Mario Kart Wii Wii

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 695 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 695
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ErkH.
    Apr 13, 2008
    10
    Edge magazine is a joke. When a game scores consistantly in a certain range and one review skews so far in one direction or the other something is amiss. Nintendo has never made a bad mario kart game and there is no reason to think they will start now.
  2. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    Addicting and fun. Super frustrating, but in a good way. I would often spend hours and hours playing this game. Best racing game out there, definitely.
  3. Nick
    Apr 15, 2008
    9
    Really good fun - takes a while to get used to but the new tracks are great and I actually find the bikes even more fun than Karts.
  4. FredE.
    May 5, 2008
    9
    Excellent Game, Online Play with Friends is FUN :)
  5. cycodamo
    Aug 3, 2008
    10
    Simply the best game I've played on the Wii so far. At first I thought it was a bit too easy and kind of a stripped down Mario Kart to appeal to a wider audience, but in fact it retains all of its challenge and unrelenting fun from previous iterations - finding the perfect line to powerslide around a corner before hitting a jump and executing a trick to try and catch up or leave the Simply the best game I've played on the Wii so far. At first I thought it was a bit too easy and kind of a stripped down Mario Kart to appeal to a wider audience, but in fact it retains all of its challenge and unrelenting fun from previous iterations - finding the perfect line to powerslide around a corner before hitting a jump and executing a trick to try and catch up or leave the rest behind is terrific fun. Single player is a great challenge, and people who complain about being taken out by items obviously haven't been paying attention - that's what Mario Kart is all about! Besides, if you're good enough you can avoid them (ie don't stay in the middle of the road, you know that's where Bullet Bill travels). Online is where the game really shows off: it's completely lag free and there's nearly always a maximum 11 opponents to race against. You will quite easily race 50 times in a row without realising how much time you've spent online in this game - it's just so damn addicting and fun. Lastly, the wheel device is marvellously realised, very accurate and does increase your enjoyment of the game. Can't say enough good things about Mario Kart Wii, 10/10. Expand
  6. LucoT
    May 8, 2008
    8
    It feels like Mario kart:Collector's edition. 16 new tracks, 16 old ones, honestly I prefer racing on the new tracks. It's a good thing the racing is so fun, because they've really hashed the battle mode. This would have been an easy 10/10, but battle mode is integral to Mario Kart and it just don't feel right playing in teams all the time.
  7. TitaniumDragon
    Jan 26, 2009
    8
    Mario Kart Wii is a good game, and is worth purchasing if you own a Wii. Its the latest iteration in the Mario Kart series, and it is a good game. But it isn't a great one, and its flaws rankle. First off, unlike its predecessors, you have to actually unlock the right to play every race. This sucks, because it is annoying not to be able to just jump in wherever. But the bigger issue Mario Kart Wii is a good game, and is worth purchasing if you own a Wii. Its the latest iteration in the Mario Kart series, and it is a good game. But it isn't a great one, and its flaws rankle. First off, unlike its predecessors, you have to actually unlock the right to play every race. This sucks, because it is annoying not to be able to just jump in wherever. But the bigger issue here is that playing multiplayer -doesn't unlock the races-. So you get the game, plug it in to play with your friends (and you can now play with up to FOUR people vs the computers in the grand-prix type race) and... you can't play any but the first four cups without beating all the cups in single player. This is incredibly frustrating and there's absolutely no good reason for this. The races shouldn't be locked in the first place, and even if they had to be for some reason, there's absolutely no reason whatsoever multiplayer play shouldn't be able to unlock them. Battle Modes are, likewise, inferior; you can no longer do free-for-alls between four players, which were the most fun, and you can't do elimination battle matches anymore, which were also fun - why isn't this still an option, at least? There's no good reason for it. The computers also are very poor at battle mode. The items in this game also suffer from being too swingy. Blue shells are too difficult to avoid and Bullet Bills are just horribly overpowered and completely game-swinging, and frustrating when you're doing well and then suddenly a bullet bill comes up and beats you. Overall the game is a good game - its got good races (though I feel Mario Kart 64 had better courses on the whole) and it is a fun racing game, but there have been better racing games. If you play it alone, you'll probably like it quite a bit, but multiplayer just feels like second fiddle, and as I purchased it for the sole purpose of playing grand prix mode multiplayer, its quite annoying. That said, the time trials are quite cool in this game, as you race against "ghosts" which are previous racers. While this existed previously, you can now download and race against other players as well as the "staff ghosts", which makes it more enjoyable as you can sort of tell how well you're doing. Overall, thumbs up, but not the greatest game ever, let alone the greatest mario kart game ever. Incidentally, the Wii wheel is pretty awkward - you're better off using the controller. Expand
  8. Dare
    Jan 5, 2009
    8
    Most of the time I hate reading user reviews. This game does not deserve a 10. It does not deserve a 0. Get real, folks. This game is really good, but a 10/10 means perfect, and this game isn't perfect.
  9. AdamB.
    Apr 10, 2009
    8
    Compared to past Mario Kart games, Wii is nearly identical in terms of gameplay, with the exception of bikes, Miis, and online play. Mii support is great fun and makes online play much more diverse. The online play is nearly lag-free even with 12 players, and races and battles are always intense and fun, but there are a few serious downsides. There's no way to communicate with people Compared to past Mario Kart games, Wii is nearly identical in terms of gameplay, with the exception of bikes, Miis, and online play. Mii support is great fun and makes online play much more diverse. The online play is nearly lag-free even with 12 players, and races and battles are always intense and fun, but there are a few serious downsides. There's no way to communicate with people online, or add them to your friends. So you're pretty much playing with random people all the time, and it feels like playing CPUs since you can't talk, wave, or perform any other basic type of human interaction. Nintendo constantly demonstrates its utter incompetence when it comes to online functionality. At first I was inclined to attribute the lack of features to the family-friendly nature of the Wii, until I encountered players named "Turdnugget" or who used Hitler and penis-faced Miis in online games. The removal of dual-player karts is also a step down from Double Dash, but the inclusion of tracks from SNES, GBA, N64, and GameCube are a welcome addition. Getting a 3-star overall rating is essentially impossible, so it's honestly baffling why they included it. Even two stars on 150cc tracks requires constantly restarting the 4-race circuit, and a constant stream of blue shells along with the unforgiving and cheap AI will result in controllers broken in frustration. Players going for high scores needn't bother using the overly sensitive and fairly useless motion control feature. Despite the numerous downsides, Nintendo managed to put in a fairly respectable effort that's a lot of fun (in short bursts at least) for gamers of all ages. Expand
  10. JG
    Nov 24, 2008
    8
    Graphics: 10 star variaty: 8 unlockables: 4 single player: 10 multiplaer: 4 I have played Double dash for a long time and liked it a lot. I just got the wii and got Mario Kart Wii. The graphics are awsome as for most wii games. Great variety after unlocking 32 tracks, 8 cirsuints, 90 bikes, 90 karts, and 30 charictars. The The unlockable list is confusing which is why I rated that at 4. Graphics: 10 star variaty: 8 unlockables: 4 single player: 10 multiplaer: 4 I have played Double dash for a long time and liked it a lot. I just got the wii and got Mario Kart Wii. The graphics are awsome as for most wii games. Great variety after unlocking 32 tracks, 8 cirsuints, 90 bikes, 90 karts, and 30 charictars. The The unlockable list is confusing which is why I rated that at 4. Single player is insainley good (better than expected)! Multiplayer is bad in the sense that there is only VS and battle although those are intriacte I think there should be grand prix mode should be in multiplayer like it is on double dash. Expand
  11. JonathanC
    Aug 6, 2009
    8
    The classic Mario Kart we all know and love is back. The motorcycles are a good edition. The classic courses and battle stages are lackluster however. There are no character specific power ups, and the double item boxes of double dash are gone. Again rubber band A.I. make things difficult
  12. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    I always loved the old mario kart games like 64 and double dash but this game is ten times better!! The extra courses are sweet and I love the balloon battles. The multiplayer is awesome too.
  13. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    i love this game. it is so much fun. i always win! I have mirror mode. I got it in about 6 months. It just so so fun to play. 262 reviews have a 7 or more. That's great!
  14. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    mario kart wii is very special to me: it made me become hardcore, and was the first game that wasnt the first game i remember getting (mario 64 ds) that i thought... wow... my fav game of all time... of course there are better ones now, but at the time... well.... and not a fault... at all... 99%
  15. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Does this game really deserve a 10? Some people don't think so, and that's their opinion. Mine on the other hand is a little bit different. This game is amazing!!!!! When I was little I played Mario Cart on the N64 all the time! This game not only brought back what I loved from the N64 version, but added so many new aspects that I truly enjoy! The online is great, all of the bikes andDoes this game really deserve a 10? Some people don't think so, and that's their opinion. Mine on the other hand is a little bit different. This game is amazing!!!!! When I was little I played Mario Cart on the N64 all the time! This game not only brought back what I loved from the N64 version, but added so many new aspects that I truly enjoy! The online is great, all of the bikes and karts are fun to use, and this game is really fun to play with friends and family. Many people complain about the computer cheating on the game, and it does to a certain extent. However, isn't that like almost every other racing game? I think so, and I have played plenty of racing games. The computer isn't unbeatable anyways!!! You just need to race smart, and you will win!!! Love this game, go buy it!!! Expand
  16. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    If anyone ever tells you Mario Kart doesn't change enough tell them their argument is invalid because clearly they haven't looked at the tracks. Many have the same themes: water, desert, normal grass, sky, castle, etc.. Mario Kart Wii has that plus a mall level, a tree level, and also updated levels from previous Mario Kart iterations. Also, anyone who complains about how unresponsive theIf anyone ever tells you Mario Kart doesn't change enough tell them their argument is invalid because clearly they haven't looked at the tracks. Many have the same themes: water, desert, normal grass, sky, castle, etc.. Mario Kart Wii has that plus a mall level, a tree level, and also updated levels from previous Mario Kart iterations. Also, anyone who complains about how unresponsive the Wii's motion controls are needs to play this game. I would venture as far as to say that this is better than playing with an analogue stick and much better than a d-pad. If you have a Wii this is a must-have. Expand
  17. Aug 19, 2015
    10
    Mario Kart wii is truly an amazing game . Good selection of characters, Great tracks, good graphics, Many karts and bikes to choose from. One of the best games on the wii.
  18. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    This is the best Mario Kart Yet, from amazing tracks to amazing gameplay, to the bullet bills that can help you when youre doing bad, to the blue shells that knock me out of first a lot where it provides a challenge for me to get back into first, to the many fun gameplay modes in multiplayer, especially 3-4 players, is really fun. Its really fun to play with friendss. Its the best MarioThis is the best Mario Kart Yet, from amazing tracks to amazing gameplay, to the bullet bills that can help you when youre doing bad, to the blue shells that knock me out of first a lot where it provides a challenge for me to get back into first, to the many fun gameplay modes in multiplayer, especially 3-4 players, is really fun. Its really fun to play with friendss. Its the best Mario Kart yet, and unlike some people believe, even though there are items that can help you, this game does take some skill Expand
  19. CallumM
    May 7, 2008
    10
    I am a fan of most Nintendo products and mario kart Wii being one of the better games. As if you use the Wii wheel it add some more realism into the game instead of using the joy stick. And it is a game you can play with most age groups. and i like how in incorporates most of the courses from the older games. this is a must have game for Wii gamers.
  20. Jan 21, 2012
    8
    The Mario Kart series do something very curious which is they seem to get progressively better with each game. The only reason to play the older games is to play old courses I liked. Lots to unlock on this game but eventually it becomes boring. I only use it to play online now and online is hacked and glitched to pieces. Still fun to play online with friends though, if you have theirThe Mario Kart series do something very curious which is they seem to get progressively better with each game. The only reason to play the older games is to play old courses I liked. Lots to unlock on this game but eventually it becomes boring. I only use it to play online now and online is hacked and glitched to pieces. Still fun to play online with friends though, if you have their friend code. Play with a Wiimote and Numchuk though, as the new Wii Wheel controls suck. Expand
  21. FH
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Mario Kart is one of my most fave games for wii! It is so realistic and you feel as if you are really driving the kart. The motor bikes are fab and the new circuits are great. There are loads of thing to do on it. I absolutely love the WFC mode and i could stay on this game for days. This game is a must have for anyone who owns a wii!
  22. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    Probably the best racing games of all time! It's fun, it's fast and it's for the Wii! It puts games like need for speed to shame. Why is that you may ask? Because Mario Kart Wii has something other games wish they had! Skill! That's right, this game actually requires skill to play. Unlike those other crappy racing games that you'll see 40 year olds playing in their mother's basements.Probably the best racing games of all time! It's fun, it's fast and it's for the Wii! It puts games like need for speed to shame. Why is that you may ask? Because Mario Kart Wii has something other games wish they had! Skill! That's right, this game actually requires skill to play. Unlike those other crappy racing games that you'll see 40 year olds playing in their mother's basements. This game is for all ages and is exciting to play! not to mention how great the graphics are! Mario Kart Wii has the best online as well! It's really a great game and is a MUST GET! Expand
  23. RockBand
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    Is an amazing racing game!~
  24. HelmutA.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    Viva Mario! It's awesome.
  25. DougL
    May 23, 2008
    10
    Lots of fun no complaints so far. I prefer using the Wiimote and nunchuk to the wheel my fiancee prefers the wheel see what you like. Good if you are new to the series even better if you already have some races under your belt. Nothing radically new just good tracks and good fun.
  26. AndrewAdam
    Jun 30, 2008
    9
    The game has a great multiplayer, online works awesome, the ghost challenges are great, and the rankings system online is actually good. The only gripe with the game is that you can no longer do the main mode two players. It is a must buy for anyone who owns a Wii.
  27. Aug 26, 2010
    8
    A very big inprovement from mario kart double dash, which was not a bad game at all but still it is better. Much more tracks then the previous game uncluding some old tracks from older games, more characters and motorbikes! This game comes with a wheel that you put your wii controler in and you use it to steer! I still much rather prefer the game cube controlers but thats just me. OnlineA very big inprovement from mario kart double dash, which was not a bad game at all but still it is better. Much more tracks then the previous game uncluding some old tracks from older games, more characters and motorbikes! This game comes with a wheel that you put your wii controler in and you use it to steer! I still much rather prefer the game cube controlers but thats just me. Online multiplayer is a great add on to the mario kart series where it tells you where your oponents are from then you vote for a track. There are some down sides to this game though too. Like the graphics, now mario kart has never really had great graphic but after how ever many games you would expect them to get some better graphics. Now don't get me wrong the graphics are good it's just i would like to see graphics that look like mario galaxy. and when finding a game online sometimes it can take more then 10 minutes! And i do not have a bad connection. Other wise this is one of the better racing games out there. I give it a 8.5 out of 10 Expand
  28. Sep 20, 2010
    8
    Online and offline multi-player; complete and utterly awesome. Offline single player; completely and utterly unfair. The biggest reason you should get this game is the online gameplay which is the most fun you will ever get on the Wii with the bonus of having more tracks, more karts and more racers. Going on the downside, single player can be fun most of the time but on the later cc's itOnline and offline multi-player; complete and utterly awesome. Offline single player; completely and utterly unfair. The biggest reason you should get this game is the online gameplay which is the most fun you will ever get on the Wii with the bonus of having more tracks, more karts and more racers. Going on the downside, single player can be fun most of the time but on the later cc's it is down right unfair with its ridiculous rubber band AI. Expand
  29. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    Now to begin with. this game is pretty hard. if you think it is too easy try to play with the woi wheel. with your foot. eyes closed. now i need to say this game is not for hardcore gamers. but i need to say this game is fun as hell so that is why this game deservers 10/10. so other revievers remember the time games were fun? not all graphic this? **** gameplay that? remember when theNow to begin with. this game is pretty hard. if you think it is too easy try to play with the woi wheel. with your foot. eyes closed. now i need to say this game is not for hardcore gamers. but i need to say this game is fun as hell so that is why this game deservers 10/10. so other revievers remember the time games were fun? not all graphic this? **** gameplay that? remember when the meaning of games was to entertain us? not make us scream in mic like nowdays? but enough of that go back to MW2 Expand
  30. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    One word makes Mario Kart Wii stand out among all other Wii games: Multiplayer. The online in Mario Kart Wii in spot on. Leaderboards, Fast Matchmaking, Friend Matches, Mario Kart has it all, and to top it of there is no lag, even on the slowest of connections.
  31. rogerw.
    Apr 11, 2008
    9
    got it and its great! so fun. only problems have been that there doesnt seem to be normal, free for all battle mode, only teams! wat?! And i think everyone should have to use the wheel coz its the most fun and then it wud b fair. Apart from this its spot on mario kart action and easily best online game I've played and I have a 360 and find online pretty drab on that. I hope I'm got it and its great! so fun. only problems have been that there doesnt seem to be normal, free for all battle mode, only teams! wat?! And i think everyone should have to use the wheel coz its the most fun and then it wud b fair. Apart from this its spot on mario kart action and easily best online game I've played and I have a 360 and find online pretty drab on that. I hope I'm wrong about battle mode cause that would be so much better as it used to be. Expand
  32. LeighW.
    Apr 13, 2008
    9
    Are you crazy! This racer is well better then any of other games on wii. i cant believe you would give it such low score. Loads of modes and loads new & old characters make a appearance, not only that but cars & brand new rides like the bikes, the replay value is through the roof in my opinion its the best racer and best online for wii todate. this deserves to be in your collection, there Are you crazy! This racer is well better then any of other games on wii. i cant believe you would give it such low score. Loads of modes and loads new & old characters make a appearance, not only that but cars & brand new rides like the bikes, the replay value is through the roof in my opinion its the best racer and best online for wii todate. this deserves to be in your collection, there is depth to its crazy style, and if you give it time you will find you will never wanna leave mushroom kingdom ever again. this is top rater, if you buy any game this year it should be this. 9.4% FACT! Expand
  33. PowerPuffGeezer
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    This really is the best game for racing, don't think buy.
  34. PeterB.
    Apr 19, 2008
    9
    Seems like a nice game, not completely sure about the wheel yet. I see that some users are complaining about the lack of speech in online mode. But this is a minor complaint, as one easily can use the voice call function of Skype on PC/Mac (or in Xbox 360, if both have it) simultaneously as playing Mario Kart Wii.
  35. HettyC.
    Apr 24, 2008
    9
    This is a fun game and the best driving game so far one of the bad things about this game is the fact that it is really hard to control the cars. all of the mario games are good and nothing under.
  36. ChrisB.
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    Using the racing wheel is much more fun than I imagined it would be. There is a strong feeling of actually being behind the wheel that I didn't expect. Playing with two or more people is a bit difficult because sometimes you can't see much above/below you and therefore don't know what to do. For example the Rainbow Road track is very difficult with a split screen because Using the racing wheel is much more fun than I imagined it would be. There is a strong feeling of actually being behind the wheel that I didn't expect. Playing with two or more people is a bit difficult because sometimes you can't see much above/below you and therefore don't know what to do. For example the Rainbow Road track is very difficult with a split screen because when going up and down all the "rainbow" hills you can't see what's ahead of you. Expand
  37. PeterJ.
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    This was my first time ever playing any of the Mario Karts. I found it an awesome game, and the wheel is surprisingly very accurate and easy to use.
  38. KyleU.
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    Tis game is plain and simiple the best mario kart installment at this point. people that have played the prior games may have complants but the addition of using a wii wheel to play makes the game even better.
  39. TIMTIML
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    The online mode works with out any lag. Lots of different options are a plus. I'm giving this a 10 because I can't find anything bad to say about it.
  40. DwightB.
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    Great Game - - little heavy on the items but a great game none the less!
  41. JordiR.
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    The best Mario Kart ever playing.
  42. Brandon
    May 1, 2008
    10
    As with any Nintendo game, fun is the name of the game. I've had a ton of fun playing this game thus far. The most brilliant part of this game is the online play option. No longer do you have to wait for someone to come over and play. It's a simple game, but that's why it works so wonderfully!
  43. jj
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Actually [anonymous], i played it with someone once and they couldn't do the races at all! But a great game nonetheless.
  44. Ian
    May 3, 2008
    9
    Gameplay-wise, it's absolutely wonderful, supported by an awesome new powerslide, stunts, fantastic tracks, amazing online play, and the most fun way to play Kart ever - the Wii wheel. Mode variety and customization seem lacking though. Altogether however, it's a strong contender for being the best Mario Kart yet.
  45. LondonCalling
    May 3, 2008
    9
    Never played MK on any platform before and was really impressed. The wheel is harder to use than nunchuk + wiimote but twice as much fun. Online is completely brilliant and will keep this game going for a long time. The Friends Room is a bit clunky so always find it better to join them in a race. Love it.
  46. LucasC.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    WOW!! nice job on this one! need more like it.
  47. Katiel
    May 4, 2008
    9
    I love this game, but I wish it had the random selection feature like MarioKart double dash.
  48. JesseS.
    May 5, 2008
    9
    It's a lot of fun. It would have gotten a 10 if the network connections were a bit more stable. It really sucks to get disconnected from a game and lose a lot of rankings when there's really nothing you can do to prevent it.
  49. LS.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    I love all the people talking about how some of the levels don't seem very new. That's because they are retro levels you dumb twits. I for one love the retro levels. As does my brother, fiancee, and about everyone else I've had come over to my house to play Mario Kart since we bought it last Tuesday. I've played every single Mario Kart since the SNES and have had a ton I love all the people talking about how some of the levels don't seem very new. That's because they are retro levels you dumb twits. I for one love the retro levels. As does my brother, fiancee, and about everyone else I've had come over to my house to play Mario Kart since we bought it last Tuesday. I've played every single Mario Kart since the SNES and have had a ton of fun with this one. As far as the online MP goes; it's not surprising that Nintendo stayed away from online voices since the era of XBL idiots spewing racial slurs, profanity, and 'your mom' jokes. I can't help but laugh at all the people talking about 'skill' in a Mario Kart game. Do the rest of us a favor and get over yourselves. Mario Kart as a series runs on the fact that the game is random and whimsical. If you wanted annoying realistic BS crap...play Gran Tourismo. That game is sooo terribly bad that the people who have no sense of fun like the complainers here must love it. The last part. Why are you complaining about the Wii Wheel? Is it the only way to play the game? Um, no. You can still play with the Wii-mote and Nunchuck. Honestly, I like using the wheel because it makes the game harder for me when I'm playing against people that haven't played before. If I were to use the Wii-mote and Nunchuck I'd be pulling off power-slides and mini turbos the entire race. The way I see it the Wii-wheel offers another way to play, and a slight handicap for the veteran gamers to overcome. I bought GTA4 on the same day as Mario Kart Wii and haven't even opened GTA4 yet. Expand
  50. UweP.l
    May 5, 2008
    9
    This Mario Kart has the best racing mechanics in the series yet, and the online mode is just superb, bar the lack of customization that is available in offline multiplayer, such as the option to select how big a part the items will play. It would've been sweet to be able to get rid of that blue shell online. But in spite of the frustration that this can cause, the game is still This Mario Kart has the best racing mechanics in the series yet, and the online mode is just superb, bar the lack of customization that is available in offline multiplayer, such as the option to select how big a part the items will play. It would've been sweet to be able to get rid of that blue shell online. But in spite of the frustration that this can cause, the game is still bloody superb online and with friends, and a great, not to mention fair, challenge in the time trials. Expand
  51. RoaldM
    May 9, 2008
    8
    It's a very good and addicting game, and the new online mode makes is even more awesome! But the grand prix is a bit annoying, 11 enemies which keep throwing powerups at you, getting a blue shield+pow block+lightning in your face just before the finish line sucks. Also I like that you can see your ranking, so you can see if you're good in the game or not.
  52. BrianB
    Jun 9, 2008
    9
    I thought the loss of a double team was a disapontment, but the gameplay got me back. Even though I agree wayne g about the CPU in 1500cc and Mirror, online is way better than Brawl's, the bikes is a wonderful addition to the game. Also, the trick system is also a good improvement to the formula. But, what also kinda, not that much, dissaponited me was that not all the tracks were I thought the loss of a double team was a disapontment, but the gameplay got me back. Even though I agree wayne g about the CPU in 1500cc and Mirror, online is way better than Brawl's, the bikes is a wonderful addition to the game. Also, the trick system is also a good improvement to the formula. But, what also kinda, not that much, dissaponited me was that not all the tracks were new. Still, it is a good game for vets and newbies. Expand
  53. KeithP
    Apr 10, 2009
    10
    Mario Kart Wii is a really great game. It's really fun to play. I can see why the game got a lot of good reviews and why it sold a lot of copies. I give Mario Kart Wii a 10 out of 10.
  54. Tuah
    Oct 14, 2008
    9
    The Mario Kart series is always amazingly fun to play, and Mario Kart Wii is no different. All the new characters are fun to have, and 12-contestant races are a lot more exciting than the 8-player ones have been. The Wiimote/Wheel controls are something I greatly enjoy, and I probably won't play with classic or Gamecube controllers often. The fact that there's an option makes The Mario Kart series is always amazingly fun to play, and Mario Kart Wii is no different. All the new characters are fun to have, and 12-contestant races are a lot more exciting than the 8-player ones have been. The Wiimote/Wheel controls are something I greatly enjoy, and I probably won't play with classic or Gamecube controllers often. The fact that there's an option makes this a much more fun game for all. I actually enjoy the fact that snaking has been taken out. While experienced gamers should obviously be better than newbies, snaking turned a gap into a canyon. The biggest problem this game suffers from is all the items. No matter whether I'm in 1st, 2nd, 6th or 11th, I still get pelted with all sorts of items. The POW block is completely overpowered, and red and blue shells are simply far too common. When paired with the poor catch-up AI, it's a setup for player failure, regardless of skill. Why can't I auto-catch-up? With items or poor AI, there will at least be a little balance. With both, the scales are tipped far to the computer. Online play is simply amazing. Lastly, to Wayne G, who gave the game a 2: The graphics are almost exactly the same as Double Dash. Most of the models have been reused. You know those characters from Super Mario 64 DS? They're exactly the same as in Double Dash and Kart Wii. Looking at Double Dash's lighting and shading techniques, I still notice a lot of the polygon edges, which are very well hidden in Wii. Expand
  55. JC
    Oct 22, 2008
    8
    I would have to say that anyone expecting "good" graphics in a game should not be judging anything with the word Mario in it. Nintendo puts less emphasis on Graphics and more emphasis on gameplay. Therefore I dont judge nintendo games on graphics. Pros - Unlike other posts, in my belief the items carry substantial pickup, from the Black rocket and the Pow to Star Power and the Red Shell. I would have to say that anyone expecting "good" graphics in a game should not be judging anything with the word Mario in it. Nintendo puts less emphasis on Graphics and more emphasis on gameplay. Therefore I dont judge nintendo games on graphics. Pros - Unlike other posts, in my belief the items carry substantial pickup, from the Black rocket and the Pow to Star Power and the Red Shell. This alows players, usually punished by top speed to still compete with faster players. COns - However, it seems that if you keep first place for long enoh, the computer will totally wreck you. I have had many a time being within a few carts of the finish line and being overthrown with spied shells, pows and red shells and get put back to 4 to possibly even 9th on one level. However, my 4th place Spike shell gain was rather interesting. Level designs are quite distinct, as there are 16 new levels as well as 16 levels from the old games, including a few from the SNES, which brings back memories. The online function is great, but isnt fair for players who dont play the single player game simply because they have neither the carts or bikes/characters to compete with die hard fans. This puts some players at a full disadvantage. I have to admitthat some of the souds/voices of characters have become childish, but what would be expected from companies that normally be designed for a younger age. I think it is not reasonable to realise that this game was not designed primarily for adults. However, i dont find the single player 150cc as challenging as others have, being as how 6/8 cups resulted in golds on attempt 1 which was rather a dissapointment for me. Expand
  56. JoeyB.
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    I have played every mario kart ever and loved every single one! This game is going to be great, no matter what anyone says!
  57. JamesC.
    Feb 23, 2008
    8
    A game purely made for multiplayer. If you are looking for a robust single player racing experience then mario kart is not for you, everyone else should definitely at least take a look.
  58. CraigP.
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    I've been a fan of Mario Kart since the SNES and although the DS version was great, this is better, it's just so much fun and as frenetic as ever. I can't understand any negative reaction to the game, I was able to play the Mario Kart arcade version and this feel pretty close, but it's the online mode that really makes this game great. Forget teh driving games that go I've been a fan of Mario Kart since the SNES and although the DS version was great, this is better, it's just so much fun and as frenetic as ever. I can't understand any negative reaction to the game, I was able to play the Mario Kart arcade version and this feel pretty close, but it's the online mode that really makes this game great. Forget teh driving games that go for realism, if you want to feel like you're karting, this is the only driving game that makes me feel like I'm driving...except for the shells obviously! Expand
  59. JohnM.
    Apr 13, 2008
    8
    [SPOILER] Its Mario Kart, it plays like mario kart, it feels like mario kart, its pure mario kart, and its got the best online features on Wii ever, the friends is finally implemented correctly the amount of unlockables is fantastic theres only 2 problems, and ill start with the dumb one that doesn't really matter first, the graphics, theyre no where near great, this game has kinda [SPOILER] Its Mario Kart, it plays like mario kart, it feels like mario kart, its pure mario kart, and its got the best online features on Wii ever, the friends is finally implemented correctly the amount of unlockables is fantastic theres only 2 problems, and ill start with the dumb one that doesn't really matter first, the graphics, theyre no where near great, this game has kinda been rushed and quickly put together, and the graphics are the only giveaway of this, they look like double dash, although the game runs damn smooth, with no lagging or freezing (online or off) the wii can do more, the best looking character is an unlockable **spoiler** rosalina, shes just been copied and pasted straight from galaxy which i wish is what they did with the others, and the second real problem, the offline battle mode, they didnt really think people would still be playing this offline i suppose as the battleode is in teams no free for all sadly, although online the battle mode is still fantastic and the new points ranking system is brilliantly implimented and addictive and online matches are quick to join and lag free, get this game, sure its not perfect, and mario kart ds is better offline, but online this is the dogs b*llocks, perhaps some more offline features and some nicer graphics and this woulda been GREAT, its still essential, that and the wii wheel is awesome, Expand
  60. JoshC.
    Apr 19, 2008
    9
    Incredible, me and my girlfriend are massive fans of the series, and I've played every version since the SNES to death; the controls work perfectly once you get used to them, all the karts have totally different feels to them and the bikes, which I expected to suck a big one, are incredibly fun and the tricks work fairly well. The online is great fun and probably the best we'll Incredible, me and my girlfriend are massive fans of the series, and I've played every version since the SNES to death; the controls work perfectly once you get used to them, all the karts have totally different feels to them and the bikes, which I expected to suck a big one, are incredibly fun and the tricks work fairly well. The online is great fun and probably the best we'll be able to get out of nintendo this generation. Connecting to a game takes a little while but once your in one load times are fairly short. The only problem with this, and it's one thats occurred in all mario karts, is the lack of new levels; 16 tracks is just not enough to be honest, and packing in another 16 old ones doesn't do enough to mix it up. All the same though, this is an incredible game and unless you didn't like the past games in the series you should definitely give it a try. Expand
  61. GaryT.
    Apr 23, 2008
    9
    Best mariokart to date. Excellent online feature, bikes are very good. Overall worth getting
  62. MengX.
    Apr 27, 2008
    9
    The game is truly fun while your playing with your friends. There are many funny tools help you to trouble your friends.
  63. DrewC.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    I am a huge Mario Kart fan. I played 64 and DD religiously and loved both, especially the latter. But adding tracks from all games and online play makes this the ultimate Mario Kart game. It's got nothing new if you have never been a fan but I think doing away with "snaking" and automatic powerslides are the best thing the game has done. Fun with the wheel or nunchuck, any way you I am a huge Mario Kart fan. I played 64 and DD religiously and loved both, especially the latter. But adding tracks from all games and online play makes this the ultimate Mario Kart game. It's got nothing new if you have never been a fan but I think doing away with "snaking" and automatic powerslides are the best thing the game has done. Fun with the wheel or nunchuck, any way you play this game, it's just fun. Expand
  64. BrianO.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Absolutely loved the game. The online mode is perfect with tons of tracks and characters and the ability to play 2 people on one Wii online at the same time is very fun. Also the addition to 12 drivers in a grand prix race from 8 adds more fun. Best Mario Kart yet and have loved them all.
  65. ShaunC.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    This is easily one of the best Mario Karts ever (if not THE best) and is probably my favorite game to come out on the Wii so far. Not only is it a lot of fun, even in ressurecting race tracks from SNES to GCN, but with the added online capabilities (Ghost Racing, WCF Friend Racing and Tournaments) this game is a must have.
  66. JackB.
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    I don't review games and I don't often play them, but Mario Kart is an exception. The whole series is excellent and this is the best of the lot. 32 tracks, 16 brand new, more characters, more battles, better time trial options with expert times to beat and best of all, an online mode with a rating system which tracks your progress. Small criticisms however are they you get the I don't review games and I don't often play them, but Mario Kart is an exception. The whole series is excellent and this is the best of the lot. 32 tracks, 16 brand new, more characters, more battles, better time trial options with expert times to beat and best of all, an online mode with a rating system which tracks your progress. Small criticisms however are they you get the feeling there could be maybe 24 new tracks and 8 "retro" courses, it seems like just adding some courses from the SNES and Gameboy was unnecessary and a time saving exercise. Occasionally things get a bit clumsy online too with other players disappearing and reappearing randomly, although I suspect that this isn't entirely the games fault. Overall however an excellent addition to the series and a worthwhile one at that. Expand
  67. MehboobV.
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    Great game. The online is Nintendo's best by far and the game is just really fun overall.
  68. AnonymousMC
    May 20, 2008
    10
    Well first Id like to say I've never owned any other Mario Kart game before. I have however played 64 and double dash at my friend's houses. A lot of people are complaining about how bad it is compared to the others...it's a shitload of fun, and personally I think its better than the others! The graphics aren't AMAZING but they are still really good, even split-screen.Well first Id like to say I've never owned any other Mario Kart game before. I have however played 64 and double dash at my friend's houses. A lot of people are complaining about how bad it is compared to the others...it's a shitload of fun, and personally I think its better than the others! The graphics aren't AMAZING but they are still really good, even split-screen. The AI problems that others talk about are bad, but after a while you get used to them, and ther is a way to avoid EVERYTHING, including blue shells, except lightning. So even though the computers seem to have advantages, if you're good enough it won't matter. The multiplayer rules. Online has no lag at all, no waiting. This is my favorite wwii game, even over brawl. Expand
  69. JohnS.
    May 2, 2008
    9
    Pros: Very fun, items are pretty good, online is done very well, its simple and quick, the matchmaking is good and no lag whatsoever, picture is crisp and clean. Wheel works surprisingly well, though takes practice. Cons: of course still no communication, and unlocking characters and everything takes lots of time offline single player, lack of a LAN option, and though it was frequently Pros: Very fun, items are pretty good, online is done very well, its simple and quick, the matchmaking is good and no lag whatsoever, picture is crisp and clean. Wheel works surprisingly well, though takes practice. Cons: of course still no communication, and unlocking characters and everything takes lots of time offline single player, lack of a LAN option, and though it was frequently debated, I kind of wanted the ability to do some double dashing. Expand
  70. Mr.B.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    There's no 9.5 so I went ahead and gave it a 10! The .5 I would subtract would be that you cant "Retry" a course like you could in previous versions. This is very annoying when it comes to the last race and you do poorly and lose a cup because of it. SWEEEET game though! Interactive instead of left, right, up, and down buttons.
  71. am
    May 5, 2008
    10
    This is the funnest Mario kart yet. The game play is definitely better than any past Mario kart. Some people are unhappy about the lack of options but this becomes insignificant once you play the game for enough hours, and you'll honestly find the funnest game that has been released on the wii so far!
  72. DanielN
    May 5, 2008
    10
    This game is an excellent source of fun for you and your whole family. It is an excellent game to come in and pick up and play.
  73. BetA
    Jan 11, 2009
    10
    Mario Kart Wii is possibly my favorite video game as of now because of it's fun, innovative controls, great new race tracks plus some great choices of retro tracks, and improved online play. Some people may say that the game has just come down to luck, but I beg to differ. Many times over, I have beaten the CPUs when getting hit by the blue shell multiple times! However, I suppose Mario Kart Wii is possibly my favorite video game as of now because of it's fun, innovative controls, great new race tracks plus some great choices of retro tracks, and improved online play. Some people may say that the game has just come down to luck, but I beg to differ. Many times over, I have beaten the CPUs when getting hit by the blue shell multiple times! However, I suppose the items from the CPUs might still be a problem. I think the CPUs should win with skill, not just items. Believe me when I say that I've been in countless races with other people, involving mostly skill. I do agree that there are a few MINOR problems: 1) No free-for-all battle mode, only teams 2) Manual-drift bikes have an unfair advantage over karts. 3) Terrible Mii voices Otherwise, this is possibly the most fun game I've ever played. I love this game!! Expand
  74. QuintS
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    It may be based on a lot of luck, but if you have online access and a Wii, you need this game... the 12 player online has resulted in many hours of wasted time since I bought this 2 years ago. By far the most played game I own. Or have ever owned.
  75. tonyb
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    lots of very inventive new unlockable tracks. Game does play favorites if player is in last place by giving them the fastest missles.
  76. JamesD
    Dec 18, 2008
    9
    I give this game a 9 out of 10 because of the BS that happens to you on single player. Blue shell, red shell, blue shell, red red red RED, BLUEEEE!!! But unlocking karts and charactors for maltiplayer is absolutely amazing. You and your friends will not want to stop playing.
  77. MarkusE.
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    Leaps and bounds greater than the Wii's other online party game, Smash Bros. Brawl.
  78. m.ick
    Apr 12, 2008
    10
    Amazing..... it took me a few hours to get to like the heavy oversteer but it seems to make sense with the new slide. there are loads of courses and when racing friend you are no longer confined to racing the cups. in fact everything is just more customizable and better.
  79. MarioL.
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    Mario Kart Wii is the bast.
  80. TopiasI.
    Apr 23, 2008
    9
    How somebody that reviews games for job can give this game 60 points?? come on you have to be britty lonely guy because this game is great when you are playing with friend. The wheel system couldn't be better, its sick, lots of characters and maps to unlock.
  81. [anonymous]
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    I love it! It's something that you can play with anyone!
  82. Daniel
    Jul 13, 2008
    9
    This is a strangely underrated game, at least critically. It's my favorite Mario Kart, and I've been playing them since the series originated on Super Nintendo. It's true that the steering wheel & bikes are small additions to the series, but overall this has everything I want from Mario Kart plus some nice extras. The new levels are some of the best of the series, and the This is a strangely underrated game, at least critically. It's my favorite Mario Kart, and I've been playing them since the series originated on Super Nintendo. It's true that the steering wheel & bikes are small additions to the series, but overall this has everything I want from Mario Kart plus some nice extras. The new levels are some of the best of the series, and the controls seem nicely streamlined (with 2 different controller options aside from the wheel). As for the games "flaws", I never cared much for battle mode, and having victory snatched from your hands at the last minute, seemingly "unfairly", has always been the nature of Mario Kart. This is a great game to play with friends and non-gamers as well as a great one to play on your own and against "pros" online. Expand
  83. ChristopherH
    Sep 16, 2008
    9
    I love this game! The mascots are adorable, and that is nice. What's awesome are the online play and the graphics in the actual courses. It is absolutely annoying that the computer AI folks ram you so freakin' hard in the 150cc and Mirror cups, but considering it took me over 40 hours to finally win all 120 stars in "Galaxy" (yes, I did actually beat the toy purple stars level), I love this game! The mascots are adorable, and that is nice. What's awesome are the online play and the graphics in the actual courses. It is absolutely annoying that the computer AI folks ram you so freakin' hard in the 150cc and Mirror cups, but considering it took me over 40 hours to finally win all 120 stars in "Galaxy" (yes, I did actually beat the toy purple stars level), I should be able to handle these bits and bytes! It's great to have some serious competition that you just can't seem to beat! But when it comes down to it, just play the same game they are (the AI) and they will be devastated!!!! (Only have the Lightning Mirror to get gold in, then you will all plumet to a soft landing in not wining land, you online folks, HA HA!) Super Fun Mario Land Times For Ever Big Tree Sushi! Expand
  84. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    While I dislike Mario Kart Wii, I still respect it as a great racing game, but could have benefited from when previous Mario Kart games went right, namely character specific karts, items and the coin system from Super Mario Kart. While it seems to lack the soul of Mario Kart DS, it is solid multiplayer fun, and pretty good in single player too. Packed with tracks, characters and items- oneWhile I dislike Mario Kart Wii, I still respect it as a great racing game, but could have benefited from when previous Mario Kart games went right, namely character specific karts, items and the coin system from Super Mario Kart. While it seems to lack the soul of Mario Kart DS, it is solid multiplayer fun, and pretty good in single player too. Packed with tracks, characters and items- one good game Collapse
  85. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    The Mario Kart series has always been amazing and this game is no different. The courses are great and the inclusion of bikes (motorcycles) was a great one. There are a few odd decisions for the new game, like how battling on teams is the only option. The game is getting a little to hectic and random, with the old items as well as Pow Block, Blooper, Lightning Cloud, Bullet Bill, and MegaThe Mario Kart series has always been amazing and this game is no different. The courses are great and the inclusion of bikes (motorcycles) was a great one. There are a few odd decisions for the new game, like how battling on teams is the only option. The game is getting a little to hectic and random, with the old items as well as Pow Block, Blooper, Lightning Cloud, Bullet Bill, and Mega Mushroom. The Wii controls work great but Nintendo switched the drifting system to make it a little too easy. Mario Kart Wii is a great game, especially online, and will keep you coming back again and again if the series is getting a little too easy. Expand
  86. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    One of the best reasons to hang on to your Wii that may or may not be getting much use currently. Following the tradition of the Mario Kart series from its humble beginnings on the Super Nintendo Entertainment System, Nintendo delivers another stellar entry. If you've ever played Mario Kart before you will be right at home, and if you haven't, this is the perfect place to start, and aOne of the best reasons to hang on to your Wii that may or may not be getting much use currently. Following the tradition of the Mario Kart series from its humble beginnings on the Super Nintendo Entertainment System, Nintendo delivers another stellar entry. If you've ever played Mario Kart before you will be right at home, and if you haven't, this is the perfect place to start, and a lot more forgiving than the portable games â Expand
  87. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    Mario Kart is the best Mario spin-off there is. When I played this game, I just enjoyed it, from start to finish. Sure, there's a bit of luck involved, there's nothing like knocking off someone's top position at the last minute. Nothing like it. The gameplay is just really fun. Need I say more? Half of the game's tracks are new, but the other half are old tracks. Some might consider it aMario Kart is the best Mario spin-off there is. When I played this game, I just enjoyed it, from start to finish. Sure, there's a bit of luck involved, there's nothing like knocking off someone's top position at the last minute. Nothing like it. The gameplay is just really fun. Need I say more? Half of the game's tracks are new, but the other half are old tracks. Some might consider it a weakness. However, this is just what I wanted them to do. The old SNES and N64 tracks in modern graphics = awesome sauce. The game offers you multiple ways to play it and Nintendo have done the right thing. You can use the Wii Remote, equip it with a Wii Wheel, use the nuchuck, play with the classic controller or the best one: the Gamecube controller. The best part yet it the multiplayer. Watching you pwn your mates, there's nothing quite like it. The Mario Kart seriesis everything games should be: Fun, addictive, surprising, great fun in single and multiplayer mode. Just a shame Nintendo didn't push the series further. Expand
  88. Jan 31, 2011
    9
    This is a fun, all around family game. Definitely for all ages. You can be anyone from the Nintendo games with many weapons, power-ups, and Cart designs. The multiplayer mode makes it a keeper. Do not rent this game! You will be playing it for hours. The only downers are: Too many un-lockables and they are very hard to get unlocked.
  89. Mar 20, 2011
    8
    i like this game and it can take a while to unlock all the vehicles and all the characters so you are always entertained... until you finally unlock everything, then there is not much to do on your own accept race but unless you are playing with friends this game can get boring if you are not working towards unlocking something. this game is an amzing game to play with friends and you willi like this game and it can take a while to unlock all the vehicles and all the characters so you are always entertained... until you finally unlock everything, then there is not much to do on your own accept race but unless you are playing with friends this game can get boring if you are not working towards unlocking something. this game is an amzing game to play with friends and you will be having so much fun when you are in first and you're hit with a blue shell then your friend zips by to take 1st place from you or when you do the exact same thing to your friend. this is a must buy for anyone who owns a wii and you will always have something to do with friends if you get bored of racing by yourself Expand
  90. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    This game is a great addition to the Mario Kart series. The environments and tracks are really fun and look great, there are tons of cars, bikes and tracks to race on, there are tons of unlockables, and the roster is great. There are a couple new items to mess other people up with, and the controls are great. the gameplay is fine, and it is easy to control. You can also go on WiFi and raceThis game is a great addition to the Mario Kart series. The environments and tracks are really fun and look great, there are tons of cars, bikes and tracks to race on, there are tons of unlockables, and the roster is great. There are a couple new items to mess other people up with, and the controls are great. the gameplay is fine, and it is easy to control. You can also go on WiFi and race people around the world. This game is really a 9.5, because it's just so awesome. Expand
  91. Jul 24, 2011
    8
    Mario Kart Wii was one of my most anticipated games that i rabidly wanted, and the time i had it, i played it like if there wasn't tomorrow. Set with nice content to keep you busy , responsive gameplay , and colorful graphics gives life to the known Mario icon. The bundle that includes a steering wheel adds diversity, the steering wheels doesn't change nothing to the experience,Mario Kart Wii was one of my most anticipated games that i rabidly wanted, and the time i had it, i played it like if there wasn't tomorrow. Set with nice content to keep you busy , responsive gameplay , and colorful graphics gives life to the known Mario icon. The bundle that includes a steering wheel adds diversity, the steering wheels doesn't change nothing to the experience, because it;s just a piece of plastic that it;;s empty , you just put the Wii remote to it, and Voila!!! there you have a "real" experience of how to drive in the future. In case of the online , it plays decently fine not a big thing or video games transformer. Mario Kart Wii has the entertaining time in a huge moment , but it isn't reliable, only a few weeks and there you go, another CD in your forgotten library , Plus+ , a pheripheral in the dust waiting to be discovered in the next year. Expand
  92. May 17, 2011
    10
    I agree completely with the AceGamerz review of this game. It charmed me, it was 2008's best game ever. Go buy it! Quick, before stores run out!!! I bought it the year it came out, again, it charmed me!!!
  93. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    The BEST Wii online game you could ever pick up. It's fairly smooth and the game offers pretty good controls for the Wii Wheel. The idea of 12 racers WAS a good concept. But this add-on was also one of the main reasons why this game doesn't deserve all ten. It left me really frustrated to get a 3-star License (3-Stars is the best you can get in the game). But overall, a simply enjoyableThe BEST Wii online game you could ever pick up. It's fairly smooth and the game offers pretty good controls for the Wii Wheel. The idea of 12 racers WAS a good concept. But this add-on was also one of the main reasons why this game doesn't deserve all ten. It left me really frustrated to get a 3-star License (3-Stars is the best you can get in the game). But overall, a simply enjoyable game for the family. Expand
  94. Jul 12, 2011
    8
    This game isn't as good as the DS one, but this version has great graphics, fun tracks and a fairly decent character line-up. The online play is very fun, and shows everyone what the Wii is capable of. But somethings can get a bit on your nerves. Like the fact that Blue Shells can ruin your chances of doing half decent or how a non-skilled player with a Bullet Bill can skip right to theThis game isn't as good as the DS one, but this version has great graphics, fun tracks and a fairly decent character line-up. The online play is very fun, and shows everyone what the Wii is capable of. But somethings can get a bit on your nerves. Like the fact that Blue Shells can ruin your chances of doing half decent or how a non-skilled player with a Bullet Bill can skip right to the front. And the line-up could have received a bigger variety of characters, maybe from other first party games, instead of Baby Mario and Baby Luigi, etc. Still, it's a very good game and I think it deserves a score of 8 out of 10. Expand
  95. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite Wii game. At first, it was very fun to work to try to unlock all of the hidden things - but even since I've done that, I find myself always wanting to play it when I feel like using my Wii. There is a good deal of luck involved in your performance from race to race, but I think that keeps it challenging ... plus, it's like life; even if you do everything right,This is my favorite Wii game. At first, it was very fun to work to try to unlock all of the hidden things - but even since I've done that, I find myself always wanting to play it when I feel like using my Wii. There is a good deal of luck involved in your performance from race to race, but I think that keeps it challenging ... plus, it's like life; even if you do everything right, sometimes you're in the wrong place at the wrong time. Expand
  96. RJV
    Sep 25, 2011
    9
    Mario Kart Wii is very well made. The Wii's motion control is, in a rare case, used to perfection. The handling is great, the buttons feel natural, and with a Wii Wheel it feels right. Also, if you have played, the DS version for example, you notice that the old style of staying in a straight line for as long as possible for maximum efficiency has been scrapped, and now is more about notMario Kart Wii is very well made. The Wii's motion control is, in a rare case, used to perfection. The handling is great, the buttons feel natural, and with a Wii Wheel it feels right. Also, if you have played, the DS version for example, you notice that the old style of staying in a straight line for as long as possible for maximum efficiency has been scrapped, and now is more about not hitting the more numerous obstacles. you have ever in the slightest liked another Mario Kart game, then this is better. This being the sixth in the series, it is obvious that Nintendo has definitely got it right this time, with new moves, such as shaking the Wii Wheel while doing a jump to get a boost when you land, and a new power-up or two, it won't make you say "same old game". The new courses are great, and the retro ones are also great choices. When you first start playing the 50cc Grand Prix, even as a rookie, if this is your first time for Mario Kart, it is really easy, and trains you well. The easiness quickly vanishes as you get to 150cc though. Incredibly hard, Incredibly frustrating, yet still incredibly rewarding once completed. Online multiplayer is great, and with more characters and karts than ever, if you have a Wii, get the game. If you don't have a Wii, consider getting one for this game alone. Expand
  97. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    Im not that much of a fan for Mario but this game is pretty good for a certain audience.
    It started to become repetitive after I've done almost everything in the game.
  98. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    The Wii revolutionized interaction with your game experience and this is one that will have you playing for hours upon hours. Mario Kart Wii wheel draws you into the game, it is difficult and will get you really upset after trying to get all stars for all courses but try try try again and don't give up so you can show off your stars to players online and enjoy the online experience withThe Wii revolutionized interaction with your game experience and this is one that will have you playing for hours upon hours. Mario Kart Wii wheel draws you into the game, it is difficult and will get you really upset after trying to get all stars for all courses but try try try again and don't give up so you can show off your stars to players online and enjoy the online experience with players around the world! classic one for the books. Expand
  99. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This is the best Mario Kart of all because there is a lot more content than Mario Kart Double Dash. More characters, more tracks, and an amazing online mode, where you can quickly jump in to a race.
  100. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    Wow. Anyone who plays this game for the first time will definitely get hooked. The player becomes more engaged into this game, more controls and definitely better graphics. So many endless options to improve your racing skills in this one. I was literally speechless when I first played this game. Can't wait to try the 3DS Mario Kart 7.
  101. Aug 23, 2010
    0
    While I dislike Mario Kart Wii, I still respect it as a great racing game, but could have benefited from when previous Mario Kart games went right, namely character specific karts, items and the coin system from Super Mario Kart. While it seems to lack the soul of Mario Kart DS, it is solid multiplayer fun, and pretty good in single player too. Packed with tracks, characters and items- oneWhile I dislike Mario Kart Wii, I still respect it as a great racing game, but could have benefited from when previous Mario Kart games went right, namely character specific karts, items and the coin system from Super Mario Kart. While it seems to lack the soul of Mario Kart DS, it is solid multiplayer fun, and pretty good in single player too. Packed with tracks, characters and items- one good game Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008
#7 Most Shared Wii Game of 2008
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 73
  2. Negative: 1 out of 73
  1. Nintendo Power
    90
    With more features, modes and multiplayer options than ever before, fans should be revved up to get behind the wheel. [May 2008, p.86]
  2. Edge Magazine
    60
    Having sacrificed racing integrity in "Double Dash" to side with social silliness, Nintendo has turned 180 degrees into an awkward halfway house. [May 2008, p.86]
  3. Then there is the Wii Wheel peripheral itself, which if you did not already know is just a plastic housing for the Wiimote. I have to admit though it is a well made bit of plastic, and is not only smarter looking than the uninspired Wii Zapper, but also more ergonomic to hold. Unexpectedly it is very easy to use.