User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 607 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 607

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CraigP.
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    I've been a fan of Mario Kart since the SNES and although the DS version was great, this is better, it's just so much fun and as frenetic as ever. I can't understand any negative reaction to the game, I was able to play the Mario Kart arcade version and this feel pretty close, but it's the online mode that really makes this game great. Forget teh driving games that go I've been a fan of Mario Kart since the SNES and although the DS version was great, this is better, it's just so much fun and as frenetic as ever. I can't understand any negative reaction to the game, I was able to play the Mario Kart arcade version and this feel pretty close, but it's the online mode that really makes this game great. Forget teh driving games that go for realism, if you want to feel like you're karting, this is the only driving game that makes me feel like I'm driving...except for the shells obviously! Expand
  2. JohnM.
    Apr 13, 2008
    8
    [SPOILER] Its Mario Kart, it plays like mario kart, it feels like mario kart, its pure mario kart, and its got the best online features on Wii ever, the friends is finally implemented correctly the amount of unlockables is fantastic theres only 2 problems, and ill start with the dumb one that doesn't really matter first, the graphics, theyre no where near great, this game has kinda [SPOILER] Its Mario Kart, it plays like mario kart, it feels like mario kart, its pure mario kart, and its got the best online features on Wii ever, the friends is finally implemented correctly the amount of unlockables is fantastic theres only 2 problems, and ill start with the dumb one that doesn't really matter first, the graphics, theyre no where near great, this game has kinda been rushed and quickly put together, and the graphics are the only giveaway of this, they look like double dash, although the game runs damn smooth, with no lagging or freezing (online or off) the wii can do more, the best looking character is an unlockable **spoiler** rosalina, shes just been copied and pasted straight from galaxy which i wish is what they did with the others, and the second real problem, the offline battle mode, they didnt really think people would still be playing this offline i suppose as the battleode is in teams no free for all sadly, although online the battle mode is still fantastic and the new points ranking system is brilliantly implimented and addictive and online matches are quick to join and lag free, get this game, sure its not perfect, and mario kart ds is better offline, but online this is the dogs b*llocks, perhaps some more offline features and some nicer graphics and this woulda been GREAT, its still essential, that and the wii wheel is awesome, Expand
  3. JoshC.
    Apr 19, 2008
    9
    Incredible, me and my girlfriend are massive fans of the series, and I've played every version since the SNES to death; the controls work perfectly once you get used to them, all the karts have totally different feels to them and the bikes, which I expected to suck a big one, are incredibly fun and the tricks work fairly well. The online is great fun and probably the best we'll Incredible, me and my girlfriend are massive fans of the series, and I've played every version since the SNES to death; the controls work perfectly once you get used to them, all the karts have totally different feels to them and the bikes, which I expected to suck a big one, are incredibly fun and the tricks work fairly well. The online is great fun and probably the best we'll be able to get out of nintendo this generation. Connecting to a game takes a little while but once your in one load times are fairly short. The only problem with this, and it's one thats occurred in all mario karts, is the lack of new levels; 16 tracks is just not enough to be honest, and packing in another 16 old ones doesn't do enough to mix it up. All the same though, this is an incredible game and unless you didn't like the past games in the series you should definitely give it a try. Expand
  4. GaryT.
    Apr 23, 2008
    9
    Best mariokart to date. Excellent online feature, bikes are very good. Overall worth getting
  5. MengX.
    Apr 27, 2008
    9
    The game is truly fun while your playing with your friends. There are many funny tools help you to trouble your friends.
  6. DrewC.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    I am a huge Mario Kart fan. I played 64 and DD religiously and loved both, especially the latter. But adding tracks from all games and online play makes this the ultimate Mario Kart game. It's got nothing new if you have never been a fan but I think doing away with "snaking" and automatic powerslides are the best thing the game has done. Fun with the wheel or nunchuck, any way you I am a huge Mario Kart fan. I played 64 and DD religiously and loved both, especially the latter. But adding tracks from all games and online play makes this the ultimate Mario Kart game. It's got nothing new if you have never been a fan but I think doing away with "snaking" and automatic powerslides are the best thing the game has done. Fun with the wheel or nunchuck, any way you play this game, it's just fun. Expand
  7. BrianO.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Absolutely loved the game. The online mode is perfect with tons of tracks and characters and the ability to play 2 people on one Wii online at the same time is very fun. Also the addition to 12 drivers in a grand prix race from 8 adds more fun. Best Mario Kart yet and have loved them all.
  8. ShaunC.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    This is easily one of the best Mario Karts ever (if not THE best) and is probably my favorite game to come out on the Wii so far. Not only is it a lot of fun, even in ressurecting race tracks from SNES to GCN, but with the added online capabilities (Ghost Racing, WCF Friend Racing and Tournaments) this game is a must have.
  9. JackB.
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    I don't review games and I don't often play them, but Mario Kart is an exception. The whole series is excellent and this is the best of the lot. 32 tracks, 16 brand new, more characters, more battles, better time trial options with expert times to beat and best of all, an online mode with a rating system which tracks your progress. Small criticisms however are they you get the I don't review games and I don't often play them, but Mario Kart is an exception. The whole series is excellent and this is the best of the lot. 32 tracks, 16 brand new, more characters, more battles, better time trial options with expert times to beat and best of all, an online mode with a rating system which tracks your progress. Small criticisms however are they you get the feeling there could be maybe 24 new tracks and 8 "retro" courses, it seems like just adding some courses from the SNES and Gameboy was unnecessary and a time saving exercise. Occasionally things get a bit clumsy online too with other players disappearing and reappearing randomly, although I suspect that this isn't entirely the games fault. Overall however an excellent addition to the series and a worthwhile one at that. Expand
  10. MehboobV.
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    Great game. The online is Nintendo's best by far and the game is just really fun overall.
  11. MattB
    May 13, 2008
    7
    Call me a 360 fanboy, although I loved Twilight Princess, Smash Bros, and Mario Galaxy.....I have to say Wii's Mario Kart is a new low for Nintendo. First off, the wheel is not very responsive (I used it for about an hour before giving up and using the gamecube remote). There are plenty of options and a few additions, but this might as well have been extra content for the gamecube Call me a 360 fanboy, although I loved Twilight Princess, Smash Bros, and Mario Galaxy.....I have to say Wii's Mario Kart is a new low for Nintendo. First off, the wheel is not very responsive (I used it for about an hour before giving up and using the gamecube remote). There are plenty of options and a few additions, but this might as well have been extra content for the gamecube mario kart. With such a great franchise, it's a shame this is only an "update" instead of a whole new experience. Expand
  12. DPX08
    May 15, 2008
    6
    Good game for kids not for core gamers whatsoever.Ai is after the best racer and the power ups do not favor the player in the lead. Ever get any good power ups in first place? All i got where bananas single green shells and single mushrooms. Lame game for people who know how to play good game for 5yo nuf said Mediocre aggravating game.
  13. AnonymousMC
    May 20, 2008
    10
    Well first Id like to say I've never owned any other Mario Kart game before. I have however played 64 and double dash at my friend's houses. A lot of people are complaining about how bad it is compared to the others...it's a shitload of fun, and personally I think its better than the others! The graphics aren't AMAZING but they are still really good, even split-screen.Well first Id like to say I've never owned any other Mario Kart game before. I have however played 64 and double dash at my friend's houses. A lot of people are complaining about how bad it is compared to the others...it's a shitload of fun, and personally I think its better than the others! The graphics aren't AMAZING but they are still really good, even split-screen. The AI problems that others talk about are bad, but after a while you get used to them, and ther is a way to avoid EVERYTHING, including blue shells, except lightning. So even though the computers seem to have advantages, if you're good enough it won't matter. The multiplayer rules. Online has no lag at all, no waiting. This is my favorite wwii game, even over brawl. Expand
  14. JohnS.
    May 2, 2008
    9
    Pros: Very fun, items are pretty good, online is done very well, its simple and quick, the matchmaking is good and no lag whatsoever, picture is crisp and clean. Wheel works surprisingly well, though takes practice. Cons: of course still no communication, and unlocking characters and everything takes lots of time offline single player, lack of a LAN option, and though it was frequently Pros: Very fun, items are pretty good, online is done very well, its simple and quick, the matchmaking is good and no lag whatsoever, picture is crisp and clean. Wheel works surprisingly well, though takes practice. Cons: of course still no communication, and unlocking characters and everything takes lots of time offline single player, lack of a LAN option, and though it was frequently debated, I kind of wanted the ability to do some double dashing. Expand
  15. Mr.B.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    There's no 9.5 so I went ahead and gave it a 10! The .5 I would subtract would be that you cant "Retry" a course like you could in previous versions. This is very annoying when it comes to the last race and you do poorly and lose a cup because of it. SWEEEET game though! Interactive instead of left, right, up, and down buttons.
  16. ChrisC
    May 4, 2008
    7
    Overall, another solid Mario Kart game, but a lot of little things that make it inferior to previous entries. First, no All Cup mode, so you're stuck just always doing four tracks in the same order. Also, the karts wind up a lot closer together and they increased the frequency of more powerful items, so there's way too much luck involved in winning. Also, for some stupid reason Overall, another solid Mario Kart game, but a lot of little things that make it inferior to previous entries. First, no All Cup mode, so you're stuck just always doing four tracks in the same order. Also, the karts wind up a lot closer together and they increased the frequency of more powerful items, so there's way too much luck involved in winning. Also, for some stupid reason you have to do time trials to unlock all the characters, which is boring as hell. Expand
  17. am
    May 5, 2008
    10
    This is the funnest Mario kart yet. The game play is definitely better than any past Mario kart. Some people are unhappy about the lack of options but this becomes insignificant once you play the game for enough hours, and you'll honestly find the funnest game that has been released on the wii so far!
  18. DanielN
    May 5, 2008
    10
    This game is an excellent source of fun for you and your whole family. It is an excellent game to come in and pick up and play.
  19. paulm
    Jun 11, 2008
    7
    Mario kart is a good fun game a very good fun family oriented game game but it is not a good racing anyone that likes serious racing should stay a mile away from this as although the powers are fun they can be infurating when in first place you can easily lose your place by being shot and in the end actual racing skills dont matter.
  20. ShaneS
    Jun 6, 2008
    5
    I agree with Wayne... Playing against the CPU is a frustrating and not very fun experience. Am pretty much fed up with being knocked from first to fifth at the end of every other 150cc race. I do feel very lucky when I manage to finish in first place. Online play can be a lot of fun. Only complaint is that some people like to pick the same races over and over.
  21. BetA
    Jan 11, 2009
    10
    Mario Kart Wii is possibly my favorite video game as of now because of it's fun, innovative controls, great new race tracks plus some great choices of retro tracks, and improved online play. Some people may say that the game has just come down to luck, but I beg to differ. Many times over, I have beaten the CPUs when getting hit by the blue shell multiple times! However, I suppose Mario Kart Wii is possibly my favorite video game as of now because of it's fun, innovative controls, great new race tracks plus some great choices of retro tracks, and improved online play. Some people may say that the game has just come down to luck, but I beg to differ. Many times over, I have beaten the CPUs when getting hit by the blue shell multiple times! However, I suppose the items from the CPUs might still be a problem. I think the CPUs should win with skill, not just items. Believe me when I say that I've been in countless races with other people, involving mostly skill. I do agree that there are a few MINOR problems: 1) No free-for-all battle mode, only teams 2) Manual-drift bikes have an unfair advantage over karts. 3) Terrible Mii voices Otherwise, this is possibly the most fun game I've ever played. I love this game!! Expand
  22. QuintS
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    It may be based on a lot of luck, but if you have online access and a Wii, you need this game... the 12 player online has resulted in many hours of wasted time since I bought this 2 years ago. By far the most played game I own. Or have ever owned.
  23. tonyb
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    lots of very inventive new unlockable tracks. Game does play favorites if player is in last place by giving them the fastest missles.
  24. JamesD
    Dec 18, 2008
    9
    I give this game a 9 out of 10 because of the BS that happens to you on single player. Blue shell, red shell, blue shell, red red red RED, BLUEEEE!!! But unlocking karts and charactors for maltiplayer is absolutely amazing. You and your friends will not want to stop playing.
  25. MarkusE.
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    Leaps and bounds greater than the Wii's other online party game, Smash Bros. Brawl.
  26. m.ick
    Apr 12, 2008
    10
    Amazing..... it took me a few hours to get to like the heavy oversteer but it seems to make sense with the new slide. there are loads of courses and when racing friend you are no longer confined to racing the cups. in fact everything is just more customizable and better.
  27. MarioL.
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    Mario Kart Wii is the bast.
  28. TopiasI.
    Apr 23, 2008
    9
    How somebody that reviews games for job can give this game 60 points?? come on you have to be britty lonely guy because this game is great when you are playing with friend. The wheel system couldn't be better, its sick, lots of characters and maps to unlock.
  29. [anonymous]
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    I love it! It's something that you can play with anyone!
  30. ElJ
    May 19, 2008
    7
    Mario Kart Wii is a collection of every Mario Kart ever made all packed into one and ready to go for online game play. This instalment boasts more then ever before, with plenty of challenges, unlockable characters, karts and new features, along with 32 tracks, half of which are taken from all its predecessors. The only short coming of this game is that regardless of how skilled you may Mario Kart Wii is a collection of every Mario Kart ever made all packed into one and ready to go for online game play. This instalment boasts more then ever before, with plenty of challenges, unlockable characters, karts and new features, along with 32 tracks, half of which are taken from all its predecessors. The only short coming of this game is that regardless of how skilled you may be, victory is often dominated by luck, due to an excessive amount of unstoppable weapons that tend to annihilate whoever is in first place, and all too often, the game has a nasty habit of bringing it all down on you at once right before the end of a race, however, in the online gaming world, this gives less skilled players a bit more of an advantage, making it more difficult for someone to endlessly dominate and dishearten new players. I Expand
  31. Daniel
    Jul 13, 2008
    9
    This is a strangely underrated game, at least critically. It's my favorite Mario Kart, and I've been playing them since the series originated on Super Nintendo. It's true that the steering wheel & bikes are small additions to the series, but overall this has everything I want from Mario Kart plus some nice extras. The new levels are some of the best of the series, and the This is a strangely underrated game, at least critically. It's my favorite Mario Kart, and I've been playing them since the series originated on Super Nintendo. It's true that the steering wheel & bikes are small additions to the series, but overall this has everything I want from Mario Kart plus some nice extras. The new levels are some of the best of the series, and the controls seem nicely streamlined (with 2 different controller options aside from the wheel). As for the games "flaws", I never cared much for battle mode, and having victory snatched from your hands at the last minute, seemingly "unfairly", has always been the nature of Mario Kart. This is a great game to play with friends and non-gamers as well as a great one to play on your own and against "pros" online. Expand
  32. ChristopherH
    Sep 16, 2008
    9
    I love this game! The mascots are adorable, and that is nice. What's awesome are the online play and the graphics in the actual courses. It is absolutely annoying that the computer AI folks ram you so freakin' hard in the 150cc and Mirror cups, but considering it took me over 40 hours to finally win all 120 stars in "Galaxy" (yes, I did actually beat the toy purple stars level), I love this game! The mascots are adorable, and that is nice. What's awesome are the online play and the graphics in the actual courses. It is absolutely annoying that the computer AI folks ram you so freakin' hard in the 150cc and Mirror cups, but considering it took me over 40 hours to finally win all 120 stars in "Galaxy" (yes, I did actually beat the toy purple stars level), I should be able to handle these bits and bytes! It's great to have some serious competition that you just can't seem to beat! But when it comes down to it, just play the same game they are (the AI) and they will be devastated!!!! (Only have the Lightning Mirror to get gold in, then you will all plumet to a soft landing in not wining land, you online folks, HA HA!) Super Fun Mario Land Times For Ever Big Tree Sushi! Expand
  33. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    While I dislike Mario Kart Wii, I still respect it as a great racing game, but could have benefited from when previous Mario Kart games went right, namely character specific karts, items and the coin system from Super Mario Kart. While it seems to lack the soul of Mario Kart DS, it is solid multiplayer fun, and pretty good in single player too. Packed with tracks, characters and items- oneWhile I dislike Mario Kart Wii, I still respect it as a great racing game, but could have benefited from when previous Mario Kart games went right, namely character specific karts, items and the coin system from Super Mario Kart. While it seems to lack the soul of Mario Kart DS, it is solid multiplayer fun, and pretty good in single player too. Packed with tracks, characters and items- one good game Expand
  34. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    The Mario Kart series has always been amazing and this game is no different. The courses are great and the inclusion of bikes (motorcycles) was a great one. There are a few odd decisions for the new game, like how battling on teams is the only option. The game is getting a little to hectic and random, with the old items as well as Pow Block, Blooper, Lightning Cloud, Bullet Bill, and MegaThe Mario Kart series has always been amazing and this game is no different. The courses are great and the inclusion of bikes (motorcycles) was a great one. There are a few odd decisions for the new game, like how battling on teams is the only option. The game is getting a little to hectic and random, with the old items as well as Pow Block, Blooper, Lightning Cloud, Bullet Bill, and Mega Mushroom. The Wii controls work great but Nintendo switched the drifting system to make it a little too easy. Mario Kart Wii is a great game, especially online, and will keep you coming back again and again if the series is getting a little too easy. Expand
  35. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    One of the best reasons to hang on to your Wii that may or may not be getting much use currently. Following the tradition of the Mario Kart series from its humble beginnings on the Super Nintendo Entertainment System, Nintendo delivers another stellar entry. If you've ever played Mario Kart before you will be right at home, and if you haven't, this is the perfect place to start, and aOne of the best reasons to hang on to your Wii that may or may not be getting much use currently. Following the tradition of the Mario Kart series from its humble beginnings on the Super Nintendo Entertainment System, Nintendo delivers another stellar entry. If you've ever played Mario Kart before you will be right at home, and if you haven't, this is the perfect place to start, and a lot more forgiving than the portable games â Expand
  36. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    Mario Kart is the best Mario spin-off there is. When I played this game, I just enjoyed it, from start to finish. Sure, there's a bit of luck involved, there's nothing like knocking off someone's top position at the last minute. Nothing like it. The gameplay is just really fun. Need I say more? Half of the game's tracks are new, but the other half are old tracks. Some might consider it aMario Kart is the best Mario spin-off there is. When I played this game, I just enjoyed it, from start to finish. Sure, there's a bit of luck involved, there's nothing like knocking off someone's top position at the last minute. Nothing like it. The gameplay is just really fun. Need I say more? Half of the game's tracks are new, but the other half are old tracks. Some might consider it a weakness. However, this is just what I wanted them to do. The old SNES and N64 tracks in modern graphics = awesome sauce. The game offers you multiple ways to play it and Nintendo have done the right thing. You can use the Wii Remote, equip it with a Wii Wheel, use the nuchuck, play with the classic controller or the best one: the Gamecube controller. The best part yet it the multiplayer. Watching you pwn your mates, there's nothing quite like it. The Mario Kart seriesis everything games should be: Fun, addictive, surprising, great fun in single and multiplayer mode. Just a shame Nintendo didn't push the series further. Expand
  37. Jan 31, 2011
    9
    This is a fun, all around family game. Definitely for all ages. You can be anyone from the Nintendo games with many weapons, power-ups, and Cart designs. The multiplayer mode makes it a keeper. Do not rent this game! You will be playing it for hours. The only downers are: Too many un-lockables and they are very hard to get unlocked.
  38. Mar 20, 2011
    8
    i like this game and it can take a while to unlock all the vehicles and all the characters so you are always entertained... until you finally unlock everything, then there is not much to do on your own accept race but unless you are playing with friends this game can get boring if you are not working towards unlocking something. this game is an amzing game to play with friends and you willi like this game and it can take a while to unlock all the vehicles and all the characters so you are always entertained... until you finally unlock everything, then there is not much to do on your own accept race but unless you are playing with friends this game can get boring if you are not working towards unlocking something. this game is an amzing game to play with friends and you will be having so much fun when you are in first and you're hit with a blue shell then your friend zips by to take 1st place from you or when you do the exact same thing to your friend. this is a must buy for anyone who owns a wii and you will always have something to do with friends if you get bored of racing by yourself Expand
  39. Nov 5, 2011
    5
    Even tough where it really shines is multiplayer, it still feels slow, boring, and generally half-assed. The graphics are very primitive even for Wii standars, and it also has rubberband AI. I wouldn't recommend it if you aren't a Mario/Mario Kart fan.
  40. Mar 14, 2011
    7
    My expectations of this game were high for two reasons- the impeccable standard of previous Mario games, and the Nintendo DS version of this game. This game, unfortunately, did not live up to these expectations. Without a doubt, this game was entertaining and enjoyable, but it was not as epic or classic as the DS version, and fails to raise is to games such as Super Smash Bros. and SuperMy expectations of this game were high for two reasons- the impeccable standard of previous Mario games, and the Nintendo DS version of this game. This game, unfortunately, did not live up to these expectations. Without a doubt, this game was entertaining and enjoyable, but it was not as epic or classic as the DS version, and fails to raise is to games such as Super Smash Bros. and Super Smash Bros Brawl. The graphics and animation were a major let-down, the visuals were not as neat, yet intricate, as the DS version.

    However, perhaps one should not compare this game to the DS version. They are different games, after all. This game was pleasing. Worth the money? Possibly.
    Expand
  41. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    This game is a great addition to the Mario Kart series. The environments and tracks are really fun and look great, there are tons of cars, bikes and tracks to race on, there are tons of unlockables, and the roster is great. There are a couple new items to mess other people up with, and the controls are great. the gameplay is fine, and it is easy to control. You can also go on WiFi and raceThis game is a great addition to the Mario Kart series. The environments and tracks are really fun and look great, there are tons of cars, bikes and tracks to race on, there are tons of unlockables, and the roster is great. There are a couple new items to mess other people up with, and the controls are great. the gameplay is fine, and it is easy to control. You can also go on WiFi and race people around the world. This game is really a 9.5, because it's just so awesome. Expand
  42. Jul 24, 2011
    8
    Mario Kart Wii was one of my most anticipated games that i rabidly wanted, and the time i had it, i played it like if there wasn't tomorrow. Set with nice content to keep you busy , responsive gameplay , and colorful graphics gives life to the known Mario icon. The bundle that includes a steering wheel adds diversity, the steering wheels doesn't change nothing to the experience,Mario Kart Wii was one of my most anticipated games that i rabidly wanted, and the time i had it, i played it like if there wasn't tomorrow. Set with nice content to keep you busy , responsive gameplay , and colorful graphics gives life to the known Mario icon. The bundle that includes a steering wheel adds diversity, the steering wheels doesn't change nothing to the experience, because it;s just a piece of plastic that it;;s empty , you just put the Wii remote to it, and Voila!!! there you have a "real" experience of how to drive in the future. In case of the online , it plays decently fine not a big thing or video games transformer. Mario Kart Wii has the entertaining time in a huge moment , but it isn't reliable, only a few weeks and there you go, another CD in your forgotten library , Plus+ , a pheripheral in the dust waiting to be discovered in the next year. Expand
  43. May 17, 2011
    10
    I agree completely with the AceGamerz review of this game. It charmed me, it was 2008's best game ever. Go buy it! Quick, before stores run out!!! I bought it the year it came out, again, it charmed me!!!
  44. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    The BEST Wii online game you could ever pick up. It's fairly smooth and the game offers pretty good controls for the Wii Wheel. The idea of 12 racers WAS a good concept. But this add-on was also one of the main reasons why this game doesn't deserve all ten. It left me really frustrated to get a 3-star License (3-Stars is the best you can get in the game). But overall, a simply enjoyableThe BEST Wii online game you could ever pick up. It's fairly smooth and the game offers pretty good controls for the Wii Wheel. The idea of 12 racers WAS a good concept. But this add-on was also one of the main reasons why this game doesn't deserve all ten. It left me really frustrated to get a 3-star License (3-Stars is the best you can get in the game). But overall, a simply enjoyable game for the family. Expand
  45. Jul 12, 2011
    8
    This game isn't as good as the DS one, but this version has great graphics, fun tracks and a fairly decent character line-up. The online play is very fun, and shows everyone what the Wii is capable of. But somethings can get a bit on your nerves. Like the fact that Blue Shells can ruin your chances of doing half decent or how a non-skilled player with a Bullet Bill can skip right to theThis game isn't as good as the DS one, but this version has great graphics, fun tracks and a fairly decent character line-up. The online play is very fun, and shows everyone what the Wii is capable of. But somethings can get a bit on your nerves. Like the fact that Blue Shells can ruin your chances of doing half decent or how a non-skilled player with a Bullet Bill can skip right to the front. And the line-up could have received a bigger variety of characters, maybe from other first party games, instead of Baby Mario and Baby Luigi, etc. Still, it's a very good game and I think it deserves a score of 8 out of 10. Expand
  46. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite Wii game. At first, it was very fun to work to try to unlock all of the hidden things - but even since I've done that, I find myself always wanting to play it when I feel like using my Wii. There is a good deal of luck involved in your performance from race to race, but I think that keeps it challenging ... plus, it's like life; even if you do everything right,This is my favorite Wii game. At first, it was very fun to work to try to unlock all of the hidden things - but even since I've done that, I find myself always wanting to play it when I feel like using my Wii. There is a good deal of luck involved in your performance from race to race, but I think that keeps it challenging ... plus, it's like life; even if you do everything right, sometimes you're in the wrong place at the wrong time. Expand
  47. RJV
    Sep 25, 2011
    9
    Mario Kart Wii is very well made. The Wii's motion control is, in a rare case, used to perfection. The handling is great, the buttons feel natural, and with a Wii Wheel it feels right. Also, if you have played, the DS version for example, you notice that the old style of staying in a straight line for as long as possible for maximum efficiency has been scrapped, and now is more about notMario Kart Wii is very well made. The Wii's motion control is, in a rare case, used to perfection. The handling is great, the buttons feel natural, and with a Wii Wheel it feels right. Also, if you have played, the DS version for example, you notice that the old style of staying in a straight line for as long as possible for maximum efficiency has been scrapped, and now is more about not hitting the more numerous obstacles. you have ever in the slightest liked another Mario Kart game, then this is better. This being the sixth in the series, it is obvious that Nintendo has definitely got it right this time, with new moves, such as shaking the Wii Wheel while doing a jump to get a boost when you land, and a new power-up or two, it won't make you say "same old game". The new courses are great, and the retro ones are also great choices. When you first start playing the 50cc Grand Prix, even as a rookie, if this is your first time for Mario Kart, it is really easy, and trains you well. The easiness quickly vanishes as you get to 150cc though. Incredibly hard, Incredibly frustrating, yet still incredibly rewarding once completed. Online multiplayer is great, and with more characters and karts than ever, if you have a Wii, get the game. If you don't have a Wii, consider getting one for this game alone. Expand
  48. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    Im not that much of a fan for Mario but this game is pretty good for a certain audience.
    It started to become repetitive after I've done almost everything in the game.
  49. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    The Wii revolutionized interaction with your game experience and this is one that will have you playing for hours upon hours. Mario Kart Wii wheel draws you into the game, it is difficult and will get you really upset after trying to get all stars for all courses but try try try again and don't give up so you can show off your stars to players online and enjoy the online experience withThe Wii revolutionized interaction with your game experience and this is one that will have you playing for hours upon hours. Mario Kart Wii wheel draws you into the game, it is difficult and will get you really upset after trying to get all stars for all courses but try try try again and don't give up so you can show off your stars to players online and enjoy the online experience with players around the world! classic one for the books. Expand
  50. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This is the best Mario Kart of all because there is a lot more content than Mario Kart Double Dash. More characters, more tracks, and an amazing online mode, where you can quickly jump in to a race.
  51. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    Wow. Anyone who plays this game for the first time will definitely get hooked. The player becomes more engaged into this game, more controls and definitely better graphics. So many endless options to improve your racing skills in this one. I was literally speechless when I first played this game. Can't wait to try the 3DS Mario Kart 7.
  52. Jan 21, 2012
    5
    Nothing new except for the adding of the mediocre controls. The game is also very ugly when you play it in split-screen (each mini-screen is really low-res), and below average for singleplayer. There isn't much emphasize on actual driving, and the last player always gets the best items, meaning that if you lead the race for the first lap you'll eventually be hit by an automaticNothing new except for the adding of the mediocre controls. The game is also very ugly when you play it in split-screen (each mini-screen is really low-res), and below average for singleplayer. There isn't much emphasize on actual driving, and the last player always gets the best items, meaning that if you lead the race for the first lap you'll eventually be hit by an automatic homing-shell and the rest will catch up. As with most nintendo games it is to dumb down. Expand
  53. Dec 25, 2011
    8
    This Mario Kart combines some of the best tracks from previous incarnations of the series along with some new tracks that will keep you coming back for more racing action over and over again. The online and multi-player experience is one of the best you will find in any game.
  54. Jan 31, 2012
    8
    I have played every Mario Kart Nintendo has come up with so far. Each time Nintendo makes some improvements and some things are made worse. In comparison to the GameCube version, this one improved by allowing game play to be done over the internet. It is fun and interesting to be able to play against other players around the world rather than playing alone. This type of play doesn'tI have played every Mario Kart Nintendo has come up with so far. Each time Nintendo makes some improvements and some things are made worse. In comparison to the GameCube version, this one improved by allowing game play to be done over the internet. It is fun and interesting to be able to play against other players around the world rather than playing alone. This type of play doesn't come without problems, however. Some of the players on the Wi-Fi have found ways of cheating. Nintendo does try to stop this, but it hasn't been able to. Another problem is that some of the players must not have jobs or school because they have become so good at the game that it seems they devote their entire lives to playing and improving. Maybe there should be some sort of system so that a person can play against others around their own skill level. There may be a way of doing this which I haven't had time to explore.

    One of the things that was changed from the GameCube version is the weapons. In the GameCube version a player could hold two weapons at a time by running over a double box. In this version there are only single boxes. This may be to some players' liking, but not mine. Nintendo has made the Wii remote work really well with this game. Instead of the standard controller being used for play, the person can use a wheel that they hold in the air. This has made the game easier and more realistic. It seems strange to hold a wheel in the air, but over time a player can get used to this concept.

    Overall, I would say this game is fun. The object is to race karts with computer players, internet players, or people in the room. Weapons are fun and interesting ways to try and slow down opponents. Strategic use of the weapons is essential to winning the game. It would be neat to be able to play all tracks from previous games though. There are some that I really enjoy from previous versions, but were not included in the game. Nintendo did include some favorite tracks (favorites of who is not something I am aware of) from earlier versions, but not many of my favorites made the cut. One thing I can't understand is why Nintendo only makes about one Mario Kart version per system I enjoy the game a lot, but tend to get bored after awhile and desire a newer version.
    Expand
  55. Feb 16, 2012
    8
    Actually ,this game is interesting !!! I did with my friend and we could get along with her very much! There are many kinds of character s in this game and I chose yoshi and it was very cute!
  56. Mar 24, 2012
    7
    With so much more to offer than its predecessor, Mario Kart Wii offers more fun for both, single player, and multiplayer modes.

    What's great: The ability to race a friend through your friend roster, addition of bikes and allowing them to wheelie, bringing back the classic retro courses, of course! What's not so great: The game offers an unbalanced selection of characters and vehicles.
    With so much more to offer than its predecessor, Mario Kart Wii offers more fun for both, single player, and multiplayer modes.

    What's great: The ability to race a friend through your friend roster, addition of bikes and allowing them to wheelie, bringing back the classic retro courses, of course!

    What's not so great: The game offers an unbalanced selection of characters and vehicles. Also, when you complete and unlock everything offline, what is left to do for those who cannot play online? Would I recommend this game to a friend?
    Eh... sure.
    Expand
  57. May 5, 2012
    9
    The reason why Mario kart wii is so awesome is because of all the variety in the game. Mario Kart Wii is can last you a few days, or a few years! Depending on how you like the core gameplay in general. This kart has just so much variety, you can spend a whole afternoon just messing with the characters. If you don`t have this game yet, be sure to pick it up
  58. Aug 19, 2012
    10
    Love this game!!!!! Its heaps fun, love the bikes, the variety of characters, online (though not many people on as much), and its an easy game to play, quite difficult to master!
  59. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    This is a very good game overall, I'm glad you can use game cube for this game, or else I might have to use the somewhat finicky wii remote. The other part of the 9/10 that has taken away from the ten would be the four player multiplayer mode, which is really difficult to play, maybe a bit laggy even Overall, 9/10
  60. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    Honestly, this game is pretty good, but not amazing. The bikes are definitely neat (anyone who says they're a gimmick is being a purist who is scared of change), the graphics are beautiful for the Wii, and the sound as a whole is very pleasing. I also think the character list is the best in the series so far with its sheer size and variety. Single player is almost as deep as the DSHonestly, this game is pretty good, but not amazing. The bikes are definitely neat (anyone who says they're a gimmick is being a purist who is scared of change), the graphics are beautiful for the Wii, and the sound as a whole is very pleasing. I also think the character list is the best in the series so far with its sheer size and variety. Single player is almost as deep as the DS version; the only little problem I saw was that I had to go online to access the challenges instead of them being there at the start of the game, like the missions in DS. Multiplayer is very fun locally, with a nice amount of customization for your own way to play. Online is a definite improvement with the only drawback being the hackers and the way VR was calculated, otherwise it is very good. Battle mode is okay with 10 tracks, but the forced team battle was head-scratching, along with the Blue Shell making an appearance (that's not necessary). The tracks are pretty cool and creative with some interesting obstacles, I just felt some tracks were a bit over-laden with hazards (like Bowser's Castle), but were mostly full of nice design. The Wii wheel is not a gimmick either, but it does have a learning curve in which you need to hold it right for it to work. And the controls, as a whole, are responsive and fluid with no big sign of unplayability. The huge annoyance that everyone says about this game is, of course, the rubber-banding races as a result of the crazy items. The new items do sound cool, but that coupled with 12 racers on the track make the game way too reliant on items and luck, and little is based on skill. In single player racing this isn't so bad because at least the AI is not very good at driving (believe me, it is very easy), but in multiplayer this can be very frustrating for those that really want to win. If you can fight through this, it really isn't a deal-breaker that kills the experience, but it can be a real screw-over in some instances. In my opinion, it's too flawed to be considered the best Mario kart game, but it's not awful enough that it's the worst/least good version either. An 8.4/10 from me, and I do feel that only a die-hard would give this game anything higher than a 9, and only someone who focuses mostly on the negatives would ever score this lower than a 6. In the end, a solid game. Expand
  61. Dec 15, 2012
    9
    Mario Kart Wii is a extremely fun game, and, for the record, the first game i beat 100 %. Some people may argue that "there's too little skill involved", but after all, that's not what the game is about, it's about trolling your friends, and if you take everything seriously, why do you own a wii to begin with? For me the game doesn't get a perfect score because of minor control issues, andMario Kart Wii is a extremely fun game, and, for the record, the first game i beat 100 %. Some people may argue that "there's too little skill involved", but after all, that's not what the game is about, it's about trolling your friends, and if you take everything seriously, why do you own a wii to begin with? For me the game doesn't get a perfect score because of minor control issues, and the blue shells, which do not benefit the user in any way, and therefore, are just annoying. Expand
  62. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    Mario Kart Wii is a game that gets a lot of flack for its Tough as Nails AI rubberbanding. But this in no way breaks the game. Since the SNES edition, Super Mario Kart, there has always been a brutal Comeback run by the Game's AI that makes finishing a 150cc Race a great challenge. But if you can look past this, you'll find a solid Racing game. Right off the bat, Nintendo had added aMario Kart Wii is a game that gets a lot of flack for its Tough as Nails AI rubberbanding. But this in no way breaks the game. Since the SNES edition, Super Mario Kart, there has always been a brutal Comeback run by the Game's AI that makes finishing a 150cc Race a great challenge. But if you can look past this, you'll find a solid Racing game. Right off the bat, Nintendo had added a Steering wheel peripheral, that, while unneccessary, can help to simulate a real steering wheel with almost precise 1:1 steering motion. It controls very well, and after getting the hang of it, can help you race with friends,AI, or people online almost as if you were using a regular button controller. Along with this, Mario Kart Wii has some of the best controls so far in the Franchise, as Drifting, Item usage, and steering all work like a Dream. With the addition of Motorcycles, Nintendo adds a new layer of strategy to the game, causing the player to decide between the Wheelie boosts a Bike can use, or the powerful Double Boosts a regular Kart can use. The game also uses "Tricks", where pushing anywhere on the D-Pad on a regular GC or Classic controller will give you a brief speed boost upon landing from a jump, or shaking the Wii-mote/Wheel if using it. Aside from the controls, Mario Kart Wii has a solid list of Characters, Stages, and Vehicles to choose from, all adding combination possibilites for players wishing to experience Heavy and Light Class Racing. The stages on its own can range from spectacular to Mediocre at times, but the Retro courses that are also included also add a nice layer of Nostalgia to Races. Splitscreen Racing and Battle Mode with friends is as fun as its always been, although sometimes the Divisions can make the screen very small for some people. Online can be a drag, because many Hackers and griefers like to mess up peoples fun, but if you look past it, you'll find a solid racing experience. Expand
  63. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    Mario Kart Wii is without a doubt the biggest Mario Kart to date. It had over 32 courses, 16 new (each one awesome) and 16 old (with revamped graphics). There are more characters to choose from, more cars, and now there are motorcycles. There's even an online component to the game that works really well, never once lagging. The only issue with this game is its reliance on chance. No matterMario Kart Wii is without a doubt the biggest Mario Kart to date. It had over 32 courses, 16 new (each one awesome) and 16 old (with revamped graphics). There are more characters to choose from, more cars, and now there are motorcycles. There's even an online component to the game that works really well, never once lagging. The only issue with this game is its reliance on chance. No matter how good I got at this game, a blue shell could always best me, leaving me in 8th place. For latter installments, I recommend an item select screen, similar to that of Super Smash Bros, in order to fix this issue. Expand
  64. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    Three words: It's about time. Sorry if it offends anyone, but I didn't like Mario Kart DS. It was too clunky. But then this game took it all back to the way it used to be. The courses are great, the karts are unique, and the graphics are AMAZING. Seriously, once you see your favorite characters on that screen, you never look at them the same way again. The trick element was godly. IThree words: It's about time. Sorry if it offends anyone, but I didn't like Mario Kart DS. It was too clunky. But then this game took it all back to the way it used to be. The courses are great, the karts are unique, and the graphics are AMAZING. Seriously, once you see your favorite characters on that screen, you never look at them the same way again. The trick element was godly. I find myself replaying tracks just to see what kind of tricks I could do. Once I even did a double corkscrew frontflp. I paused the screen in midair just to look at it. Anyway, back to the review. There are a lot of luck based instances, including the murderous Spiny Shell, but that doesn't ruin the game by any means. It's a package of racing that will keep you coming back for years to come. Simply sublime. 10/10 Expand
  65. May 3, 2013
    10
    Mario Kart Wii is really fun. There are over 30 courses and you can race as your own Mii which I really liked. I liked playing people over the internet and the shortcuts are fun to find. There are lots of good characters to choose from. I like racing as Luigi on his motorbike. Some people think Dry Bowser and Rosalina are the best characters. What I find annoying when I go on Worldwide areMario Kart Wii is really fun. There are over 30 courses and you can race as your own Mii which I really liked. I liked playing people over the internet and the shortcuts are fun to find. There are lots of good characters to choose from. I like racing as Luigi on his motorbike. Some people think Dry Bowser and Rosalina are the best characters. What I find annoying when I go on Worldwide are people that use cheats in the game to try and win the race or battle. Still this game is awesome. Expand
  66. May 25, 2013
    9
    The Wii compared to my ps3 is not very good, with inferior graphics and not as many games my ps3 is what I stick with most of the time. So when there's a game on the Wii that's capable of pulling me off my PS3 it has to be good. Mario Kart is that game. Its a fun racer with great tracks and is one of the few games my family will play with me. Using the Wii remote to steer worksThe Wii compared to my ps3 is not very good, with inferior graphics and not as many games my ps3 is what I stick with most of the time. So when there's a game on the Wii that's capable of pulling me off my PS3 it has to be good. Mario Kart is that game. Its a fun racer with great tracks and is one of the few games my family will play with me. Using the Wii remote to steer works surprisingly well and the AI can give you a challenge when you put up the difficulty. The best part though is just how fun it is to play and you can't ask for more than that. Expand
  67. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Mario Kart is a game that many people associated with memories, might even think of as nostalgic. It's got a great amount of unlockables, but not so many that you will spend years and years just trying to get them all, some of which are easy to obtain for people who aren't that skilled at driving games, but lots of hard-to-get ones for the pros. It's also a good game when you want to haveMario Kart is a game that many people associated with memories, might even think of as nostalgic. It's got a great amount of unlockables, but not so many that you will spend years and years just trying to get them all, some of which are easy to obtain for people who aren't that skilled at driving games, but lots of hard-to-get ones for the pros. It's also a good game when you want to have a less luck based version of coin tossing or drawing straws. It's frustrating enough to make us angry racing beasts, but not so frustrating that we give up on the game. It's a big salad of emotions, but it pretty much just boils down to happiness. The happiness of being able to conquer your friends and gain superiority over them. Heavily recommended if you have ever desired to CRUSH others. Expand
  68. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    Without a doubt my favorite Mario Kart game just beating Double Dash, The music is great, the tracks are great and the items are great with the exception of the lightning cloud.
  69. Aug 1, 2013
    6
    What a disappointment. The latest mario kart should be a 8 or even a 9, but instead it's an example of how one problem can ruin everything. It's a shame because Mario Kart Wii's control system is flawless- the wiimote is the wheel. This is the best addition to the mario kart series to date. Also it contains online, which is another good addition, albeit not as good as it would be on xboxWhat a disappointment. The latest mario kart should be a 8 or even a 9, but instead it's an example of how one problem can ruin everything. It's a shame because Mario Kart Wii's control system is flawless- the wiimote is the wheel. This is the best addition to the mario kart series to date. Also it contains online, which is another good addition, albeit not as good as it would be on xbox 360 or ps3. All these additions combine to make a very enjoyable new mario kart game. Or should I say they would, if not for the fact you may as well be playing a board game. The amount of items being chucked about and madness happening is enough to put off all but the most casual gamers. Once I was first, just about to finish a gruelling 150cc race, then I got hit by a spiny shell. Now this is infamous in mario kart games, but previously, if you had enough of a lead, you could easily still make it first. Bu tin mario kart wii, when this happens, it is immediately followed by a red shell, and, before you can recover, a green shell. Then a banana lands on your head, then a bob-omb blows you up before you can react, and finally, to finish things off, Bowser barges your still recovering kart off the course. By that time, everyone except you has reached the end, and you are 12th. Not your fault. But tough luck- cos that's all it is: luck. But it's made yet worse in the ferocious rubber-banding. I repeat that it's a real goddamned shame because Mario Kart Wii features excellent use of the wiimote with the wii wheel accessory, and has awesome multiplayer and online options. Which brings me to higlight those. Multiplayer is great. This is partly because one thing that contributes to the unfairness of single-player is the ferocious rubber-banding. But with it gonr in multiplayer, it's a blast. The problem is you have to play through the courses in grand prix to unlock them in multi-player, so you'll need to endure those single-player torture sessions to unlock the fun in this game. A good feature is time trials- where you race on your own against 'ghosts', trying to achieve the high score in that track. This is a great feature as it removes both the rubber banding AND the inclusion of complete chance. Unfortunately, just like in the multi-player, you must win the courses in grand prix to unlock them in time trials. The graphics in Mario Kart Wii, though nothing astounding, are good. Additionally to the main game, there are also balloon battle modes, but they suffer from the same problem that the rest of the game has, unless played multiplayer. But the various soundtracks are lacklustre and the voices of the characters are enough to drive a person crazy. I'm disappointed to have to rate this game a six, but I felt that any initial enjoyment gave way to frustration. Sometimes a wii remote is just not enough. Expand
  70. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Man, this game is a total package! Over 20 playable Mario characters, over 30 tracks, over 15 karts and bikes! The princesses got a athletic outfit, when they're using bikes! But the best character addition is Rosalina. We finally got a great playable character besides all of these stupid Mario enemies! The only thing that sucks is the team V.S. mode because the item rules are pretty unbalanced. But overall, MKW is the best Mario spin-off EVER! Expand
  71. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    Mario kart Wii is excellent. Believe me when i say that i have no problems with this game. Multiplayer was perfect, the online mode was even better, the battles are amazing and the VS Races can make you play for hours!
  72. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    Mario Kart Wii isn't the best Mario Kart game, but it sure is close. The wii is the perfect console to have a racing game due to the motion controls and Mario KArt Wii takes full advantage of it. Due to the layout of the wii remote, the controls feel perfect. Granted, you can find more immersive racers out there, but the motion controls due make Mario Kart very immersive. There areMario Kart Wii isn't the best Mario Kart game, but it sure is close. The wii is the perfect console to have a racing game due to the motion controls and Mario KArt Wii takes full advantage of it. Due to the layout of the wii remote, the controls feel perfect. Granted, you can find more immersive racers out there, but the motion controls due make Mario Kart very immersive. There are more characters in this Mario Kart game then any preceding Mario Kart, in fact it's almost overwhelming. There are more ways to unlock characters now besides winning the grand prix, such as time trials. The courses are some of the best in the series. Highlights include Koopa Cape, Moonview Highway, and one of the best iterations of Rainbow Road. Battle mode is back and is pretty fun. Online play has been improved upon since Mario Kart DS. WIth all this stuff in the game, it's a shock that nearly all of it is flawless. The exception to this is 150cc races. In the 150cc races, the AI cheats big time. The AI will zoom ahead at random points at an absurd speed. This can get ver frustrating. Another problem is the change in local multiplayer. In the last console Mario Kart, Double Dash during local multiplayer the only characters on the course were the players. In Mario Kart Wii however, computers will join in on the races making the local multiplayer less fun. Overall, Mario Kart Wii may not be the best, but it is fun nonetheless. Expand
  73. Aug 6, 2013
    8
    A very solid entry in the Mario Kart franchise! There are many amazing new tracks to drive on, and a lot of great remade tracks as well. and this title introduces bike races which adds more variety.

    The downside of this title is that the items are more unbalanced than ever before. The obnoxiousness ever so high, especially with the menacing blue shell which seems to wait till you're
    A very solid entry in the Mario Kart franchise! There are many amazing new tracks to drive on, and a lot of great remade tracks as well. and this title introduces bike races which adds more variety.

    The downside of this title is that the items are more unbalanced than ever before. The obnoxiousness ever so high, especially with the menacing blue shell which seems to wait till you're close to the finish line. In some cases you will be hit with blue shells 4 times in one race! But that's Mario Kart for ya!

    There are a lot of OP elements in Mario Kart Wii, such as certain characters on the ninja-styled mach bikes, which seems to be everyones' go-to setup in multiplayer, but that does not break the game.

    The online experience is great while the online lobbies and setup are annoying, but once in a race it's fun to race real people. Be ready for some aggravation, this Mario Kart will have you cheering one moment nad throwing your controller the next!
    Expand
  74. Aug 8, 2013
    7
    Good selection of characters and courses, but I simply can't appreciate it. It's unsatisfying and you don't get that feeling of accomplishment that you usually do when you've completed a course. Needs more unlockables.
  75. Aug 13, 2013
    9
    This game is and many other Nintendo games are reasons the Wii is a great console. This game has great multiplayer, single players karts and motor bikes and many ways to have fun. This game has addcting gameplay while sometimes frustrating, at least to be the frustration of getting hit by a blue shell only adds to the incentive to keep playing. Because you wanna get your damn revenge onThis game is and many other Nintendo games are reasons the Wii is a great console. This game has great multiplayer, single players karts and motor bikes and many ways to have fun. This game has addcting gameplay while sometimes frustrating, at least to be the frustration of getting hit by a blue shell only adds to the incentive to keep playing. Because you wanna get your damn revenge on the noob who hit you. (which is probably me cause I get hit by f'ing everything) Expand
  76. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    Mario Kart Wii is one of best wii games to date
    the first multplayer online mario kart game that i have played
    as well customize karts and bike as well
  77. Oct 18, 2013
    7
    Mario kart wii is another installment in the mariokart series This entry is a mixed game The downsides are that this game it's a luck game the CPU are cheap and skill no longer matters it's skill which it's a terrible thing The items/weapons are overused in a cheating way and this game just has unbalanced difficulty The good aspect is that the online is great and the controls are aMario kart wii is another installment in the mariokart series This entry is a mixed game The downsides are that this game it's a luck game the CPU are cheap and skill no longer matters it's skill which it's a terrible thing The items/weapons are overused in a cheating way and this game just has unbalanced difficulty The good aspect is that the online is great and the controls are a great way to play this game Expand
  78. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Nobody are bigger fans of Nintendo Game Legends and five years ago when this came out it was a dream come true. I live every thing about his game the graphics, the characters and the entertainment this game is great.
  79. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    What to say....I love this game...This game is absolutely perfect...I grew up around Mario Kart around the Gamecube decade of it and started off from the SNES version up to the 3DS. Super fun gameplay and awesome characters. The controls are...well kinda easy. The items...woo...the items are sure kinda annoying...but fun...the only reason why I gave this a 10 is because of the fun hacks,What to say....I love this game...This game is absolutely perfect...I grew up around Mario Kart around the Gamecube decade of it and started off from the SNES version up to the 3DS. Super fun gameplay and awesome characters. The controls are...well kinda easy. The items...woo...the items are sure kinda annoying...but fun...the only reason why I gave this a 10 is because of the fun hacks, texture hacks, character hacks, item hacks, course hacks, cup hacks, and other kinds of hacks...but yeah, this game is fun. Expand
  80. Nov 22, 2013
    8
    Mario Kart Wii is a little better than average at a racing game. The courses are amazing with good music! But after you unlock everything,(Rosalina the game gets kinda boring, making my score an 8 for this game. Other great games for the Wii however, include Super Mario Galaxy 1 and 2, New Super Mario Bros. Wii, Mario Party 9 (Mario Party 8 doesn't have many good minigames), Mario SportsMario Kart Wii is a little better than average at a racing game. The courses are amazing with good music! But after you unlock everything,(Rosalina the game gets kinda boring, making my score an 8 for this game. Other great games for the Wii however, include Super Mario Galaxy 1 and 2, New Super Mario Bros. Wii, Mario Party 9 (Mario Party 8 doesn't have many good minigames), Mario Sports Mix, and Mario Power Tennis. Expand
  81. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    THIS IS THE BEST GAME EVER Yah AWESOMEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE YEP
  82. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    Greatest Mario Kart Game In My Opinion! Great Gameplay and With the new feature of bikes makes it 100 TIMES BETTER then all other mario karts COMBINED! To Me The Controls Rock, I Love How You Get The Feature Of Using Any Controller You Like! My Favorite Part is Nintendo Wifi, You Can Race with People around The Globe To Get 1st Place In This Exiting Game! If Your a Mario Fan, You ShouldGreatest Mario Kart Game In My Opinion! Great Gameplay and With the new feature of bikes makes it 100 TIMES BETTER then all other mario karts COMBINED! To Me The Controls Rock, I Love How You Get The Feature Of Using Any Controller You Like! My Favorite Part is Nintendo Wifi, You Can Race with People around The Globe To Get 1st Place In This Exiting Game! If Your a Mario Fan, You Should Get This Game.... No You HAVE TO get this Game!

    Rating 10/10

    ~ KyleCritic
    Expand
  83. Jan 9, 2014
    8
    the only reason i rated this a nine, is because the computers above 50-CC are frustratingly hard to pass up. could you make it any harder? otherwise, this game rocks the world! it was the second Mario kart game to feature customizable karts and choices, and the 1st in the series to feature bikes. what can't you love about this game? well, probably the unstable FPS playing 2P on-line andthe only reason i rated this a nine, is because the computers above 50-CC are frustratingly hard to pass up. could you make it any harder? otherwise, this game rocks the world! it was the second Mario kart game to feature customizable karts and choices, and the 1st in the series to feature bikes. what can't you love about this game? well, probably the unstable FPS playing 2P on-line and more than 2 players offline. at that, I'm rating this an 8. other than that, there really isn't much to hate about this game. it offered a lot of depth throughout! racing games aren't about a story (F-Zero GX/AX excluded). and again, it is the first game to have 12 players total, computer, or on-line. Expand
  84. Feb 1, 2014
    9
    Mario Kart Wii is a Kart Racer game and is the best Mario Kart game. There's a lot of character and tracks to unlock. Half of the tracks is remakes of past Mario Kart games and other are originals. The music good. Character rosters is good, well expect the baby characters. You could eventually unlock your mii. Play online is very fun. But once I unlock everything the game slows down. ButMario Kart Wii is a Kart Racer game and is the best Mario Kart game. There's a lot of character and tracks to unlock. Half of the tracks is remakes of past Mario Kart games and other are originals. The music good. Character rosters is good, well expect the baby characters. You could eventually unlock your mii. Play online is very fun. But once I unlock everything the game slows down. But that's what online for. Well there's aren't a lot to be said about Mario Kart. Is straight forward. Get it if you have a Wii. It will worth it. Expand
  85. sdc
    Apr 4, 2015
    10
    Best... racing game.... EVER! Great graphics, tight controls, cool levels, and some salty gaming makes this a must have for players of all sorts, whether it be having fun in the single player campaigns, or getting drunk with your friends.
  86. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    Tons of fun and I have played it for years. Its great to play by yourself and with your friends with great gameplay and amount of skill this has kept Mario Kart's amazing reputation going. This time with great working Wi-Fi capabilities, smooth online gameplay and brilliant motion controls. My only problem is that it gets repetitive and after a while it can get rage inducing. But still youTons of fun and I have played it for years. Its great to play by yourself and with your friends with great gameplay and amount of skill this has kept Mario Kart's amazing reputation going. This time with great working Wi-Fi capabilities, smooth online gameplay and brilliant motion controls. My only problem is that it gets repetitive and after a while it can get rage inducing. But still you can't get over 4 player split screen Mario Kart with new and all your favorite old stages. Expand
  87. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    This is not like the 1997 Nintendo 64 game. It is more detailed than the other game. I actually played the other drinking and having competitions with friends, and I can't do this with the new game. It has more obstacles and things that pop out at you and it's distracting. lol....but, overall it is a great game whether it is 1997 or 2014. Thanks for the good times
  88. Dec 13, 2014
    10
    I played so much i think that's the reason my wii couldn't read disk. I had really good times playing this game with my friend online and anyone who had a wii had it.
  89. Apr 1, 2014
    9
    Mario Kart Wii is fun and exciting and another Wii game that is essential to buy. It has some really cool characters to play as like in other Mario Karts and the same can be said for the race tracks; my favorite tracks were "Toad's Factory", "DK Summit", "Koopa Cape", "Maple Treeway" and "Bowser's Castle". New to this game is the ability to play with the Wii Remote in the style of anMario Kart Wii is fun and exciting and another Wii game that is essential to buy. It has some really cool characters to play as like in other Mario Karts and the same can be said for the race tracks; my favorite tracks were "Toad's Factory", "DK Summit", "Koopa Cape", "Maple Treeway" and "Bowser's Castle". New to this game is the ability to play with the Wii Remote in the style of an actual car wheel with it's motion controls; I know some people didn't like that but I liked playing it that way and that was the way I used it the most. There are also other driving styles you could do like the Wii Remote with the Nunchuk, a GameCube controller and a Wii Classic Controller (I will warn you, I played the game with a Classic Controller, and the controls were actually not that great.) The Wi-Fi was also cool, I heard that some people didn't like it because they may have ran into some hackers, but I didn't and it was fairly enjoyable. Overall I really like Mario Kart Wii, I probably think that is one of the better Mario Kart games despite what some people say (some people really hate this game and I don't get that) and I would really recommend it. I still need to get Mario Kart DS and Mario Kart 7, those looks fun! I also look forward to getting Mario Kart 8 when that comes out and I get a Wii U; but for now Mario Kart Wii will tide me over. Expand
  90. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    A wonderful installment of the Mario Kart games. It is SO much fun being able to turn an actual steering wheel that isn't plugged in or on a huge stand. I continued playing this game right up until Mario Kart 8 came out, not even a week ago. It's got so many fun things to unlock, and it never, ever gets old.
  91. Jun 30, 2014
    8
    Tons of tracks, karts and characters and a hell of a lot of fun both in multiplayer (although the single-player is fun too for a while). The battle mode was a let-down however when compared to previous Mario Karts.
  92. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    Great tracks, many characters, good graphics and sound, very large replay value, new fun items, suitable for all skill levels, fun battle mode, offline and online multiplayer - definitely one of the best Wii games of all times.
  93. Jul 5, 2014
    7
    This is a pretty good game. I like the diversity of the character roster. However, things were too hard to unlock, and should be easier. The items are imbalanced, once I got hit by all three red shells from triple reds. The multiplayer was fun, but Nintendo had to DISCONTINUE IT. The battle mode was good, I just wish you could do a vehicle besides the standard kart and bike. What made meThis is a pretty good game. I like the diversity of the character roster. However, things were too hard to unlock, and should be easier. The items are imbalanced, once I got hit by all three red shells from triple reds. The multiplayer was fun, but Nintendo had to DISCONTINUE IT. The battle mode was good, I just wish you could do a vehicle besides the standard kart and bike. What made me come back though, was the vs. The team vs was great, I'm mad that they didn't bring the team vs into mk7 and mk8. The real donwside is the lack of vehicle parts. Customization was introduced in mk7 and brought into mk8, but you have to use just a body in mario kart wii. It didn't feel very personal, and the vehicles felt underpowered. I also didlike how vechicles are limited to weight, and not for all characters. The biggest downside is that this game has no creative element. It's pretty straightforward, there's no anti-gravity, underwater racing, hang gliding, etc, because of this the tracks felt boring. Expand
  94. Jul 7, 2014
    7
    This game is fun, but when compared to the other console Mario Kart games, it feels dumbed down and annoying. The motion controls are horrific, but if you just want some simple, chaotic Mario Kart then you can't really go wrong.
  95. Jul 9, 2014
    7
    Yes, this is a fantastic game. BUT, also a very rigged game at the same time. I can't help but notice that all the computer characters are stronger than my own player. Example: if they barley hit me from behind I seem to fling off the track and loose control, if I were to hit a computer player side on hard they would barley move!!! I do love this game but it does need a lot of improvements :)
  96. Aug 19, 2014
    8
    Really fun multiplayer game....of course, it's Mario Kart, that's sort of expected. However, although I love Mario Kart (despite the fact I can't drive for garbage) I do have some problems with it that are minor but they are annoyances. For example, the computers get TONS of "POW"s, blue shells, and are surprisingly accurate with green shells. Their AI is annoying especially when racing onReally fun multiplayer game....of course, it's Mario Kart, that's sort of expected. However, although I love Mario Kart (despite the fact I can't drive for garbage) I do have some problems with it that are minor but they are annoyances. For example, the computers get TONS of "POW"s, blue shells, and are surprisingly accurate with green shells. Their AI is annoying especially when racing on teams because they still push each other and the human player ends up dragging the rest of the computer team. Banana peels and boxes are not nearly as effective as they used to be and there's this new lightning cloud thing that should not be there at all as it's not helpful for the player, it's just devastating...

    Still, these are all minor things. Most of the tracks are good. The controls are good, music is what I expect in a Mario Kart... it's all there and it's still fun. I'd just recommend trying to get more human players so there are less stupid computers at least when you play team racing. Good game, lots of fun.
    Expand
  97. Sep 11, 2014
    9
    An incredible fun racing game. It is really good in single player mode but with friends in multiplayer mode it is just awesome. There are some points which prevent a 10/10. Overall it is a bit to easy and in multiplayer mode the stats for all carts / bikes were not shown (Lead to some awful combinations). Overall a worthy Mario kart game. If you played one of the previous game you willAn incredible fun racing game. It is really good in single player mode but with friends in multiplayer mode it is just awesome. There are some points which prevent a 10/10. Overall it is a bit to easy and in multiplayer mode the stats for all carts / bikes were not shown (Lead to some awful combinations). Overall a worthy Mario kart game. If you played one of the previous game you will enjoy it except for the blue shell ;-). Expand
  98. Sep 11, 2014
    5
    This is my least favorite Mario Kart game. I like parts of it, but those parts are scattered all over the place and don't really add up to my experience enough to make this a positive review. I liked the graphics, and the tracks had amazing design for the most part.
    The motion controls felt difficult to adapt to, they were a bit too unpolished for me to enjoy. I won't way this with 100 %
    This is my least favorite Mario Kart game. I like parts of it, but those parts are scattered all over the place and don't really add up to my experience enough to make this a positive review. I liked the graphics, and the tracks had amazing design for the most part.
    The motion controls felt difficult to adapt to, they were a bit too unpolished for me to enjoy. I won't way this with 100 % certainty, though, since it could be that the Wiimote fell out of sync, but even when recently synced it still felt kind of unresponsive. The wii wheel was placed in a dark corner never to be used again (that's not really true, I tried it out some more times asking myself "was it really that bad?", but each time it returned to that dark corner of the room). Playing with the Gamecube-controller worked fine, however. A bit slippery, but drifting nullified the slipperiness.
    I don't get why they went back to one-character-per-kart. Double-Dash felt fun and fresh in that sense, you could combine characters that gave you a tactical advantage. Replacing this feature with bikes felt like a weird choice to me, but I can also understand that the developers would want to experiment and bring in new features. It would have been fun to have as an option though.
    I think my major problem with it was the items. They feel unbalanced and since you don't recover fast you can get whacked by combos and go from a big lead to last place in mere seconds. It isn't skill-based either, just random. It's frustrating to say the least. If this was single player only, I'd give it a 2/10.
    However, there is multiplayer, which is this game's redeeming quality. While I still prefer Double-Dash's multiplayer options of either cooperating (on the same cart, mind you) or competing with your friends and play entire cups together, Wii didn't disappoint. I had some fun time with this game (as well as times of face-palming), but when a friend suggests a go of Mario Kart, this is not the version we turn to firsthand.
    Expand
  99. Oct 16, 2014
    9
    Only reason that I do not give a full 10 for this is because of some super appealing items.Let me explain better:A Whole lot of times your in 1st position, and then you get hit 3 or 4 times and fall all the way to last place.Other then that, this game is fine.
  100. Jan 10, 2015
    9
    It appears that most of the games I own on my Wii have gotten a bit boring, but Mario Kart Wii, even after 6 years, still has not. The system that controls items is wonderful, giving more powerful items to those at the back but less powerful items to those at the front, making sure that the players at the back still have a chance. Races are fast, even though they don't feel very fast, someIt appears that most of the games I own on my Wii have gotten a bit boring, but Mario Kart Wii, even after 6 years, still has not. The system that controls items is wonderful, giving more powerful items to those at the back but less powerful items to those at the front, making sure that the players at the back still have a chance. Races are fast, even though they don't feel very fast, some of those 32 tracks do really put you on the edge with those obstacles. With 16 of those tracks from older Mario Kart releases you can see what the game was like previously, but there are still 16 new tracks that are magnificent. There's so much to unlock in this game that it takes, well, a very long time to unlock everything. 6 years and still there's one more character and a few more vehicles I have to unlock. Well designed, and fun for everyone. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 73
  2. Negative: 1 out of 73
  1. With more features, modes and multiplayer options than ever before, fans should be revved up to get behind the wheel. [May 2008, p.86]
  2. Having sacrificed racing integrity in "Double Dash" to side with social silliness, Nintendo has turned 180 degrees into an awkward halfway house. [May 2008, p.86]
  3. Then there is the Wii Wheel peripheral itself, which if you did not already know is just a plastic housing for the Wiimote. I have to admit though it is a well made bit of plastic, and is not only smarter looking than the uninspired Wii Zapper, but also more ergonomic to hold. Unexpectedly it is very easy to use.