Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. There really is a wealth of options for all types of gamers to get stuck into, be it the accessible but hugely fun mini-games or the incredibly in-depth Franchise mode.
  2. I have played Madden on PlayStation and Xbox and this is by far the most fun and interactive way to truly enjoy this game.
  3. 85
    The game makes great use of motion with better-implemented and easier to pull off moves than 07, it has more modes, far more multiplayer both locally and now online, and is generally superior in nearly every regard. On the flipside, Wii’s second Madden still suffers from a ton of last-generation bugs, with everything from moronic AI and cheap pass defense to disappearing pass icons and odd camera glitches that cloak the entire playfield in blur effects.
  4. A great game. The new additions to the title are innovative and impact the gameplay positively. Online play will prove to be a boon for Wii owners, the Party mode helps make the title stand out on this console, and the high quality graphics make it competitive with the other versions.
  5. Madden’s Wii version cuts out some of the artificiality inherent in sports video games, allowing you to play the game through physical movement. I don’t understand football, but I do understand what it means to throw a ball.
  6. 45
    In the end, there's absolutely no reason to choose this one over these other versions: Xbox 360, PS3, PS2, Xbox, or even PSP. If you're a Madden beginner, just play an easy level on a different console.
  7. 50
    While Xbox 360 and PS3 owners get a slick upgrade over Madden '07, Wii owners get a mediocre and lackluster version. Diehard fans and series n00bs alike should avoid the Wii version, as it's inferior in just about every single way.
  8. Don't purchase Madden NFL 08 expecting beautiful visuals and slick looking menus. Buy it because you crave a more interactive experience as well as modes that you can't find in the other versions. With 22 mini games, trivia and fun controls, this gridiron giant runs the pigskin into the end zone.
  9. Wii controls draw players into the game more than before, though some sensitivity issues arise from the Wii's control scheme options for certain actions (like kicking). Visuals are below expectations, which is something EA needs to work on more in the next version.
  10. Traditionalists will cringe at the new controls, but we applaud EA's attempt to simplify things so more folks can get involved. It may not work perfectly, but it's the right thing to do (and the right console on which to do it).
  11. If you already own "Madden NFL 07" then for once we do actually think it's worth trading it in because there are so many new features that it's improved in almost every way. [Oct 2007, p.86]
  12. Madden NFL 07 for the Nintendo Wii is a great game. Even though this game has its fair share of glitches and the graphics engine is not updated, it still remains a blast to play. The inclusion of all of the multiplayer modes is a great treat and will make this a game not to leave your Nintendo Wii for some time.
  13. Madden NFL 08 isn’t the quantum leap that last year’s version was, but in most respects, it’s better.
  14. Another good addition to the series but this isn't the 'next-gen' Madden to blow you away. [Oct 2007, p.79]
  15. This version has taken some strides ahead of '07, and it makes sense to have it.
  16. It's not the revelation that last year's debut was, but Madden NFL 08 is a worthy follow-up and a fun game in its own right.
  17. Control hiccups aside, this year's Madden delivers another excellent game of pigskin. [Oct 2007, p.87]
  18. It doesn’t have the total package that Madden NFL 08 on the Xbox 360 brings, but nonetheless the Wii version of the only NFL football videogame around certainly succeeds in giving Wii gamers an excellent football game.
  19. An improvement on last year's release in almost every regard, but don't think EA's push to bring families to the game will help you convince your mum to play sift through the huge play book. [Nov 2007, p.52]
  20. Very robust online multiplayer coupled with hours of party mode fun.
  21. While Madden NFL 08 is definitely a good game, it's pretty much the Wii's version of what Madden NFL 07 was to Madden NFL 06 on the Xbox 360. It's just the same game with a few updates here and there with nothing else really added.
  22. The game still is not much to look at, however, and still does not even come close to the other next-gen versions in terms of options, creating players and teams, etc. If you're new to the series and looking for some fun, go pick this one up, but if you're a hardcore Maddenite, I'd recommend going with one of the other two next-gen versions.
  23. After having a year to settle into the Wii's brand of pro football, this branch of the Madden franchise is certainly less alien, but at the same time it's not necessarily more comfortable to deal with. [Oct 2007, p.122]
  24. It doesn't re-invent the wheel, but it does provide a solid football experience.
  25. The problem is that they haven’t invested nearly as much time in the game that exists underneath the control scheme. The AI, the playbooks, and the presentation are still inexorably rooted in the PS2 design that might have been compelling four years ago but which is now really starting to show its age.
  26. 80
    Considering the strong debut we saw last year, we're not quite as impressed by what's been added to the experience.
  27. The new “player weapons” feature is just a gimmick.
  28. If you're a serious football fan, you need this game. The increased pre-snap options on defense and the more aggressive secondary AI make the game much more balanced, and the Weapons make finding and exploiting mismatches easier than ever before.
  29. The main issue with the Wii is that in order to play Madden 08, you basically have to learn an entirely different control scheme, and the payoff for that depends on whether you think using the motion control system is worth it, because rather than the step up in graphics the 360 and PS3 versions provide, you get – at best – a sideways graphical experience.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 6 out of 15
  1. Craig
    Jan 4, 2008
    4
    I love football games, and always find myself playing this game, but I do find a lot of problems with Madden 08 for the Nintendo Wii. Especially with the online play. First off, the passing...is horrible when playing online. Im not sure if its due to the excessive lag you have when you play online, but when you press a certain receiver(left, right, down, up) id say 60% of the time will not pass to the receiver you want. It gets very frustrating when this happens. Thats really the main problem with this game. The passing is horrible, especially for online play. The game itself is fun, but once you start playing online, its a whole new ballgame. Your play changes so much its ridiculous. Whether it be just trying to connect to the server, getting disconnected while playing, excessive lag, very poor passing(possible due to lag), not being able to let go of the ball faster than you want. This all leads to a very miserbale, non-fun, non-competetive online play. Full Review »
  2. WiiM.
    Nov 13, 2007
    8
    This is a great new way of playing Madden. I personally don't have '07 so I wanted to get the latest and greatest. Good choice, even though the Metascore was not as high as 07, i think that is because 07 was a big leap. I like the controls, you just have to be patent. I like how when you hold down A you can use the joystick to choose the player on Defense. The online play was good, but slight lag in the picking of plays. Sometimes kicking messes up too. Oh and, I haven't been able to finish a single online game because my opponents connection was lost. Very very annoying. Thats why i give it an eight and not a ten. Full Review »
  3. JargonJ.
    Oct 24, 2007
    2
    As long as the Wii doesn't become gimmicky, this system will be fine. Unfortunately for the Wii, it's become gimmicky. If you are going to have graphics of such a poor quality, you must deliver with intuitive gameplay and a unique and perfect control scheme. The inability of EA to adapt PERFECTLY to the game. There shouldn't be any issues with moving the controller after the snap. In the NFL if the ball is still at the QB's waist he's not going to throw the ball of his back leg, for no apparent reason. That's it - plain and simple. Full Review »