a huge cast of playable characters. LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean falls short of that high mark, delivering a more traditional LEGO experience. That's not to say that Pirates is a bad game – quite the contrary. It's just puzzling to see a series that has struggled to evolve take a step back. Where are the epic ship-to-ship vehicle battles? Why is the pirate-infested port hub so boring? [July 2011, p.89]
  3. May 24, 2011
    60
    The perfect gaming analogy of Jack Sparrow. At times brilliant and able to thrill, while on other occasions accident prone and unsteady on its feet.
  4. Nintendo Power
    Jun 7, 2011
    70
    This title is certainly enjoyable on the whole--assuming you haven't grown weary of the LEGO formula--but LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean feels like a step backward after playing the best LEGO game yet, the aforementioned LEGO Star Wars III: The Clone Wars. [June 2011, p.88]
  5. Jul 8, 2011
    74
    If you like LEGO, collecting things and coop-games, you can't do anything wrong, if simple gameplay and the pirate scenario is ok for you.
  6. Jun 23, 2011
    70
    There are a few niggles, but as a whole LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean is another great entry into TT Games' long-running series. It's funny, perfect for fans of the films or just those in the market for some light-hearted antics and has more content than you could shake a peg leg at.
  7. More of the same, but with pirates instead of Jedi. Fun for fans of the series.
  8. Jun 5, 2011
    58
    Glitches aside, the graphics are quite good for a third-party title, but they could definitely do with a bit of sharpening.
  9. May 10, 2011
    60
    Lego Pirates of the Caribbean can be fun, so long as you don't get bored of doing the same things over and over again. The humor of the LEGO series remains, however, so there will be laughs along the way.

Awards & Rankings

16
14
#14 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2011
31
#31 Most Shared Wii Game of 2011
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. May 21, 2011
    10
    This game is a blast to play! I have never played a Lego game before so this is coming from someone completely new to the Lego series. I am aThis game is a blast to play! I have never played a Lego game before so this is coming from someone completely new to the Lego series. I am a huge fan of Pirates of Caribbean and the Lego version is so much fun to play and does justice to the movies. It is bounds better then other movie tie in games. The game follows the story near perfectly with some oddities that, mind you, are done on purpose. The animations are spot on, Jack in particular and co-op makes the game twice as fun. In fact its a must to have a friend, to share solving the puzzles and putting on silly masks. The puzzle difficulty has a nice learning curve and each character can do a special ability such as Jacks mask. I cant say much wrong about this game. Great audio, game play. all the varied locations from the film, cannons, Jack Sparrow and Pirates! If your a fan of Pirates of the Caribbean you cant go wrong buying this game!

    The game translates well onto the Wii via the use of the 'nunchuck' control set-up. Controls smoothly.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 9, 2011
    7
    I really enjoyed the POTC movies and I enjoyed the other Lego titles so naturally I had a great time playing Lego POTC for the Wii. II really enjoyed the POTC movies and I enjoyed the other Lego titles so naturally I had a great time playing Lego POTC for the Wii. I especially enjoyed the changes in the gameplay elements such as the auto-shift into split-screen when in co-op mode when both players's actions couldn't fit onto one screen. My only complaint would be that, in the Wii version at least, my wife and I experienced a pretty bad glitch in the last level of the "On Stranger Tides" world. Every time one of us hit a tree in the initial "room" the game would freeze and the speakers would emit a loud and obnoxious sound. This really soured my experience. But by avoiding hitting those particular trees we were able to complete the game and even get True Pirate on the level on our first run through in Story Mode. Other than that, my wife and I had a blast playing this game and I would recommend it, especially if you are gonna play through it with a friend. Full Review »
  3. May 19, 2017
    8
    Como todos los juegos de Lego esta es una gran entrega. Le falta mapa y más diferencia entre los personajes. Los mapas están muy bien aunqueComo todos los juegos de Lego esta es una gran entrega. Le falta mapa y más diferencia entre los personajes. Los mapas están muy bien aunque el juego se hace corto y tiene muchos bugs. Le pongo un 76/100 Full Review »