• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
MadWorld Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MadWorld is a game with highly stylized black and white graphics, over-the-top violence and visceral action which incorporating a layer of unexpected, irreverent comedy that makes the experience unlike any other. In MadWorld, Varrigan City is under siege by a terrorist group simply known asMadWorld is a game with highly stylized black and white graphics, over-the-top violence and visceral action which incorporating a layer of unexpected, irreverent comedy that makes the experience unlike any other. In MadWorld, Varrigan City is under siege by a terrorist group simply known as "The Organizers." They have isolated its citizens from the rest of the world, and have turned the city into a bizarre and twisted game show environment called "Death Watch." In this game of survival, all the citizens have become reluctant contestants and they are pitted against unknown enemies in the ultimate battle of life or death, where only the strongest will prevail. As Jack, players make their way through the various levels and environments in Varrigan City, crafting clever traps and using various weapons – chainsaws, street signs, and daggers, to name a few – to destroy enemies who threaten their lives. The Wii Remote and Nunchuk are used in a variety of motions that mimic the action on screen. Lively sports commentators call out moves as players execute them, and darkly comical finishing moves add a level of irreverence that contributes to the game's unique tone. Along with the exaggerated characters, upbeat pace and bloody visuals that define "Death Watch," a variety of crazed mini-games called "Blood Bath Challenges" are scattered among the levels, giving players a chance to upgrade weapons and increase overall scores. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 74
  2. Negative: 1 out of 74
  1. 94
    MadWorld is way too violent, has way too much cursing, and the gore factor is off the chart, and boy am I glad it is. MadWorld is an amazing game that you have to experience yourself. With a solid story and simplistic and easy to learn controls, the game offers more than just shock value. This is one of the best games I have played or seen for the Wii.
  2. 90
    I am just one reviewer who found it far too pointlessly violent.
  3. If you play this game the way you should – by slaughtering victims in the most foul of ways – it ends up being a non-stop highlight reel. The ranked boss battles are especially entertaining – think Mortal Kombat Fatalities with the budget of a Star Wars movie.
  4. A brilliantly ballsy debut on a console short on adult thrills. [May 2009, p.48]
  5. Between its wonderful style, superb boss fights and chaotic carnage, Madworld is evidently a magnificent and unique title. [Apr 2009, p.117]
  6. Despite its shortcomings, MadWorld still deserves heaps of praise for the things it does right. Its mix of visceral but strategic combat with stunning visuals, memorable characters and some genuine laugh-out-loud moments easily earns its place on anybody’s shelf.
  7. Frustration sets in when: You realize there’s no need for strategy whatsoever. You can die taking one approach on enemies, but still get results with the same tactic in the next life.

See all 74 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    And Ps3 and 360 fanboys say "the Wii has no violent games." This game right here DESTORYS all arguments out of the water.
  2. FozzyU
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    Simply put, this game will sell more Wii's. It's given me a reason to play my Wii again. It's Wii's answer to God of War Simply put, this game will sell more Wii's. It's given me a reason to play my Wii again. It's Wii's answer to God of War (but more stylized and a more techno-punk theme than ancient greek). The attitude for this game is all there. Expand
  3. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    The games Mad World and Sonic Colors are the best game in the console so far, don't give Mario and Zelda **** WANT MAD WORLD DICK HEADS!
    The
    The games Mad World and Sonic Colors are the best game in the console so far, don't give Mario and Zelda **** WANT MAD WORLD DICK HEADS!
    The music is really good, the combat mode is just EPIC, the story is good.
    If you want to play a good game a the worst console of the 7th generation play this game!
    Expand
  4. StevenB
    Mar 12, 2009
    9
    This game was a lot of fun. The story was a little short (took me and a friend 7 hours to beat it - including dying), but we both loved every This game was a lot of fun. The story was a little short (took me and a friend 7 hours to beat it - including dying), but we both loved every minute of it. The actual story is pretty deep for a game like this, and the best parts of the game include the dialogue, funny kills, and the commentary!! This game is a must buy (or at least rent) ... it is easily on my top 5 games on the Wii list. Expand
  5. KylerN
    Dec 5, 2009
    9
    Oh bloody violence with a nice black and white style. The colors make it hard to find things sometimes. The camera is terrible trying to lock Oh bloody violence with a nice black and white style. The colors make it hard to find things sometimes. The camera is terrible trying to lock on to enemies and do what you want. The controls smooth after awhile of playing. The minimap is kind of small and it can be ahrd to find objectives, although you could careless when you kill guys. Later levels the enemies get harder and it becomes less button mashing. finishing attacks for everything are awesome, the bike parts are dull but its satisfying if 5 bikes explode at once and the game lags ^^ Expand
  6. Sep 2, 2010
    8
    MadWorld is a fun game that brings a level of uniqueness to a Wii system that is littered with "kiddy" games. The gameplay is your typicalMadWorld is a fun game that brings a level of uniqueness to a Wii system that is littered with "kiddy" games. The gameplay is your typical brawler game, but offers up some unique and cinematic sequences that involve the Wii's motion controls to mix things up. The music is great and goes well with the theme. The game can get repetitious a little after playing it for a while, but it is still fun. The graphics are perfect compromise for the Wii with its hardware limitations. It has a stylized "Sin City" look that is totally original. The camera can be a pain sometimes, but you get used to it and isn't too big of a deal. Expand
  7. tb
    Apr 3, 2009
    5
    The first hour of this game pretty much blew my mind. the action is awesome and the sheer amount of ways to kill is amazing. but the The first hour of this game pretty much blew my mind. the action is awesome and the sheer amount of ways to kill is amazing. but the horrendous controls, mostly the camera but also and the delay of the chainsaw ruined it. other annoyances also hurt. the music is annoying, the horror levels sucked, I couldn't figure out how to beat the witch, and in the middle of the action it often cuts away Expand

See all 44 User Reviews