Madden NFL 08 Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: All-New Read & React System: New player skill icons identify on-field strengths and weaknesses, providing an immediate read on what your opponent is giving you. Quickly react, create mismatches, and exploit opponent weaknesses before every play. All-New Front Office Mode: Take full control of every aspect of an NFL franchise. Construct a state-of-the-art stadium, set concession prices, hire your coaching staff, draft players, and manage the entire operation from the top down to build your dynasty. Your Ring of a Champion: Increase your Madden Gamer Level to help create and customize your own in-game championship ring. Madden Unmatched: All-new player moves, including auto-motion, backward passes and low-hitting tackles, plus ultra-smooth gameplay provide the most realistic NFL gaming experience ever. Control receivers and make spectacular catches or key possession receptions, or roam the secondary and jar the ball loose with big hits and ball-stripping tackles. [EA Sports] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. If you already own "Madden NFL 07" then for once we do actually think it's worth trading it in because there are so many new features that it's improved in almost every way. [Oct 2007, p.86]
  2. Madden NFL 07 for the Nintendo Wii is a great game. Even though this game has its fair share of glitches and the graphics engine is not updated, it still remains a blast to play. The inclusion of all of the multiplayer modes is a great treat and will make this a game not to leave your Nintendo Wii for some time.
  3. The new “player weapons” feature is just a gimmick.
  4. 80
    Considering the strong debut we saw last year, we're not quite as impressed by what's been added to the experience.
  5. It doesn’t have the total package that Madden NFL 08 on the Xbox 360 brings, but nonetheless the Wii version of the only NFL football videogame around certainly succeeds in giving Wii gamers an excellent football game.
  6. The game still is not much to look at, however, and still does not even come close to the other next-gen versions in terms of options, creating players and teams, etc. If you're new to the series and looking for some fun, go pick this one up, but if you're a hardcore Maddenite, I'd recommend going with one of the other two next-gen versions.
  7. 45
    In the end, there's absolutely no reason to choose this one over these other versions: Xbox 360, PS3, PS2, Xbox, or even PSP. If you're a Madden beginner, just play an easy level on a different console.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 6 out of 15
  1. ChrisJ.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    i think the game is difficult and that is a plus. I have been playing Madden since 1992 and I will say that the game thru out history has had a problem with it being to easy. The wii is great exersive and well as what I have been waiting for all my life " A REAL VIDEO GAME " where you actually have to move to comtrol the players. We have really steped in the next century with this madden. to all of the ones that say they are not happy with the game you are lazy and not like to be challenged. And lets be real people don't like things that are different than the norm. I don't think that I will master the game on ALL MADDEN after playing one regualr season like all the other maddens. In my eyes this is the best madden ever. Keep up the good work EA sports. Expand
  2. ChawsH.
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    Great graphics, much improved and variations.
  3. OssB.
    Aug 20, 2007
    9
    This is a really fun game. I have never a been a football fan, but this game intrigued me so I bought it. Many of the complaints from the other reviewers are wrong because the people never took the time to experiment with the controls. The controls work just fine if you aren't spazzing out and throwing your arms in wild desperation. Most likely they were trying to play the game while sitting on their rumps and trying to burn as little calories as possible. Expand
  4. SteveJ.
    Aug 18, 2007
    7
    The presentation and graphics are a little better, but there is definite room for improvement. The online play is laggy, ranging from 1 to 3 second lag (which is a lot of time in a twitch game such as Madden.) The movements are easier to pull of, which is a plus. The core gameplay from 07 hasn't changed that much. The Wii version doesn't fix "Mario Running" that much with some iffy collision detection, and gang tackles from the 360 and PS3 are missing, keeping the running game more successful than the passing game. You'll have a btter chance gaining yards up the middle than running complex routes, as the CPU corners stick to the wide receivers. There are some glitches here and there, such as the infamous camera blur glitch, but overall, this is still a solid game for single and local multiplayer games. Expand
  5. CA
    Aug 15, 2007
    5
    The controls are extremely buggy especially in the passing game. Sometimes it takes 4-5 throw motions with the wiimote to pass, and by that time you are already sacked. Also there is no controls to reverse cycle through your players pre-snap so if you accidentally pass up the player you want, you have to cycle all over again. There is no way to set a reciver hot-route unless you show your play with the 'b' button as well as there is no way to choose primary reciver without giving up your play. Although you cant even choose a play in 2player mode without your opponent seeing exactly what it is. I have played this game for only a couple hours and I have noticed many, many, many glitches, its almost like the reviewers never actually played the game and are just giving it an 80 cause it sounds ok. This game was probably pushed out too early as it is LOADED with bugs. These arent just programming bugs (like a running back freezing in the middle of the field, glitching out and fumbling the ball; or not being able to sprint into the endzone (because the sprint button makes you showboat into the endzone...VERY ANNOYING in the rush attack mini-game)) There are basic football principles that apparently EA doesnt know about. Such as intercepting a pass in the endzone, downing it and getting a safety called on you. Pretty much the only saving grace of this game is that it still has Al Michaels and John Madden commentating instead of that bafoon on xbox360 and Ps3. When Madden took over exclusive rights to the NFL liscense, many people warned of the failures of having no competition (pushing out games every year with no innovation just to make their yearly buck). I believe this principle has been clearly shown in Madden 08 for Wii. If you are still curious about this game because of the media attention it will most likely cause (madden nation hooplah) please, for your own good. RENT BEFORE YOU BUY. Expand
  6. Craig
    Jan 4, 2008
    4
    I love football games, and always find myself playing this game, but I do find a lot of problems with Madden 08 for the Nintendo Wii. Especially with the online play. First off, the passing...is horrible when playing online. Im not sure if its due to the excessive lag you have when you play online, but when you press a certain receiver(left, right, down, up) id say 60% of the time will not pass to the receiver you want. It gets very frustrating when this happens. Thats really the main problem with this game. The passing is horrible, especially for online play. The game itself is fun, but once you start playing online, its a whole new ballgame. Your play changes so much its ridiculous. Whether it be just trying to connect to the server, getting disconnected while playing, excessive lag, very poor passing(possible due to lag), not being able to let go of the ball faster than you want. This all leads to a very miserbale, non-fun, non-competetive online play. Expand
  7. JargonJ.
    Oct 24, 2007
    2
    As long as the Wii doesn't become gimmicky, this system will be fine. Unfortunately for the Wii, it's become gimmicky. If you are going to have graphics of such a poor quality, you must deliver with intuitive gameplay and a unique and perfect control scheme. The inability of EA to adapt PERFECTLY to the game. There shouldn't be any issues with moving the controller after the snap. In the NFL if the ball is still at the QB's waist he's not going to throw the ball of his back leg, for no apparent reason. That's it - plain and simple. Collapse

See all 15 User Reviews